The 4k Content Conundrum - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 11-11-2013, 01:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hello all... new here, and joined because I'm just getting into all this, especially fascinated by 4k. First post! 

As many note, the big issue with 4k is content. Or at least 4k content available right now

I'm willing to overpay as an early adopter and 5-6k isn't all that crazy for a great 65-70 inch TV with dedicated speakers anyway.

However, here is my issue: Currently, Sony is the only game in town when it comes to 4k content. (My last trip into their store had me impressed with the movies and TV shows they've added and are continuing to add.) Seeing this, it seems Sony has decided to leverage their lead in content, and make their service and 4k player/downloads incompatible with other TVs. 

I'm tempted by Sony 65 inch with speakers for $5500, however, I think I'd prefer the 70 inch THX certified Sharp for a variety of reasons. (Truthfully, I'd most love to own the 84 inch Sony but even if it came down 10k from it's current 25k price tag, it would still be too expensive.) 

My question is, does the Sony Video Unlimited 4k service use a proprietary file format? If not, what's to stop someone from downloading the rental/purchase and then playing the file with a different player on another manufacturer's 4k TV, such as the Sharp? 

Does anyone expect Sony to maintain this "exclusively for our TV's" stance for long? How long before others have access to the same 4k content that Sony is offering? 

I'm ready for 4k and willing to drop 6kish for a TV/player but I'd prefer something 70 inches+ and want at least some content--which only Sony seems to provide now. Not sure what to do, but I'm open to any thoughts or suggestions. 

Thanks!

Tony

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 11-11-2013, 03:55 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 101
Quote: