Interesting 30 LCD TV's - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mburnstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Bloomfield Twp., MI
Posts: 1,858
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are correct. My video card doesn't have a 1280x768 option, nor does it have the option to select the aspect ratio of the monitor. It is not the top of the line GeForce or ATI which seem to support 16:9 monitor. But it doesn't matter as, I kid you not, my wife doesn't want it as a PC monitor, preferring the viewsonic VX900 19 inch 4:3 LCD monitor!! Bummer!!!

Quote:
Originally posted by TauRus
Mburstein, first of all, congratulations, bro! :) In my case when I plugged this LCD to the PC for the first time the picture was slightly distorted because the resolution was not WXGA (16x9). I went to the display properties and selected 1280x768 resolution there. The max supported resolution is 1280x1024 but I preferred the native resolution for a clearer picture. You should be able to do the same on your PC. Play with the drivers a little more. If our video card does not support this resolution, well, perhaps its time to upgrade :) There are many cards that support this resolution. See the screen shot.
In my opinion this has to be done on the PC side, not on the display side to avoid unnecessary processing and stretching of the picture.

I have to say that although I did not purchase this display as a PC monitor and it will eventually go to serve as a TV only, I am starting to get used to this huge baby. Of course for a PC monitor higher resolutions would be desirable, but even 1280x768 provides clear text and is comfortable for viewing upclose.

mark

Top Home Theater's I hope to see: The Bland's
Art's and my buddy Steve Bruzonsky! And Oneobgyn if I ever make it to NorCal!
mburnstein is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by timmy1376
If you have some spare time, I would like to see how the PIP and POP work. My wife is very interested in this type of thing so she can surf the web while I watch a SD baseball game/

thanks!
Timmy, man I am so excited with this new toy, I cancelled all other things (to much of my wife's dismay ) and just keep playing with it all the time now

OK, PIP: Sceptre provides 5 different PIP window sizes in 5 different locations (center of the screen and all 4 corners).

I will attach a few photos showing a blank PIP window on the desktop. Paste your baseball picture there.

Ok, the first snapshot is with the smallest PIP window in lower right corner (default).
LL

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #93 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PIP continued: this time the largest PIP window in the same spot ( I am skipping the intermediate PIP window sizes).
LL

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #94 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PIP continued: largest PIP window in the center.
LL

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #95 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PIP continued: and finally, largest PIP window in the upper left corner. I belive now you can picture the rest of PIP window sizes and positions.
LL

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #96 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So it cannot do split screen?
timmy1376 is offline  
post #97 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here you go guys: scanned page from the quick install guide about Frame Style Installation. I am not sure though it will be readable enough since yet again I had to drop the resolution of the scanned image to be able to post the pic.
LL

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #98 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Timmy, I am not sure about split screen yet. It could be it is not available or I havent found how to do it. Eric, what about you? Help me out here, bud. :)

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #99 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 10:30 AM
Member
 
vikur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Freehold, NJ
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TauRus, I have received my Sceptre this Friday too. I am very pleased with LCD panel quality. Remote control works kinda weird, with delay. What brightness and contrast would you recommend for component and TV inputs? My settings: contrast 40, brightness 37. I used AVIA DVD, but I am not sure these settings are correct.
vikur is offline  
post #100 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by vikur
TauRus, I have received my Sceptre this Friday too. I am very pleased with LCD panel quality. Remote control works kinda weird, with delay. What brightness and contrast would you recommend for component and TV inputs? My settings: contrast 40, brightness 37. I used AVIA DVD, but I am not sure these settings are correct.
Vikur, currently my Sceptre is still connected to the PC via DVI, so I did not try the component connection yet. My current settings are:
- contrast - 30
- brightness - 26

Your settings seem a little excessive for me, but we probably have them in different setup, so that explains the difference in settings.

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #101 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 11:25 AM
Member
 
vikur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Freehold, NJ
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanx TauRus. I have tried your settings but for TV tuner input it does not work - too dark gray and all faces are brick color. Yesterday I tested the TV with ATI All-In-Wander 7500 DVI 1280x768 already and it was very good with some range of brightness and contrast settings, but I plan to use this TV for bedroom not as a computer monitor.
vikur is offline  
post #102 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, Vikur, that's what I suspected: different input mode requires different settings. So, congratulations to you with a great purchase!

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #103 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
timmy1376's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: The Flint Hills
Posts: 1,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone either post or email the manual for me?
timmy1376 is offline  
post #104 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 12:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question to those who already got the Sceptre: Do any of you have an HDCP DVD player/projector/anything to verify the fact this display supports HDCP DVI? Currently, I do not have anything with DVI HDCP but will certainly be looking for such items. Just for the piece of mind, I wanted to hear that someone actually made it work with an HDCP DVI device. Thanks.

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #105 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 12:53 PM
Member
 
viggster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: DC
Posts: 92
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all - First post. This thread got me onto the Sceptre so I ordered one on 4/7. Seems like people are getting them MUCH quicker than the 15-20 day time frame given on the web site. Getting antsy! So just wondering if anyone who ordered around that date has gotten their's shipped yet. Not here.

Also, what carrier does Costco use? The answer will impact whether I need to be home to wait for it. Thanks.....sounds like a great buy!

Viggster
viggster is offline  
post #106 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Viggster, I ordered mine on April 1st and it was delivered to my house by Fedex on April 9th.
When I tracked the shipment it looked like a regular FedEx shipment, but i was a little surprised to see on my driveway an unusual FedEx minivan instead of regular FedEx truck.

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #107 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 04:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
bshplt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow !! I've been away a few days and everybody received their LCD!! Congratz guys!!

I'm very leaning towards the Sceptre at this point.
:)
bshplt is offline  
post #108 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 05:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bshplt
wow !! I've been away a few days and everybody received their LCD!! Congratz guys!!

I'm very leaning towards the Sceptre at this point.
:)
Stop leaning, bshplt, just order it! :) It is worth every $ we paid for it.

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #109 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 05:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
bshplt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
w00t ;)
bshplt is offline  
post #110 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 06:01 PM
Member
 
dantm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How come these LCD units are so large in depth? I thought they were ~4" or so, but now I see 10" depth and so on...for a flat wall mounting, wouldn't plasma be thinner (<4")???

THANKS!!
dantm is offline  
post #111 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 06:19 PM
Member
 
wiscy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your initial < 4" depth is correct when wall mounted. The 10" figure describes the desktop stand footprint.
wiscy is offline  
post #112 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wiscy, ditto - the panel is exactly 4' deep.

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #113 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 06:38 PM
Advanced Member
 
bshplt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Taurus....

did you get a chance to see how's the Standard cable on it?

:)
bshplt is offline  
post #114 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 06:53 PM
Member
 
dantm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So basically the mentioned depth has 6" of mounting with the desktop stand? Am I correct?

And does this remove easily and mount simply on the wall (with the proper mounting kit of course)? What will be the final!!! mounted depth?

Thanks!!!
dantm is offline  
post #115 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bshplt, sorry, not i havent tried the cable yet, will do it tomorrow perhaps. I sold my CRT RPTV today, so in a couple of days as I will move it out of the way, Sceptre will take its place in the family room.

dantm, a few posts above (post #98) I attached a scanned page from the instal guide which shows how this display is mounted on the wall.
I did not see the actual mounting kit, so I dont know in reality how much the mount protrudes from the wall, but the panel itself is just 4" thick. Judging by the schematic picture, the mount adds another 1.5-2", so the total should not exceed 5.5-6".
The same guide shows how to detach the stand (by removing 6 screws). The same 6 screws then used to re-attach the panel to the mounting frame.

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #116 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 07:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
marchristensen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 505
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone have any suggestions on best stretch mode. Also which mode leaves the center of the picture as-is and stretches the edges. Thanks.

Also - I checked before purchasing, amazingly, Costco will refund full price paid, inlcuding shipping.
marchristensen is offline  
post #117 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 08:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
bshplt's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 511
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Taurus...I'll wait for your feedback!!
bshplt is offline  
post #118 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I did take Sceptre downstairs tonight and played a little with the cable feed (cable ->STB->Denon AVR3803->LCD Display). I made a few photos. Most of them were taken on TBS channel while they were playing The 5th Element.
You know I am impartial to red heads, so let me start by showing a few images of Lilu
LL

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #119 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lilu again ...
LL

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
post #120 of 945 Old 04-11-2004, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TauRus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago NW burbs
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
and more of Lilu ...
LL

In Blu-Ray Veritas!
TauRus is offline  
Closed Thread Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off