Let's start discussion: Sceptre 37inch 1080P LCD TV(X37SV-Naga) in Costco (from Aug) - Page 32 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #931 of 951 Old 09-08-2005, 06:43 AM
Senior Member
 
kkrull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 398
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone is planning to return a unit to Costco in Utah, Idaho or Washington state please PM me. Also interested if you are refusing shipment on one.
kkrull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #932 of 951 Old 09-08-2005, 08:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mallu2u's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Sterling, VA
Posts: 3,072
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just cancelled my order with Costco. Shall keep the sharp 37''
mallu2u is offline  
post #933 of 951 Old 09-08-2005, 09:16 PM
Member
 
richardorser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Griddle
How does the Sceptre 37" look at lower pc resolutions like 1280x1024?
I find it looks great. I expected poorer results with less than native resolutions, but to me, it looks very good.

Richard, Santa Cruz, CA
richardorser is offline  
post #934 of 951 Old 09-16-2005, 05:00 PM
Newbie
 
rsherwoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm returning my Sceptre since I can't get it to work at 1920x1080 with my Mac mini. It works great with my PC though. I'm located in the Los Angeles area (Glendale) if anyone wants this before I return it. Sceptre customer support says it's only PC compatible, not Mac - even though their web site lists both PC and Mac. Like there is any difference between the 2. It's the same graphics card manufacturers for both.
rsherwoo is offline  
post #935 of 951 Old 09-17-2005, 01:07 PM
Senior Member
 
bigsid05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In all likelyhood your Mac Mini's video card isn't powerful enough to support 1920x1080. Did you try via vga? My pc laptop wouldn't work at full res via DVI but worked fine via VGA.
bigsid05 is offline  
post #936 of 951 Old 09-17-2005, 01:50 PM
Member
 
DeezMFNutz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsherwoo
I'm returning my Sceptre since I can't get it to work at 1920x1080 with my Mac mini. It works great with my PC though. I'm located in the Los Angeles area (Glendale) if anyone wants this before I return it. Sceptre customer support says it's only PC compatible, not Mac - even though their web site lists both PC and Mac. Like there is any difference between the 2. It's the same graphics card manufacturers for both.

No issues driving the sceptre with my old powermac MDD Dual 1.25 with ATI 9000 video card. Plug and play at 1920x1080 via VGA. Could not have been easier.
DeezMFNutz is offline  
post #937 of 951 Old 09-19-2005, 04:00 AM
Member
 
Mr.Lawrence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: MARYLAND
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsherwoo
I'm returning my Sceptre since I can't get it to work at 1920x1080 with my Mac mini. It works great with my PC though. I'm located in the Los Angeles area (Glendale) if anyone wants this before I return it. Sceptre customer support says it's only PC compatible, not Mac - even though their web site lists both PC and Mac. Like there is any difference between the 2. It's the same graphics card manufacturers for both.
I'll have to agree with others... Although I only use my Sceptre as a TV, I did plug my PowerBook G4 into it and was able to get 1920x1080.
Mr.Lawrence is offline  
post #938 of 951 Old 09-19-2005, 01:18 PM
Member
 
jblust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Glendora, CA
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still waiting patiently for my 8/27 order to ship.... :(
jblust is offline  
post #939 of 951 Old 09-19-2005, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
water1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Pleasant Ridge & Suttons Bay, MI, Carefree, AZ
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Me too.

John
water1 is offline  
post #940 of 951 Old 09-19-2005, 07:09 PM
Newbie
 
estolp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ordered 8-26, just received ship confirmation. (9-19)
I telephoned Costco this morning before I received ship confirmation to ask when it would ship. Rep told me it probably would not ship til end of the month. I was pleasantly surprised to get the confirmation today.
estolp is offline  
post #941 of 951 Old 09-20-2005, 12:29 PM
Member
 
jvoncolln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by estolp
I ordered 8-26, just received ship confirmation. (9-19)
I telephoned Costco this morning before I received ship confirmation to ask when it would ship. Rep told me it probably would not ship til end of the month. I was pleasantly surprised to get the confirmation today.
I think I'm giving up. My order was palced on 8/27. I've seen some people report shipments, but I suspect they're only from returned or refused shipments.

I'm also not sure I want to deal with some of the odd quirkes this unit has. I also only really need a monitor. So I just ordered a Westinghouse 37". I ordered it from etronics for about $150 less than the Costco price for the Sceptre, considering the shipping and tax. Does anyone have any favorable or unfavorable experience in ordering the Westinghouse from them?

I haven't canceled my Sceptre order yet, but will when I get a ship confirmation on the Westinghouse.
jvoncolln is offline  
post #942 of 951 Old 09-21-2005, 04:57 PM
Member
 
jvoncolln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Thousand Oaks, CA
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jvoncolln
I think I'm giving up. My order was palced on 8/27. I've seen some people report shipments, but I suspect they're only from returned or refused shipments.

I'm also not sure I want to deal with some of the odd quirkes this unit has. I also only really need a monitor. So I just ordered a Westinghouse 37". I ordered it from etronics for about $150 less than the Costco price for the Sceptre, considering the shipping and tax. Does anyone have any favorable or unfavorable experience in ordering the Westinghouse from them?

I haven't canceled my Sceptre order yet, but will when I get a ship confirmation on the Westinghouse.
Guess What?
Now that I ordered a West... 37", I just received a shipping confirmation from Costco on my Sceptre order. Too funny. My order date was 8/27, ship date is today, 9/21. I'm in the LA area and should have it at least by tomorrow.

Assuming I get the Westinghouse sometime soon, I'll do my own AB comparison and post the results. I may end up posting the sceptre on ebay and see what I can get. Worst case, I'll take it back for a full refund.
jvoncolln is offline  
post #943 of 951 Old 09-28-2005, 10:16 AM
ba
Member
 
ba's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: WA, USA
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody still waiting? I ordered on the 28th and I'm still "In Process"
Cheers
ba
ba is offline  
post #944 of 951 Old 10-05-2005, 06:24 PM
Member
 
rrolsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the form for the $50 rebate come in the box with the Sceptre? Is there a postmark deadline for mailing the rebate? if so what is the date?

I also ordered on the 28th of August. I placed my order at around 6PM mountain time. I have not received an email that the 37" Sceptre has shipped.

Here's to the unit shipping soon.
Ron

PS, Just received the following email (Oct 6th):

Thank you for ordering the SCEPTRE 37 INCH 16-9 HDTV/LCD TV from costco.com.

Due to an overwhelming response, there has been a delay in shipping. The
shipment will be 10/14/05. We apologize for any inconvenience this may
cause.

As a result, we will be issuing a $75 CREDIT as compensation. The credit
will be keyed upon shipment of your order. If this delay is unacceptable,
you may cancel your order by replying to this email.

10/21 Update: Received the $75 credit to my credit card. I electronically applied for and received an email confirmation for the $50 rebate.
rrolsbe is offline  
post #945 of 951 Old 10-21-2005, 04:13 PM
Member
 
rrolsbe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I connected my external HDTV receiver to the VGA input to perform an A/B comparision to the picture quality of the 37" Naga built in ATSC tuner.

My external HDTV tuner has the Faroudja chip.

I tried the following resolutions using my external HDTV receiver using the VGA connection:

1080P -- Naga locked onto signal @ 1920 X 1080 picture quality compared very closely when compared to the Naga internal ATSC digital tuner.
When tuned to a 1080i channel using the Naga ATSC internal tuner, I can confirm it displays at 720P and not 1080P. I guess it must be cheaper to convert the 1080i signal to 720P than to deinterlace the 1080i signal and display at 1080P?

1080i -- Naga locked onto the signal @ 640 X 480 and only displayed a portion of the image.

480P -- Naga would not lock (Blue screen)
480i -- Naga would not lock (Blue screen)


My computer with the original ATI All-In-Wonder Radeon card displays a stunning image to this display at 1920 X 1080P/60Hz & 75Hz via the Naga VGA input. BTW 1600 X 1200/60Hz also displayed a high quality image.

Did not try the DVI input because this old Radeon card only supports up to 1280 X 1024 via DVI. Not a high enough resolution to even try.

Used the dead pixel program and did not find any bad pixels.

Other observations:
I found the Naga LCD housing and stand to be comparable to other brand LCD units I have had at work. I do hear a hum from the speakers at higher volumes, but they are otherwise tolerable/functional.

Sure would be nice if this LCD would remember the lamp setting and horizontal adjustment settings between power cycles.

Bottom line, since I purchased this LCD as a computer display and Costco has such a great return policy, I will be keeping the unit.

Regards and Thanks for all the great posts by other forum members regarding this LCD.
rrolsbe is offline  
post #946 of 951 Old 10-25-2005, 12:06 PM
Newbie
 
ivionday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Iowa
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, I would like to hear some opinions on the response time of this display. In my experience LCD response times vary widely, from my molasses cellphone display to my lightning-quick Dell Ultrasharp 2005FPW. How does the Sceptre perform? It would help me to hear from someone who is familiar with the demands FPS PC games put on response time. I play a lot of Battlefield, Unreal Tournament, Quake, etc., and have been leaning heavily toward plasma, but this display is rockin the boat.

Thank you
Matt
ivionday is offline  
post #947 of 951 Old 12-26-2005, 08:00 AM
Member
 
zuno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Stamford, CT
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought and installed the new Costco 37" Sceptre and replaced the 30" model I used from Costco. I am finding the following viewing results: FIRST: picture quality is MUCH worse with regular TV signals via my DirecTV SVideo feed. The 30" was acceptable, the 37 is TERRIBLE. I am sitting ~ 8 ft away and used Avia to configure the set (that is to say, what limited configuring you can do w/an LCD) SECOND: this is the killer: I am driving it via my HTPC Radean 9600 256MB AGP with newest Catalyst drivers @ 720p AMD Athlon XP 3200+ system w/1GB DDR RAM etc. I use it to watch DVDs and I can't get the picture to stop occasional "frame skipping", no matter WHAT I do with the Catalyst drivers, OR the NVidia Decoder controls. This NEVER happened with the 30"Sceptre and the same HTPC @ 72HZ. I am wondering if this is because the 37" won't support 72Hz refresh and if this is a pulldown problem (60HZ is not a multiple of 24fps, DUH)? I have about 5 HTPC setups and I have NEVER had this happen. I build my own machines, and this is the FIRST time I've been stumped like this. I won't be worrying about HDTV until DirecTV supports it, as I also have a 100" SONY ceiling mounted CRT via an HTPC for my serious viewing in another room. Frankly, I find the 37" unwatchable. I'm wondering if this "skipping" via HTPC DVD viewing is common, or if I'm missing something. It also sometimes "frame skips" on some action shots on TV. Is the unit defective, or have others had this problem. Also, for regular TV, I am NOT a believer that "bigger is better", ALL these digital sets look poor on regular NTSC IMO. :mad:
zuno is offline  
post #948 of 951 Old 12-26-2005, 08:24 AM
Member
 
Brian_R170's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
zuno,

You should check out the 37" Sceptre review thread. There's lots of info on the problem you're seeing. It occurs only in version 2 of the set.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...3&page=1&pp=30

It's a big thread and you'll probably want to start around page 32 or so to get info on the Rev2/Ver2 problems.
Brian_R170 is offline  
post #949 of 951 Old 12-26-2005, 11:22 AM
Member
 
jay_cee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That's interesting, you're driving it at 720p? Why aren't you using the monitors native resolution (1920x1080p)?

As mentioned above there is a well reported problem with judder/tearing/etc at 1920x1080@60, but I'm not sure to what extent it exists with other source configurations.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zuno
I just bought and installed the new Costco 37" Sceptre and replaced the 30" model I used from Costco. I am finding the following viewing results: FIRST: picture quality is MUCH worse with regular TV signals via my DirecTV SVideo feed. The 30" was acceptable, the 37 is TERRIBLE. I am sitting ~ 8 ft away and used Avia to configure the set (that is to say, what limited configuring you can do w/an LCD) SECOND: this is the killer: I am driving it via my HTPC Radean 9600 256MB AGP with newest Catalyst drivers @ 720p AMD Athlon XP 3200+ system w/1GB DDR RAM etc. I use it to watch DVDs and I can't get the picture to stop occasional "frame skipping", no matter WHAT I do with the Catalyst drivers, OR the NVidia Decoder controls. This NEVER happened with the 30"Sceptre and the same HTPC @ 72HZ. I am wondering if this is because the 37" won't support 72Hz refresh and if this is a pulldown problem (60HZ is not a multiple of 24fps, DUH)? I have about 5 HTPC setups and I have NEVER had this happen. I build my own machines, and this is the FIRST time I've been stumped like this. I won't be worrying about HDTV until DirecTV supports it, as I also have a 100" SONY ceiling mounted CRT via an HTPC for my serious viewing in another room. Frankly, I find the 37" unwatchable. I'm wondering if this "skipping" via HTPC DVD viewing is common, or if I'm missing something. It also sometimes "frame skips" on some action shots on TV. Is the unit defective, or have others had this problem. Also, for regular TV, I am NOT a believer that "bigger is better", ALL these digital sets look poor on regular NTSC IMO. :mad:
jay_cee is offline  
post #950 of 951 Old 12-30-2005, 07:30 AM
Newbie
 
Vlad7777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have anyone seen the comparison between these TVs? Reading the specs, Sceptre has better specs in terms of response time and specifying 1080P compliance, but BenQ is using several technologies to improve the picture
Quote:
[I]- “Senseye†digital image enhancement technology automatically and dynamically improves image quality by adjusting brightness and darkness levels, creating color-maps to adjust relative color saturation, and reducing jagged edges. You can customize your BenQ to watch video games, movies or even professional multimedia presentations. The integrated super-adaptive 3D comb filter eliminates input signal distortion and delivers screen images that are cleanly rendered, clear and artifact-free.
-The DV3750 offers an extraordinary high-definition (HD) picture quality through the use of a professional DCDi video chipsets developed by Faroudja®, a leader in innovative, high-performance video processing technologies[/i]
However, BenQ is listing 12ms response time (8ms grey to grey - whatever that means), and also it only lists 1080i compliance.

Finally, it costs a lot more than Sceptre.

I guess the final judgement must be by actual seeing comparison - but I have not seen any of them "live" and have not seen any professional comparison review.

Anyone seen these TVs side by side?

The rebate from Costco is over by January6TH so I must make my decision ASAP

Regards
Vlad7777 is offline  
post #951 of 951 Old 12-30-2005, 07:10 PM
Newbie
 
docdav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 0
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Coupon Book from Costco has the Sceptre for $500 off begining March 6th through 12th. So this would appear to be either $1099 or $1199 then. Ask at your local Costco for the booklet.
docdav is offline  
Closed Thread Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off