Sharp aquos model confusion - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 431 Old 06-27-2005, 08:38 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Why is that the GD4U model is significantly more expensive than the D5U if the specs are the same and the D5U has the TV GUIDE and the GD4U doesn't? Is the GD4U better? Why?

Thanks

Sergio

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 431 Old 06-27-2005, 08:43 PM
Senior Member
 
tburton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: San Mateo, CA
Posts: 288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Believe the GD models have a built in ATSC tuner.
tburton is offline  
post #3 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 04:10 AM
Member
 
ironfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GD4U has a built in hdtv tuner and detachable speakers. I think those account for the bump in price. I really think sharp should simplify their lineups.
ironfinger is offline  
post #4 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 05:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The GD4U is older and cost more when it was built. The 4 had removable speakes and quite a few other things that the new D5 does not have. PCMCIA slot, 1-Bit Audio amp, etc. It's a good unit. The panel on both is the same.

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Mike53 is offline  
post #5 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Patrick TX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The d5u has an HD tuner and firewire. I should have my 32" tomorrow :)

"I promise I'll never die." - Gary Johnston
Patrick TX is offline  
post #6 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
The d5u has the HD tuner and the PCMCIA slot. The only difference I found so far is the removable speaker. Not shure about this 1-Bit audio amp but I guess it comes with the same amp. The d5u has the TV Guide which I think is very cool if you use the cablecard.

Patrick, tell us how do you like your 32 tomorrow.

Sergio

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #7 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 09:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross in Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been looking at the 26" Sharps as a second HDTV display (12 year old JVC tube is starting to go... already have the 50" plasma as main display)

I was trying to sort out the Sharp model numbers just last night...

For the GA5U, GD4U, GD6U, D5U, and D7U, the following are all the same (at least for the 26")

- resolution (1366 x 768)
- brightness (450 cd / m^2)
- lamp life (60,000 h)
- viewing angles (170 deg H & V)
- audio system wattage (10W + 10W)
- contrast ratio (800:1)
- aspect ratio (16:9)
- color temperture selections (five from 5000K to 13000K)
- view modes (five)
- DVI input x 1
- HDMI input x 1
- S-video input x 1
- composite input x 1
- RCA audio inputs x 3

Here's some of the differences.

- GA5U doesn't have the HDTV tuner or cablecard slot. The others do.
- GA5U and D5U have fixed speakers, GD4U, GD6U and D7U have demountable speakers
- D5U and D7U have optical audio outputs
- D5U and D7U have RS-232 inputs
- GA5U consumes 116 W, D4U consumes 130W, GD4U and GD6U consume 150W, and the D7U doesn't say on the Sharp webpage...

Even with an Excel chart, the models are still confusing...

Ross
Ross in Toronto is offline  
post #8 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 10:25 AM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ross in Toronto
I've been looking at the 26" Sharps as a second HDTV display (12 year old JVC tube is starting to go... already have the 50" plasma as main display)

I was trying to sort out the Sharp model numbers just last night...

For the GA5U, GD4U, GD6U, D5U, and D7U, the following are all the same (at least for the 26")

- resolution (1366 x 768)
- brightness (450 cd / m^2)
- lamp life (60,000 h)
- viewing angles (170 deg H & V)
- audio system wattage (10W + 10W)
- contrast ratio (800:1)
- aspect ratio (16:9)
- color temperture selections (five from 5000K to 13000K)
- view modes (five)
- DVI input x 1
- HDMI input x 1
- S-video input x 1
- composite input x 1
- RCA audio inputs x 3

Here's some of the differences.

- GA5U doesn't have the HDTV tuner or cablecard slot. The others do.
- GA5U and D5U have fixed speakers, GD4U, GD6U and D7U have demountable speakers
- D5U and D7U have optical audio outputs
- D5U and D7U have RS-232 inputs
- GA5U consumes 116 W, D4U consumes 130W, GD4U and GD6U consume 150W, and the D7U doesn't say on the Sharp webpage...

Even with an Excel chart, the models are still confusing...

Ross
Ross -

The GD4U/GD6U also have RS-232 ports, 1-bit audio, optical audio output, and a PCMCIA slot (in addition to the CableCard slot). The GA4U also has a PCMCIA slot. The GD4U speakers can be used as center channel if desired.

I agree that Sharp has way too many models, and the model numbers are all too similar. Confusion is rampant.


Dave

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #9 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 10:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross in Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Dave,

Thanks for the correction. Only to add to the confusion, RS-232 ports on the GD4U / GD6U aren't listed on the Sharp webpage (from where I gleaned my information)...

...Ross
Ross in Toronto is offline  
post #10 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
EricScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But the one very nice thing is that all of the displays in the current line use the same panels so optically they are identical. The models only differ in terms of inputs/features and aesthetics. Could you imagine how confusing it would be it if the various models had different panels and you had to try to figure out which one you liked better?

One other thing to add - the 5U (side speakers) and 7U (bottom speakers) series are the newest models and they are the only ones w/ TVGOS built-in.
EricScott is offline  
post #11 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 10:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by slimoli
The d5u has the HD tuner and the PCMCIA slot. The only difference I found so far is the removable speaker. Not shure about this 1-Bit audio amp but I guess it comes with the same amp. The d5u has the TV Guide which I think is very cool if you use the cablecard.

Patrick, tell us how do you like your 32 tomorrow.

Sergio
You are confusing the CableCard slot with the PCMCIA slot. While similar in appearance, the CableCard slot does not support the features of the GD4U with it's PCMCIA slot. It was used for 320x240 VCR recording with a hard drive card or pictures from your digital camera when used with a PCMCIA adapter. There are many subtle differences. The newer D5 series was made with cost cutting in mind. The stand does not swivel and tilt either. GD4 does not have TV Guide because Sharp could not get certification from Gemstar in time.

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Mike53 is offline  
post #12 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 10:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WS65711
Ross -

The GD4U/GD6U also have RS-232 ports, 1-bit audio, optical audio output, and a PCMCIA slot (in addition to the CableCard slot). The GA4U also has a PCMCIA slot. The GD4U speakers can be used as center channel if desired.

I agree that Sharp has way too many models, and the model numbers are all too similar. Confusion is rampant.


Dave
We actually don't.....it's newer models coming out at lower prices and forcing overall pricing down. A model now is good for maybe 4-6 months and it is replaced. The GA4/GD4 was last years (Sep-Dec), it was replaced with GA/GD5 series (in 32"), the D5 replaces those, Next up are the D4/D6 series in August. Even I have trouble keeping them all straight. :( :eek: :D :cool:

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Mike53 is offline  
post #13 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
ZZen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 681
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the current model 37GB5U stand swivel? If not then how, much $ could that have really saved considering Sharp could have just continued to use the same stand as before (G4U etc)?
ZZen is offline  
post #14 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 11:26 AM
Member
 
jeffgeno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One other difference: the GD series have twin picture mode; the newer ones do not. Almost everyone you try and get a GD panel from will tell you they're discontinued and point you to the D series. I lucked out and found an open box special on the older one and got the twin picture feature, critical for me during baseball season.
jeffgeno is offline  
post #15 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 30
My conclusion is that the D5U is the best deal if you need the HD tuner and cablecard. Price is very competitive in the 26" model .

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #16 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 12:13 PM
Member
 
ironfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
actually, the 32" d5u does not have a tuner(edit: built in HD tuner), the 37" does. What size model is this thread referring to? More confusion i see.
ironfinger is offline  
post #17 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 12:43 PM
Thread Ender
 
WS65711's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Covington, LA OTA & Charter CableCard
Posts: 4,124
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 61
I agree. If you go to this page:

http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Mod...8,1412,00.html

and click on the "Compare all G Series Aquos" java script, the comparison of the GD5U sets to the GD4U sets indicate that the 5U sets do NOT have an integrated ATSC (HDTV) tuner. On the other hand, the "Detailed Specs" page for the 5U sets seem to imply that it DOES have an HDTV tuner.

Who knows ???

Don't ever make the MISTAKE of buying a Samsung TV..
They consider THIS
normal on a two month old set..
WS65711 is offline  
post #18 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EricScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I think the "D" in the model name stands for digital (meaning it would have a tuner). If there is an "A" in the model name it stands for analog (no digital tuner).

Do I'm guessing the GD5U has a tuner but who knows. Does it have a cablecard slot? If it does then it has to have a digital tuner.
EricScott is offline  
post #19 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 12:51 PM
Member
 
ironfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricScott
Well I think the "D" in the model name stands for digital (meaning it would have a tuner). If there is an "A" in the model name it stands for analog (no digital tuner).

Do I'm guessing the GD5U has a tuner but who knows. Does it have a cablecard slot? If it does then it has to have a digital tuner.

sorry, I meant built in HD tuner.
ironfinger is offline  
post #20 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 12:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EricScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know - by "digital tuner" I meant "HD tuner" or "ATSC tuner". I was under the impression that if the Sharp had a "D" in the model name it had an HD Tuner built in.
EricScott is offline  
post #21 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 01:02 PM
Member
 
ironfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
^

i wish, I have the 32D5u, but no built in HDTV tuner.
ironfinger is offline  
post #22 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross in Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by EricScott
Well I think the "D" in the model name stands for digital (meaning it would have a tuner). If there is an "A" in the model name it stands for analog (no digital tuner).

Do I'm guessing the GD5U has a tuner but who knows. Does it have a cablecard slot? If it does then it has to have a digital tuner.
According to the Sharp website, the GD4U, GD6U, D5U and D7U all have a "frequency synthesizer (analog / digital)" tuner (whatever that is), an HDTV tuner (ATSC?) and cablecard slot.

The GA5U has a PLL (Phase-locked loop) synthesizer tuner, and no HDTV tuner or cablecard slot.

Hence the theory that "A" = analog and "D" is digital is not unreasonable.

Now, what does the "G" stand for...?

Ross
Ross in Toronto is offline  
post #23 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Ross in Toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Toronto, Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,073
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironfinger
^

i wish, I have the 32D5u, but no built in HDTV tuner.
So much for the theory that "D" = digital... unless the 32D5U has a digital tuner and/or cablecard slot, but not an ATSC (HDTV) tuner...?
Ross in Toronto is offline  
post #24 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EricScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well you got me :)

I think the "G" stands for the "G Series" which as Mike pointed out above were last year's models. They dropped the "G" for this year's models - the 5U and 7U. And the new models coming out later this year will also not have the "G" but will be the 4U and 6U again.

The fact that we have a thread with this many posts shows how confusing this all is.

When I first started researching LCDs I was totally overwhelmed by the number of Sharp models out there. Given that most of the B&M's only really carry the 5's and 7's these days I eventually realized that those were the new models and eventually filled in the blanks but that D5U without an HD tuner sure is a mystery.
EricScott is offline  
post #25 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You guys are even confusing me! The 32D5U has a built in HD Tuner with ATSC, POD, QAM and CableCard. It also has an NTSC tuner for SD broadcasts. The "A" denotes analog NTSC tuner. The "D" denotes digital ATSC, POD, QAM, and CableCard. There is a bastard in the bunch and that is the LC37GB5U. That set has an ATSC tuner but no POD, QAM or CableCard. It meets the letter of the law for HD tuners in sets larger than 36". The "G", as someone asked, stood for the generation of panel glass from the new Kameyama plant. We no longer use the G as we are running out of a logical model numbering system.

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Mike53 is offline  
post #26 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 01:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
By the way, get ready for more confusion as Congress and the FCC just changed the rules for HD tuners again!

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Mike53 is offline  
post #27 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
westa6969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: From Michigan now Retired to Naples, FL
Posts: 6,798
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 57 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Hey Mike when's that 57" LCD due? Call it anything you want except over $8K Retail. Thanks

Samsung 65F8000, 60D8000, 40HU6350, Panasonic 50E60 LCD's
westa6969 is offline  
post #28 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 01:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mike53's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by westa6969
Hey Mike when's that 57" LCD due? Call it anything you want except over $8K Retail. Thanks
More like $15K in Feb 06 currently projected. Won't be many of them either.

I know that you believe you understand what you think I said, but I am not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.
Mike53 is offline  
post #29 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 02:48 PM
Member
 
ironfinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=Mike53]You guys are even confusing me! The 32D5U has a built in HD Tuner with ATSC, POD, QAM and CableCard. [quote]

huh? maybe I'm not undestanding what an "HD tuner" is. I've been assuming it's the same thing as built-in HDTV tuner - where one can get over the air HD broadcasts. Or is my knowlege completely off. On sharps website and my manual for the LC-32D5U, no where does it mention a built-in HDTV tuner.

http://www.sharpusa.com/products/Mod...8,1480,00.html
ironfinger is offline  
post #30 of 431 Old 06-28-2005, 03:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
EricScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: New York, NY
Posts: 1,929
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes it is. And according to these specs and what we all suspected the D5U has a built-in digital/HD/ATSC (whatever you want to call it) tuner.

If you plug an antenna into to the tuner on your set you should be able to pick up HD channels.
EricScott is offline  
Closed Thread Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off