Cables /Switchers/Power Conditioners- Discuss Them Here!!! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 1162 Old 04-02-2006, 01:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Eddy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok guys.... As fo right now I have a Direct TV HD Tivo Receiver that I have connected to my Panny th42pwd7uy set via HDMI... In the near future I am looking on getting either a Blue Ray Player or a HD HdDVD Player.... Now On better Cables.com the site I have seen that they have a 2 in 1 or 4-1 HDMI Switcher.. Has anyone used these switchers and how good are they.. Do you lose any quality... My tv only has 1 HDMI slot...
Eddy13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 1162 Old 04-02-2006, 06:35 PM
Newbie
 
cmlee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone help me out... I picked up my first plasma today - the TH-42PD50. I dont know much about cables. I only have two devices to hook up - DVD player and I plan to pick up a HD PVR this week. I will use component for the DVD player, and should I use component or HDMI for the HD PVR? Will I notice a difference using HDMI over component since the TV is only ED?

Thanks
cmlee is offline  
post #183 of 1162 Old 04-03-2006, 10:20 AM
Member
 
vether2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After getting a plasma display, I've been wondering about surge protectors, power conditioners, etc. Has anyone used or can comment on a product such as the Monster Cable HTS1000 Power Center. This 1665-joule surge protector features Monster's Clean Power Stage 2 high-level AC power filtering. It has eight grounded color-coded AC outlets, three pair coax, and one phone outlet.

How important is this?

Also is it true that digital audio cables (coaxial) are the same as a typical composite audio cable? Thanks.

Open-box specialist
vether2 is offline  
post #184 of 1162 Old 04-03-2006, 05:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jason Priestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've done a bunch of searches on here and still the answer alludes me. I was at BB and bought the following audioquest cables:

one 2M HDMI-3 Cable
one 1M HDMI-1 Cable
two 2M TOSlink Cable

And boy were they expensive. Even with a discount and a $100 gift certificate it was significantly more than i expected. Can one actually hear or see the difference in quality of cables? It seems so subjective but I'm trying to figure out if its really worth it. I'll spend the money if it will give me a better experience but at the same time these cables were almost on par with the cost of the actual components that will use them (ie oppo dvd player, xbox 360, SA8300). By the way this is my setup and I guess they recommended the cables as these were high-end components:

Panny 50" 60U
Denon 4306
Paradigm Studio 20s
Paradigm CC-470
Paradigm PW-2100
Paradigm ADP 370's
xbox 360
SA8300
Oppo dvd player.

Thoughts? Lets keep this constructive and please only answer if you actually used them. Otherwise, what else do you suggest?
Jason Priestley is offline  
post #185 of 1162 Old 04-03-2006, 08:46 PM
Member
 
drainyoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quick question. Are surge protectors with "clean power" necessary? Im wondering if I need one. Thanks.
drainyoo is offline  
post #186 of 1162 Old 04-04-2006, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Priestley View Post

I've done a bunch of searches on here and still the answer alludes me. I was at BB and bought the following audioquest cables:

one 2M HDMI-3 Cable
one 1M HDMI-1 Cable
two 2M TOSlink Cable

And boy were they expensive. Even with a discount and a $100 gift certificate it was significantly more than i expected. Can one actually hear or see the difference in quality of cables?

I highly suggest you look at monoprice.com for quite affordable cables that are very good quality. They are a forum sponsor and have lots of satisfied AVS customers. What you are interested in will probably cost you around $15.
sfhub is offline  
post #187 of 1162 Old 04-04-2006, 03:44 PM
Member
 
Ashlan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I second that... check out Monoprice.... great cables... MUCH LOWER price. I have some expensive components in my system, so it isn't like I go with the lowest price. I just know that paying $100 for an HDMI (or more) is stupid when I cannot tell the difference when I got MONO's cables in for 1/5th of that (including shipping) and it looked just as good.
Ashlan is offline  
post #188 of 1162 Old 04-04-2006, 08:57 PM
Member
 
vether2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So basically there is no consensus on power conditioners/line conditioners or surge protectors. There seems to be a lot of maybe you need it, maybe you don't, couldn't hurt, etc.

Open-box specialist
vether2 is offline  
post #189 of 1162 Old 04-04-2006, 09:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Jason Priestley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 615
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
gotcha. I needed them asap so I stuck with the audioquests but i returned them for the lowest priced ones they have (given that its only 2m cords). Plus with the $100 gift card I had (due big credit card points) and a discount i got them around a price that was on par with some internet dealers (not monoprice or blue jeans but impact audio).
Jason Priestley is offline  
post #190 of 1162 Old 04-05-2006, 03:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joetoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vether2 View Post

So basically there is no consensus on power conditioners/line conditioners or surge protectors. There seems to be a lot of maybe you need it, maybe you don't, couldn't hurt, etc.

basically, you can't go wrong with a battery backup, vether.

that doesn't mean you'll ever actually need one though.

Just say no to cable.
joetoronto is offline  
post #191 of 1162 Old 04-05-2006, 09:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
pierrebnh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NH
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm with Joe. I wouldn't dream of hanging my $6k' worth of gear off an unprotected outlet.

Pierre

"...I probably won't even be allowed in your little man room anyway!"

"It's a man cave!"
pierrebnh is offline  
post #192 of 1162 Old 04-06-2006, 02:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joetoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vether2 View Post

Thanks Joe. That makes it a *little* more clear. After reading your signature, would you consider the Panasonic TH42PX60U and TH37PX60U high-quality plasmas??

based on my experience with the TH50PX60U, absofrigginlutely.

i've only had mine 6 weeks but i'll tell ya, vether, i'm so happy with it, i'm going to buy two more of them. the blacks are out of this world, making colors pop right out at you.

i laugh when people come over and they get drawn to the screen, as if they were hypnotized, lol.

yes, i highly recommend these plasma's, vether.

Just say no to cable.
joetoronto is offline  
post #193 of 1162 Old 04-06-2006, 08:23 AM
qip
Member
 
qip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qip View Post

anyone ever try these http://www.computercablestore.com/detail.aspx?ID=3289

there on ebay for real cheap



well i bought these on ebay for under $10 and got them today , they are real best deal i ever found, $199 at other internet sites wooooot .......picture is a bit sharper but not enough to justify the retail cost
qip is offline  
post #194 of 1162 Old 04-06-2006, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
joetoronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 2,106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qip View Post

well i bought these on ebay for under $10 and got them today , they are real best deal i ever found, $199 at other internet sites wooooot .......picture is a bit sharper but not enough to justify the retail cost

you scored, large.

Just say no to cable.
joetoronto is offline  
post #195 of 1162 Old 04-06-2006, 07:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
nowknown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Orlando
Posts: 865
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Do those passive HDMI Y splitters from Monoprice or Pacific Cable work? I want to split from a HD Tivo to a Plasma and a LCD TV.

'Best comment on one of my AVS reviews ever, "What did I just try to read!" Latest: Snow joke - six foot rabbits and the run-a-way brain.
nowknown is offline  
post #196 of 1162 Old 04-06-2006, 11:49 PM
Newbie
 
aaser018's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My Question:

Line Conditioners --- Are they worth it? I was looking into getting a Monster HTS5100MKII for my entertainment center-- but they sure as hell cost a pretty penny. Is it worth it? Should I go with something a little cheaper?

I have a Sony KDLV40XBR1, a Polk Audio sound system with a Harmon Kardon Reciver AVS635, Xbox 360, Samsung DVDHD860 Dvd-upconverter, and thats about it.

Tell me your thoughts
aaser018 is offline  
post #197 of 1162 Old 04-07-2006, 03:06 PM
Member
 
murray32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmlee View Post

Can anyone help me out... I picked up my first plasma today - the TH-42PD50. I dont know much about cables. I only have two devices to hook up - DVD player and I plan to pick up a HD PVR this week. I will use component for the DVD player, and should I use component or HDMI for the HD PVR? Will I notice a difference using HDMI over component since the TV is only ED?

Thanks

HDMI is definitely a better connection, although the jury is out whether you will see a better picture with HDMI. Some people say HDMI is better, some say there is no difference, and some say component is better!!! It depends on what TV you have, whether you have cable or satellite, the model of PVR, etc etc. The only real way to tell is to hook it up with compenent AND HDMI and switch back and forth and judge for yourself.
murray32 is offline  
post #198 of 1162 Old 04-07-2006, 03:42 PM
Member
 
max crane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 62
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a newbie question, my old sanyo dvd player that I want to hook up for now has a 3 component out, my new tv has a 5 component in, if I hook up only the three (green, blue, red) should if work? I though it would but I am not able to get it to work. When I hook the dvd player up with the rca redy, yellow, and white it works fine but I wanted to see if I could improve the picture.
max crane is offline  
post #199 of 1162 Old 04-08-2006, 10:07 AM
Newbie
 
kuni7900's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Between my game consoles, dvd player and my cable box, I've run out of component connections...even through my receiver. So, I want to use a DVI to HDMI adapter between my HD cable box and my TH-42PX60U. And anyone tried this?

And how much do I need to spend on an adapter cable? Or can I get away with an eBay adapter?

KUNI
kuni7900 is offline  
post #200 of 1162 Old 04-09-2006, 09:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hello:

I was wondering what was the consensus on the best connection cables for various componants.

My TV has:
1 Composite Video In
1 S-Video In,
2 YPbPr In
1 DVI-HDCP In
1 HDMI-HDCP In
1 VGA In

My DVD player has a Composite Video Out and a 2 YPbPr.

My cable box has YPbPr Out and an HDMI out.

Is HDMI better then YPbPr for the cable connection? Is YPbPr better then Comp. Video for the DVD connection?

Thanks in advance,
Splotto
Splotto is offline  
post #201 of 1162 Old 04-09-2006, 09:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jcpzero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Concord, CA
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I find component (YPbPr) does nicely for my cable box and DVD player. I added a new upconverting DVD player which requires an HDMI cable - and I like less cables to run.

I could not tell a difference between component and HDMI on my cable box, so let your eyes make the decision.

3 cable component video is better than 1 cable composite video (or s-video)


JCPZero

Tips for Searching AVS:
Change showing threads from default of last 2 days to last 100 days (lower right section of page)
Use Search This Forum (Current) box (upper right section of page)
Type in model number, manufacturer name or other search term.
jcpzero is offline  
post #202 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 05:39 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcpzero View Post

I find component (YPbPr) does nicely for my cable box and DVD player. I added a new upconverting DVD player which requires an HDMI cable - and I like less cables to run.

I could not tell a difference between component and HDMI on my cable box, so let your eyes make the decision.

3 cable component video is better than 1 cable composite video (or s-video)


JCPZero

Thanks.

Is there any benefit to sending the video signal along with the audio signal to the sound system (via one cable) and then sending the video signal back to the TV? Or is it just as good to send the video directly to the TV and then send the audio to the receiver seperatly?

Right now I send the video directly to the TV via YPbPr from the cable box and I send the audio from the cable box to the reciever via standard red-white audio cable.

Is there a better way?

Splotto
Splotto is offline  
post #203 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 07:15 AM
Newbie
 
draylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I just recently purchased a Phillips 42PF7220A plasma and component cables. But when I hook up my DVD player to the plasma with component cables, everything has a reddish tint to it. I made sure the cables are all hooked up correctly. Could this be a faulty cable or tv?? Has anyone else experienced this?

Thanks,

Dave
draylan is offline  
post #204 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
assJack1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Have you hooked up a seperate STB with components to see if the redish tint is still there?
assJack1 is offline  
post #205 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 07:53 AM
Newbie
 
airstream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Mississauga, Ontario
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some DVD players require you to select Component output in their setup menus.
airstream is offline  
post #206 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 08:15 AM
Newbie
 
draylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Unfortunately I don't have anything else that has component connections. I guess I'll have to find or borrow something that has.

I'll also see if that dvd player needs the component feature to be manually turned on. But would I even see anything at all if it wasn't turned on? I can play the movie... it's just all red. If I hook up just regular composite cables, the colors are normal.

Thanks!

Dave
draylan is offline  
post #207 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
martyj19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
My DVD player produces a pinkish result if the component output is not set up correctly. You may also need to check your Progressive settings. It is not unusual to have questions on this, so I am guessing it is due to one of the common chipsets that is used.
martyj19 is offline  
post #208 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 09:11 AM
Newbie
 
draylan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmmm interesting. I will have to check this out. I have the Philips HTS3410D system. Which component output settings would I need to tweak?

Thanks,

Dave
draylan is offline  
post #209 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dssturbo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA South
Posts: 5,651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
set your dvd to progressive output.
go back and make sure you have the cables correct R to R, G to G, B to B.

Calibrate each input, usually the tv set will have settings you can calibrate for each input.

HD HD HD I Need more HD, Yes I am a HD Addict :)
dssturbo1 is offline  
post #210 of 1162 Old 04-10-2006, 09:49 AM
Member
 
aomiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any solutions?
aomiles is offline  
Reply Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off