FAQ & RULES LINKS_ Plasma & Panasonic Plasma FAQ - Read First! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1295 Old 05-29-2004, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10


Plasma Forum Rules: Please Read Before you Post !
[center]

The Official Plasma Forum: FAQ Thread


BruZZi is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1295 Old 10-12-2004, 12:34 PM
rts
Senior Member
 
rts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northwest Chicago (Morton Grove, IL)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Amazing post ....

By the way... P stands for Progressive: PWD means Progressive Wide Display .. as written on Panasonic's original box ..

What those letters on the model numbers stand for ?
TH-42PWD6UY - TH-42PHD6UY
TH = ???
42 = Screen Size (Diagonal Inches)
P = Plasma
W = Widescreen / H = High Definition
D = In"D"ustrial
6 = Generation
U = US Market
Y = BNC Connectors
Z = RCA Connectors (Previous Consumer Models)
rts is offline  
post #3 of 1295 Old 10-12-2004, 05:49 PM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 22,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Excellent work: deserves to be a sticky

Thank you

Please take the high road in every post
Please do not quote or respond to problematic posts: report them to mods to handle
markrubin is online now  
post #4 of 1295 Old 10-13-2004, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
_Michaelangelo_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Bremerton
Posts: 397
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 39
This is great to see (and not just because you got Rich H's and my threads on screen calibration ) -- this saves me the work of creating a Panny Faq HAHA

Only thing I would add is pros & cons of Plasma, or a few links to the MANY threads. (I'll be posting a Theater vs Plasma case study soon)
i.e.

Q. Why would I choose a Plasma over other technology?
+ Surreal images
+ Rich, Vibrant colors
+ Good detail
+ WIDE viewing angle (160 degrees, if I'm not mistaken)
+ Lightweight for size, compared to rear projectors & tubes.

Q. And the reasons I wouldn't?
- Price (expontentional for larger sizes, and more resolution. Although one can offset this by shopping online. i.e. http://www.visualapex.com/)
- Not as sharp as film
- Size is limited
- Screen-door effect with some people
- Calibration is almost mandatory to get "full" enjoyment (but SO worth it)
- Perceived threat of burn-in

Peace

"Know Thyself" - The Beginning of All Wisdom
_Michaelangelo_ is offline  
post #5 of 1295 Old 10-17-2004, 08:33 AM
 
wojtek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BruZZi - thank you for the excelllent overview.

One question: I thought there was a wireless card available for 7UY (maybe not yet). I would score hugely with wife if she were able to display digital photos wirelessly on the 7UY from her laptop. Do you think such arrangement will be possible?
wojtek is offline  
post #6 of 1295 Old 10-18-2004, 03:13 PM
Member
 
avntx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome FAQ. Suggestion: maybe I missed it (employed the Find feature of the web-browser), but I didn't see any mention of the existence of discrete IR codes.
avntx is offline  
post #7 of 1295 Old 10-18-2004, 04:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
Babula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Woodinville,WA USA
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wojtek
Look at Panasonic Business Plasma displays web page (www.panasonic.com) and find brochure for "7" models which shows a "wireless" blade, P/N TY-FB7WPU that is IEEE 802.11b compliant. 4 laptops can display 4 displays on each quarter of the display.

The World Is Not Flat!
Babula is offline  
post #8 of 1295 Old 10-21-2004, 04:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Babula
wojtek
Look at Panasonic Business Plasma displays web page (www.panasonic.com) and find brochure for "7" models which shows a "wireless" blade, P/N TY-FB7WPU that is IEEE 802.11b compliant. 4 laptops can display 4 displays on each quarter of the display.

Thanks Babula.

Wojtek,

It should be available by December.

Price is $550 (MSRP)
BruZZi is offline  
post #9 of 1295 Old 10-21-2004, 05:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by avntx
Awesome FAQ.

Thanks avntx.

Quote:
Suggestion: maybe I missed it (employed the Find feature of the web-browser), but I didn't see any mention of the existence of discrete IR codes.

Problem is, I don't have much info about it.

I need help from Panny owners for that topic.
BruZZi is offline  
post #10 of 1295 Old 10-21-2004, 10:33 PM
rts
Senior Member
 
rts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Northwest Chicago (Morton Grove, IL)
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the IR codes for 7u .. you may want to check this thread .

I just tried the 5u code and it works like a charm .. atleast for on-of, input select, picture, volume etc ... I guess that's all that you need (except some people are wondering about its compatibility with DVI/HDMI) ...
rts is offline  
post #11 of 1295 Old 10-22-2004, 11:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Babula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Woodinville,WA USA
Posts: 751
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BruZZi

You may be interested to know there are other blades that include an Ethernet Interface with MP3 player and 20 gb hard drive as well as another that is a PC Blade. It takes up three slots I think.

Interesting stuff.

The World Is Not Flat!
Babula is offline  
post #12 of 1295 Old 10-24-2004, 06:39 PM
Senior Member
 
mooneydriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a revised version of my comparison of the Panny 42" ED consumer (6th generation) and commercial (7th generation) displays. The comparison is a bit unfair, of course, since the 7th generation has a more advanced display with less image retention. I will update this comparison sheet once the 7th generation consumer models become available (by year end, we hope).

BruZZi, feel free to attach the PDF directly to your FAQ.

 

panasonic 42ed compare v6.pdf 59.376953125k . file
mooneydriver is offline  
post #13 of 1295 Old 10-25-2004, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
BruZZi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 5,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
<< Babula >>

That's great. I have to spend more time (I"m too busy) learning about the new Optional Blades.


<< mooneydriver >>

Thanks Again.

I have another suggestion...

IMO You should definitively include your user name on that comparison.
BruZZi is offline  
post #14 of 1295 Old 10-26-2004, 06:47 PM
Member
 
jnelaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 137
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by mooneydriver
Here is a revised version of my comparison of the Panny 42" ED consumer (6th generation) and commercial (7th generation) displays.

Thanks for the review, now I'm wondering if I should hold off on purchasing a TH-42PD25U/P until the 7th generation consumer models come out.

Anyway, I was just curious about your line item which says that the 6th generation consumer models don't have 3:2 pulldown detection. The Cnet review of TH-42PD25U/P says it does have this (but they refer to it as 2:3 pulldown detection). They even go into detail about how good it is. So who's right?

Thanks,
Jay
jnelaine is offline  
post #15 of 1295 Old 10-26-2004, 09:11 PM
Senior Member
 
mooneydriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 304
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jnelaine
Anyway, I was just curious about your line item which says that the 6th generation consumer models don't have 3:2 pulldown detection. The Cnet review of TH-42PD25U/P says it does have this (but they refer to it as 2:3 pulldown detection). They even go into detail about how good it is. So who's right?

Good question. I may have been wrong on that one. The commercial models have a menu option to turn this feature on/off whereas the consumer models don't have such an option. Panasonic marketing material or operating manuals do not specify whether this feature exists in the consumer models. According to CNET, the HD consumer models do not have 3:2 pulldown detection whereas the ED models do have it.

If anyone has definite information on whether the 42" ED has pulldown detection, please post.

Also review the following thread on pulldown on Panny consumer models. Covers the semantics in detail as well.

BruZZi -- I'll add my signature in the next rev
mooneydriver is offline  
post #16 of 1295 Old 10-30-2004, 02:19 PM
Member
 
joeTVguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Western Metro, Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey BruZZI.

Your chart above says that model "TH-42PX20UP" has no HDMI but I have one and it does have it. In fact, for me to hook up to a DVI connector, I will need to purchase Panasonic's converter cable, P/N TY-SCH03DH

You want fries with that?
joeTVguy is offline  
post #17 of 1295 Old 11-01-2004, 05:50 AM
Member
 
Ajlift's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: NYC, NY USA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received a consumer TH-42PX25UP. I would like to be able to calibrate the unit using Milori's colorfacts. I've used colorfacts to calibrate my Pio 503CMX and the results were outstanding.

On the Pioneer service menu it was easy to adjust color balance/white balance while inputiing test screens from Avia or PC. The service menu consists of drop down choices which could be balanced and tweaked. Changes made could be tweaked and saved in relation to other changes.

I haven't yet tried to calibrate the Panny yet. When I used the instructions for getting into the Panasonic service menu, I was confused by the optins and how to adjust them.

Has anyone calibrated their own consumer model? Is there any instructions I can find which would explain the parameters listed in the service menu? Can changes be made without leaving the service menu?

Thanks
Ajlift is offline  
post #18 of 1295 Old 11-21-2004, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
corybuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: San
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 42pwd7uy and have yet to figure out how to determine what scanning format is being displayed on the plasma at any one time. ( 480i, 480p,720p, 1080i, etc.) For instance if I set my dvd player for output of 480p how do in determine that the display is outputting 480p. I have also read where members say let the dvd or the display do the upconverting. How do you choose on the display for instance to do this and not the dvd player. It seems there should be some button on the remote that you can push that will show on the display what is being shown.. (480i, 480p, etc.)I thought it would be shown on the "Status" button. Am I missing something.
corybuff is offline  
post #19 of 1295 Old 11-24-2004, 07:27 PM
Member
 
Steffche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a 42" viera (Aust. model) and was wanting some more info on the service menu...parameters and their meaning etc... the link to the service menu listed on your FAQ page didn't work for me...not sure if its me or not?? Any info re: the service menu for a viera would be very much appreciated.>!!!!

Thanks heaps...
Steffche is offline  
post #20 of 1295 Old 11-26-2004, 09:21 AM
Newbie
 
irishterp79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got the new TH-42PHD7UY. I have HD Directv tivo and DVD connected via component. Normal use. How often should I use the screensaver? Which one? How long should I use it for each time? Any advise appreciated.

Thanks.
irishterp79 is offline  
post #21 of 1295 Old 11-27-2004, 05:04 PM
Senior Member
 
dmwierz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by irishterp79
Just got the new TH-42PHD7UY. I have HD Directv tivo and DVD connected via component. Normal use. How often should I use the screensaver? Which one? How long should I use it for each time? Any advise appreciated.

Thanks.

There's a screenaver on the Panny's? All I see is a power saver that, try as I might, I cannot get to engage.

???
dmwierz is offline  
post #22 of 1295 Old 11-28-2004, 02:19 PM
Member
 
Steffche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I too have not nodticed any difference when turning on the power save...?
Steffche is offline  
post #23 of 1295 Old 11-28-2004, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
dmwierz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It appears to dim the display slightly, and has an immediate impact.
dmwierz is offline  
post #24 of 1295 Old 11-28-2004, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Steffche's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doesn't make ANY difference on mine?
Steffche is offline  
post #25 of 1295 Old 11-28-2004, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
 
dmwierz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's VERY subtle, almost a "why bother"
dmwierz is offline  
post #26 of 1295 Old 11-29-2004, 07:52 PM
Newbie
 
irishterp79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes there are screensavers on the new model. White scroll and negative image.
irishterp79 is offline  
post #27 of 1295 Old 12-01-2004, 07:03 AM
Member
 
Manshri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I followed the instruction to check number of hours used on my 50" 7UY. For some reason I am unable to access the Service Menu.

I can access hidden setup menu by following the other instruction but can not get the "service menu"

Has anyone tried this on 7 series plasma? Please help.

Thanks

Mandar
Manshri is offline  
post #28 of 1295 Old 12-02-2004, 07:35 PM
Newbie
 
Molloch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've been considering getting a TH-37PD25UP. I haven't managed to find a store in my area that will hook one up with different quality feeds (I'm assuming they've only had 1080i). From what I understand, this set should do a pretty good job with SD feeds, but can anyone tell me whether it'll handle 720p?

Digging through the user manual, it looks like it only supports 480i, 480p, and 1080i. The omission of 720p makes me suspect it simply won't display 720p. Anyone have any input on this?

I figure most set-top boxes will resample for you to 1080i, but what if you're using the CableCard?
Molloch is offline  
post #29 of 1295 Old 12-03-2004, 05:05 AM
Senior Member
 
dmwierz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Molloch,

You are correct. This display will not handle 720p. Not a problem for me, as I feed all my HD through an HD TiVo which resamples and outputs at a resolution the Panny can handle, like 1080i or 480p (user chosen).
dmwierz is offline  
post #30 of 1295 Old 12-03-2004, 07:36 AM
Member
 
don482's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I get some opinions as to whether the TH-50VXS30 is worth the additional cost over the TH-50PX24/UP in terms of picture quality?

Do both sets use the same glass? What are the major differences?

Thanks for your help

Don
don482 is offline  
Reply Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off