Flat Panel over Fireplace - Discomforting?? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 276 Old 01-20-2008, 11:45 AM
adm
Senior Member
 
adm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Port Jefferson NY
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btc9800 View Post

thanks for the suggestion.
But, yes whenever I make a cable run I always leave additional cable slack.
A good deal of the cabling seen in the photo will be eliminated shortly.

Wed of this coming week I am having a DN VIP722 HD receiver installed which has an HDMI port.That will eliminate 2 cables. Also my dvd player is presently connected via component....that will eliminate 4 cables, as it also has an HDMI port. The SD receiver I now have will be retired. It does not have HDMI only has comp, RCA, Svideo, jacks.

I also ran 2 dedicated 110 vac lines with duplex receptacles, and an RJ 11, which you can't see behind the side legs of the overmantle. I constructed the complete wall cabinetry so it can be removed for modification if ever with out injuring any it. Also should I sell my home, a prospective buyer may disapprove of it, benig it is in the living room.

Understood. Again, good thinking/planning on your part.
While you are replacing several of the cable runs with HDMI, since they are already in the run, have you given thought to:
1- leaving them their for future upgrades
2- putting in an extra HDMI or two in there now?

since it will be easier to do at this time for additional equip down the road. AND..., if needed you can always use the cable in the run as a "pull through" to draw the new cable through by taping them together.

Just another thought for future proofing to avoid "Murphy's Law"

..Mark
adm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 276 Old 01-20-2008, 05:58 PM
Member
 
btc9800's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by adm View Post

Understood. Again, good thinking/planning on your part.
While you are replacing several of the cable runs with HDMI, since they are already in the run, have you given thought to:
1- leaving them their for future upgrades
2- putting in an extra HDMI or two in there now?

since it will be easier to do at this time for additional equip down the road. AND..., if needed you can always use the cable in the run as a "pull through" to draw the new cable through by taping them together.

Just another thought for future proofing to avoid "Murphy's Law"

..Mark

Mark,
Sounds like you have, been there done that.

Me too ! 2 other sd tv's in the house one fed with rg6, the other via S/video and l/r RCA audio.
All cable runs are accessible for updating if ever needed.
btc9800 is offline  
post #93 of 276 Old 01-20-2008, 06:18 PM
adm
Senior Member
 
adm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Port Jefferson NY
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btc9800 View Post

Mark,
Sounds like you have, been there done that.

Me too ! 2 other sd tv's in the house one fed with rg6, the other via S/video and l/r RCA audio.
All cable runs are accessible for updating if ever needed.



btc9800,
Yep, guilty as charged and fortunately, still smiling

Too often, it is the little things like this that can come back and haunt you after soooooooooooooooooo much planning and forethought. Having been there yourself, you truly understand. Hopefully, others who haven't will read and learn from what you have experienced and also be able to smile in the end.

Enjoy your unit. The extra effort is well worth it.
..Mark
adm is offline  
post #94 of 276 Old 01-21-2008, 09:45 AM
Newbie
 
cooperdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is my rough in right now:



I'll post pics when I'm all moved in.
I'll have the Hitachi P50S601 going in the void .

There will be a mantel just below the middle cutout which is where my center will sit.

Overall I'm very happy how this is turning out so far.
cooperdude is offline  
post #95 of 276 Old 01-21-2008, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Artwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hoover, Alabama
Posts: 4,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 197
This may be a dumb question but does tilting the display downwards help in watchability?

Can Plasmas and LCDs function OK if they are tilted downwards for a long amount of time?
Artwood is offline  
post #96 of 276 Old 01-21-2008, 01:17 PM
Member
 
RICKSRIBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artwood View Post

This may be a dumb question but does tilting the display downwards help in watchability?

Can Plasmas and LCDs function OK if they are tilted downwards for a long amount of time?

This Phillips is installed at my Vacation/Rental home with 14ft ceilings..And no problems....

Originally the seller of the new house built the entertainment center(to the right) and included a 42" commercial Panny plasma.....

I brought my 50" Phillips plasma from my permanent home & put it over the fireplace....I took the 42" & put it in the master bedroom...

This home is going to be our retirement home & the (great room)
combination of living, dining, kitchen.

Eventually I will put a 60" or larger over the fireplace....

They had cut out holes for ceiling speakers & so I put the front speaker under
under the plasma.....
LL
RICKSRIBS is offline  
post #97 of 276 Old 01-21-2008, 02:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tripleM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Artwood View Post


Can Plasmas and LCDs function OK if they are tilted downwards for a long amount of time?

Not sure if your question is related to transporting a plasma upright but tilt mount shouldn't be an issue. There has been no reports of glass breaking or gas leaking out them

Panasonic TC-P60ST60 + Sony STR-DG810 + LG BH200 + JBL L830's x2 + JBL LC1 + JBL Loft40 x 2 + Polk PSW10 + Harmony One
tripleM is offline  
post #98 of 276 Old 01-21-2008, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Artwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Hoover, Alabama
Posts: 4,817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 197
No I was just wondering if a tilt mount resulted in any problems. Evidently not.
Artwood is offline  
post #99 of 276 Old 02-07-2008, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
agogley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 18
When doing your cable runs, you should use a tube for adding new cables later. Run a sturdy string or fish wire inside the tube.
agogley is offline  
post #100 of 276 Old 02-18-2008, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
cooperdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is an update:

A PVC tube for all the cables is the outlet cover on the left, and it exits on the side of the fireplace, on the left.
cooperdude is offline  
post #101 of 276 Old 03-09-2008, 09:10 AM
Senior Member
 
dandan123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I currently have a 32" Sony CRT and I'm thinking of getting a 58" plasma which I'll be installing over the fireplace.

My question - Will I find studs over the fireplace to bolt the mount ? The reason I ask is from my limited understanding of studs they usually go all the way from top to bottom and with the fireplace they obviously can't. Even if I did find studs using a stud finder would these be strong enough to hold a 58" (using three studs) given that they probably don't go all the way down.
dandan123 is offline  
post #102 of 276 Old 03-10-2008, 04:58 AM
Member
 
prosp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NY
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently installed a 52" Sony on my fireplace. A 5 degree tilt is all I needed to be able to view the TV comfortably.

I'll take a picture and post it shortly.
prosp is offline  
post #103 of 276 Old 03-10-2008, 06:27 PM
Newbie
 
HTdville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you get the wires through the studs from behind the mount?
HTdville is offline  
post #104 of 276 Old 03-12-2008, 09:04 PM
Member
 
k3k3k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've had a Syntax Olevia 26 inch over my fireplace for the past three years with no issues whatsoever.

Just replaced it with a Panasonic TH-50PX80U...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3193/...6db3f031_b.jpg
k3k3k3 is offline  
post #105 of 276 Old 03-13-2008, 02:47 PM
Member
 
Bullet94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3k3k3 View Post

I've had a Syntax Olevia 26 inch over my fireplace for the past three years with no issues whatsoever.

Just replaced it with a Panasonic TH-50PX80U...

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3193/...6db3f031_b.jpg

Very nice! Have you notice any problems with heat from the fireplace since you do not have a mantle to deflect the heat?

"Hence we will not say that Greeks fight like heroes, but that heroes fight like Greeks." - Winston Churchill
Bullet94 is offline  
post #106 of 276 Old 03-13-2008, 05:03 PM
GC3
Advanced Member
 
GC3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Georgia in the rear view mirror
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Here is a pic of my 58" panny mounted with the bottom 60" off the ground, sitting at 15 degree angle, from about 12 feet distance. it was okay for me, but many people viewing complained. there w.asn't any viable alternative mounting location

i have since moved, and dropped it down to 35" off the ground with about 5 degree tilt. perfect at 10 feet.
LL
GC3 is offline  
post #107 of 276 Old 03-13-2008, 10:40 PM
Member
 
k3k3k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bullet94 View Post

Very nice! Have you notice any problems with heat from the fireplace since you do not have a mantle to deflect the heat?

I don't burn coal or anything like that, so my fireplace has absolutely no radiant heat issues.

I actually did put up a 48 inch mantle from Lowes. That is what the speaker is sitting on in front of the bottom center of the tv. Did it more for aesthetics (and to help conceal the wiring) than for any protection. I guess if my fireplace were to stop drawing properly then it may help deflect heat and smoke away from the bottom of the tv.

Of course my REAL concern would then be that Persian rug
k3k3k3 is offline  
post #108 of 276 Old 03-13-2008, 11:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tripleM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by k3k3k3 View Post

I don't burn coal or anything like that, so my fireplace has absolutely no radiant heat issues.

I actually did put up a 48 inch mantle from Lowes. That is what the speaker is sitting on in front of the bottom center of the tv. Did it more for aesthetics (and to help conceal the wiring) than for any protection. I guess if my fireplace were to stop drawing properly then it may help deflect heat and smoke away from the bottom of the tv.

Prior to putting the mantle in between the top of the FP & the bottom of your TV, how many ft was in between? I have rising heat issues from a similar FP setup exclusive of mantle currently.

Panasonic TC-P60ST60 + Sony STR-DG810 + LG BH200 + JBL L830's x2 + JBL LC1 + JBL Loft40 x 2 + Polk PSW10 + Harmony One
tripleM is offline  
post #109 of 276 Old 03-15-2008, 09:56 AM
Member
 
k3k3k3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripleM View Post

Prior to putting the mantle in between the top of the FP & the bottom of your TV, how many ft was in between? I have rising heat issues from a similar FP setup exclusive of mantle currently.

I added the mantle as part of this installation. The bottom of the tv is 22 inches above the top of the hearth.
k3k3k3 is offline  
post #110 of 276 Old 03-28-2008, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
chimera_1972's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi
i want to mount a 52-58" plasma over a fireplace but my mantle is too high to have a tv on top of it. is there a mount you can buy that drops the tv down several inches in front of the fireplace so that its not a strain on the neck?
thanks
chimera_1972 is offline  
post #111 of 276 Old 03-29-2008, 05:14 AM
Newbie
 
LightsOff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Lets see some pictures that would realy help me see it
LightsOff is offline  
post #112 of 276 Old 04-10-2008, 07:29 AM
Newbie
 
gompol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tripleM View Post

Awesome! Can I ask you where you got that media rack on the left of the fireplace?

Thanks

Got it on sale from Target for $100
http://www.target.com/Uptown-Audio-P...e=1&rh=&page=1


Hmm.. my thread notification doesnt email alert me anymore for some reason
gompol is offline  
post #113 of 276 Old 04-14-2008, 10:46 AM
Newbie
 
cooperdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Update for my above post:



cooperdude is offline  
post #114 of 276 Old 04-14-2008, 10:53 AM
Newbie
 
gompol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice setup cooperdude. Very clean. That little recess helped made the TV to stick out less.
I bet if you paint the walls, it will give the room more body.
gompol is offline  
post #115 of 276 Old 04-14-2008, 11:08 AM
Newbie
 
cooperdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! I'll paint eventually. I'm thinking a sand type color. I hate white
cooperdude is offline  
post #116 of 276 Old 04-22-2008, 10:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
dhodory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 806
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have my 50" Panny mounted above my fireplace (on an x-arm) and have had no issues for the last 14 months. According to Panasonic's website or owner's manual (forget which) as long as the ambient temp does not exceed 106 (or was it 109) F, you should be ok. Sorry for the fuzzy memory . . .
dhodory is offline  
post #117 of 276 Old 04-22-2008, 03:12 PM
Member
 
Bullet94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Chicagoland area
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cooperdude View Post

Update for my above post:




That set up looks great.

"Hence we will not say that Greeks fight like heroes, but that heroes fight like Greeks." - Winston Churchill
Bullet94 is offline  
post #118 of 276 Old 05-02-2008, 01:07 AM
Member
 
dealkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my 50" Panasonic plasma mounted above the mental. It was decided first day I bought the new house. So I can planned out early. I picked the lowest mental the builder offer. And I put in built in power and cable tube behind wall plus two pieces solid wood for wall mount bracket place behind wall above and under power/cable tube (so not restrict to stud). My old house, I put a 36" Sony wega TV above fire place (a large cavity just fit for Sony 36" TV). Wow, is it comfortable, I was worried before when I put my Sony up high. So here is my take:
1) viewing distance (as far as possible, i.e. > 9 foot at least)
2) height of mental (as low as possible when it still look good)
3) high back sofa, if it can pull out and recline, this would be idea (all my sofa can pull out and recline, you can rest you leg too. It can recline to nearly 180 degree if you want and they are all high back so you can rest your head on back even you sit straight)
4) Tilt wall mount (not for normal TV like Sony wega CRT)

If you have all these, go ahead. The finish is a absolute stunning. And this is a trend now for new houses. I attached 2 photoes. One is my living room and the other was builder's model home (the biggest builder in my city). You will love the set up. I have more than 30 cables behind the wall through the build in tube all the way to the build in cabinet at right. You can not see a single cable from the front. And when I use sd card slot to play 1920x1080 photoes (i.e. animal, natural view, stars), my friends would look and "wow" and glued in front of my TV.

By saying all these, the ideal viewing height is best put the TV on top of a TV stand if you can.
LL
LL
dealkb is offline  
post #119 of 276 Old 05-02-2008, 11:39 AM
Member
 
jagmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: wilmington, nc
Posts: 110
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice setup I must say. What is the height from the floor to the bottom of your set? The only thing that I could think of to make it even better might be a 58 or 60 inch screen!!
jagmonster is offline  
post #120 of 276 Old 05-04-2008, 07:13 AM
Member
 
dealkb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My mantle is 49" high and my TV is another 3.5" to 4" above mantle.

Yes, I hope I can afford 58". The place I got is ideal for 54" (looking good, with enough wall as a boarder). 58" has no issue to fit in (even 65" would be fine to put in). But the looking would be less ideal. Anyway, plasma did not come with 54". And 58" was only with high end model from Panny. This year, Panny releases a 46" plasma. I hope they will get on 54" plasma soon or later.
dealkb is offline  
Reply Flat Panels General and OLED Technology

Tags
Tv Above Fireplace

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off