60 HZ Vs. 120 HZ? What's the Real Answer?! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 05-26-2009, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I researched for a few hours on other forums and websites.

There are some who say the 120HZ is only noticable during panning in film.

My dillema is the following, to buy either:

$1,176.99
Sony BRAVIA / 46" Class / 1080p / 60Hz / LCD HDTV
Model: KDL-46V4100

OR

Sale: $1,399.99
Sony BRAVIA / 46" Class / 1080p / 120Hz / LCD HDTV
Model: KDL-46V5100

So for $223 more, is the 120 HZ worth it?

I will use the TV for: XBOX 360, and blu ray movies that are action-packed (i.e matrix, spiderman, etc.).

As well I had one other question as I am new to whole HD TV concept:

(1) I heard Standard Picture is grainy on HD TVs, so if my cable TV provider is regular (not HD), and I use a dvd player with this Sony HD TV, playing DVD movies, will I see things extremely grainy?
Basically I have to have blu ray and order HD TV service or else I get grainier, worse TV quality picture for standard TV than I had with my old CRT Toshiba TV? It makes me think that the TV isnt really $1200 in that sense or $1400 but $1500 and $1700 because of the necessity of the blu ray player, not to mention the extra cost of HD programming rather than standard.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 05-26-2009, 08:54 PM
Advanced Member