The best VCR brand/model to use as a tuner - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 04-15-2002, 10:30 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will be using a VCR as the tuner on a 50" pioneer. My question is anyone recommend a specific make/model for this use. In one of my previous post I was recommended JVC.

Thanks
Sydney:confused:
Sydney is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 04-15-2002, 07:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Spoffo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 1,193
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You want to get one of the high-end JVC models: HR-S7800 or above. They don't necessarily have a better tuner than other good VCRs, but they have by far the best tape playback. They're the only units below pro prices that include a digital time base corector. Possibly more important for your use, because they are SVHS decks you can get S-video out to your plasma when you use it as a tuner.

I tried a number of VCRs with my Panny plasma, and the JVC 7900 beat them all by a BIG visible margin.
Spoffo is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 04-16-2002, 05:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
gages's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Merrick, NY
Posts: 642
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was looking at the new JVC D-VHS machine, wondering if using the component outputs to drive the display will yield an improvement over s-video
gages is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 04-16-2002, 03:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dixon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 730
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchased a JVC 7800 from Crutchfields. They have been running a special for $199. See here . I don't know how that price compares with other retailers, but it is a great VCR for the money.
Dixon is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 04-16-2002, 09:53 PM
Senior Member
 
1080iAddict's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why not try a Tivo unit instead and get all the Tivo features. And Tivo has S-vid out.
1080iAddict is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 04-16-2002, 10:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I auditioned a lot of svhs vcrs and the Mitsubishi svhs was by far the best.Better PQ than JVC or Toshiba.

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 04-16-2002, 10:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I picked up the Mitsubishi HS-U776 SVHS player.



sydney
Sydney is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 04-16-2002, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would a digital cable box give any better qtly picture over a VCR tuner. DO digital cable boxes have SVHS outputs?


sydney
Sydney is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 04-16-2002, 11:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
ransome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: phx,az
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sydney
I have the same exact model as you.It was absolutely hands down the best svhs vcr I have ever used.This is coming from a guy who literally auditioned ever svhs (jvc,tosiba,phillips,panasonic)vcr ever made.Best picture,cleanest signal.
My wife uses it to tune cable(with, for cable,very nice results)I usually only watch directv or dish or replaytv..

Who are you going to believe,me or your lying eyes?
ransome is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-16-2002, 11:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Lowell, MA
Posts: 164
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.
Sydney is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 04-18-2002, 09:33 AM
Member
 
photorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chappaqua, New York
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using a General Instrument DCT-2000 cable converter box which has both RF out and separate video and single audio outputs. This is going to a TIVO with S-video out, to my Panny plasma. I am currently using an RF cable between the G.I. box and Tivo. The TV signal on the plasma is pretty pathetic. Will I see any discernable difference if I use the separate A/V output instead of RF? Cablevision in my area doesn't have any more advanced equipment available.(in addition to not broadcasting the Yankee games)
photorad is offline  
Closed Thread OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off