What to buy for holidays ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 10-29-2011, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello guys,

I know that there are a lot of threads talking about LED over LCD over Plasma in here but I was not able to find the information I am looking for at this present time or that dealth with what I am looking for...

I am not an expert in this (which I think that's why this forum is great to get some other opinions) but I know what I want in a display after doing all my home work...

So haven't found my "perfect" display yet, I was wondering what are the best display to buy at this moment of the year (Q4 2011) ?

Here is a brief histrory of what I did try at this moment. All of the non professional test I have done were to set the display in THX or cinema mode right out of the box and watch all type of content going from SD sattelite to 1080p24 bluray.

1st model, Panasonic TCP46G25.

I did like:

1) THX mode right out of the box was superb to me for watching movies. Skin tones and landscaping looked great and real.
2) Panel uniformity (this is really important to me), when it's black, it's black everywhere with no hotspots
3) Black levels (this is really important to me), were pretty close to be real dark black (really low grey/black tone)
4) VierraCast is nice but not a must
5) The best SD picutre I saw
6) Super fast display in any kind of action scenes
7) Pricing around 999CAD

I did not like

1) The power supply noise was horrible. That made me return this display.
2) The audio from the TV is horrible when listening from the TV
3) Danger of image retention
4) Power consumption

2nd model, Sharp Quattron LED LC46LE810UN

What I did find kind of nice:

1) Pricing around 1199CAD
2) Picture quality is not bad in full HD from a bluray
3) Power consuption
4) No image retention

I did not like:

1) Super reflective mirror like frame at the bottom of the TV