Any TV's with video output? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-06-2012, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 180
I had been content to watch the Olympics on my 42" Toshiba LCD, but last night thought it would be cool to run the video to my projector.

To my surprise, there's not a single video output.

I looked on line at mid/high level models from Panasonic, Sharp, Samsung, and Vizio, and none of them did either.

Is there a brand that does have them?

HDMI or component would be fine.

Older model flat panels are OK (actually preferred for lower cost, as this is for secondary occasional use).

Noah
noah katz is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-06-2012, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chronoptimist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 254
Aren't you better off with a video splitter?
Chronoptimist is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-06-2012, 03:11 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 180
?

Ah, you must be thinking I have cable or sat.

I don't; the video signal originates from the tuner in the TV.

Noah
noah katz is online now  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-07-2012, 09:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Haven't seen video out since the last of the high end analog sets, and then it was S-video at best.

If you're receiving signals via antenna rather than cable you might try looking for one of those separate HD tuner boxes from the early 2000s, before sets all had digital tuners built in. LG made the best ones. Alternatively you could get an HD Tivo, but they require a service fee.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-08-2012, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

If you're receiving signals via antenna rather than cable you might try looking for one of those separate HD tuner boxes from the early 2000s, before sets all had digital tuners built in. LG made the best ones.

Thanks, I can probably get one cheap; any idea how will performance from 10 yr ago compare to that of a recent TV's built-in tuner?

Noah
noah katz is online now  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-09-2012, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
having been around and in the market in those days, the best were the models made by LG, the newer the better. The problem was mainly finding one that rejected signals reflected off nearby buildings etc. and LG's later models were the best at this. If you find a Sony from the last year or so they made them it was actually an LG and worked quite well, earlier Sonys were bad, and Hughes were to be avoided, though I think they were only combination DirecTV/OTA boxes.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-10-2012, 02:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 180
I see that there are some cable/sat boxes with HDTV tuners that also include DVR's.

Do you know if any of those can be used to record OTA and w/o getting a subscription?

Noah
noah katz is online now  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-11-2012, 12:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Fresno CA
Posts: 5,356
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
Originally Posted by noah katz View Post

I see that there are some cable/sat boxes with HDTV tuners that also include DVR's.
Do you know if any of those can be used to record OTA and w/o getting a subscription?

Most all of these get guide data off the cable or sat system. You can buy a new box that will have ota dvr function without a subscription. One of these:

http://www.channelmaster.com/Channel_Master_TV_s/304.htm

There are others, check out the "HDTV recorders" forum.

Steve S.
Steve S is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-12-2012, 07:55 AM
 
pds3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 231
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve S View Post

Most all of these get guide data off the cable or sat system. You can buy a new box that will have ota dvr function without a subscription. One of these:
http://www.channelmaster.com/Channel_Master_TV_s/304.htm
There are others, check out the "HDTV recorders" forum.

From all I can tell the Channel Master CM-7400 is no longer available.
pds3 is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-12-2012, 07:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
noah katz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Mountain View, CA USA
Posts: 20,730
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 364 Post(s)
Liked: 180
Perfect, I can get a used one for le$$.

Thanks again, Steve.

Noah
noah katz is online now  
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
Toshiba , Lcd Hdtv , Samsung , Vizio , Sharp , Projectors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off