Can I convert HDMI output to 15 pin input on 2001 Sony PFM-42B1 ? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2013, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
edweather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My 2001 Sony PFM-42B1 only has a 15 pin input, and our new DirectV receiver has an HDMI output. I tried using an HDMI to 15 pin adapter, but don't get any video. Am I doing something wrong? Thanks. Ed.
edweather is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-10-2013, 09:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
myoda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 55
Quote:
Originally Posted by edweather View Post

My 2001 Sony PFM-42B1 only has a 15 pin input, and our new DirectV receiver has an HDMI output. I tried using an HDMI to 15 pin adapter, but don't get any video. Am I doing something wrong? Thanks. Ed.

Does your DirecTV receiver have s-video out? I would use that cable. Could be an HDCP issue between your receiver and TV. Since you have an older Sony plasma, it might not be able to negotiate a connection using that adapter.
myoda is offline  
Old 07-10-2013, 01:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chronoptimist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 2,774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 335
You'll need to buy an HDfury device. The new models seem quite expensive now, but even the original model should do what you need. (it will handle up to 1080p60 over VGA) I'm sure you can probably find an older model for a lot less than the current versions.
Chronoptimist is offline  
Old 07-10-2013, 04:09 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
edweather's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can't I just use the component video output from the receiver to the 15 pin input on the plasma to get an HD signal?
edweather is offline  
Old 07-10-2013, 05:53 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
If it is a VGA Input, you could find a HDMI or Component to VGA 15 pin, but they would be hard to find these days. This may work http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011407&p_id=7113&seq=1&format=1#largeimage Here is the book on that flat panel http://www.docs.sony.com/release/PFM42B1.pdf The big problem is, that it only does PAL, SeCam, and NTSC 4.43. You would be better to sell it to someone that is looking for parts, since it is not compatible with any equipment here in North America. http://esupport.sony.com/US/p/model-home.pl?mdl=PFM42B1&template_id=1&region_id=1&tab=manuals#/manualsTab

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTSC#NTSC_4.43
gregzoll is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off