LG 55EA9800 55" OLED Owner's thread - Page 152 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4531 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 08:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Most TVs only allow ARC on one of the HDMI inputs. On this TV, it is clearly labeled on the HDMI port 1.
Foxbat121 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4532 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vegas oled View Post
What is your opinion of the Darbee with this TV, is it worth it?
I love Darbee! It really is the only thing that could make such a perfect picture that tiny bit more perfect. It's almost impossible to explain it, but somehow it manages to do exactly as advertised and "lift a veil" off the image, restoring detail you've never seen before without introducing any artifacts (if left at a reasonable setting. There's no reason to Jack it up too high). I mean you can't expect miracles; it's subtle, but I can sit closer to the screen with it than I could without it for example, which feels like I'm getting some of the benefits of a higher res (darbee combined with oled kind of does feel like a higher res to me).
mr_rhythm and vaktmestern like this.

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.
Theplague13 is offline  
post #4533 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Most TVs only allow ARC on one of the HDMI inputs. On this TV, it is clearly labeled on the HDMI port 1.
It just isn't something I've ever needed so I never bothered except to test it once. The last tv I used it on was a Sony XBR5 (non smart).

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.
Theplague13 is offline  
post #4534 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 219
The oled has really shown me the limitations of current feeds(cable, Netflix, etc)
I wonder how long its going to take to get 4k into households as I don't even think my dish provider is broadcasting in 1080(I think it's 720)
5x10 is offline  
post #4535 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Dish providers are known to broadcasting in HD Lite (in between 720p and 1080i). Most cable companies aren't any better.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4536 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Dish providers are known to broadcasting in HD Lite (in between 720p and 1080i). Most cable companies aren't any better.
Thanks, I can really tell a difference between dish and Blu ray, compared to my plasma

Last edited by 5x10; 06-25-2014 at 09:15 AM.
5x10 is offline  
post #4537 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,978
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
Dish providers are known to broadcasting in HD Lite (in between 720p and 1080i). Most cable companies aren't any better.
Not exactly. If they actually broadcast something in-between 720p and 1080i, your display wouldn't know what to do with it. You'd more than likely get an 'unsupported resolution'.

In actuality it's the bitrate that generally suffers with these providers, but Directv has done a much better job over the last couple of years. I don't know about Dish.

I came from FIOS to D* and notice no significant drop in PQ.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #4538 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:16 AM
Member
 
aaronwalker1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 26
I have a Darbee hooked up to this set as well. It is subtle, but definitely improves the picture quality.
mr_rhythm likes this.
aaronwalker1974 is offline  
post #4539 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,978
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
I've never understood why most ISF techs, including Kevin Miller who ISF's all my displays, dislike Darbee. I've always found it gives that little added 'something'.

However on the negative side, I have had issues with HDMI handshakes with the Darbee.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #4540 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Ross View Post
Not exactly. If they actually broadcast something in-between 720p and 1080i, your display wouldn't know what to do with it. You'd more than likely get an 'unsupported resolution'.

In actuality it's the bitrate that generally suffers with these providers, but Directv has done a much better job over the last couple of years. I don't know about Dish.

I came from FIOS to D* and notice no significant drop in PQ.
No, the actual set top box re-scaled it to output whatever resolution your TV wants to. See here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HD_Lite


There was a class action lawsuit filed against DirectTV a few years back for this exact reason. There were a lot of such discussion here in AVS as well. These days, all providers alter broadcast streams one way or another. If you want best PQ, you need to get an antenna to get OTA (that is assuming your local station didn't shave off too much bandwidth for sub-channels).
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4541 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:23 AM
Member
 
markjl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Panora, Iowa
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I'm debating about hooking up a sound bar with this TV. Does anyone know if the optical out outputs stereo if the source into the 55EA9800 is from an HDMI connection? I've read where many TV's don't pass a dolby digital or DTS signal through the optical out connection. I'm thinking of using the Paradigm soundscape sound bar which only accepts optical in and supports dolby digital and dts.
markjl is offline  
post #4542 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 09:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 223
If the TV won't pass certain signal (DD or DTS), it will says so with EDID and the source device will not output such format in general. PCM 2.0 stereo guarantee works. Whether or not this TV will pass or even accept DD 5.1 remains to be tested. I have no optical device and can't tell you how this TV reacts.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4543 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 10:01 AM
Member
 
markjl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Panora, Iowa
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
If the TV won't pass certain signal (DD or DTS), it will says so with EDID and the source device will not output such format in general. PCM 2.0 stereo guarantee works. Whether or not this TV will pass or even accept DD 5.1 remains to be tested. I have no optical device and can't tell you how this TV reacts.
Thanks for the reply. I'll give it a try tomorrow night. If it doesn't work I'll have to try and sneak in one of those big ugly receivers with a bunch of wires and speakers under my wife's nose.
markjl is offline  
post #4544 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 11:11 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,978
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
No, the actual set top box re-scaled it to output whatever resolution your TV wants to. See here http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HD_Lite


There was a class action lawsuit filed against DirectTV a few years back for this exact reason. There were a lot of such discussion here in AVS as well. These days, all providers alter broadcast streams one way or another. If you want best PQ, you need to get an antenna to get OTA (that is assuming your local station didn't shave off too much bandwidth for sub-channels).
The difference is really more bit rate than resolution . Some providers starve certain channels with low bitrates. There was someone on AVS that used to measure these bitrates by channel and provider.

Now with that said, I always compare OTA PQ with the same broadcast channel on my service provider. With both D* and FIOS, I could see no difference on a 64" screen. Years ago, with D*, I could.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #4545 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 11:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,324
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 384 Post(s)
Liked: 753
Quote:
Originally Posted by aaronwalker1974 View Post
No IR on my set. Mfg date is Feb of this year. I played 4 hours of Forza last night that has a static hud on the screen. I ran some slides this morning and no IR.
Static HUD has already been shown to be a differing case. This is not a plasma situation, and may in fact be more related to the electrical characteristics of the backplane. Slacker, ynotgoal, and xrox understand the possibilities (possible or not) of this issue the best.
vinnie97 likes this.

Grow milkweed. The Monarch Butterfly requires it, and its numbers are dwindling fast.
tgm1024 is online now  
post #4546 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 11:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 223
I guess with both sat companies switched over to H.264, the need to squeeze more bandwidth is no longer that important. Cable companies should do the same but most resisted because they still have tons of old boxes that can't handle it. FiOS did switch certain channels to H.264 last year.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4547 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 11:27 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 23,978
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1002 Post(s)
Liked: 1084
What's also interesting is that depending upon the service provider, mpeg4 channels may require an mpeg4> mpeg2 conversion (or the reverse). This too can degrade PQ.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #4548 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 11:38 AM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
That's transcoding, which is always bad. I'm all too familiar with it in the audio compression realm. It's used unscrupulously to make it look like a higher bitrate source when the audio quality itself (and/or a spectral analysis) reveals quite another story.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #4549 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 11:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 9,914
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 173 Post(s)
Liked: 223
Premium channels like HBO are primarily delivered in H.264 from the provider IIRC. My Cox provides H.264 on couple of these channels. Transcoding is inevitable. The so called rate shaping on almost all cable providers is just that.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #4550 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 01:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Rf13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Florida
Posts: 533
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 69
the ISP/tv providers in my area are aggressively converting everything to digital. i think with the pending att/direct tv deal and google stirring things up, none of them want to be left behind or lose dominance.
Rf13 is offline  
post #4551 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 02:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Add me to the list of letterbox ir
Stopped a movie and the blu ray player screen pulled up in light blue
I could see the faint line on the top of the screen, couldn't see it in the bottom as there were varying colors
About to leave the house, I'm going to run some white screens to see if it's still present
5x10 is offline  
post #4552 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 03:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5x10 View Post
Add me to the list of letterbox ir
Stopped a movie and the blu ray player screen pulled up in light blue
I could see the faint line on the top of the screen, couldn't see it in the bottom as there were varying colors
About to leave the house, I'm going to run some white screens to see if it's still present
Damn. Sorry to hear it.

I see it more in certain spots as well though, and I think it correlates to the panel's near-black issue, because on my panel there is a spot that lightens before the rest when turning up the brightness in the lower right corner, and that is exactly where the "IR" (I don't know what to call it) first becomes visible when it happens. Whoever it was that said turning the brightness up and down affects parts of the screen seperately, that's exactly how they all are and I think the issues are related.

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.
Theplague13 is offline  
post #4553 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 04:19 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Pixel jogger is another solution that's good for the problem. I find I only have to run it about the length of the offending movie to get the screen back to near baseline.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #4554 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 219
First thing I did when I came home was to turn on the exact same screen I saw the ir on
It's not there anymore, so I ran some slides(off of youtube), including grey(only a single shade and still didn't see it

Was making myself dizzy getting close to the screen trying to find dead sub pixels
Only found 2 dead blue ones
I started the movie and am going to let it run for another hour or so, then I will put the same colored slides to see if it's there
If I'm not seeing it in content, I'm ok, if it starts to become noticeable, then I have an issue
Will report back
5x10 is offline  
post #4555 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 06:28 PM
 
vinnie97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nunya
Posts: 11,657
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 213 Post(s)
Liked: 1010
Run enough letterbox movies in succession, and you will. It's part of the maintenance that ownership of this set requires.
vinnie97 is offline  
post #4556 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 06:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
You'll probably be okay, for now. But every time you watch some consecutive hours of LB you'll have to deal with it again. What annoys me is this small line in the bottom right that I incurred pre-300 hours, is completely burned in and never goes away. It's approximately 6 inches of the letterbox bar. It's pretty faint depending on the color behind it, hard to capture on camera but it shows on grays and I see it in content about 5% of the time. When I run the slides it fixes it up till the one peice of line and that's it. That was from the first time I incurred the wear.

Moral of the story: you may want to hold off on those movies until you put a few hundred hours on the panel.

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.

Last edited by Theplague13; 06-25-2014 at 07:10 PM.
Theplague13 is offline  
post #4557 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 06:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 744
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 467 Post(s)
Liked: 219
Any other colors to look for dead pixels?
I did red, blue, green, and white

I received 5 blu ray movies today, 4 of which have lb
Looks like I'll be seeing some ir in the near future
5x10 is offline  
post #4558 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 06:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by vinnie97 View Post
Run enough letterbox movies in succession, and you will. It's part of the maintenance that ownership of this set requires.
This is what I'm saying. So 5x10 is in the IR camp. Because it has already happened to him, unfortunately we can surmise it will happen again and again when he watches LB material. I forget if he said the manufacture date of his panel, but I find myself doubting that there are panels which are completely free of the issue. Maybe ones that are more or less resilient to it, sure. But completely devoid? How can it be? Unless they completely changed the manufacturing process, on a product that is all but discontinued...

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.
Theplague13 is offline  
post #4559 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 06:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Theplague13's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 1,046
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 326
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5x10 View Post
Any other colors to look for dead pixels?
I did red, blue, green, and white

I received 5 blu ray movies today, 4 of which have lb
Looks like I'll be seeing some ir in the near future
There are 4 subpixels. They are Red, Green, Blue, and white. This means that for every pixel each of these colors acts independently. You can check only those four, anything else will be a mixture of more than one subpixel.

Vinnie97, one of the kindest, most helpful and respected members here, got one of these. I wonder how much longer before we all get such a message...
You have been banned for the following reason: No reason was specified. Date the ban will be lifted: Never
Pick up the signature.
Theplague13 is offline  
post #4560 of 6336 Old 06-25-2014, 06:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,545
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 845 Post(s)
Liked: 561
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5x10 View Post
Any other colors to look for dead pixels?
I did red, blue, green, and white

I received 5 blu ray movies today, 4 of which have lb
Looks like I'll be seeing some ir in the near future
How many hours on your panel? Why would you do this b4 running 300 hours break-in? I hope your warranty will cover you if you get true burn-in because LG will not.
Vegas oled is offline  
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
Lg 55ea9800 Oled Hdtv , Lg
Gear in this thread - 55ea9800 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off