LG 55EA9800 55" OLED Owner's thread - Page 233 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6961 of 6980 Old 11-18-2014, 09:33 PM
Member
 
DPAsghar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 52
They were the last ones in the state of florida to have a display, they were selling new ones for $1700ish as the manager has said they just want to get rid of them to make room for the new 9300 display and she seemed very nervous like i said, that someone would damage the set like their previous display item.

I asked for them to do a search for the rest of the state for new or displays as i would have bought another but.....unfortunately all out everywhere. If anyone wants to see me receipt private message me and ill send a photo so if you should encounter a hhgregg you can show them what i got it for and maybe they will match.
DPAsghar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6962 of 6980 Old 11-19-2014, 09:50 AM
Newbie
 
reverendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi DPAsghar,
I just bought this same TV on display at my local BestBuy store. The price was $1599, but maybe they'll price match, since they have that policy. I can't pm you, since my post count is non-existant. Would you be so kind and PM me?
Best regards
Andre
reverendo is offline  
post #6963 of 6980 Old 11-19-2014, 12:13 PM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendo View Post
Hi DPAsghar,
I just bought this same TV on display at my local BestBuy store. The price was $1599, but maybe they'll price match, since they have that policy. I can't pm you, since my post count is non-existant. Would you be so kind and PM me?
Best regards
Andre
2nd best deal of the century!
5x10 is offline  
post #6964 of 6980 Old 11-19-2014, 05:12 PM
Member
 
DPAsghar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Orlando, Florida
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I sent you a PM....but with my experience with Best Buy their price match policy goes out the door when it comes to Open Box. My recommendation would be to search for a HHGregg in your area that has a display. It might be tedious depending on where you are located and also when calling and asking for availability I would ask them to make sure they are checking for display units. When I called a few stores they would simply say "nope all out and so is everyone else" then I would press for displays and they would all respond same way "ohhh ya, so and so has one left" thats how I found mine.
DPAsghar is offline  
post #6965 of 6980 Old 11-19-2014, 05:29 PM
Senior Member
 
RobDMB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bethlehem or State College, PA
Posts: 264
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Still having an issue where the TV will not display a proper picture when the TIVO Roamio is hooked up through my receiver (Pioneer VSX1018). The screen appears distorted then the tivo goes into a reboot and won't start up. Can't figure out why. Works fine with my old tv and also works fine with a Vizio P series. Anyone have any ideas?
RobDMB is online now  
post #6966 of 6980 Old 11-20-2014, 02:28 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Hello guys,

I'm brand new on this forum, so I hope I won't be breaking any rules. I just received my new 55EA970v (I'm in Europe )

I've been searching the thread for a good break in procedure. But I somehow couldn't find the perfect statement. I've managed to get my hands on Angelo's slides, though I couldn't find Dnice's.

As I'm about to go away for the weekend, I'm thinking of letting the tv run for that time rotating through the slides. First of all is this a good thing to do ?

And what settings shall I use in order to not harm the TV, particularly how high shall I set my OLED light (now at 50), brightness and contrast ?

Thanks in advance!
Crohny is online now  
post #6967 of 6980 Old 11-20-2014, 06:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,039
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 250
There is no proof that break-in did anything to this TV other than burn off the precious panel life. Just enjoy it.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #6968 of 6980 Old 11-20-2014, 06:59 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
There is no proof that break-in did anything to this TV other than burn off the precious panel life. Just enjoy it.
Note taken, thanks for the answer Foxbat121!

The reason I was asking for this advice was that after playing around with my i1 Display Pro and with windowed grayscale patterns, I saw a light mark of the window when I was switching through the channels on my set top box.

I therefore thought that this was due to the tv being too "sensitive" during its first few hours. I do admit, it got harder and harder to see. But nevertheless, I want to make this model last as long as possible !
vaktmestern likes this.
Crohny is online now  
post #6969 of 6980 Old 11-20-2014, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Parrish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas USA
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
There is no proof that break-in did anything to this TV other than burn off the precious panel life. Just enjoy it.
I agree that break in with slides would be a waste of precious panel life for this flat panel- use sound and visions settings in expert 1 and make sure to watch mostly full screen programming for the first 200 hours or so and use game mode for sports and you'll be as happy as you know what-

Coton de Tulear-IndyFab-Kuro-XBR8-Sharp Elite-LG OLED - Current Loves of my life.
Parrish is offline  
post #6970 of 6980 Old 11-20-2014, 07:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
5x10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 870
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 534 Post(s)
Liked: 292
Anything to do with slides is pure speculation at this point as we don't know how these panels age
I didn't use any, just jumped into tv and movie watching

Edit: whoops, two answers too late
5x10 is offline  
post #6971 of 6980 Old 11-20-2014, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Vegas oled's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 1,867
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1015 Post(s)
Liked: 700
Just as a Precaution I would avoid still images the first 200 or so hours. I would. Watch letter box but not a marathon of letter box movies and have other have stated make sure your setting are THX a or calibrated and not in dynamic mode.

These are the precautions I used and never had more than a little Ir that vanished within a day or two.
Vegas oled is offline  
post #6972 of 6980 Old 11-20-2014, 11:57 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Great,

Thanks for the feedback guys!
Crohny is online now  
post #6973 of 6980 Old 11-21-2014, 03:22 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
The default brightness setting of 50 crushes black quite a bit. The technically correct setting is 58 (the below-black stripes are invisible and the just-above-black stripes are visible).

Although 58 is the ideal setting, this raises the black level substantially to about 0.03 nits. Assuming 120 nits at 100% video that's only a contrast ratio of 4000:1. You can get by with a brightness setting of 56. At that level an 18 digital stripe is still clearly visible. This gives a black level reading of 0.012 or 10,000:1.

It seems that infinite contrast can be achieved only by clipping black.
Have you managed to sort this out ?

I feel like I'm in the same situation, using a pulge pattern, I can notice the default thx settings doesn't show a single black bar beyond the Reference black.

This has also been confirmed while watching Good Night and Good luck in a dimmed environment. I seem to loose alot of detail in THX mode.

When I go to set it up through in expert mode, I need to raise the brightness beyond the 60 setting at identical OLED light settings. I've not noticed many calibration results that push the brightness that high.

Is there something I should be looking for ? (apologies for the double post)
Crohny is online now  
post #6974 of 6980 Old 11-21-2014, 03:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TomHuffman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Springfield, MO
Posts: 6,478
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 248
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crohny View Post
Have you managed to sort this out ?

I feel like I'm in the same situation, using a pulge pattern, I can notice the default thx settings doesn't show a single black bar beyond the Reference black.

This has also been confirmed while watching Good Night and Good luck in a dimmed environment. I seem to loose alot of detail in THX mode.

When I go to set it up through in expert mode, I need to raise the brightness beyond the 60 setting at identical OLED light settings. I've not noticed many calibration results that push the brightness that high.

Is there something I should be looking for ? (apologies for the double post)
As far as I can tell, there is nothing here that is fixable. It is a design flaw. The best you can do is to find the highest brightness setting that still provides a good contrast ratio. However, as far as I can tell it is impossible to get truly black blacks without losing shadow detail. You either clip black or lower the contrast ratio or some combination in between.

Tom Huffman
ChromaPure Software/AccuPel Video Signal Generators
ISF/THX Calibrations
Springfield, MO

TomHuffman is offline  
post #6975 of 6980 Old 11-21-2014, 05:25 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomHuffman View Post
As far as I can tell, there is nothing here that is fixable. It is a design flaw. The best you can do is to find the highest brightness setting that still provides a good contrast ratio. However, as far as I can tell it is impossible to get truly black blacks without losing shadow detail. You either clip black or lower the contrast ratio or some combination in between.
That's too bad if it is a design flaw, if it's only been noticed on a few units, I could send mine back as I have 14 days to decide. I would like to avoid that though.

Nevertheless the image is still brilliant, given the fact that I watch my movies in a very dimmed light environment. (I can see the reflections of myself on the TV when I'm using my laptop in that environment)

What troubles me is that the calibration results from various sites don't put their brightness that high.
Crohny is online now  
post #6976 of 6980 Old 11-21-2014, 09:48 AM
Member
 
rogerft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Poole UK
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crohny View Post
That's too bad if it is a design flaw, if it's only been noticed on a few units, I could send mine back as I have 14 days to decide. I would like to avoid that though.

Nevertheless the image is still brilliant, given the fact that I watch my movies in a very dimmed light environment. (I can see the reflections of myself on the TV when I'm using my laptop in that environment)

What troubles me is that the calibration results from various sites don't put their brightness that high.
Trusted reviews recommend using dynamic contrast on low to help with black crush. The reality of current TV technology is that settings that achieve reference levels usually involve compromise in one area or another. As Oled evolves no doubt its current weaknesses will improve.
My view is that the 9800 gives me the best picture I can achieve at the moment. Its not perfect but at the current prices I am happy enough. If you get too worked up about running slides and test discs nothing will satisfy! I have sent sets back in the past but they had problems that were easily visible under normal viewing.
rogerft is offline  
post #6977 of 6980 Old 11-21-2014, 03:16 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Ok I'll take a look at that tip.


I agree it's definitely a keeper. I was just worried that my settings were different from the ones seen here and across the various forums. But then again each unit is different.
I just need to properly tune this one to my needs and enjoy the show after that
Crohny is online now  
post #6978 of 6980 Old 11-24-2014, 06:17 PM
Member
 
toddrain1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 25
I wouldn't worry. I set my brightness at 51 to keep the blacks true. Anything over that gives you light spots on 0ire. But I can barely set the 17 bar and the 18 is very dark. As far as I've heard from calibrators, that is the way it's supposed to be. I calibrated my isf day to 60ftl with all delta e's for grayscale under or around 1. And color was all under 3 with most between 1 and 2. My gamma is ruler flat to 2.2 with the exception of 5ire and 10ire are close to 2.18. Isf night at 45ftl is ruler flat all the way down. You can definitely get a lot of light output and a reference picture, it's just a pain in the butt and takes a lot of time and patience. This set has excellent shadow detail. Just poor uniformity on test patterns, not regular content. The tips from Chad are extremely helpful(Thanks Chad!) and seem to be the only method for accurate and repeatable results. I'm not a seasoned calibrator, I only calibrate my 9g pioneer a couple times, and that was a piece of cake compared to this. But with a couple nights in 2 to 3 hours sessions I was able to get this thing dialed. Once you do this set is absolutely incredible. Calibration is a must with this set.
Chad B likes this.
toddrain1 is offline  
post #6979 of 6980 Old Yesterday, 02:04 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: France
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Well turns out with all the obsession of getting head into the settings that I forgot to get back to the basics:

I mainly use an HTPC as a source. And who says htpc means full rgb range... So my TV was set to expect limited range and my HTPC outputing full range. No wonder I was off! And pushing the brightness up!

So now I forced xbmc/kodi to output limited range and things seem more aligned. Though I do not know if its the "cleanest" way to do this.

Quote:
Originally Posted by toddrain1
My gamma is ruler flat to 2.2 with the exception of 5ire and 10ire are close to 2.18. Isf night at 45ftl is ruler flat all the way down
I'm struggling to get a flat gamma, it increases from 2.10 to 2.2 from the low to 50 IRE, then it drops again after the 80 IRE mark. It seems my Luminance is slightly off the reference at these IRE.

I thought it could have been XBMC messing that up, but on a panasonic 55AS640 I had, using the same method gave a ruler flat gamma!

From looking at Chad's post, I guess I'll have to go through the 20 point IRE calibration ?
Crohny is online now  
post #6980 of 6980 Old Yesterday, 06:53 AM
Member
 
toddrain1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 26 Post(s)
Liked: 25
If I set the contrast to 80 I can get almost get a flat 2.2 gamma without the 20 point but i think the picture looks much better when the contrast is set to 97. After you flatten the gamma with the 20 point it looks amazing. It's such a pain to do a 20 point calibration pass by pass but once you get it right you'll be amazed at what you see.
Crohny likes this.
toddrain1 is offline  
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
Lg 55ea9800 Oled Hdtv , Lg
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off