LG 55EA9800 55" OLED Owner's thread - Page 238 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1122Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7111 of 7239 Old 01-21-2015, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7,471
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1037 Post(s)
Liked: 1149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mardon85 View Post
Having unlocked the THX mode I dropped the brightness 2 notches and it sorted the issue I was having where the TV wasn't quite true black when it was supposed to be.
I'm going to do a software restore tonight and see if it solves the netflix issue. I'm holding off sending the unit back this week now. After reading in this thread about IR on LB films I'm not sure I want to play the lottery. My current screen exhibits zero IR or burn in and only one stuck blue pixel. Not bad for an Oct 2013 unit which was ex demo. I have a 5 year store warranty as well so I should be covered.

On a side note.. Sin City was made for this TV and 5.1 surround sound. I had friends over to watch it and they asked to do a fortnightly move night at mine having been so impressed by it.
Sin City looks phenomenal on my middle-tier Sony 60R550A. I can't imagine how good it would look on an OLED.

As long as there is no tinting of course.

If you believe you can win an argument by stating that scientists "often" get things wrong, all you're doing is selectively ignoring the overwhelming legion of things they have gotten right. Viewed as an aggregate, scientists very very rarely get things wrong.
tgm1024 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7112 of 7239 Old 01-21-2015, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
asoofi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South Riding, VA
Posts: 1,208
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 577 Post(s)
Liked: 213
hey guys...I'm about to open up my brand new 9800, making it the second one I own...unless someone wants to buy it. Link is in my signature for the classified, so send me an offer if interested.

---------------------------------------------------------------
gear: 3x JTR 212HT ~ 4x JTR 8LP ~ 2x JTR Orbit Shifter LFU ~ 11x Elemental Designs eD6c ~ Marantz SR7008 ~ Panasonic PT-AE8000U ~ Elite 176" 2.35 ATS
asoofi1 is offline  
post #7113 of 7239 Old 01-21-2015, 06:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Well I tried all the difference settings and THX had the best shadow detail by far.
I'm new to all of this so not sure what you mean by tinting. All the colours (or lack of in this films case) were perfect.

I'm excited what to watch next. Probably Avatar.
Getting an oled TV and Dolby True HD surround sound has absolutely blown me away.
Mardon85 is offline  
post #7114 of 7239 Old 01-23-2015, 07:12 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Just an FYI for those worried about dead pixels over time. My set has an October 2013 Manufacture date and was ex display. I can't confirm the exact amount of time the set has been on from as this info isn't available on EU models. In the shop it was run at 100% OLED Brightness.
I did a dead/stuck pixel test last night and only found one stuck/dead pixel on the whole set! I was shocked.
If I turn the brightness up too high I can see small white star like dots but these do not appear in any colour slides or when used in normal viewing.
I also have zero IR or Burn In. I can use the screen as a monitor for gaming and video use. I wouldn't use it for Office work obviously so can't comment on that.

So all in all I'm very happy.
Mardon85 is offline  
post #7115 of 7239 Old 01-24-2015, 03:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 65
New software update available...frustrating we never know what's in them.
kinglm is offline  
post #7116 of 7239 Old 01-24-2015, 07:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 26,267
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2476 Post(s)
Liked: 2277
We have the same issue with Samsung. Many firmware updates and no specific description about them. I think that's the pattern in many electronics today.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #7117 of 7239 Old 01-25-2015, 11:14 AM
Member
 
AirJarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hey guys, I just got an EA9800 from Microcenter (shipped from another store), and I played around with it quite a bit Friday and Saturday after 200 hours of break-in (looping colored backrounds).
I was extremely frustrated by that fact that there seems to be an auto dimming effect that is most noticeable while gaming on the PS3 & PS4 . I updated to the latest firmware, I turned the eco feature on then back off again. I turned off local dimming as well (I eventually turned off every setting). I even tried pressing the mute and volume buttons (I found that suggestion in a search of this thread).
I'm at a loss.
I even tried setting the picture to vivid. However, when I did this 2D (in game wait screens) looked vivid, but then when game-play started it looked very dull again. It's almost as if the anti-IR protection is working backwards.
Has anyone seen this? Is this normal, or did I get a bad one?
Thanks
vaktmestern likes this.
AirJarhead is offline  
post #7118 of 7239 Old 01-25-2015, 11:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,325
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 291
It is commonly referred to as ABL and not defeatable on this TV probably to protect the screen itself as well as limit power consumption. I turned similar items off and personally don't bother me much.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #7119 of 7239 Old 01-25-2015, 11:59 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Hard to say, I don't notice any dimming. Can you take a video of it?
Mardon85 is offline  
post #7120 of 7239 Old 01-25-2015, 12:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirJarhead View Post
Hey guys, I just got an EA9800 from Microcenter (shipped from another store), and I played around with it quite a bit Friday and Saturday after 200 hours of break-in (looping colored backrounds).
I was extremely frustrated by that fact that there seems to be an auto dimming effect that is most noticeable while gaming on the PS3 & PS4 . I updated to the latest firmware, I turned the eco feature on then back off again. I turned off local dimming as well (I eventually turned off every setting). I even tried pressing the mute and volume buttons (I found that suggestion in a search of this thread).
I'm at a loss.
I even tried setting the picture to vivid. However, when I did this 2D (in game wait screens) looked vivid, but then when game-play started it looked very dull again. It's almost as if the anti-IR protection is working backwards.
Has anyone seen this? Is this normal, or did I get a bad one?
Thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
It is commonly referred to as ABL and not defeatable on this TV probably to protect the screen itself as well as limit power consumption. I turned similar items off and personally don't bother me much.
What fox said. You cannot turn it off.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #7121 of 7239 Old 01-25-2015, 05:38 PM
Member
 
AirJarhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks for the replies. I didn't have much time (in between trips), so after the first reply, I took it back. It also had a little judder that I couldn't get rid of (set trumotion to 0-0 before turning it off).
AirJarhead is offline  
post #7122 of 7239 Old 01-26-2015, 12:00 PM
Moderator
 
Barrybud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Southeastern, PA
Posts: 2,556
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by AirJarhead View Post
Hey guys,ed by that fact that there seems to be an auto dimming effect that is most noticeable while gaming on the PS3 & PS4 . I updated to the latest firmware, I turned the eco feature on then back off again. I turned off local dimming as well (I eventually turned off every setting). I even tried pressing the mute and volume buttons (I found that suggestion in a search of this thread).
I'm at a loss.
I even tried setting the picture to vivid. However, when I did this 2D (in game wait screens) looked vivid, but then when game-play started it looked very dull again. It's almost as if the anti-IR protection is working backwards.
Has anyone seen this? Is this normal, or did I get a bad one?
Thanks
I dont play any games and the only time ABL activates on me is when I pause live TV or any source for 5+ minutes.When I return and start the playback full brightness comes back in about 2 seconds.

Would game mode possibly have a built in setting so ABL would not come on while the game is active?

Quick Reference of Forum Rules
1) Do Not post pricing you found on-line or at a local dealer UNLESS IN A DEALS THREAD.
2) Do Not ask for, or offer, a receipt so people can price match.
3) Do Not say to "Call John Smith at ..." (you know what I mean)
4) Do Not put down someone else's choice in...

Barrybud is offline  
post #7123 of 7239 Old 01-26-2015, 12:09 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,325
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 291
I play Xbox One games all the time and hardly noticed ABL.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #7124 of 7239 Old 01-27-2015, 08:00 AM
Member
 
royboy365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
My LG Logo light doesn't turn off when the TV is turned off. Anyone else having that issue?

I'm using software version 05.09.02

I've tried the different settings under LG Logo Light and while I can get the light to be off while the set is on, it won't turn it off when the set itself is off. It's in the bedroom and a real nuisance.
royboy365 is offline  
post #7125 of 7239 Old 01-27-2015, 08:08 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
I've never tried to turn it off. I find it a useful feature. It reminds me to turn the socket off at the wall.
Mardon85 is offline  
post #7126 of 7239 Old 01-27-2015, 08:32 AM
Member
 
royboy365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by royboy365 View Post
My LG Logo light doesn't turn off when the TV is turned off. Anyone else having that issue?

I'm using software version 05.09.02

I've tried the different settings under LG Logo Light and while I can get the light to be off while the set is on, it won't turn it off when the set itself is off. It's in the bedroom and a real nuisance.
This set is in my Portland home and I just had someone check my Calif place and it is working the way it is supposed to but that software version is 05.08. I just unboxed this set yesterday and updated to latest software (05.09) which has me wondering is it the TV or is it a software glitch.

If someone else with a 9800 can let me know if they too are using the latest software and if it works properly or not I'd appreciate it. Thx
royboy365 is offline  
post #7127 of 7239 Old 01-27-2015, 09:27 AM
Member
 
wrxlvr's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I believe I'm on the latest software (just got an update the other day), and mine works normally (light illuminates and then goes off shortly after turning the TV off), but when they replaced my panel, they also replaced that light and it's clip since they're different on the new panel.
wrxlvr is online now  
post #7128 of 7239 Old 01-27-2015, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Quick question. Having unlocked thx mode to lower the brightness a notch I was looking at white balance. On my set thx mode is far to warm and white is no where near white. The default setting is warm 2. If I change this to warm 1 or medium will this ruin all the other calibration within thx mode?
Mardon85 is offline  
post #7129 of 7239 Old 01-27-2015, 10:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by royboy365 View Post
My LG Logo light doesn't turn off when the TV is turned off. Anyone else having that issue?

I'm using software version 05.09.02

I've tried the different settings under LG Logo Light and while I can get the light to be off while the set is on, it won't turn it off when the set itself is off. It's in the bedroom and a real nuisance.
Mine is working. I have the latest software. My settings are Brightness set to off and When TV is on is set to Off right now.
kinglm is offline  
post #7130 of 7239 Old 01-27-2015, 02:15 PM
Member
 
royboy365's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by royboy365 View Post
This set is in my Portland home and I just had someone check my Calif place and it is working the way it is supposed to but that software version is 05.08. I just unboxed this set yesterday and updated to latest software (05.09) which has me wondering is it the TV or is it a software glitch.

If someone else with a 9800 can let me know if they too are using the latest software and if it works properly or not I'd appreciate it. Thx
Well, I forgot my basic tech solution for most things! Unplug it and plug it back in. lol It is now working the way it is supposed to.
royboy365 is offline  
post #7131 of 7239 Old 01-27-2015, 07:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
chexi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 836
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Has anyone else noticed the elimination or significant reduction in edge tinting since adding the most recent firmware or any other improvements in panel uniformity? I have not tested extensively, but it sure seems like my right edge looks a lot better than it did.

I still get the cloudiness with certain settings and a very near black signal, but I need to recalibrate since adding the firmware update.

THX setting looks better to me than it used to as well.

Note, I have the 8800 and posted this in that thread too, but there are more 9800s, and I expect the firmware results to be the same.

I do have one issue. If I turn everything on with my harmony, my audio does not sync unless I shut the TV off and then restart. I remember having to re-order my turn on order after prior firmware update and now suspect I have to change the order again (probably back) to fix this. I do have a Darbee in the chain, and that is probably the cause of it.
chexi1 is offline  
post #7132 of 7239 Old 01-28-2015, 05:54 PM
Member
 
spentan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
LG 55EA9800 55" OLED Owner's thread

Hi everyone,

This is probably a really stupid question, but I have a new pioneer sc-85 receiver and now every time I try to show a fully black screen it's a fairly light shade of grey.

Could this be because of cheap HDMI cables or more likely a setting? I'm not sure what cheapo HDMI cable I'm using from the pioneer, could replace if it's necessary.
spentan is offline  
post #7133 of 7239 Old 01-28-2015, 05:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
kinglm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 89 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by spentan View Post
Hi everyone,

This is probably a really stupid question, but I have a new pioneer sc-85 receiver and now every time I try to show a fully black screen it's a fairly light shade of grey.

Could this be because of cheap HDMI cables or more likely a setting? I'm not sure what cheapo HDMI cable I'm using from the pioneer, could replace if it's necessary.
Check that the receiver is set to passthrough maybe there's some processing the receiver is adding? Also check you TV brightness setting - is it set too bright?
kinglm is offline  
post #7134 of 7239 Old 01-28-2015, 05:58 PM
Member
 
spentan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Check that the receiver is set to passthrough maybe there's some processing the receiver is adding? Also check you TV brightness setting - is it set to bright?

Will have a look
spentan is offline  
post #7135 of 7239 Old 01-28-2015, 07:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
Morning5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 269 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by spentan View Post
Will have a look
Black Level setting to Low.
Morning5 is offline  
post #7136 of 7239 Old 01-29-2015, 12:05 AM
Member
 
spentan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Check that the receiver is set to passthrough maybe there's some processing the receiver is adding? Also check you TV brightness setting - is it set too bright?

Wow I feel like an idiot. Just turned off the video converter (computer is outputting 1080p anyway) and we're all good.

Thanks
spentan is offline  
post #7137 of 7239 Old 01-29-2015, 04:35 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,325
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 410 Post(s)
Liked: 291
You probably have your TV's black level set wrong. IIRC, it should be set to high (which means AV color space/Limited-range, the default setting). Low is for use with PC color space (full-range). Receivers typically only support limited-range AV color space especially the one you have contains video processor that is default to ON. Most CE devices output limited-range color space. Only PC outputs full-range.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #7138 of 7239 Old 01-29-2015, 04:44 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken Ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: N.Y.
Posts: 26,267
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2476 Post(s)
Liked: 2277
So it looks to me, despite what a few naysayers have said in other threads, that LG is one of the more responsive manufacturers in proving meaningful firmware updates.
Ken Ross is offline  
post #7139 of 7239 Old 01-29-2015, 05:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by spentan View Post
Hi everyone,

This is probably a really stupid question, but I have a new pioneer sc-85 receiver and now every time I try to show a fully black screen it's a fairly light shade of grey.

Could this be because of cheap HDMI cables or more likely a setting? I'm not sure what cheapo HDMI cable I'm using from the pioneer, could replace if it's necessary.
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinglm View Post
Check that the receiver is set to passthrough maybe there's some processing the receiver is adding? Also check you TV brightness setting - is it set too bright?
Like King said, check the brightness. You probably just need to lower it a little bit. If there was a firmware update, that could make it so you need to adjust some setting. Dial the brightness down and your problem should go away.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #7140 of 7239 Old 01-30-2015, 12:18 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Smile it is in the book!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mardon85 View Post
Just an FYI for those worried about dead pixels over time. My set has an October 2013 Manufacture date and was ex display. I can't confirm the exact amount of time the set has been on from as this info isn't available on EU models. In the shop it was run at 100% OLED Brightness.
I did a dead/stuck pixel test last night and only found one stuck/dead pixel on the whole set! I was shocked.
If I turn the brightness up too high I can see small white star like dots but these do not appear in any colour slides or when used in normal viewing.
I also have zero IR or Burn In. I can use the screen as a monitor for gaming and video use. I wouldn't use it for Office work obviously so can't comment on that.

So all in all I'm very happy.
If you read the user's manual you will see that it explains that.
FranciscoAdon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
Lg 55ea9800 Oled Hdtv , Lg
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off