LG 55EA9800 55" OLED Owner's thread - Page 241 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7201 of 7291 Old 02-20-2015, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
kclfoxtrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 384
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have had only 1 reboot, and none since the last update. Not sure why, but the TV's picture seems to be getting better and better
kclfoxtrot is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7202 of 7291 Old 02-26-2015, 10:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Is our TV capable of displaying HDR content or is that for 4k only TV's?
Mardon85 is offline  
post #7203 of 7291 Old 03-03-2015, 02:38 AM
Newbie
 
orange55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi

I am looking at buying one of the LG OLED tv's but can anyone advise if you can use IR commands to select specific inputs? I use a Philips pronto and need to be able to target individual inputs.


Thanks in advance.
orange55 is offline  
post #7204 of 7291 Old 03-03-2015, 01:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
chexi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mardon85 View Post
Is our TV capable of displaying HDR content or is that for 4k only TV's?
No.
chexi1 is offline  
post #7205 of 7291 Old 03-04-2015, 09:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,395
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 301
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange55 View Post
Hi

I am looking at buying one of the LG OLED tv's but can anyone advise if you can use IR commands to select specific inputs? I use a Philips pronto and need to be able to target individual inputs.


Thanks in advance.
Yes. But this thread is only for older EA9800. Can't say for sure for newer LG OLED TVs that you can actually purchase in stores. But I don't think any reason they won't be.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #7206 of 7291 Old 03-05-2015, 03:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 297
I finally got around to watching guardians of the galaxy in 3D last night...amazing! Is this set in fact full resolution 3D? I normally notice the half resolution, and I could swear this looked just as good, if not better, than my xbr900A (which is full resolution passive 3D).
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #7207 of 7291 Old 03-05-2015, 03:50 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
Nope it's half resolution. I've never tried to overclock the framerate with my PC and a driver hack to see if Nvidia 3D vision would work. Doubt it'll make it to 120hz. That would offer full 1080p 3D if it worked.
Mardon85 is offline  
post #7208 of 7291 Old 03-05-2015, 10:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
chexi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I definitely notice the half resolution on the little 3D content I have viewed.
vaktmestern likes this.
chexi1 is offline  
post #7209 of 7291 Old 03-05-2015, 10:06 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 4
If you sit at a distance it's a bit more difficult. Personally I'd take that over the ghosting the active method uses. Also with the OLED being so bright it feels like you loose less detail.
Mardon85 is offline  
post #7210 of 7291 Old 03-05-2015, 11:23 AM
Newbie
 
jeanrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange55 View Post
Hi

I am looking at buying one of the LG OLED tv's but can anyone advise if you can use IR commands to select specific inputs? I use a Philips pronto and need to be able to target individual inputs.


Thanks in advance.
Yes, I have a brand new OLED 55EA9850 and IR works fine.
jeanrot is offline  
post #7211 of 7291 Old 03-05-2015, 11:51 AM
Newbie
 
orange55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanrot View Post
Yes, I have a brand new OLED 55EA9850 and IR works fine.
Are you able to send me the IR codes?
orange55 is offline  
post #7212 of 7291 Old 03-05-2015, 11:58 AM
Newbie
 
jeanrot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Brazil
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by orange55 View Post
Are you able to send me the IR codes?
Attached file.
Attached Files
File Type: zip LG TV-IR Codes.zip (6.7 KB, 42 views)
BobSalita likes this.
jeanrot is offline  
post #7213 of 7291 Old 03-05-2015, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
orange55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeanrot View Post
Attached file.
Brilliant, thanks.

Pioneer PDP-428XD, Tag McLaren DVD32R, Tag McLaren AV192R, Tag McLaren 100x5R, Sony BDP-S5000ES, Linn Ninka, Katan & Trikan Loudspeakers, B&W PV1 Subwoofer, Sony PS3 (Streaming duties), Sky+HD RA upgraded, Philips Pronto TSU9600, Chord Signature Tuned Array Interconnects & Speaker cable, IsoTek Orion, Spectral Stand.
orange55 is offline  
post #7214 of 7291 Old 03-06-2015, 03:09 AM
Member
 
First XBR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Riverside
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mattopotamus View Post
If anyone is looking check you local Frys. Mine had one for $1999

Where is Fry's electronics you are talking about ?
First XBR is offline  
post #7215 of 7291 Old 03-06-2015, 05:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by First XBR View Post
Where is Fry's electronics you are talking about ?
Gwinnett, GA. It was their last one.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #7216 of 7291 Old 03-08-2015, 09:51 PM
Newbie
 
fast159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Hello All!! Just wanted to say that I had my LG EA9800 55inch cablibrated this afternoon by Chad B by HDTV. The set I also bought at Frys last June for $1,999.00 at Fry's when they did a price match from Micro Center in Houston Texas. Chad did a perfect job and now the picture is even better. In any case if you want a great calibration-I highly recommend Chad B. !!!
Chad B and Crohny like this.
fast159 is offline  
post #7217 of 7291 Old 03-09-2015, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by fast159 View Post
Hello All!! Just wanted to say that I had my LG EA9800 55inch cablibrated this afternoon by Chad B by HDTV. The set I also bought at Frys last June for $1,999.00 at Fry's when they did a price match from Micro Center in Houston Texas. Chad did a perfect job and now the picture is even better. In any case if you want a great calibration-I highly recommend Chad B. !!!
What did chad think of the set? I know he has calibrated 9300's, but I wonder if this is his first 9800??
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #7218 of 7291 Old 03-09-2015, 07:17 AM
Newbie
 
fast159's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Chad really liked the set. He has calibrated a couple of these before. The 9300 and 9800 are very similar. Have a great day!!
fast159 is offline  
post #7219 of 7291 Old 03-12-2015, 03:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
BobSalita's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: CHI, CLD, PAR, PHX, PDX, NKC, AUK, MEL, SYD, BUE, SCL
Posts: 947
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I programmed discrete HDMI input codes into a URC 6440 remote. The URC 6440 is an One For All brand European remote with auto backlighting for $25. I used Remote Master (JP1) software to build up the IR commands.

A JP1 forum member posted the attached file which contains HDMI discrete codes.
Attached Files
File Type: txt LG 60PG60.rmdu.txt (4.3 KB, 15 views)

Former Top 1000 Amazon reviewer bemoaning the loss of objective user reviews. Amazon, stop your complacency!
BobSalita is offline  
post #7220 of 7291 Old 03-17-2015, 05:56 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi all...I purchased an LG OLED-now has a yellow line. Any advice? I'm 3 months out of the one year warranty.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1426640135462.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	125.0 KB
ID:	609409   Click image for larger version

Name:	image_1426640151185.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	82.3 KB
ID:	609417  
Alterego2002 is offline  
post #7221 of 7291 Old 03-17-2015, 07:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
chexi1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 837
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 107
I would contact LG and see if they will hook you up anyway. At the price I expect you paid for that TV, they would be fools not to.
chexi1 is offline  
post #7222 of 7291 Old 03-17-2015, 10:26 PM
Newbie
 
i_max2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine had its first reboot the day before yesterday, I have never seen one before. I wonder if its the new firmware.

Btw I might have to move in the next few weeks, and unfortunately I threw away the packaging when I got my set, do you think if I called LG they could send some packaging, anyone else had something like this come up?
i_max2k2 is offline  
post #7223 of 7291 Old 03-18-2015, 03:40 AM
Member
 
Callsign_Vega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Hey guys thinking about OLED for a computer gaming monitor (4K).

Any horror stories about image retention for these sets that have been out for a while?

Do these sets have the build in voltage stabilizer to help prevent image retention? Anyone game for many many hours on OLED and have no IR issues?
Callsign_Vega is offline  
post #7224 of 7291 Old 03-18-2015, 04:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by i_max2k2 View Post
Mine had its first reboot the day before yesterday, I have never seen one before. I wonder if its the new firmware.

Btw I might have to move in the next few weeks, and unfortunately I threw away the packaging when I got my set, do you think if I called LG they could send some packaging, anyone else had something like this come up?
bubble wrap. I bought an open box, and that is how I got it home w/ no problems at all.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #7225 of 7291 Old 03-18-2015, 05:39 AM
Senior Member
 
MGTR420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New England
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Let us know how this plays out from LG if you decide to call...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Alterego2002 View Post
Hi all...I purchased an LG OLED-now has a yellow line. Any advice? I'm 3 months out of the one year warranty.
MGTR420 is offline  
post #7226 of 7291 Old 03-19-2015, 04:34 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 10,395
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 444 Post(s)
Liked: 301
YouTube cast

Just found out that you can cast youtube video from your Android YouTube app directly to the TV the same way as Chromecast. Quite Amazing. From what I can tell, it is using the YouTube Remote connection feature of the TV's YouTube app. You don't have to launch the TV app at all.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #7227 of 7291 Old 03-19-2015, 10:44 AM
Member
 
reverendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Callsign_Vega View Post
Hey guys thinking about OLED for a computer gaming monitor (4K).

Any horror stories about image retention for these sets that have been out for a while?

Do these sets have the build in voltage stabilizer to help prevent image retention? Anyone game for many many hours on OLED and have no IR issues?
I can't talk about gaming, but I bought a demo model from bestbuy. It had major IR problems and even after about 3-4 weeks of use these didn't go away. I eventually returned it. There seems to be some kind of type of IR preventer, but it won't be effective if you have certain static images for a very long period. I'd be weary of heavily gaming on this TV if I were you.
OTOH, the image quality, especially blacks, have ruined me for life. I don't enjoy my Plasma half as much at the moment. There's nothing like blissful ignorance.

SB Touch>Resolution Audio Cantata>Gryphon Diablo>Evolution Acoustics MicroOne
reverendo is online now  
post #7228 of 7291 Old 03-19-2015, 05:50 PM
Member
 
Callsign_Vega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Yup, once you see true blacks and infinite contrast, it's hard to use anything else.
wrxlvr likes this.
Callsign_Vega is offline  
post #7229 of 7291 Old 03-21-2015, 05:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mattopotamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 1,363
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 618 Post(s)
Liked: 297
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendo View Post
I can't talk about gaming, but I bought a demo model from bestbuy. It had major IR problems and even after about 3-4 weeks of use these didn't go away. I eventually returned it. There seems to be some kind of type of IR preventer, but it won't be effective if you have certain static images for a very long period. I'd be weary of heavily gaming on this TV if I were you.
OTOH, the image quality, especially blacks, have ruined me for life. I don't enjoy my Plasma half as much at the moment. There's nothing like blissful ignorance.
was it that "PC rated" burn in? The display I got must have never had that demo loop on it b.c pretty much all of the display's I have seen had that burn in.

The one I got had 4500 hours on it and no burn in/IR. It also had a newer demo loop playing. They left the USB in the TV, which is really nice

I would still try to find a 9800 if you can. I had the 9800 and the 9300 side by side for a few weeks and chose the 9800, mainly due to the ABL on the 9300. It is pretty distracting.
Mattopotamus is offline  
post #7230 of 7291 Old 03-21-2015, 06:28 AM
Senior Member
 
MGTR420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: New England
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 40
I know a Best Buy that had a 9800 with bad burn in, replaced the panel on it, and sold it for 1300...I wonder if other stores have had to do that.
MGTR420 is offline  
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
Lg 55ea9800 Oled Hdtv , Lg
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off