will my tv be able to display "deep colors " - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-01-2014, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
reaper81909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, i have a Vizio E601i - A3, and i was just curious if anyone knew if it would display "deep colors". My xbox has the option to turn my color depth up to 36 bits and i dont know if my tv can do it.
reaper81909 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-01-2014, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 266
A lot of devices are capable of displaying deep color. The only problem is that there aren't any sources that are encoded in deep color so my suggestion would be to leave it off or disabled, otherwise you may have video problems because the tv will try to display information that isn't there. This is one of those specs, like HDMI with ethernet, that never really came into play.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-01-2014, 05:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 89
The specs say the set supports 10-bit color. So, you could set your Xbox to 30 bits.
Colm is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-01-2014, 06:50 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
reaper81909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My xbox setting fpr color depth doesnt turn on and off. It has the option for 24 bit, 32 bit, and 36 bit. It only says it supports 10 bit? I figured being only 6 months old and a nice brand it would support higher.
reaper81909 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-02-2014, 10:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Blu-ray's are encoded in 8 bit RGB/ 24 bit depth. Unless that has changed, there aren't any sources that are encoded in Deep Color. You can certainly upscale to 30 or 36 bit (as most newer blu-ray players can) and quite a few tv's can display Deep Color ( I know my 3 year old LG can) but all you're doing is adding information that isn't there in the first place. What can happen is you either get a very bad looking picture, or depending on the quality of the upscale, banding in the picture in a lot of cases. It's a feature that I wouldn't worry about or even use.
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-02-2014, 04:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tgm1024's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6,835
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 652 Post(s)
Liked: 934
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto Pylot View Post

Blu-ray's are encoded in 8 bit RGB/ 24 bit depth.

 

YCbCr, but who's counting...


Java developers, when I saw what has been placed into Java 8 I was immediately reminded of how I've spent so much of my life trying to protect engineers from themselves. Lambda expressions are a horrible idea. Gentlemen: the goal isn't to make code readable for a competent mid-level engineer. The goal is to make code readable for a competent mid-level engineer exhausted and hopped up on caffeine at 3 am. What a disaster Java 8 is!
tgm1024 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-02-2014, 07:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Thanks for the clarification. Still, Deep Color isn't natively used, correct?
Otto Pylot is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-03-2014, 05:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
8mile13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,148
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 405 Post(s)
Liked: 269
X.V. Color and Deep Color can be found on some camcorders

here is a thread on that
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1475056/2013-deep-color-camcorders
8mile13 is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-03-2014, 09:30 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Otto Pylot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 7,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 229 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Yeah, I know about that. I think the OP was wondering if enabling Deep Color on his XBox would make for a better picture because his Vizio was Deep Color capable (which most tv's are). Other than the above mentioned camcorders, I think it would cause more problems (banding) than anything because of source encoding and isn't really a good idea to enable it. Or has that changed?
Otto Pylot is offline  
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off