Official Owners Thread 2015 LG 55EG9600 / 65EG9600 4k - Page 138 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 2317Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4111 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 04:15 AM
Senior Member
 
pardes3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 31
That sticker is the only one with a date. The other has serial and last label is ship to me info and thats it. No other stickers or dates.
pardes3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4112 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 06:47 AM
Member
 
surfer8210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So, I'm expecting delivery this week of my new unit.
I'll be ordering cables through Monoprice.
Do I need to order and particular type which allows a different HDMI signal.
2.0 or something..?
I haven't looked on their website yet.
Thanks in advance.
surfer8210 is offline  
post #4113 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 10:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Latinoheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 3,718
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1157 Post(s)
Liked: 958
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maisysdad View Post
Ok... I have a Yamaha AV-RX750 I'm trying to connect my 9600 to. I haven't found a "good" way to get all devices to connect and pass the sound correctly. I tried passing everything through the receiver then to the TV, but when I do this the sound for the selected input device continues to play after I have opened one of the applications like Netflix, Amazon. I get Netflix/Amazon picture and device sound.

My solution was to direct connect one of the devices and outout the sound via Optical.

If this makes any sense, is this the only way it will work?
I have all my components connected to avr via hdmi, than one hdmi to tv. For tv apps such as Netflix, YouTube etc I have an optical cable connected for that. No issues whatsoever. Make sure settings are correct on tv as well.

If you connect directly you are limited to dd 5.1 only and that's fine if that is all you need but for Bluray/4K player I wouldn't go that route. You would be missing out on Dolby true HD/dts master audio/Dolby atmos.

Media room- LG 4K OLED EG9600, Pioneer Elite VSX-90, Samsung 4K K8500, Klipsch Gallery G28's, Klipsch Sub 12, Klipsch RS-52 II, HTPC, Optik HD cable

Living room- Sony 4K 79XBRX900B, Onkyo RC-360,HTPC,Klipsch Reference R-62II,Rc52II,PS4

Gaming room -Panasonic ST60, PS3, Wii
Latinoheat is offline  
 
post #4114 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 02:35 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfer8210 View Post
So, I'm expecting delivery this week of my new unit.
I'll be ordering cables through Monoprice.
Do I need to order and particular type which allows a different HDMI signal.
2.0 or something..?
I haven't looked on their website yet.
Thanks in advance.
Just get high speed cables, looks like some they sell are still standard speed.
dpeters11 is offline  
post #4115 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 04:36 PM
Member
 
enzo631's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by pardes3 View Post
I was going by this sticker, should i look else where ?
Did you find the correct sticker?

If so would you mind posting a picture of it so I know what to look for when mine gets delivered?

Thank you!
enzo631 is offline  
post #4116 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 04:55 PM
Member
 
lgvolvo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just Purchased the 65eg9600 UB model luckily on friday thru a price match. I wasnt expecting to purchase an oled for a while but i felt like it hit my price ($2500) point so I pulled the trigger. It caught me unprepared as I still have an onkyo 818 receiver that does not pass through a 4k signal. I will use this tv only to watch movies from my htpc (gtx 950 card) and the tv apps such as netflix, also regular fios tv through hdhomerun app on kodi. HTPC will be the only source for now. I've been searching here as well as google searches and cannot find an answer to my issue (or I should say I have found some answers but cannot get them to work).

I cant get the tv to pass through dolby d and dts to the onkyo when using Kodi. Here is how I have it currently connected. HTPC via HDMI to Tv, TV Optical out to receiver. On windows audio, the default device says Lg tv Nvidia which Im not sure if thats the correct selection that I should be using. If i have passthrough on Kodi enabled, I get no sound, if dissabled, I get PCM audio.

Cant figure it out, any suggestions?
lgvolvo is offline  
post #4117 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 08:19 PM
Member
 
surfer8210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpeters11 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfer8210 View Post
So, I'm expecting delivery this week of my new unit.
I'll be ordering cables through Monoprice.
Do I need to order and particular type which allows a different HDMI signal.
2.0 or something..?
I haven't looked on their website yet.
Thanks in advance.
Just get high speed cables, looks like some they sell are still standard speed.
Thanks..!!
surfer8210 is offline  
post #4118 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 08:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 6
This means I have the UB version right? Pretty sure, since it says UB on it lol.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TV.jpg
Views:	148
Size:	91.0 KB
ID:	1506281  
WHOneedsSOX is offline  
post #4119 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 11:06 PM
Senior Member
 
pardes3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by enzo631 View Post
Did you find the correct sticker?

If so would you mind posting a picture of it so I know what to look for when mine gets delivered?

Thank you!
I had no sticker for the the build date, but after opening I saw the build date of January 2016. UB version. So far looks perfect.
pardes3 is offline  
post #4120 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 11:08 PM
Senior Member
 
pardes3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by WHOneedsSOX View Post
This means I have the UB version right? Pretty sure, since it says UB on it lol.
Yes !
pardes3 is offline  
post #4121 of 5639 Old 06-19-2016, 11:59 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by pardes3 View Post
Yes !
Sweet, thanks.
WHOneedsSOX is offline  
post #4122 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 06:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeff43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hemlock NY
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfer8210 View Post
So, I'm expecting delivery this week of my new unit.
I'll be ordering cables through Monoprice.
Do I need to order and particular type which allows a different HDMI signal.
2.0 or something..?
I haven't looked on their website yet.
Thanks in advance.
If you have HDMI cable you're probably okay...for now. If you want to communicate back and forth to your receiver via the ARC HDMI connection or hook up an UHD blu ray player then you should get a high speed HDMI that can handle 18Gbps. Most high speed cables are 10.2Gbps and I've read for HDR color content, 18Gbps will handle the oodles of data that would be streaming into your set. If you purchase through monoprice, they're only a little bit more.
jeff43 is offline  
post #4123 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 06:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeff43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hemlock NY
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by U2Edge View Post
Expecting my LG 65EG9600 to hit my house in less than 12 hours via Best Buy. Stoked.

Dumb question, though... and it's more related to the HDCP stuff than the TV itself, but...

I have a Elite SC-85 receiver that isn't HDCP 2.2 compliant. Is doing the dual HDMI thing the ONLY way to get 4K + lossless audio from a UHD disc player? Can you somehow just opt for 4K passthrough on your receiver or does the HDCP still see that as a failed handshake?
The HDCP is for video only, you'll simply have to wait and see if the passthrough is just that (I would think it is). Just curious, I will have the EXACT same set up as you (IF my set delivers as a UB version that is) and I was wondering why you don't just hook up the UHD player video HDMI directly to the EG9600 and run the audio HDMI cable only directly to the SC-85? That's how I plan on doing mine.
jeff43 is offline  
post #4124 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 07:02 AM
Member
 
Jared2442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Anyone receive their unit from Dell yet?

Crossing my fingers they are shipping out UB models.
Jared2442 is offline  
post #4125 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 07:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeff43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hemlock NY
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jared2442 View Post
Anyone receive their unit from Dell yet?

Crossing my fingers they are shipping out UB models.
No deliveries yet. I'm scheduled Friday. This is worse than being a kid at Christmas. I can't sleep. I can't eat (okay, that's a good thing). I feel nauseous. I've made a vow to volunteer every weekend at my local homeless shelter and all I'd like in return is a UB suffix on my model number. That's it. I'll even become a monk (do monasteries have cable or satellite)? I'll even start putting some effort in at work. Wait a moment, that last one's crazy, scratch that off. I will start picking up after myself more and let my wife use the remote...occasionally. I might stop making fun of that guy that lives at the end of the street. I'll be kind to children and animals. I'll stop freaking out strangers by walking up to them and whispering "would you commit to a suicide pact with me?". I'll even make the biggest commitment that any man can make: I'll put down the toilet seat. Yup. I will do all of this and more if I see one simple thing on my set when it arrives:

65EG9600 UB
jeff43 is offline  
post #4126 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 07:44 AM
Member
 
Jared2442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff43 View Post
No deliveries yet. I'm scheduled Friday. This is worse than being a kid at Christmas. I can't sleep. I can't eat (okay, that's a good thing). I feel nauseous. I've made a vow to volunteer every weekend at my local homeless shelter and all I'd like in return is a UB suffix on my model number. That's it. I'll even become a monk (do monasteries have cable or satellite)? I'll even start putting some effort in at work. Wait a moment, that last one's crazy, scratch that off. I will start picking up after myself more and let my wife use the remote...occasionally. I might stop making fun of that guy that lives at the end of the street. I'll be kind to children and animals. I'll stop freaking out strangers by walking up to them and whispering "would you commit to a suicide pact with me?". I'll even make the biggest commitment that any man can make: I'll put down the toilet seat. Yup. I will do all of this and more if I see one simple thing on my set when it arrives:

65EG9600 UB
hahahaha I'm super hype too, fam.

Hoping since its the end of their stock they are the later units. Can't be sure though, so waiting for it to arrive is going to make this a long week.

If it does end up being UA version I don't think I'll refuse delivery or return it. As long as it can stream HDR content I'm ok with that. Just don't like the feeling of getting the short end of the stick on an item I paid $2,650 for.

We shall see...

Last edited by Jared2442; 06-20-2016 at 07:48 AM.
Jared2442 is offline  
post #4127 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 16,980
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3017 Post(s)
Liked: 3212
Bigger companies like that would never check there stock before they ship but odds are it would be a UB as there where shortages at the end of the UA cycle.
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4128 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 09:25 AM
Advanced Member
 
jeff43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Hemlock NY
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 119
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
Bigger companies like that would never check there stock before they ship but odds are it would be a UB as there where shortages at the end of the UA cycle.
That very well could be the most encouraging sentence ever written in the history of man.
jeff43 is offline  
post #4129 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 11:01 AM
Member
 
surfer8210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff43 View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by surfer8210 View Post
So, I'm expecting delivery this week of my new unit.
I'll be ordering cables through Monoprice.
Do I need to order and particular type which allows a different HDMI signal.
2.0 or something..?
I haven't looked on their website yet.
Thanks in advance.
If you have HDMI cable you're probably okay...for now. If you want to communicate back and forth to your receiver via the ARC HDMI connection or hook up an UHD blu ray player then you should get a high speed HDMI that can handle 18Gbps. Most high speed cables are 10.2Gbps and I've read for HDR color content, 18Gbps will handle the oodles of data that would be streaming into your set. If you purchase through monoprice, they're only a little bit more.
That's the info that I was looking for.
So I'll ensure that at least one or two cables are the high speed 18Gbps variety..!!
Thanks again..!!
surfer8210 is offline  
post #4130 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 01:54 PM
Senior Member
 
JayS99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by suitechicguy View Post
My 55EG9600 just got updated today to 4.25.05. Not sure what has changed yet.
You ever get an answer to any content, release notes, etc.? See mine wants to as well..
JayS99 is offline  
post #4131 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 03:12 PM
Senior Member
 
pardes3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Is there a recommended calibration setting for 65eg9600 ? I cant seem to find any. Did Chad or SillySally post one after calibration ?
pardes3 is offline  
post #4132 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 06:38 PM
Member
 
dpeters11's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I was hoping the new firmware would enable DirecTV RVU on the UB model that the UA model has. No such luck so far.
dpeters11 is offline  
post #4133 of 5639 Old 06-20-2016, 06:45 PM
Member
 
Jared2442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Do the DarbeeVision processors significantly improve DirecTV compression?

I want the absolute best PQ I can get out of my EG9600 when watching sports.

Thanks.
Jared2442 is offline  
post #4134 of 5639 Old 06-21-2016, 01:06 AM
Member
 
ambient-sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Littleton, CO
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgvolvo View Post
I cant get the tv to pass through dolby d and dts to the onkyo when using Kodi. Here is how I have it currently connected. HTPC via HDMI to Tv, TV Optical out to receiver. On windows audio, the default device says Lg tv Nvidia which Im not sure if thats the correct selection that I should be using. If i have passthrough on Kodi enabled, I get no sound, if dissabled, I get PCM audio.
I was able to get DD passthrough working using the service menu, but it doesn't look like there's any way to do so without an LG Service Remote. Fortunately, it's possible to program a Harmony remote as an LG Service Remote.

If you go this route, select the EZ Adjust button, choose Tool Option 7 and change it from PCM to AC3. I don't think you'll be able to passthrough anything but PCM and DD over optical, but for my needs that was all I needed.
ambient-sky is offline  
post #4135 of 5639 Old 06-21-2016, 05:44 AM
Senior Member
 
JayS99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 488
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 64 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by pardes3 View Post
Is there a recommended calibration setting for 65eg9600 ? I cant seem to find any. Did Chad or SillySally post one after calibration ?
CNET has a calibration done for the 55/65 eg9600.. There are several others if you google.. Many are based though on a starting point of color value of W2, which I find entirely too warm.. Kinda like whites to be 255,255,255, and not yellowish.. :-)
JayS99 is offline  
post #4136 of 5639 Old 06-21-2016, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 16,980
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3017 Post(s)
Liked: 3212
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeff43 View Post
That very well could be the most encouraging sentence ever written in the history of man.
I would not take a UA when there are plenty of UB's out there.......
Cleveland Plasma is offline  
post #4137 of 5639 Old 06-21-2016, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Jared2442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cleveland Plasma View Post
I would not take a UA when there are plenty of UB's out there.......
Not to mention the UB's have fixed almost all of the issues the UA sets were plagued with.

I'm just really hoping they deliver a UB because I can't miss work and my wife will be the one waiting at the house.

Jeff, please update us soon as you can confirm what version Dell shipped you. Maybe it will give me a little more peace of mind. Thanks.
Jared2442 is offline  
post #4138 of 5639 Old 06-21-2016, 09:34 AM
Member
 
kparker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Dell is sold out
kparker is offline  
post #4139 of 5639 Old 06-21-2016, 09:49 AM
Member
 
Jared2442's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by kparker View Post
Dell is sold out
Yep. If Dell delivers a UA I'll return it and scoop from ClevelandPlasma as long as he can get within that price range.
Jared2442 is offline  
post #4140 of 5639 Old 06-21-2016, 10:51 AM
Senior Member
 
pardes3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jared2442 View Post
Yep. If Dell delivers a UA I'll return it and scoop from ClevelandPlasma as long as he can get within that price range.
Yeah but from multiple posts on here I read that clevelandplasma does not allow return unless there is physical damage and reported within 24 hours. (IF this is not true clevelandplasma can correct me) and let us know that they allow return or exchange for any reason like Dell , Bestbuy all big box stores.

So if you get one with an annoying dead pixels, or some other odd issue like banding or something then you are stuck with trying to get LG to come replace parts if they feel its a real problem and LG VIP has been a headache to deal with from what I read.
pardes3 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
55EG9600

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off