list HDCP capable plasma and LCD displays here - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-04-2003, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 519
lets collect data in this new thread listing all HDCP ( aka HDMI) capable plasma and LCD displays as a resource to those who want to know what is available: ultimately this information should make it's way into the FAQ section

please post the make and model and a link if possible, for every display that is KNOWN HDCP, or is KNOWN HDCP upgradeable (such as a Pioneer with a card slot) and your comments if you wish

Please- only KNOWN HDCP/upgradeable to HDCP displays so our information is dependable

Mark:)

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-04-2003, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 519
HDCP capable 50" plasma:

Fujitsu P50XHA10US

mfg link:

http://www.plasmavision.com/50XHA10US.html

this is a new Fujitsu plasma that has a DVI-HDCP compliant input

for more details, see the Jersey Shore Shootout:

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...01#post1751701

Mark

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 02:29 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 519
trainerdave has also advised on some 42" plasma displays with DVI HDCP:

the 42 hi-def and standard def models are shipping now,
p42hha
p42vha


Mark

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 02:44 PM
MAB
AVS Special Member
 
MAB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,578
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am pretty sure the Sony KE-50XBR900 is hdcp compliant.

http://www.sonystyle.com/is-bin/INTE...YnxCh6&Dept=tv
MAB is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
Chris Hansen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Although I am not sure, I would expect all the Sony plasmas with DVI (i.e. KE42TS2U, KE32TS2U and KE50XBR900) to be HDCP compliant given that Sony's HD200 set top box outputs HDCP at its DVI terminal. Of course that is an assumption and Sony could be proven to produce a STB that outputs HDCP and yet produce plasmas with DVI that cannot accept HDCP (if it turn out that way, it would be odd given that Sony's plasma manual recommends the HD200 for satellite connection).
Chris Hansen is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 03:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
docrings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gulf Breeze, FL -- Soundside
Posts: 784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
docrings is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 03:54 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 519
excellent- all are welcome- Thank You!

keep them coming!

:)

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 04:20 PM
Senior Member
 
romanr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
romanr is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 05:11 PM
Member
 
Tom Ebaugh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: York, PA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tom Ebaugh is offline  
Old 02-04-2003, 06:19 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Samsung LTM295W- a new 29" LCD display with HDCP

http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/default.asp?edc=391201

limited sightings of this new unit- still looking for a review- also a 22" and a 40" announced

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Old 02-05-2003, 01:47 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,464
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 688
Yes, all DVI Sonys meet the test.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
Old 02-05-2003, 11:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GGoodrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Pioneer 433cmx, 503cmx, Pro 800HD and Pro 1000 HD will be upgradeble to DVI-HDCP compatibility via a new video plug-in card from Aurora Multimedia called the TVP-1000+. More info is available at: http://www.auroramultimedia.com/
GGoodrum is offline  
Old 02-07-2003, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
Stretch66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Samsung HLM617W DLP unit has the HDCP as well (althought this might not be the right place to post this?).

Link: http://www.samsungusa.com/pdf/hlm617w.pdf
Stretch66 is offline  
Old 02-07-2003, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
Bill Gehring's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Peoria, IL & South Padre Island, TX
Posts: 340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bill Gehring is offline  
Old 02-07-2003, 05:07 PM - Thread Starter
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 519
Pioneer upgrade card from Key Digital Systems:

http://www.keydigital.com/detail.asp..._ID=KD-PIO768P

check for latest version/HDCP/availability

please take the high road in every post
if you see a problematic post, please do not quote it or respond to it: report it to the mods to handle
markrubin is offline  
Old 02-08-2003, 10:45 PM
Newbie
 
willmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sampo PME-42X6 also supports DVI-HDCP.

http://www.sampoamerica.com/prod_PME-42X6_2.php

Willmd
willmd is offline  
Old 02-17-2003, 08:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
raidbuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Bel Air, MD
Posts: 1,638
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sampo's literature says they have DVI/HDCP and that it is for PC's.
I thought that a connection for PC wouldn't work for a set-top box?

I asked Sampo this question, but they haven't responded. I was interested in the Sampo because of its increased resolution and DVI-HDCP but now I'm not so sure.

raidbuck
raidbuck is offline  
Old 02-18-2003, 12:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GGoodrum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: South Orange County, CA
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DVI was originally developed as a pure digital interface for LCDs (and plasmas...) and the timings included were all PC-type formats (VGA, XGA, WXGA, etc.). HD video timings are different (720p, 1080i, etc...). HDCP is just an encryption layer and it is usually just associated with HD video signals.

The DVI in the Pioneer 5002 supports PC timings only. Some HDTVs from Sony, and others, support DVI-HDCP for HD timings but don't support PC signal formats. The new cards from Aurora for the Pios will support both.

-- Gary
GGoodrum is offline  
Old 03-09-2003, 08:52 AM
Advanced Member
 
CCDAstro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Hi:

I bought a Panny TH-50PHD5UY 50 inch last year. Am I mistaken, or is an expansion board either available or going to be for this unit? A Panny .pdf on their plasmas lists a TY42TM4D DVI terminal board for this and a couple other plasmas. Am I wrong, or will this allow dsiplay of HDCP encoded content?

Here is the PDF:

http://www.pdf.absoluteplasma.com/Pr...H-50PHD5UY.PDF

Thanks

Bill McL

For every complex problem there is an answer
that is clear, simple, and wrong.


H. L. Mencken

Galaxy Theater
CCDAstro is offline  
Old 03-10-2003, 11:47 AM
Advanced Member
 
peebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
CCDAstro:

DVI yes. HDCP no. Panasonic has indicated they won't support HDCP on our plasmas. I'm still stinging from that one too.

Y = 0.30R + 0.59G + 0.11B
peebee is offline  
Old 03-10-2003, 12:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
CCDAstro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 547
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally posted by peebee
CCDAstro:

DVI yes. HDCP no. Panasonic has indicated they won't support HDCP on our plasmas. I'm still stinging from that one too.

Typical - and Panasonic was one of the inventors. Well that is the last Panny anything I buy! I already have a Panny DirecTV reciever that is a POS but I may switch to Dish anyway as that new 921 looks great and they appear to be more supportive of HD.

Thank God my Infocus 7200 PJ supports DVI/HDCP!

I tend to agree with those that will view the programming in HD any way, legal or illegal, that they can - by God we paid for it, we are entitled and screw the studios, the government, or anyone else that says I can't watch what I paid for.


Take Care

Bill M

For every complex problem there is an answer
that is clear, simple, and wrong.


H. L. Mencken

Galaxy Theater
CCDAstro is offline  
Old 03-10-2003, 12:45 PM
Member
 
skritch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Given the number of Panny 42" and 50" plasmas out there, perhaps we should start a campaign to lobby Panasonic to allow a third party to produce a DVI/HDCP-compliant board, since they're unwilling to do it themselves.

After all, this would make it easier for them to extend the life of their existing line, as well as clear out existing stock at a premium once HDCP takes hold.

I wonder if the folks who are producing the boards for the Pioneer would be interested in taking on such a thing, if we managed to get Panasonic to agree to it?
skritch is offline  
Old 03-10-2003, 12:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
LisaJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: WA
Posts: 906
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am almost positive the people who make the cards would be more than happy to make one for Panasonic. It is all up to Panasonic.

You are the plasma sea..as vast as you can be..and deep the shade of blue..
LisaJ is offline  
Old 05-08-2003, 04:13 PM
Senior Member
 
cow736's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have the older Sony 65" Rear Projection TV with Component Input is anyone going to make a DVI/HDCP compliant add-on board for these sets?
cow736 is offline  
Old 05-08-2003, 10:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,464
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 397 Post(s)
Liked: 688
No, never. And it's impossible to do that. And you should ask RPTV questions in the RPTV forum.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
Old 05-09-2003, 12:52 PM
Advanced Member
 
peebee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Evanston, IL
Posts: 763
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by LisaJ
I am almost positive the people who make the cards would be more than happy to make one for Panasonic. It is all up to Panasonic.
Quote:
Originally posted by rogoJ
No, never. And it's impossible to do that.
Rogo's absolutely right, it's impossible to legally add an HDCP decoder, internal or external, to a TV that was not designed for such an upgrade. The HDCP agreement ( www.digital-cp.com/data/HDCPlicense061402b.pdf , as posted several times here by amillians) requires that HDCP display devices have both physical and software security built into them to thwart user access to any decoded signals. Non-HDCP TV's do not have such security, so they can never be legally upgraded.

Y = 0.30R + 0.59G + 0.11B
peebee is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 10:03 AM
Member
 
Jwong10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any one can advice whether Philips Plasma can support DVI (HDCP) ?
Jwong10 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 10:13 AM
Member
 
Jwong10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can anyone know whether Philips Plasma support HDCP
Jwong10 is offline  
Old 05-10-2003, 03:44 PM
Member
 
wildman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Montreal, QC, Canada
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OKAY, I am getting confused again.


The NEC 50" that I am on the verge of puchasing has DVI. It's a 29 pin connector. It is called an RGB and inputs a digital RGB signal (TMDS)

I am just reading from the manual here.

Now, I thought that meant I was covered and I had DVI in a world where the Hollywood studios win.

Am I wrong?
wildman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off