2017 LG C7-B7 Owners' Thread (No Price Talk) - Page 213 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 36508Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #6361 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 09:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotarydude View Post
I have the 180 opposite experience. I have a KS8000 in my gaming room, and the C7P in my living room. And the KS8000 is HORRIBLE going to through the "Smart Hub" items. Scrolling through the Apps its also slow. It's night and day difference when using the C7P either with the magic remote or with my Harmony Elite
Hm. Interesting. Not my findings at all. Mostly my speed concerns with the C7P are purely based on opening menus or picture settings, waiting for the little loading screen spinning balls.

So it goes.
WilliamG is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #6362 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 09:26 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Cal1981's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 3,211
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 378 Post(s)
Liked: 424
Quote:
Originally Posted by kensingtonwick View Post
Try de-judder at 4 and de-blur at 0. That's why I took back my B6 last year lol. I think motion is better on this years models.
That's the setting that I use on my C7 and it works very well. I have very few problems with judder that isn't natural and expected and no Soap Opera Effect.
kensingtonwick likes this.
Cal1981 is online now  
post #6363 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 09:31 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hey guys, new here. Just picked up my C7P yesterday and I love everything about it but the glare! How do you guys deal with all the glare because it's really distracting me from what ever I'm watching.
Viptouge is offline  
 
post #6364 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 09:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cal1981 View Post
That's the setting that I use on my C7 and it works very well. I have very few problems with judder that isn't natural and expected and no Soap Opera Effect.
I get great playback at User setting, both sliders at 0. That's rtings recommendation, too.
WilliamG is online now  
post #6365 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 09:33 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viptouge View Post
Hey guys, new here. Just picked up my C7P yesterday and I love everything about it but the glare! How do you guys deal with all the glare because it's really distracting me from what ever I'm watching.
You don't, sadly. OLEDs are really designed for rooms without glaring windows/lights. That's true of many other TVs these days, but it feels especially true of OLED since much of the joy of them is the great contrast etc.

Where is the glare coming from in your case?
WilliamG is online now  
post #6366 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 09:53 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
You don't, sadly. OLEDs are really designed for rooms without glaring windows/lights. That's true of many other TVs these days, but it feels especially true of OLED since much of the joy of them is the great contrast etc.

Where is the glare coming from in your case?
I have the TV set up in my bedroom and have two windows on each side of where the TV is set up. I have window shades but can still see reflections off the screen. Not sure I can live with the glares since I also have a Sony X900E that does not have this issue
Viptouge is offline  
post #6367 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 09:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by Viptouge View Post
I have the TV set up in my bedroom and have two windows on each side of where the TV is set up. I have window shades but can still see reflections off the screen. Not sure I can live with the glares since I also have a Sony X900E that does not have this issue
I hear you. I have three windows facing the TV in my bedroom and round the edges of the shades I still see light during the day. And yep, it reflects. At night it's amazeballs, so I look forward to that time.

If you have nothing you can do about it, I do recommend returning the TV. LG has a way to go with their anti-reflectivity coating, that's for sure.
WilliamG is online now  
post #6368 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 10:03 AM
Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 30
@JustaPlacebo you use BT1886 for gaming as well??

BT1886 make those colours really pop but i find the image too damn dark
onaga is offline  
post #6369 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 11:10 AM
Member
 
mic22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
After testing with two different sound bars, there's no question that ARC is broken currently on the C7. The audio/video sync issues are obvious no matter what source you are using. Netflix, YouTube, Xbox One, PlayStation 4 - all of it has audio/video sync issues.

Sound coming out of the TV itself is of course just fine.

*sigh*
Yeah with 5.1 audio its horrible. Delay is very inconsistent.
I adjusted my TV decoder to PCM sound as a workaround.
When the C7 gets the update, then I switch back to Dolby Audio.

Waiting a long time for the update, but glad the issue got confirmed. Bought the C7 together with the SJ9. First hdmi loopthrough with EDID issues on the SJ9.. after the update lipsync issue stayed. Now since a week I read about this update on the C7.. cant wait! :-)

so far LG keeps fixing the bugs, better then other companies.
mic22 is online now  
post #6370 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 11:38 AM
Member
 
Qu1ckset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Toronto
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Whats the go to settings to remove the soap opera effect?

- LG OLED55C7P
- PS4 Pro
- OG Xbox One
Qu1ckset is offline  
post #6371 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 11:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 3,824
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2109
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qu1ckset View Post
Whats the go to settings to remove the soap opera effect?
TruMotion - Deblur and Dejudder. Some of the default picture values are pretty high IMO. I've got mine set to custom at 0 for both. Tune to your viewing pleasure.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG B7 OLED 65" (waiting for cal by DNice)
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other toys
smurraybhm is offline  
post #6372 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 11:41 AM
Member
 
JustaPlacebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by onaga View Post
@JustaPlacebo you use BT1886 for gaming as well??

BT1886 make those colours really pop but i find the image too damn dark
It definitely seems a bit too dark at times, but this page made me commit to bt.1866 for a while http://www.spectracal.com/Documents/...rs/BT.1886.pdf

Otherwise, I've always used 2.2 which seems too washed out with these sets. I may end up using ISF Bright as a 2.2 preset for games.

Displays: LG 65" C7 | LG 34UM95 | LG 27UD88 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz | DELL S2240m
Sound: Yamaha HS7's | Onkyo TX-NR 646 5.1.2
Custom PC: i7-3930k, GTX 1080Ti, Cosmos 2 tower
Blu-ray Player: Sony UBP-X800
JustaPlacebo is offline  
post #6373 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 11:42 AM
Senior Member
 
Athlon646464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Uxbridge, MA
Posts: 467
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 46 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by Qu1ckset View Post
Whats the go to settings to remove the soap opera effect?
I'll be trying this later today (found this answer at Rtings.com):

TruMotion: User, then DeJudder and De-Blur to 0 (some here suggest De-Judder at 4)

LG OLED65C7 | Denon 2113CI | Klipsch 5.1 setup - 2 Forte - 1 R-25C - 2 R-14S
BA Sub w/Bosch amp | Sony BDP S570
Athlon646464 is offline  
post #6374 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Can now also confirm A/V sync issues using OPTICAL out from the TV to a soundbar. Netflix app etc. So this issue isn't just ARC.



Super frustrating to not be able to fully enjoy this TV unless you use the built-in speakers.
WilliamG is online now  
post #6375 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 12:11 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by mic22 View Post
Yeah with 5.1 audio its horrible. Delay is very inconsistent.
I adjusted my TV decoder to PCM sound as a workaround.
When the C7 gets the update, then I switch back to Dolby Audio.

Waiting a long time for the update, but glad the issue got confirmed. Bought the C7 together with the SJ9. First hdmi loopthrough with EDID issues on the SJ9.. after the update lipsync issue stayed. Now since a week I read about this update on the C7.. cant wait! :-)

so far LG keeps fixing the bugs, better then other companies.
I need this update YESTERDAY!

Also, setting the TV to PCM instead of Auto does NOT fully fix this issue. Watch Weeds episode 1, for example. Massively out of sync.

Last edited by WilliamG; 08-01-2017 at 12:18 PM.
WilliamG is online now  
post #6376 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 01:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by leonispain View Post
So you say that you see that the firm 3.60 the colours in pc mode HDR are correct? I see them washed in mass effect ,are you sure that in HDR PC mode the colours are correctly? Many thanks m?s sorry My english
Yes, after the firmware update the color are correct in HDR PC mode (be it Cinema preset or Game preset).
They look washed out to you because you are used to f-ked up neon oversaturated wrong colors because of the errors in the TV firmware which tried to squeeze Wide HDR color gamut into Limited sRGB color gamut. Now, in games PC HDR mode looks correct. And actually the only way to experience the real true colors of the HDR game is run it on the LG HDR TV with the latest firmware update. Even playing the game on an ordinary monitor with sRGB color gamut and unchecked HDR mode in games settings will give you oversaturated wrong colors, because the game runs in HDR gamut by default, while the monitor is limited to sRGB gamut and thus can't display proper colors, turning red into pink and shadows into black spots, for example.
I didn't play Mass Effect, but since you say the colors are washed out after the update, the same applies to that game also. They are not washed out - they are correct colors. You just used to the bugged oversaturated colors thinking it was an HDR effect
Pmme is offline  
post #6377 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 01:11 PM
Senior Member
 
animeking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 247 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Quote:
Originally Posted by smurraybhm View Post
TruMotion - Deblur and Dejudder. Some of the default picture values are pretty high IMO. I've got mine set to custom at 0 for both. Tune to your viewing pleasure.
Dejudder definitely 0....but Deblur has its uses.
animeking is online now  
post #6378 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 01:16 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
smurraybhm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 3,824
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1686 Post(s)
Liked: 2109
Quote:
Originally Posted by animeking View Post
Dejudder definitely 0....but Deblur has its uses.
As I said - set to your viewing preference

I'm happy with my settings, hope you're enjoying your display as much as I am.

There is no perfect display, quit looking for faults and enjoy

LG B7 OLED 65" (waiting for cal by DNice)
Ascend's with RAAL, Love my PSA v1800 and a 7.2.4 speaker config, Oppo 203 and other toys
smurraybhm is offline  
post #6379 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 02:02 PM
Member
 
onaga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 87 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaPlacebo View Post
It definitely seems a bit too dark at times, but this page made me commit to bt.1866 for a while http://www.spectracal.com/Documents/...rs/BT.1886.pdf

Otherwise, I've always used 2.2 which seems too washed out with these sets. I may end up using ISF Bright as a 2.2 preset for games.
how about crushed black?

in default settings gamma 2.2 the black level test pattern start to flash en 18, in b1886 i can VARELY see the 25 flash!!!
onaga is offline  
post #6380 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 02:10 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 103 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pmme View Post
Yes, after the firmware update the color are correct in HDR PC mode (be it Cinema preset or Game preset).
They look washed out to you because you are used to f-ked up neon oversaturated wrong colors because of the errors in the TV firmware which tried to squeeze Wide HDR color gamut into Limited sRGB color gamut. Now, in games PC HDR mode looks correct. And actually the only way to experience the real true colors of the HDR game is run it on the LG HDR TV with the latest firmware update. Even playing the game on an ordinary monitor with sRGB color gamut and unchecked HDR mode in games settings will give you oversaturated wrong colors, because the game runs in HDR gamut by default, while the monitor is limited to sRGB gamut and thus can't display proper colors, turning red into pink and shadows into black spots, for example.
I didn't play Mass Effect, but since you say the colors are washed out after the update, the same applies to that game also. They are not washed out - they are correct colors. You just used to the bugged oversaturated colors thinking it was an HDR effect
Do the comments you make about HDR PC mode also apply to the in built youtube app that many say is broken on new firmware?
333444 is online now  
post #6381 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 350
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 251 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pmme View Post
Yes, after the firmware update the color are correct in HDR PC mode (be it Cinema preset or Game preset).
They look washed out to you because you are used to f-ked up neon oversaturated wrong colors because of the errors in the TV firmware which tried to squeeze Wide HDR color gamut into Limited sRGB color gamut. Now, in games PC HDR mode looks correct. And actually the only way to experience the real true colors of the HDR game is run it on the LG HDR TV with the latest firmware update. Even playing the game on an ordinary monitor with sRGB color gamut and unchecked HDR mode in games settings will give you oversaturated wrong colors, because the game runs in HDR gamut by default, while the monitor is limited to sRGB gamut and thus can't display proper colors, turning red into pink and shadows into black spots, for example.
I didn't play Mass Effect, but since you say the colors are washed out after the update, the same applies to that game also. They are not washed out - they are correct colors. You just used to the bugged oversaturated colors thinking it was an HDR effect
This seems wrong. HDR Game configured the same way -- gamma, gamut, color, tint, etc. -- should look the same whether the input is labeled as a PC or not. The problem with SDR's Game mode is that it forces wide gamut when it shouldn't.

HDR Game with a PC label looks less saturated and washed out. It shouldn't. I don't think it's displaying correctly, but I don't have a meter that will let me scientifically confirm that.

Would be nice for a calibrator to chime in here. I swear DNice confirmed that HDR is broken in PC mode, but I can't find the post.
bigapp and JustaPlacebo like this.
urgru is online now  
post #6382 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 02:32 PM
Member
 
JustaPlacebo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by urgru View Post
This seems wrong. HDR Game configured the same way -- gamma, gamut, color, tint, etc. -- should look the same whether the input is labeled as a PC or not. The problem with SDR's Game mode is that it forces wide gamut when it shouldn't.

HDR Game with a PC label looks less saturated and washed out. It shouldn't. I don't think it's displaying correctly, but I don't have a meter that will let me scientifically confirm that.

Would be nice for a calibrator to chime in here. I swear DNice confirmed that HDR is broken in PC mode, but I can't find the post.
Seconded. PC Input HDR10 is not looking right. It looks washed out and skin tones look sickly. While I'd like objective verification and explanation, it really isn't strictly necessary in this case. The colors are obviously not displayed correctly.

Displays: LG 65" C7 | LG 34UM95 | LG 27UD88 | Asus VG248QE 144Hz | DELL S2240m
Sound: Yamaha HS7's | Onkyo TX-NR 646 5.1.2
Custom PC: i7-3930k, GTX 1080Ti, Cosmos 2 tower
Blu-ray Player: Sony UBP-X800
JustaPlacebo is offline  
post #6383 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tgrds View Post
In an effort to preserve my Software Version 03.51.30 for my 55” C7P and to block the automatic update notification from popping up when the TV is started each time I am endeavoring to block the specific URL or IP address that the TV is using via my router.

To this end, when I turn the TV on these destination URL or IP addresses are shown in my router as being accessed by the TV (if anyone knows which of these needs blocking that would be helpful I think it is the one in bold below):

23.7.245.50
23.7.245.59
54.187.98.145
136.166.4.110
54.149.172.148
151.101.52.133
35.187.174
52.35.187.174
52.36.132.37
I don't know if you ever got a response to this. I tried to resolve each of those IP addresses and here's what I got, in the same order you posted.

a23-7-245-50.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com
a23-7-245-59.deploy.static.akamaitechnologies.com
ec2-54-187-98-145.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
no response for 136.166.4.110
ec2-54-149-172-148.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
no resolution for 151.101.52.133
35.187.174 isn't a valid IP address
ec2-52-35-187-174.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com
ec2-52-36-132-37.us-west-2.compute.amazonaws.com

It's hard to tell based on this which one might be the update notification. Akamai and AmazonAWS are both hosts, so it's possible LG could be using one of those for its updates. The two that didn't resolve to a name could also be it if they just have the server out there by IP with no DNS registration.
SynergyNT is offline  
post #6384 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 03:05 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
Industry Insider
 
Cleveland Plasma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 17,020
Mentioned: 38 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3036 Post(s)
Liked: 3224
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilliamG View Post
You don't, sadly. OLEDs are really designed for rooms without glaring windows/lights. That's true of many other TVs these days, but it feels especially true of OLED since much of the joy of them is the great contrast etc.
LED's are not much better if at all, all TV's have glossy screens these days......
Cleveland Plasma is online now  
post #6385 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 03:07 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by urgru View Post
This seems wrong. HDR Game configured the same way -- gamma, gamut, color, tint, etc. -- should look the same whether the input is labeled as a PC or not. The problem with SDR's Game mode is that it forces wide gamut when it shouldn't.

HDR Game with a PC label looks less saturated and washed out. It shouldn't. I don't think it's displaying correctly, but I don't have a meter that will let me scientifically confirm that.

Would be nice for a calibrator to chime in here. I swear DNice confirmed that HDR is broken in PC mode, but I can't find the post.
Yeah, some reputable source confirming this, would be nice. Although I think I am spot on with this assumption. I've had plenty of computer displays over the years and spent days calibrating them. And I can say for sure that the after-patch HDR PC mode colors look correct. Pre-patch colors looked completely off and oversaturated because of the bug in the software, that forced limited gamut over the wide gamut. I have seen exactly these colors on the wide gamut monitors displaying normal sRGB windows content such as games that didn't support wide gamut.
HDR is not about oversaturated colors. It's about deeper colors with high brightness effect. You just used to seeing the wrong colors. Same thing happens to people that go from wide gamut display back to standard gamut display - everything in Windows looks washed out to them. Although when you view wide gamut images via wide gamut aware software on a wide gamut compatible monitor - everything looks normal, just like ordinary sRGB image, but with better colors with probably less banding etc. Not oversaturated by any means


Quote:
Originally Posted by 333444 View Post
Do the comments you make about HDR PC mode also apply to the in built youtube app that many say is broken on new firmware?
Can't say. I haven't tried yet the built in youtube app. I only watched hdr BD movies and played extensively the Shadow Warrior 2 game. For movies I chose Blu-Ray Player connection label.

Last edited by Pmme; 08-01-2017 at 03:18 PM.
Pmme is offline  
post #6386 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 03:15 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 48 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Quote:
Originally Posted by kig View Post
Black Level






These picutres really demonstrate the contrast well. What is this from?
SynergyNT is offline  
post #6387 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 03:18 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Quote:
Originally Posted by SynergyNT View Post
These picutres really demonstrate the contrast well. What is this from?

Horizon: Zero Dawn on PS4.
SynergyNT likes this.
WilliamG is online now  
post #6388 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 03:31 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Quote:
Originally Posted by JustaPlacebo View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by urgru View Post
This seems wrong. HDR Game configured the same way -- gamma, gamut, color, tint, etc. -- should look the same whether the input is labeled as a PC or not. The problem with SDR's Game mode is that it forces wide gamut when it shouldn't.

HDR Game with a PC label looks less saturated and washed out. It shouldn't. I don't think it's displaying correctly, but I don't have a meter that will let me scientifically confirm that.

Would be nice for a calibrator to chime in here. I swear DNice confirmed that HDR is broken in PC mode, but I can't find the post.
Seconded. PC Input HDR10 is not looking right. It looks washed out and skin tones look sickly. While I'd like objective verification and explanation, it really isn't strictly necessary in this case. The colors are obviously not displayed correctly.
I agree with you.....
leonispain is offline  
post #6389 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
WilliamG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Seattle
Posts: 3,825
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 765 Post(s)
Liked: 344
Has anyone tried to install the Korean-market firmware update on a non-Korean C7? I managed to find the firmware here, but... you know...

https://www.lgservice.co.kr/search/d...currentPageNo=

Last edited by WilliamG; 08-01-2017 at 03:48 PM.
WilliamG is online now  
post #6390 of 11194 Old 08-01-2017, 03:55 PM
Member
 
Onedark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: TX
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Has anyone lost connection to YouTube and cannot re-connect? I press the YouTube button and the Google sign-in page shows up. Should I reset the TV?
Thanks in advance...


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Onedark1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
2017 , audio out , Emotiva , Gaming , hdmi arc , lg c7 , lg e7 , mount , oled , problem

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off