Th-50phd7uy - Page 17 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #481 of 509 Old 09-30-2004, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 4,218
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 176 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Overtime, for my application, I perceive no benefit at all in spending $1,000 or $1,500 more for an HD Panasonic vs. and ED Panasonic as I see no difference from my sitting position. That is not the case with the 50" which is much larger. I would rather spend 2,600 more for a much larger picture vs. $1,000 more than the same thing. Just my opinion as to what is the better value.
JWhip is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #482 of 509 Old 09-30-2004, 03:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mangopony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 2,379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking forward to hearing about the new Panasonic 7UY series; the first displays should be in the homes Friday and next week, seems to me. I am ordering soon so would like a run down of the new sets, both ED and HD.
mangopony is offline  
post #483 of 509 Old 09-30-2004, 04:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
overtime's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 606
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm just pointing out the fact that prices seem to be converging to a more palatable difference. HD was $1400 more just a few weeks ago (I still see this number being bandied about when it isn't true). And a 50" HD was "only" $1200 more than that. Some people might prefer the ED at any price difference and that certainly is their perogative but that wouldn't be my choice. So the question just becomes...at what difference $$ is HD worth it to a person? Even if I only notice a small difference that might be worth several hundred to me. It might be worth $10 to the next guy and $1000 to someone else.

I sit anywhere from 5' to 15' from where the plasma screen would be. At 5' I'll see the screen door on either a 42" ED or a 50" HD but I will not on a 42" HD. At least, that has been my experience while reviewing these sets at various retailers.

Once I'm at 8'+ the picture looks very very similar (HD v. ED) with a tiny edge going to the HD set. I can still notice the rez difference up to 12' when there is small text on the screen (and ONLY with HD broadcasts). Beyond 12' I don't notice any differences at any time.

There is also a good chance I'll do some messing around with HTPC in which case HD is much better.

I still haven't decided what I'm getting but right now I'm leaning towards either a 42" or 50" HD (or possibly a 43"...). I have not ruled out a 42" ED.

I think too many people just dismiss the 42" HD as a "waste" because of the cost difference instead of stating what that difference is and letting people decide if its worth it to them.

overtime
overtime is offline  
post #484 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 08:15 AM
Member
 
EZrider827's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I want to use an external sound system with the 7UY I want to order. However, I don't see any audio-out connections on this unit, or for that matter any of the panny commercial units. Maybe I'm missing something. Is there a way to get audio out so that I have a single audio connection from the 7UY to the audio system? Forgive me if this has been addressed before. But, I've spent hours in this forum looking for an answer.
EZrider827 is offline  
post #485 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 08:24 AM
Member
 
kyyuan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Fort Worth, TX, USA
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by overtime
I'm just pointing out the fact that prices seem to be converging to a more palatable difference. HD was $1400 more just a few weeks ago (I still see this number being bandied about when it isn't true). And a 50" HD was "only" $1200 more than that. Some people might prefer the ED at any price difference and that certainly is their perogative but that wouldn't be my choice. So the question just becomes...at what difference $$ is HD worth it to a person? Even if I only notice a small difference that might be worth several hundred to me. It might be worth $10 to the next guy and $1000 to someone else.

I sit anywhere from 5' to 15' from where the plasma screen would be. At 5' I'll see the screen door on either a 42" ED or a 50" HD but I will not on a 42" HD. At least, that has been my experience while reviewing these sets at various retailers.

Once I'm at 8'+ the picture looks very very similar (HD v. ED) with a tiny edge going to the HD set. I can still notice the rez difference up to 12' when there is small text on the screen (and ONLY with HD broadcasts). Beyond 12' I don't notice any differences at any time.

There is also a good chance I'll do some messing around with HTPC in which case HD is much better.

I still haven't decided what I'm getting but right now I'm leaning towards either a 42" or 50" HD (or possibly a 43"...). I have not ruled out a 42" ED.

I think too many people just dismiss the 42" HD as a "waste" because of the cost difference instead of stating what that difference is and letting people decide if its worth it to them.

overtime
overtime...I hear you well. Simliar decision process on my end.

Ken

Ken
kyyuan is offline  
post #486 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 08:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SF Bay Area (Novato)
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EZrider827,
There are no audio outputs because the commercial units do not produce any audio on their own. There are no built-in tuners. You'll need to split the audio outputs from DVD, STB, etc. if you want to use the built-in amp and an external audio system.
hiker is offline  
post #487 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 08:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
SoSo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 772
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
To me, I am only deciding between the 42 ED or the 50 HD.

42 ED is cheap enough that in two years time, I can justify move it into the bedroom and the price for the 50 HD will be affortable.

Or

Taking the 50 HD now and forget about upgrading in 5 years.
SoSo is offline  
post #488 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 09:17 AM
Member
 
EZrider827's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you HIKER. I realize that the commercial units lack any sound source. I don't intend to use the 7UY's built-in amp. I will have 1 composite (VCR) and two component devices (STB & DVD) connected along with their respective audio to the 7UY. I was hoping their was a way to feed the audio to the external sound system via the 7UY. If that were possible, the sound would switch along with video as different inputs are selected. Looks like I'll have to come up with a different solution.
EZrider827 is offline  
post #489 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 09:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SF Bay Area (Novato)
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
EZrider827,
I use a separate component video/analog audio switch since I have 4 sources. If you have the 2 component, 1 composite sources that you described you can get a high level to low level converter. This converts the speaker outputs to base band audio outputs and should allow you to use the panny as a switcher, although with limited inputs. See an example here.
hiker is offline  
post #490 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 10:29 AM
Member
 
EZrider827's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Ohio
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually HIKER, I think that is a very good solution. It will simplify the job of switching input sources for my wife. Maybe some time later I'll be able to isolate the inputs to the 7UY's internal amplifier and wire up my own audio-outs. Thanks.
EZrider827 is offline  
post #491 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 11:13 AM
Newbie
 
brianlu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I went to the VA warehouse yesterday and picked up 2 of the new 50's. Went right home and installed one of them and the unit is beautiful as expected. I am currently viewing HD via Component since my DVI cable isn't long enough (Drat!). But still looks great. Its nice to have somewhat of a sense of ease that this investment will resist Burn... So far the unit seems to be almost identical to the 5UY...I will be playing with it more over the weekend and report back.

FYI, VA has a F@*% load of plasmas in the building. But I think they are using their advatange of having the units in stock today to get a couple of hundred more bucks out of them. I would anticipate that you will see their price come down in the next month or so.
brianlu is offline  
post #492 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 11:28 AM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Brian,
Can you confirm whether the 50" display is fanless. The literature says it is, but Panny's previous 50" displays did have fans.

Regards,
Steve
slb is offline  
post #493 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 04:28 PM
Senior Member
 
jeremys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought the pdf says the 50 & 65 have some form of noise suppression on the fan to make it appear fanless.
jeremys is offline  
post #494 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 04:56 PM
slb
AVS Special Member
 
slb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: San Francisco North Bay
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
That's why I'm confused. This product page TH-50PHD7UY states that it's fanless (near the bottom of the feature list). Hope that it's true, but I kind of doubt it.

-Steve
slb is offline  
post #495 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 06:19 PM
Senior Member
 
jeremys's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: San Diego
Posts: 269
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
click on brochure on that link and go to botton right on page 5. I think that spells it out.

It's probably a bit misleading as they say "Fanless Quiet Operation" on all models in the feature list. That's marketing folks, or laziness. The true story seems to be: fans on 50 & 65 that are pretty quiet. My *guess* is you will not hear them unless your ear is stuck on the panel.
jeremys is offline  
post #496 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 07:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 27
When purchasing the Panasonic 50PHD7UY from Visual Apex, is it worthwhile to spend $745 http://www.visualapex.com/accessorie...=Warrantiesfor for a GE four-year extended warranty, or does it make more sense to purchase a four-year warranty from Repair Master for only $439.99 http://www.tvauthority.com/Electroni...r-RMT47500.asp Both warranties take over after the one year manufacturer warranty (thus, giving you a total of five years of warranty protection) and both offer in-home service. Further, for the Repair Master warranty, you can wait to purchase the warranty until up to 90 days before the expiration of your first year warranty.

An extended warranty from Repair Master is available no matter where you purchase your plasma; see http://www.tvauthority.com/warranties.asp?dept=17

Which warranty would you or have you purchased? Thanks.
igreg is offline  
post #497 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 07:33 PM
Member
 
Art001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought 50PHD7UY from 1800plasmas. And 5 year (1 from Panny 4 from Philips) warranty. I read that Philips warranty is one of the best.

Art001
Art001 is offline  
post #498 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 27
The Philips warranty is $819.00, and no mention is made of in-home service. Also, you must purchase the Philips warranty at the time of plasma purchase as opposed to waiting until 90 days prior to the expiration of Panasonic's one-year warranty.

Is the Philips warranty worth an additional $379?


http://www.1800plasmas.com/ProductDe...hilips5yr10000
igreg is offline  
post #499 of 509 Old 10-01-2004, 10:10 PM
Member
 
bastid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am prewiring my apartment and want to know what HDMI cable to get for the 42PHD7UY. Do I just need a standard male to male cable? Or will the blade on the back of set require me to get a female to male. I could not find the answer to this anywhere . . . Any help?

Thanks,

b.
bastid is offline  
post #500 of 509 Old 10-02-2004, 05:46 AM
Member
 
btrvalik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: New England
Posts: 148
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rather than pre-wire do you have room to a PCV conduit? I got sick of guessing what type of cables will be needed for the future so I've run 1.5"- 3" PVC in many spots in my house. As standards change I just pull the old one out and the new wire through... Even if you can only do a 1/2-1" pipe it will still allow you to make changes later.
btrvalik is offline  
post #501 of 509 Old 10-02-2004, 06:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SF Bay Area (Novato)
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by igreg
Is the Philips warranty worth an additional $379?
I have the Repair Master 4 YR in-home extention warranty on a 42PWD6UY and have had to use it. I am satisfied with the service. Do a search of the forum to see what experiences others have had. Also you can buy the Repair Master online cheaper, look for efunctional web site. I think the model warranty number you want is RMT45000. (+4 years, up to $5K, in-home).
hiker is offline  
post #502 of 509 Old 10-02-2004, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
igreg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Northern California
Posts: 2,843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 27
As HDMI card is not available for two months (according to Visual Apex) are you ordering DVI card, or just going to use component in the mean time. When I first receive my plasma I would prefer to have the best picture available. DVI Worth the $140 in the interim, or perhaps even instead o f the HDMI period since HDMI not available now? Thanks.
igreg is offline  
post #503 of 509 Old 10-02-2004, 09:15 AM
Member
 
bastid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: nyc
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
btrvalik,
thanks for the reply. Is the tip of the HDMI cable small enough to fit through a 1" tube? I know that with DVI, it's pretty big and I would have to have close to a 2"-3" opening to fit one through. Is the HDMI smaller?

bastid
bastid is offline  
post #504 of 509 Old 10-02-2004, 09:15 AM
Member
 
Art001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For plasmas below $5000 Philips warranty is $609. This is where TH-50PHDUY is in price.

I think it is worth to have.

Art001
Art001 is offline  
post #505 of 509 Old 10-06-2004, 07:53 AM
Senior Member
 
snbeall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bastid
btrvalik,
thanks for the reply. Is the tip of the HDMI cable small enough to fit through a 1" tube? I know that with DVI, it's pretty big and I would have to have close to a 2"-3" opening to fit one through. Is the HDMI smaller?

bastid
I happened to be looking at VGA-component cables on RAM (link above), and was browsing HDMI. Ironically I recall that exact subject being addressed in their info and I recall the specs saying it will fit through 1 1/2" conduit. Might want to check it yourself.
snbeall is offline  
post #506 of 509 Old 10-18-2004, 11:02 AM
Member
 
Ron Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry to throw this question in, in the middle of this Thread -- but is there any way to jump into the middle of a thread --i.e. say I wanted to jump into about page 15 of this thread.

roninrr
Ron Smith is offline  
post #507 of 509 Old 10-18-2004, 11:13 AM
Member
 
Kirka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hudson, NH, USA
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One way could be to click on one of the Pages that are numbered. This is page 26, so it shows the ability to go to page 25. If you click on that first and look in your url bar you'll see:
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...&pagenumber=25
You could just change the pagenumber value to something else manually and hit enter. "First page" puts the variable in the url as well.
Kirka is offline  
post #508 of 509 Old 10-18-2004, 11:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: SF Bay Area (Novato)
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's a tip that I have found very useful when navigating through a long thread. You can display all the individual pages on one long page and use the find function of your browser by:
Click on the Show Printable Version link at the bottom of any page.
Click on the Show all xxx posts from this thread on one page link.
hiker is offline  
post #509 of 509 Old 10-18-2004, 11:39 AM
Member
 
Ron Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Round Rock, TX
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, thanks guys. Didn't notice that this was pretty much a dead Thread -- so thanks a lot for responding. BTW, Kirka's page suggestion works fine, and I will also try out the thread-on-one-page idea. Thanks -- I will let this Thread go back to sleep now and find a more active 42phd7uy thread -- there appears to be plenty around.

roninrr
Ron Smith is offline  
Closed Thread OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off