Wow! New Dell 24" FP - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 558 Old 03-05-2005, 04:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JWhip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Wayne, PA
Posts: 4,221
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 178 Post(s)
Liked: 240
Same here!
JWhip is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 558 Old 03-05-2005, 09:15 AM
Member
 
dam-sam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hollister, CA
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You have mail!
dam-sam is offline  
post #93 of 558 Old 03-05-2005, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
scmguru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can I get a PM with the order info too? I'd like to upgrade.
scmguru is offline  
post #94 of 558 Old 03-05-2005, 09:39 AM
Member
 
dpc123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd appreciate a PM too. Merci buckets.
dpc123 is offline  
post #95 of 558 Old 03-05-2005, 04:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
webboy10169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ 08527
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pm me too

How is video playback? Specifically ts files...

webboy@totalconfusion.org
Xbox Gammer Tag: webboy
My Profile
------------------------------------
webboy10169 is offline  
post #96 of 558 Old 03-05-2005, 06:50 PM
Member
 
morpho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would appreciate a pm as well. Thanks.
morpho is offline  
post #97 of 558 Old 03-05-2005, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cybertec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Staten Island,N.Y
Posts: 1,306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cybertec is online now  
post #98 of 558 Old 03-05-2005, 10:46 PM
Newbie
 
xingr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Colorado
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please PM me with order info too. Thanks!

We are awash in data. Knowledge is harder to find. Understanding is
uncommon. Wisdom is indeed a rare find.
xingr is offline  
post #99 of 558 Old 03-06-2005, 05:55 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,016
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 419
while I wait for mine:

does this display have any fans/fan noise?
markrubin is offline  
post #100 of 558 Old 03-06-2005, 07:11 PM
Member
 
neomoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to know if any of you guys with one have tried out the component input and whether it supports 50hz hd video through the component input. You feedback would be greatly appreciated. I'm so close to pulling the trigger on this puppy to replace my old dell 21inch trinitron crt.
neomoz is offline  
post #101 of 558 Old 03-06-2005, 07:23 PM
Member
 
BradSwanson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Posts: 150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please Kick me a PM also for the order.

Thanks.
Samsonite
BradSwanson is offline  
post #102 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 07:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kilmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by markrubin
while I wait for mine:

does this display have any fans/fan noise?
No fan noise. I don't think the unit has any fans at all. I'll check actively when I get home and edit the post if I find otherwise.
kilmar is offline  
post #103 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 07:16 AM
Super Moderator
 
markrubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 23,016
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 419
Thanks

my unit has finally gone to the shipping stage so I should have it this week :)
markrubin is offline  
post #104 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 07:19 AM
Senior Member
 
Peter740's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please post a review when you get it...
Peter740 is offline  
post #105 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 09:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
webboy10169's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Jackson, NJ 08527
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info i ordered a pair...

webboy@totalconfusion.org
Xbox Gammer Tag: webboy
My Profile
------------------------------------
webboy10169 is offline  
post #106 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 09:42 AM
Member
 
NewHD4me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone please PM me info on this deal. Thanks.
NewHD4me is offline  
post #107 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 09:58 AM
Member
 
varma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Albuqerque NM
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is a DVI cable included? If so how long?

Mine was delivered today. Wondering if i need to buy a cable.
varma is offline  
post #108 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
kilmar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,299
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by varma
Is a DVI cable included? If so how long?

Mine was delivered today. Wondering if i need to buy a cable.
Yes. I believe it was 2m.
kilmar is offline  
post #109 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 01:23 PM
Senior Member
 
iceman143's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: gulf breeze, fl, usa
Posts: 412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I understand this is shipping from Dell with free overnight shipping but the restocking may take a few days.
iceman143 is offline  
post #110 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ultimate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Stillwater, OK USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Just wanted to know if any of you guys with one have tried out the component input and whether it supports 50hz hd video through the component input.
I'm not sure what you mean by 50Hz. I'm using 1080i 60Hz via the component inputs from my Dish 6000 receiver without any problems; I also tried 720p with no issues, though I think 1080i looks slightly better. I'm using my Power Macintosh G5 via the DVI input with the component input as part of picture in picture and split screen.

The only thing that's a little strange to me is that some HD content I recorded from my local CBS affiliate seems to have some fluttering issues, which could be a video card issue, though other recordings from other channels haven't seemed to be a problem. In any event, I'm waiting for my 32-inch Syntax Olevia to arrive, which will be my main HD display as the Dell is primarily a computer monitor in my setup.

Dennis

Dennis Whiteman
Check out HDTVOK.COM
ultimate is offline  
post #111 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 01:55 PM
Senior Member
 
marck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Lincoln, NE USA
Posts: 280
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered mine. Thanks.
marck is offline  
post #112 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
ralphjb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 570
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally posted by ultimate
I'm not sure what you mean by 50Hz. I'm using 1080i 60Hz via the component inputs from my Dish 6000 receiver without any problems; I also tried 720p with no issues, though I think 1080i looks slightly better. I'm using my Power Macintosh G5 via the DVI input with the component input as part of picture in picture and split screen.

The only thing that's a little strange to me is that some HD content I recorded from my local CBS affiliate seems to have some fluttering issues, which could be a video card issue, though other recordings from other channels haven't seemed to be a problem. In any event, I'm waiting for my 32-inch Syntax Olevia to arrive, which will be my main HD display as the Dell is primarily a computer monitor in my setup.

Dennis
Curious. Does your Dish Receiver have VGA out? If so, have you tried running 1080i via VGA into this monitor. I ask only because I know the Dell 2005FPW could not handle 1080i. I've got an old DirecTV RCA DTC100 box with VGA out.
Thanks.
ralphjb is offline  
post #113 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 03:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thedeskE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Snagged a link to pics. Thought you guys would enjoy. Notice the guy is on OSX, so looks good for Mac users as well. I also read that the panel is benQ. My HP 2335 is LG, but it looks like the panel will at least be as good as the HP, with the addition on the Picture by Picture & card slots.

Hope this is the beginning of bigger/cheaper that everyone's been waiting for.
Apple's going to choke if they don't pay attention and join the price war. IMO

http://offsite.willo.net/2405/2405.html

E
thedeskE is offline  
post #114 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 03:50 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
rogo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Stop making curved screens
Posts: 30,331
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 275 Post(s)
Liked: 591
BenQ doesn't make panels, but if someone said it's a BenQ, they probably meant it's an AU Optronics panel. Acer spun out its LCD-making into AUO a while back.

There is no difference in HDMI cables. If you can see the picture without visible dropouts or sparklies, the cable is working at 100%. No other cable will display a better version of that picture. You're simply wrong if you think there is a better digital cable than one that is already working. (Oh, and plasma didn't die because of logistics problems, nor does OLED ship in big boxes because it comes from Korea.)
rogo is offline  
post #115 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ultimate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Stillwater, OK USA
Posts: 1,128
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ralphjb
Curious. Does your Dish Receiver have VGA out? If so, have you tried running 1080i via VGA into this monitor. I ask only because I know the Dell 2005FPW could not handle 1080i.
No, right now I'm using the VGA output from the Dish 6000 to drive my Samsung 172T as a TV for SD until the 32-inch Syntax Olevia gets here so I can use the Dell for work without doing picture in picture for TV. I'm using the VGA input on the Dell 2405FPW with my IOgear Miniview III KVM, which is hooked up to my three Mac servers. One nice thing is that each input seems to have independant memory, unlike some displays.

Of course, until the Syntax Olevia gets here, I'm viewing HD on the Dell via the component input using 1080i, but I doubt that really answers your question. Basically, this Dell can handle 1080i via the component input, but I'm not sure about the VGA input.

Dennis

Dennis Whiteman
Check out HDTVOK.COM
ultimate is offline  
post #116 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 05:20 PM
Member
 
ssuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, can someone please PM me with info on the deal? Thanks a lot!
ssuh is offline  
post #117 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 05:44 PM
Senior Member
 
Pradeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by ultimate
I'm not sure what you mean by 50Hz. I'm using 1080i 60Hz via the component inputs from my Dish 6000 receiver without any problems; I also tried 720p with no issues, though I think 1080i looks slightly better. I'm using my Power Macintosh G5 via the DVI input with the component input as part of picture in picture and split screen.
Dennis
He's in Australia, land of 50Hz.
Pradeep is offline  
post #118 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 06:57 PM
Member
 
Pheoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hrm... Trying to deside on 1 or 2 of these, an ACD (30" of course), or a HT setup... *crys* Oh too many choices.

Can I get a PM with the deal, just incase I deside to pull the trigger?
Pheoni is offline  
post #119 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 09:46 PM
Member
 
neomoz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
He's in Australia, land of 50Hz.
Yep that's right, we have hd signals based on 50hz refresh like the old pal standard. So our 720p and 1080i signals are identical in resolution the only difference is the refresh rate of 50hz instead of 60hz. the GM1601 chipset should support these video modes, just don't have any sort of confirmation that it really does that's all.
neomoz is offline  
post #120 of 558 Old 03-07-2005, 09:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
thedeskE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 3,625
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 67
rogo

Thanks, I stand corrected.
E
thedeskE is offline  
Closed Thread OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off