Download Break In DVD (SVCD) - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 1285 Old 04-27-2006, 08:11 PM
Member
 
PhilH930's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for your effort. Can't wait to try it out.
PhilH930 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 1285 Old 04-27-2006, 08:38 PM
Member
 
BuckaTune's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evangelo2 View Post

PhilH930, BuckaTune,
I should have the DVD Version up tonight or tomorrow.

Thanks for putting in the time to help us all out!

Cheers.
BuckaTune is offline  
post #153 of 1285 Old 05-01-2006, 04:27 PM
Newbie
 
cracker696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am eagerly awaiting this burn in DVD since my xbox 360 doesnt play SVCDs,. This is killing me, i really wanna use my new plasma. Wonering when its gonna be released. Thanks for all your hard work!!!!
cracker696969 is offline  
post #154 of 1285 Old 05-01-2006, 09:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
cracker696969,
Sorry about the delay. Been swamped with work. I already have the DVD-R project complete in Nero and just ahve to creat a iso and nrg file. Sorry for the delay again. I will post when the DVD-R is ready.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #155 of 1285 Old 05-01-2006, 10:05 PM
Newbie
 
cracker696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
dont be sorry at all, you are helping all of us out of the kindness of your heart. Thanks again, I look forward to this baby.

cracker696969
cracker696969 is offline  
post #156 of 1285 Old 05-02-2006, 07:04 PM
Member
 
dano1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 195
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there a launch party?
dano1122 is offline  
post #157 of 1285 Old 05-02-2006, 07:25 PM
Newbie
 
cracker696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i am hoping there will be one tonight
cracker696969 is offline  
post #158 of 1285 Old 05-03-2006, 07:49 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hey Guys,
Just letting you all know the DVD-R version is now available on my website here in the Downloads Section. Please read the notes I added in the 1st message about the DVD-R version Enjoy!
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #159 of 1285 Old 05-03-2006, 08:26 PM
Newbie
 
cracker696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
downloaded this tonight, been trying the iso and nrg files, burned both twice. using my xbox 360 at 1080i and it goes through about the first 5 mintues without a problem, switching screens every 30 seconds, then it flashes through 15 or so screens really fast and ends up back at the beginning white color. i dunno.
doesnt happen when i watch it in windows media player on the same discs. weird since they should be using the same software.
cracker696969 is offline  
post #160 of 1285 Old 05-03-2006, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by cracker696969 View Post

downloaded this tonight, been trying the iso and nrg files, burned both twice. using my xbox 360 at 1080i and it goes through about the first 5 mintues without a problem, switching screens every 30 seconds, then it flashes through 15 or so screens really fast and ends up back at the beginning white color. i dunno.
doesnt happen when i watch it in windows media player on the same discs. weird since they should be using the same software.

cracker696969,
I got some feedback from someone who ran it on a PS2 without issue. Strange about the XBox360. I guess I can give it a shot in mine. Do you have another DVD player available? The XBox360 can not output 1080i when playing DVDs by the way.
I also have confirmed that the .nrg burnt disc has been running succesfully on my Pio Elite DV59AVi using HDMI outputting 720p.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #161 of 1285 Old 05-03-2006, 10:12 PM
Newbie
 
cracker696969's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what i meant is that my xbox is set to output 1080i, whether or not it does that on dvds, i dunno. i guess not.

i dont have another dvd player, guess i'm gonna have to borrow one from a friend. damn. oh well.

still weird that it wouldnt work on an xbox 360, its microsoft for crying out loud.

thanks for the help.
cracker696969 is offline  
post #162 of 1285 Old 05-14-2006, 12:38 AM
Member
 
roro5pm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello,

i was just wondering is this break in dvd supposed to run continuously for 100 hours or in segments (so i can watch tv in between sessions) totalling 100 hours. btw, thank you ea for making this.
roro5pm is offline  
post #163 of 1285 Old 05-15-2006, 12:25 PM
Member
 
cheesey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmm.... I've got a question.... I downloaded the dvd-r version (to play on my xbox 360..) and the colors aren't in 30 second segments...

example:
gray: 30 seconds, gray w/ slight blue: 30 seconds, gray w/ little more blue 30 seconds, blue 1 second, red 1 second, green 1 second,

then starts over


I might have the orders of colors wrong... but it definetely isn't evenly mixed time-wise... is this the xbox or dvd? I'm going to hold off on leaving this for a couple hours until I hear back that it won't mess up the tv
cheesey is offline  
post #164 of 1285 Old 05-15-2006, 06:49 PM
Member
 
applky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hmm... Bummer about the 360 bug. I was counting on having a 360 and not having to buy a separate DVD player.

I think I'll still not buy a separate DVD player actually. I'll probably buy a Mac Mini and do a DVI --> HDMI hookup and watch DVDs on there, unless anyone has a recommendation for a sub-$100 HD-capable HDMI DVD player.

But my real question: Any success on any counts with the DVD on either an Xbox or a 360?
applky is offline  
post #165 of 1285 Old 05-15-2006, 09:43 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RandyL712's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: 5280
Posts: 6,963
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't buy a DVD just for a not-really-necessary break in DVD. That's just silly. Play a DVD for 100 hours and so long as it's not in letterbox you'll break in the TV just fine. Or just watch TV on it
RandyL712 is offline  
post #166 of 1285 Old 05-15-2006, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
roro5pm,
This DVD does not need to run for 100 hours continuous, It just allows you to run something safely when you are not around to help get through the breakin hours quicker. You can run it for any time periods you like and you can stop it to watch whatever you want.

cheesey,
I have not run this on ym XBox 360 yet. It does work correctly through my DVD player. Someone else reported the same issue as you through the 360. I will give it a shot on the 360 ASAP.

applky,
RandyL712 is right. I don't think I would by a DVD player just to run this break in DVD. you can break in your TV with video that is full screen and not the DVD. The DVD is just meant to get through those initial 100 hours quicker. You may want to see what happens when running it through a laptop out to the TV as I have confirmed that this run correctly using WinXP SP2 with PowerDVD.

Hope this helps guys.

-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #167 of 1285 Old 05-16-2006, 03:09 PM
Member
 
kwajaln's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, IL
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Evangelo2,

Disregard the PM I sent you - your last post answered my question. Thanks!
I ordered/paid for a Panasonic TH50PX600U (my first plasma!) that I plan to use the break-in DVD for.
kwajaln is offline  
post #168 of 1285 Old 05-19-2006, 09:01 PM
Newbie
 
levi333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just tried the DVD version on my JVC brand, model # XV-N33SL and it seemed to work perfectly.
Now i just have to get that plasma!

Can i expect the DVD version to play for 16 hours as well?

Thanks
levi333 is offline  
post #169 of 1285 Old 05-20-2006, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
levi333.
Glad it worked for you. The DVD version should play for 24 hours.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #170 of 1285 Old 05-20-2006, 06:21 PM
Member
 
offthechizzain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Look I have nero buring program, I tried to down load it and it worked, but I cant burn it to a dics, what type of disc do i need to have. I have a DVD R/RW burner, but all I have is DVD + R discs, what type of discs do I need to use
offthechizzain is offline  
post #171 of 1285 Old 05-20-2006, 09:28 PM
Member
 
golddbz2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: auburn, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is there any particular reason i need to run the video output at 720p? I just have a simple dvd player that has the cheapo cables running from my new plasma to the tv.
golddbz2000 is offline  
post #172 of 1285 Old 05-20-2006, 11:19 PM
Member
 
applky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think the idea is to use all the pixels of the TV, so 420p would be nice... But I think anything is better than nothing (I realize this is less than helpful. Sorry)
applky is offline  
post #173 of 1285 Old 05-22-2006, 01:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
offthechizzain, I've been using DVD-R.

golddbz2000, 720p not necessary. Just hwo I ran it. Make sure it is occupying the full 16x9 screen though with now bars.
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #174 of 1285 Old 05-22-2006, 08:58 PM
Member
 
applky's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I've been experimenting with my Xbox 360 (connected to my 50-inch Panasonic plasma consumer model via component) and whether it works or not with the break-in DVD.

I've concluded that it doesn't. Like other people have experienced, it goes through about 5-10 shades of white/grey in normal 30-second intervals, and then speeds through the rest of the colors in very fast intervals and doesn't repeat after the cycle is over. I tested both the SVCD and DVD-R versions. Neither wound up working.

If you only have an Xbox 360, here's the temporary solution to the problem:

We're going to loop a DVD so that it plays continuously. using the 360's built-in features (I assume some other DVD players can do this, but I also assume that other DVD players can actually play the break-in DVD properly). Find a widescreen DVD that you like that will allow your plasma to display a wide range of colors (preferably with some blacks in there as well). I'm alternating between "The Matrix" and "Finding Nemo."

Start the DVD in your 360 and begin the movie. Fast forward past the opening credits. Choose a spot that you'd like to begin the looping from. On your remote (I think you have to have a remote to do this), press the "Display" button, which is above the four directional buttons. This will bring up five items on the bottom of the screen. Select the fifth one, which says, "Set loop start point." Select this, and it will change to "Set loop end point." Fast forward to the end point (preferably before the closing credits) and select it again. After that, the button will change to "Cancel loop." Obviously, you don't want to do that, so press "Display" again and the menu will go away. And voila, behold your looping!

Now, I don't trust technology, so I haven't let this run overnight, but I assume it just loops forever. I've left it on during the day, and that seems like it's enough, but I'll probably start running it overnight as well.

One other issue: I've considered using the break-in DVD as-is and looping it, but since it doesn't display the darker colors for very long on the 360, I figured I'd just use a regular DVD.

(this isn't meant to undermine the break-in DVD, but the fact is that the 360 doesn't support it, so I figured posting an alternative would be in the spirit of the author's original intent)
applky is offline  
post #175 of 1285 Old 05-23-2006, 08:35 AM
Newbie
 
-Biscuit-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bunred it as an SCVD but it cylces through in like 2 mins and then stops. It goies through easch color in like .5 secs. I'm using a new Sony 5 disc DVD player that handles most formats including the SVCD. Please help.
-Biscuit- is offline  
post #176 of 1285 Old 05-23-2006, 08:39 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Biscuit,
It seems like some DVD players do not handle the 30 second time between pictures correctly. Not sure exactly why this is. You could try to burn the DVD-R version and see if you have better luck with that.
You may also want to try and burn the other file (if you burned the .nrg file and are having this problem, try burning the iso file and vice versa). Hope this helps.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #177 of 1285 Old 05-23-2006, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
-Biscuit-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evangelo2 View Post

Biscuit,
It seems like some DVD players do not handle the 30 second time between pictures correctly. Not sure exactly why this is. You could try to burn the DVD-R version and see if you have better luck with that.
You may also want to try and burn the other file (if you burned the .nrg file and are having this problem, try burning the iso file and vice versa). Hope this helps.
-Evangelo2



Nero 7 ..... I just used make SVCD selection. How would I do things differently?

And how do burn a .iso file? Thanks. NOOB ALERT
-Biscuit- is offline  
post #178 of 1285 Old 05-23-2006, 11:02 AM
Member
 
golddbz2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: auburn, GA
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I used the SVCD version this past weekend and came home to notice that the CD was stuckj at the Green portion. i am pretty sure it ran all the way through, but it didnt restart. I have downloaded the DVD-r one and waiting on getting a brand new dvd player with high-def to burn it in.
golddbz2000 is offline  
post #179 of 1285 Old 05-23-2006, 12:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
EJRothman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 685
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are the returns on using the break-in cd any more than marginally better (measured by how evenly all plasma phosphors are fired) than just leaving the Discovery Channel HD on with the sound muted?
EJRothman is offline  
post #180 of 1285 Old 05-23-2006, 12:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,012
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
EJRothman,
As long as you have a channel with no static logos and no bars anywhere then I would guess the returns would be the same. For me, this was a little safer and worry free than leaving a channel on all day and night when I wasn't there. When Iw as home, I turned off the breakin DVD and watched whatever I wanted (Discovery HD, HBO HD, etc...).
-Evangelo2

golddbz2000,
A high def DVDplayer should not be necessary. I can tell you that the transitions for the images should occur every 30 seconds for both versions. The Key transition in the DVD-R version occurs at the 45 minute mark. To test it out I would let it play from the 44:30 mark and if it gets past 45 minutes without a problem then you are home free since that 45 minutes segment just keeps repeating. This is what I did after I made the DVD (tested on my PC using Power DVD and my DVD player).
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Elite

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off