Download Break In DVD (SVCD) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 1286 Old 09-21-2005, 02:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
DVD-R Version Now Available!

Hey Guys,
You can download the Break In DVD-R and S-VCD Here! After the site loads click the link to download the zip file or the link to jump to the downloads page.
This file is a zipped up Nero Disc Image (nrg file). Unzipped it is pretty large (~700 Mb) but zipped it was very small (2 MB). This disc image should be burned to a regular CD-R. The disc image is a Super Video CD so your DVD player needs to be able to play SVCD's. It is basically a set of 20 images that are 720p native resolution. The images are full screen colors so that the entire screen is 1 color at a time. The colors go from a white to a dark grey in 5 gradients, white to blue in 5 gradients, white to green in 5 gradients and white to red in five gradients. The images change every 30 seconds and the disc goes for approximately 16 hours (double check that number when you open the image in Nero). I created the disc like this so that the DVD players loop functionality does not have to be relied on. Furthermore there is no menu for this SVCD so there is no fear of a menu coming up and being stuck on the screen.
I have been breaking in my Pioneer PDP-5050HD using this disc and my Pio Elite DV-59AVi DVD player that is set to 720p output over HDMI. I turn down the contrast and brightness to conform with regular breakin levels. Currently I have 202 hours on my plasma in 11 days due to this break in dvd that works flawlessly. I plan on continuing to use the DVD until I hit 1000 hours and then I will just shelf it for the future.
Everyone, please enjoy and feel free to ask any questions.
-Evangelo2



[EDIT-Feb 27, 2006 1:20PM]
I have just updated the link above to point to a geocities page I have to host this file. Please only download once as I don't know the kind of bandwidth geocities gives for free.
Some people have reported that when this file is emailed, hotmail reports it as a possible virus. The only thing I can think of is that the zip file is 2 meg and the unzipped image is ~700 meg due to repeating images. I have scanned the file many times over and over with my up to date Norton Antivirus 2005 and the file is clean. It is a hotmail issue.
Enjoy All,
-Evangelo2
/EDIT]


[EDIT-Feb 27, 2006 5:11PM]
Just re-updated the link with a new site. Geocities gave us the shaft with bandwidth. The site is brand new so it may take some time for the DNS to filter down to you but it is already up here in LI, NY.
Enjoy All,
-Evangelo2
[/EDIT]


[EDIT-Apr 13, 2006 12:27PM]
Thank again zachaller for hosting the file for us in the beginning.
[/EDIT]


[EDIT-May 03, 2006 09:40AM]
The DVD-R Version of the Break In SVCD is now available! There are available downloads in iso format, nrg format and video_ts format! This DVD has been authored in 16:9 mode so please keep that in mind whith your DVD Player Settings.
I have not tested the DVD-R in my DVD Player yet but I will tonight. I have tested it using Power DVD on my computer and everything looked fine.
If you download and use the DVD-R please send me feedback letting me know if it worked for you or not, the DVD player brand and model you are using and the output resolution. I will try to keep a list up of players that have used this succesfully.
Enjoy!
-Evangelo2
[/EDIT]


There are basically two schools of thought, none of which is incorrect...

1 - Low Contrast/Brightness - The main reason to do this is a precaution sao that if anything goes wrong with your DVD player or TV durring unattended running of the breakin dvd or images, you will minimize the risk of doing any damage. Risk is minimized because the brightness and contrast is low. Break in *may* take a little longer when using the disc like this but I feel it is safer and go this route myself, since I prefer to err on the side of caution.

2 - Torch Mode - In torch mode, you are more intensly displaying the images, thus breaking in the plasma MUCH faster. Downside is that if something goes wrong (and of course it shouldn't, but this is an imperfect world and unexcpected things do happen), you have a much higher chance of getting serious burn in (permanent IR) that may not be correctable.

The choice of which way to go is up to the individual. Both mehtods are technically and logically sound, just a different perspective.

Keep in mind, when using my preferred method (very low cotrast and brightness), you should switch to calibrated settings when you want to watch something durring the break in period and avoid black bars as well as high contrast static images that can be on the screen for a long time (e.g. CNN or ESPN tickers...).

-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 1286 Old 09-21-2005, 02:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pstrisik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Hey... thanks very much for this. I will look at using it when my new Pio comes in a couple of weeks. Glad it compressed so small.

.
. . . . . . . . . . . Peter
pstrisik is offline  
post #3 of 1286 Old 09-21-2005, 05:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
No problem Peter... It works very well, My TV is through the breakin period in record time and now I am getting ready to enjoy Lost tonight

-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #4 of 1286 Old 09-22-2005, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pstrisik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 1,436
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Evangelo,

Just reporting back that it works! Burned successfully and plays on my Panny S77. Just want to offer encouragement to anyone considering downloading and burning this puppy.

.
. . . . . . . . . . . Peter
pstrisik is offline  
post #5 of 1286 Old 09-22-2005, 11:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
amheck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 1,723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, thanks. I didn't even know it was possible to compress a 700 meg file to 2 megs. Amazing.
amheck is online now  
post #6 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 06:45 AM
Newbie
 
zachaller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ya it compresses so well because it is the same images over and over so what it dose is just tells winzip when uncompressing it to recopy every image it cut off howevery many times the picture shows up
zachaller is offline  
post #7 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 07:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Glad you got it to work Pete! Like I said, I've been using it for almost 2 weeks now without any issues. My plasma is pretty much broken in now that I ahve surpassed the 200 hour mark. I will continue ot use the break in dvd at least until the 500 hour mark then I can shelf it for the next plasma I buy

zachaller is absolutely correct about why the file zips to such a small size.

Now, I just wait for my Salamander Triple 20" to be delvered tomorrow

-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #8 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 08:01 AM
Member
 
Jobronie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't even have a plasma yet, but I'm D/Ling this puppy now for future (hopefully soon) use. Takes a lot of the guesswork out of it.

Thanks for the link!!!
Jobronie is offline  
post #9 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 01:42 PM
Newbie
 
pbturk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whoa...the offered extension and my PC won't shake hands. Windows LOL doesn' t have a clue about Nero. Operator error? Is there a workaround?
pbturk is offline  
post #10 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Captain8bit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evangelo2 View Post

No problem Peter... It works very well, My TV is through the breakin period in record time and now I am getting ready to enjoy Lost tonight

-Evangelo2

I am jealous.
Captain8bit is offline  
post #11 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
pbturk,
Do you have Nero installed? If so you should be able to select the Disc Image when creating a SVCD from a disc image. I don't know if double clicking it in windows will open it correctly and I think the .nrg file is specifically for Nero. I can try and rip a .iso file this weekend so it is more generic but if this does not zip up as nice as the .nrg file it may be large and hard to download.
-Evangelo2

Captain8bit,
Download the iamge and burn it if your DVD player can play SVCD. You'llg et through the breakin in no time!
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #12 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 06:16 PM
Senior Member
 
Deathstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Naples, FL
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Evangelo2,

Thanx for the SVCD, just downloaded it.

Take Care,

Richard

Richard J. Gentil, Pres.
Custom Computers of Naples, Inc.

Administrator for MSI HQ Forums Taiwan
Deathstalker is offline  
post #13 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DougRuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
-Evangelo2...


Really Enjoyed your Travel Pics !!






Just kidding !!



Thanks for getting this done ! Got it Downloaded & Burned with No problems.
Plan on running it in the morning before I leave for work.

Denon AVR-1613
Cambridge Audio " Azur-650c
REGA RP-1 Turntable
Yaqin MS-22b Pre-amp
SILK MC-13S Integrated Power Amp
B&W 685 S2 Speakers
DougRuss is online now  
post #14 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 10:29 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by DougRuss View Post

-Evangelo2...


Really Enjoyed your Travel Pics !!

Just kidding !!


Thanks for getting this done ! Got it Downloaded & Burned with No problems.
Plan on running it in the morning before I leave for work.


Scared me there. As long as they are not pics of the GF or I'd be DEAD!
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #15 of 1286 Old 09-23-2005, 10:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce banner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Carolina
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Can you use this for other displays? or is it only meant for plasmas..
bruce banner is offline  
post #16 of 1286 Old 09-24-2005, 12:14 AM
Member
 
hammyoni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks but id rather watch tv and save on my electric bill...
hammyoni is offline  
post #17 of 1286 Old 09-24-2005, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
bruce,
I guess it can be used on any widescreen display. I don't know if it is necessary to break in other displays like LCDs...

hammyoni,
I hear you on the electric bill but its football season and with the ammount of TV I watch I would not hit 200 hours until November. Not a option for me
-Evagnelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #18 of 1286 Old 09-24-2005, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shane55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 1,491
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for this... it works perfectly (on my old TV).
Now... all I need is my new PDP, and I'll be ready to rock!

cheers

shane

"Yes Eve... I like to watch." - Chauncey Gardener.

My HT Setup:
http://www.fototime.com/A0E2793180FB3D0/orig.jpg
shane55 is offline  
post #19 of 1286 Old 09-24-2005, 04:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bruce banner's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Carolina
Posts: 1,146
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evangelo2 View Post

bruce,
I guess it can be used on any widescreen display. I don't know if it is necessary to break in other displays like LCDs...
-Evagnelo2

Thanks
bruce banner is offline  
post #20 of 1286 Old 09-24-2005, 07:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
JeffDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the intent of the break-in? Are the plasma materials most succeptible to burn-in during the first hours of use?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hammyoni View Post

Thanks but id rather watch tv and save on my electric bill...

If you bought a plasma, I'd think you'd be able to handle the cost of the electricity it uses.
JeffDM is offline  
post #21 of 1286 Old 09-24-2005, 07:07 PM
Senior Member
 
JohnMR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Naples Florida
Posts: 351
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! Cool Idea. My only problem is none of my players do SVCD! I could always just hook a notebook up and run from PC.

Thanks!
John

Thanks!
John
JohnMR is offline  
post #22 of 1286 Old 09-25-2005, 12:11 AM
Member
 
plasma_cricket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I made a SVCD with the image file and tried to run it in my DVD player with a regular TV.. could not run it. It did not play with WinDVD either??? any ideas
plasma_cricket is offline  
post #23 of 1286 Old 09-25-2005, 02:32 AM
Member
 
Cynder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
media player should run svcd with no problem.

thank you for this Evangelo2. I was going to test a dvd looped on crt while @ work waiting on my pana but this is the fix.
Cynder is offline  
post #24 of 1286 Old 09-25-2005, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
plasma_cricket,
DId you burn the image using Nero? Is it on a CD-R as a lot of DVD players do not playy +R or RW. It should definitely play on your computer as it is a SVCD. I am playing it on a Pioneer ELite DV-59AVi set to output 720p. I'll try it on ym comp later on today in PowerDVD for you.

Cynder, enjoy. I figure the least I could do for this community that has given me so much knowledge in this area was to share this file

-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #25 of 1286 Old 09-25-2005, 10:48 PM
Member
 
plasma_cricket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Evangelo2-
My DVD player plays SVCDs that are burned on -R+r. I used Nero to burn the SVCD. I am not sure whats wrong???
plasma_cricket is offline  
post #26 of 1286 Old 09-26-2005, 04:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
DougRuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 1,373
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasma_cricket View Post

Evangelo2-
My DVD player plays SVCDs that are burned on -R+r. I used Nero to burn the SVCD. I am not sure whats wrong???

Does it just Reject the disk? Is the counter working.
It does start off with a light colored Blank Screen.

Denon AVR-1613
Cambridge Audio " Azur-650c
REGA RP-1 Turntable
Yaqin MS-22b Pre-amp
SILK MC-13S Integrated Power Amp
B&W 685 S2 Speakers
DougRuss is online now  
post #27 of 1286 Old 09-26-2005, 05:39 AM
 
wojtek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
evangelo2 - I downloaded the file and am looking for Nero.

One question: is the amount of color saturation (R, G, B) that the pixels get equal for each color?

Ie, are you sure that you're not burning, let's say red pixels faster than blue ones? That would not be good and could be visible on a white screen (it would no longer be pure white but rather have a bluish tint - in this example).

I hope that's not the case, but can you confirm?

Thx
wojtek is offline  
post #28 of 1286 Old 09-26-2005, 05:56 AM
Member
 
ddlooping's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.

plasma_cricket, if all else fails, a DVD-Video version similar to the one offered by Evangelo2 can be found here (towards the bottom of the page).
Pure red, green and blue images, followed by a few shades of grey, on an automatic loop.
Available in both NTSC and PAL versions, SD widescreen (108kb & 129kb respectively).

~ddlooping~
For DVD Shrink and related softwares guides and downloads, please visit DVDShrink.info.
ddlooping is offline  
post #29 of 1286 Old 09-26-2005, 06:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Evangelo2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: LI, NY
Posts: 2,013
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 12
wojtek,
The ammount of color saturation should be pretty close to even ammount. Each color (RGB) goes through 5 shades from white down to that pure color. The images only stay up for 30 seconds. Hope this helps.
-Evangelo2
Evangelo2 is offline  
post #30 of 1286 Old 09-26-2005, 07:54 AM
 
wojtek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Posts: 2,179
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
evangelo2 - for those computer-challenged can you go step by step in Nero how you go about burning?

I extracted the .nrg file but have problems burning it properly.

I got Nero 6.

Thanks
wojtek is offline  
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

Tags
Pioneer , Pioneer Elite



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off