Official XBox 360, Plasma/LCD Thread!!! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 265 Old 11-15-2005, 07:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjtorres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimfitz
I know you can hook up an MP3 player or digital camera, but can you hook up an external HD via the USB? I have 28,000 songs on an external HD that I would like to hook up via the XBOX
Yes, it will play audio and images off any USB mass-storage device (HD, thumbdrive, card reader, etc) but not video. Video it will only do off a networked PC via Windows Media Connect 2.x or MCE.

It will also play compressed audio and images off burned CDs and DVDs. But apparently it won't copy them to the onboard HD; for that you need to rip off the original CDs.
fjtorres is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 265 Old 11-21-2005, 05:21 PM
Member
 
matjas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Figured you guys with all the access would be on top of this by now.. Mostly interested in the kdlv32xbr1 and the lc32d6u units
matjas is offline  
post #183 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 12:12 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, it has been awhile but I am bringing this thread back to life now that everyone has thier XBox 360s. Who has hooked up their 360s to a Plasma or LCD, what model, and how does it look? Specificly if you have a new 40" Sony XBR, I am very interested in what you have to say!
amjustice is offline  
post #184 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 12:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
slick316's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 553
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got mine. I'm using the 32" XBR, not the 40", but let me say this, PGR3 looks freaking fantastic. This coming from a guy who has a nice PC setup also, I couldn't believe how nice the picture looked at 720p. I didn't notice any ghosting, though I only played for 15 minutes, I had some actual work I needed to do. I will mess with it more later on tonight, I'll let you know if there is any ghosting or such on my XBR.
slick316 is offline  
post #185 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 12:58 PM
Newbie
 
CBrennan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm particularly curious about the Westinghouse 37" LCD LVM-37W1 or the panasonic 37" plasma - TH-37PHD8UK. Does the westinghouse look too off in color or grayed out or ghost? Does the plasma drop too much detail?
CBrennan is offline  
post #186 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkoesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And if anyone is using the VGA cable to hook up their XB360, please chime in. I am particularly curious about which resolutions it supports.
mkoesel is offline  
post #187 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 06:08 PM
Advanced Member
 
PhoenixScreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've connected my xBox360 to a Sharp LC-45GX6U 45" LCD using the component inputs. The only "anamoly" was when I initially tried to change the video settings from 480p to 1080i, the set didn't sync. I then tried to change to 720p, which did work. I then tried to change from 720p to 1080i and that was successful. It looks great......and NO burn-in concerns at all!

Phoenix
PhoenixScreen is offline  
post #188 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjtorres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoesel
And if anyone is using the VGA cable to hook up their XB360, please chime in. I am particularly curious about which resolutions it supports.
The VGA cable (officially) tops out at 1366x768.
Lower resolutions ranging from 640x480 to 1280x768 in either 4x3 or wide-screen format are also supported.
fjtorres is offline  
post #189 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 07:40 PM
Newbie
 
odst117's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBrennan
I'm particularly curious about the Westinghouse 37" LCD LVM-37W1 or the panasonic 37" plasma - TH-37PHD8UK. Does the westinghouse look too off in color or grayed out or ghost? Does the plasma drop too much detail?
These are the exact same tvs that im stuck between. If anyone could let us know, thanks!!!
odst117 is offline  
post #190 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 08:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkoesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fjtorres
The VGA cable (officially) tops out at 1366x768.
Lower resolutions from 640x480 to 1280x1024 in either 4x3 (letterboxed) or wide-screen format are also supported.
So you are actually using the cable then? If so can you answer these questions too:

- Does it support anamophic scaling (horizontally compressed 16:9 -> 4:3)?
- Does it support zoom (side-cropped 16:9 -> 4:3)?
- Does it support 720p?
- How good is the scaler compared to that of the display?
mkoesel is offline  
post #191 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 08:32 PM
Newbie
 
mepshteyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone tried their 360 with an ED plasma?
mepshteyn is offline  
post #192 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 08:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkoesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhoenixScreen
I then tried to change from 720p to 1080i and that was successful. It looks great......and NO burn-in concerns at all!
So which one looked better, 720p or 1080i? My understanding is that all XBox 360 games render to a 1280x720 frame buffer. So with 720p output, the 360 should be doing no scaling, while the TV will scale from 720p->1080p. But with 1080i output the 360 will be scaling and interlacing to 1080i and then the display will have to deinterlace to 1080p. The latter seems like it would introduce more artifacts. Does it?
mkoesel is offline  
post #193 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 09:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Eddy13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys I have a Panasonic th42pwd7uy ED Plasma... I sit back like 10 feet away.. Since Xbox 360 looks best on HDTV is there a big diff If I use my ED Plasma for the 360 compared if I were to use a 42 HD Plasma for this console..... HD looks really great on my plasma and my brother in law has a Panny HD Plasma and his has a tiny bit more depth but many people cannot notice to much of a diff between the ED and HD version of the Panny! Has anyone here used the 360 on a ed plasma
Eddy13 is offline  
post #194 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 09:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
PhoenixScreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
mkoesel,

I didn't play games on both resolutions, so I can't really comment. Also, remember that my panel is a 1920x1080 panel. So, no matter what, the xBox and the TV will need to do a combined scaling all the way to 1080p.

Just looking at the xBox 360 menus, there wasn't any noticeable difference between 720p and 1080i.

Phoenix
PhoenixScreen is offline  
post #195 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
fjtorres's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoesel
So you are actually using the cable then?
Sorry, but I was merely quoting the official numbers from MS via Gamespot.
I don't have a 360 just yet.
(Real-soon-now)

The recommendation from Gamespot was to run the 360 at 720p and let the display scale up to native. (Apparently they weren't impressed by the ATI chip's upscaling ability.)
fjtorres is offline  
post #196 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 10:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mkoesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PhoenixScreen
mkoesel,

I didn't play games on both resolutions, so I can't really comment. Also, remember that my panel is a 1920x1080 panel. So, no matter what, the xBox and the TV will need to do a combined scaling all the way to 1080p.

Just looking at the xBox 360 menus, there wasn't any noticeable difference between 720p and 1080i.
Thanks for the reply. It would be interesting to see results duing actual gameplay. it seems there would be deinterlacing artifacts at 1080i. Unless, of course, the XBox 360's interlacer drops frames and only interlaces 30fps. Either that or the Sharp has a real good deinterlacer. I don't follow the comment about "combined scaling" though. If you set the XBox to output 720p, it should not have to do any scaling. Only the display would need to scale.
mkoesel is offline  
post #197 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 10:58 PM
Member
 
riDuh7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: In yo basement!
Posts: 73
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got mine this morning, 11-22-05, at 6:00AM at a local Wal-Mart. There were only 8 units while there were more than 50 people showed up, btw, this is a very small town with ONLY 9000 people, and majority of them are low income or seniors. I was like WHOA, too.

Let's cut to the chase. I already have a LCD TV, a Westinghouse LVM-37w1, which does 1080P. I have to say that AV connection just plain SUX. If you seat back about 10 feet, it should be ok, but if you plan on play closer than that, you will notice the blurriness of the PQ. On the other hand, component connection is just BEAUTIFUL!!! I played with some settings and I changed the HD setting to 1080i, after that, it was like whoa. I had been playing Project Gotham Racing3 and Perfect Dark Zero almost all day and they were just simply amazing!! Only concern is that the Xbox 360 was making some noticeable noise, pretty loud compared to my PS2 where I almost can't hear a thing. Mostly fan noise tho'. I'm expecting the HDD with in a couple of days from a online source, I bought the CORE cuz they only had 2 Premiums and I was the 7th in the line. However, if you want to purchase one, PLEASE take my advise and just get the premium. It will end up save you a lot of money. :D


Samsung LN52B750
Sony PlayStation 3
Dish Network Vip722
Onkyo HT-S9100 HTIB
riDuh7 is offline  
post #198 of 265 Old 11-22-2005, 11:22 PM
Member
 
mike828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought the VGA cables to use with my 23" Samsung LCD. They are much better than the component cables. No more jaggies (PGR3 still has a few though).

The VGA cable allows resolutions of 640x480, 1024x768, 1280x1024 (this option didn't show up when I hooked my xbox 360 to my 17" LCD that's 1280x1024 native) 1280x720, 1280x768, and 1360x768. I couldn't find any option to do letterboxing on my 17" monitor. It stretched to fit the screen at all resolutions.

Call of Duty 2, NBA2k6, Kameo, and PD0 look great on my 23" LCD. PGR3 looks great, but there's a ton of blurring. My only complaint is that LCDs blur. It really takes away from the graphics sometimes, especially in PGR3.
mike828 is offline  
post #199 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 12:01 AM
Newbie
 
kfernandes29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just received my Xbox 360 and hooked it up to my newly received Dell W3201C. The 16MS response rate isn't a factor. This is a great HDTV. It looks amazing. I'd say it looks on par with what the Samsung LCD's at the X360 kiosks look like. I have no regrets buying this TV. I think Dell might be onto something great with their TV's. I highly recommend it.
kfernandes29 is offline  
post #200 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 12:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mkoesel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canton, MI
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike828
The VGA cable allows resolutions of 640x480, 1024x768, 1280x1024 (this option didn't show up when I hooked my xbox 360 to my 17" LCD that's 1280x1024 native) 1280x720, 1280x768, and 1360x768. I couldn't find any option to do letterboxing on my 17" monitor. It stretched to fit the screen at all resolutions.
Thanks for the info.

This is something of surprise to me. Contrary to what has been reported (as fjtorres referenced above), it sounds like the only option for 4:3 VGA signals is anamorphic stretch rather than letterbox or zoom. That's fine if you have a 16:9 display (and fantastic news if you have HD 42" plasma), but what if you have a 4:3 display? If you do, you are limited to the 16:9 resolutions if you want to see the output in its correct aspect ratio. And even then you are at the mercy of your display to letterbox the incoming signal correctly. Modern displays might letterbox fine but older ones probably won't. This would make the VGA cable useless for those displays. If this is all true, then it really makes you wonder how many people will find this cable useful. It might be disappointing to someone who expects to see a letterboxed 16:9 image on the old PC display they have lying around.
mkoesel is offline  
post #201 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 12:08 AM
Member
 
vizionblind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My xbox 360 supports 720p. I know the Samsung LN-R328W supports 720p, so do I just need to enable that in the XBOX 360 settings or is there somewhere in the Samsung options I need to do that as well?
vizionblind is offline  
post #202 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 06:06 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike828
PGR3 looks great, but there's a ton of blurring. My only complaint is that LCDs blur. It really takes away from the graphics sometimes, especially in PGR3.
Just to clarify for people, your LCD is blurring, don't make a huge generalization off of what you are seeing, a lot of people have said they are getting no bluring from their LCDs
amjustice is offline  
post #203 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 06:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
PhoenixScreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkoesel
I don't follow the comment about "combined scaling" though. If you set the XBox to output 720p, it should not have to do any scaling. Only the display would need to scale.
You're correct. I was just pointing out that the scaling will be done by some combination of the two units (although one may be contributing nothing). If the game renders at 720p, then it needs to be scaled to 1080p for display on my LCD. I wouldn't be shocked to learn that my TV does a better job of doing the complete scaling job by itself than if I let the xBox360 take it to 1080i and then the TV take it the rest of the way. That said, I've been happy with how things look with the xBox set for 1080i output. The only games I've played so far are Kameo and Perfect Dark Zero.

Now....let this 41 year old first time game console owner go back to figuring out how to use this bloomin controller! :o Where are the ASDW keys when you need em?!?!

Phoenix
PhoenixScreen is offline  
post #204 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 07:39 AM
Member
 
mike828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by amjustice
Just to clarify for people, your LCD is blurring, don't make a huge generalization off of what you are seeing, a lot of people have said they are getting no bluring from their LCDs
The people with LCDs that say they don't have blurring just don't know what blurring is. I can make a generalization (or a fact in this case) about LCDs. They all blur to some extent.

I also tried the VGA adaptor on an old 17" ViewSonic CRT Monitor. After squishing the image a little to make it 16:9, I was really surprised. It seems to show the full 1280x720. It's really sharp, but 17" is still too small for my viewing distance of 4 feet. I think it would be good for people sitting at their PC desk.
mike828 is offline  
post #205 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 07:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mike828
The people with LCDs that say they don't have blurring just don't know what blurring is. I can make a generalization (or a fact in this case) about LCDs. They all blur to some extent.

I also tried the VGA adaptor on an old 17" ViewSonic CRT Monitor. After squishing the image a little to make it 16:9, I was really surprised. It seems to show the full 1280x720. It's really sharp, but 17" is still too small for my viewing distance of 4 feet. I think it would be good for people sitting at their PC desk.
How fast and how new are your displays, a lot of people with newer displays and 8ms response time are not complaining about blurring such as the new samsung or sony displays
amjustice is offline  
post #206 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 08:02 AM
Newbie
 
jslipko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The games look amazing on the Sharp 6U model. No lagging or ghosting and the picture looks incredibly clear. You can't go wrong with gaming on this TV.
jslipko is offline  
post #207 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 08:04 AM
Member
 
mike828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by amjustice
How fast and how new are your displays, a lot of people with newer displays and 8ms response time are not complaining about blurring such as the new samsung or sony displays
I've played xbox 360 on a 26' Sony LCD 8ms, and a 23" Samsung LCD 12ms. They both blur equally.
mike828 is offline  
post #208 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 08:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
PhoenixScreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 613
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sigh. I'm sorry, I just don't see blurring on current generation LCDs. I've gotta wonder if those that complain about blurring on current LCDs aren't the same crowd that complained about loss of audio fidelity when we went from vinyl to CDs.... :rolleyes:

Phoenix
PhoenixScreen is offline  
post #209 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 09:07 AM
Newbie
 
ramspeed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If that's true Mike - and I'm not saying it isn't - what's it going to take to stop LCD's from displaying texture blur (as I like to call it)? If it's not the response time at stake what is?

BTW - the demo I saw of COD2 on the x360 demo pod seemed remarkably free of texture blur. I put this down to the x360's superior video output combined with high res textures, anti aliasing, 60fps @ 720p. If that's what it look like on my Sony Bravia V32 (with better colour and contrast obviously!) then I'll be more than happy...and I'm a picky so and so...
ramspeed is offline  
post #210 of 265 Old 11-23-2005, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
 
bad1550's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 429
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
My Panasonic Plasma (5UY) which is EDTV only accepts S-Video. Would it be possible to Hook up the Xbox 360 via the included component cables thru my A/V receiver whic has the Component inputs? So far I cannot get it to work.

Any Help would be greatly appreciated.
bad1550 is offline  
Closed Thread OLED Technology and Flat Panels General



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off