Official XBox 360, Plasma/LCD Thread!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 11:01 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am sure many others are in the same place that I am in thinking about a new display in preperation for the new XBox 360 that comes out November 22nd (In the US). What TVs are people thinking about getting for use with the XBox 360? I know I am currently looking at 40+ in LCD flat pannels, and currently eyeing the Samsung models. Also myself and others on this thread are pretty well informed on the 360, if anyone has questions feel free to post them and we should be able to get them answered.
amjustice is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 11:12 AM
Member
 
dukealexan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I already got mine and have it broken in and tweaked and ready to go Panasonic Plasma TH-50PX500U, I'll be connect thru the VGA or component input (XBOX is there already), GAME ON !
dukealexan is offline  
post #3 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 11:15 AM
Newbie
 
yyz360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep, I'm in the same boat......I've narrowed it down to the 37" Sharp LCD, mainly because the response rate is 12m/s. Samsung claims a rate of 8m/s, but I don't think they measure it the same way Sharp does, so I do believe the Sharp's are faster. Was looking at plasma, but I can't be bothered with the 100 hour break in period.
yyz360 is offline  
post #4 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
why did you choose to go plasma? I have heard some pretty strong arguments for avoiding plasma for gaming. Im intrigued!
amjustice is offline  
post #5 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 11:31 AM
Member
 
haveoneolboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Break in and burn in are a thing of the past!!
haveoneolboy is offline  
post #6 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 11:51 AM
Member
 
SkyNett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by amjustice
why did you choose to go plasma? I have heard some pretty strong arguments for avoiding plasma for gaming. Im intrigued!
My God - will it never end!? :D

Panasonic PX50U - My games look amazing on it, can't wait for the 360.

No burn-in or image retention. I can't be bothered to explain why yet again. If you search you'll find plenty of plasma owning gamers with no problems. Reading the Pioneer Myth-busting white page explains a lot as well....

Chk out my 1Up blog -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SkyNett is offline  
post #7 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
TheSkeptiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Another plasma gamer here. Got it in March and I've been "breaking it in" with Halo 2 and XBOX...ready to hook the 360 up via VGA input.

I can't wait. My XBOX looks amazing...I can't wait to see games looking even better.

No BURN IN, I tried the break in thing (100+ hours goes very quickly), but I started playing video games after about 50 hours of regular viewing. Just couldn't wait any longer. ZERO problems.

All you plasma non believers...just read through these forums. There are MANY plasma gamers and no one has complained about burn in. I know of one that said it happened to him, but now he says it's not there...so it never really was burn in.

For the same price as an LCD...plasma gives you a bigger picture and a better picture (assuming you purchase a "name" brand: Panny, Pioneer, Sony, etc)

Do not overlook plasma because of MYTHS you've heard and believed over the years.
TheSkeptiks is offline  
post #8 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I obviously need to do some reading so I can see peoples previous comments, I dont want this thread to turn into a LCD vs Plasma flame war, lets just stick to what people are buying or looking at in preperation for XBox 360. Also throw in there for those who are planning on getting a XBox 360, what games are you planning on getting? Im def getting Perfect Dark Zero and probably the new Tony Hawk, from what I saw at gamestop last week Kamino looks beautiful and will definately be a hot High Def game for graphics.
amjustice is offline  
post #9 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 12:24 PM
Member
 
GoldDragonFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by amjustice
I obviously need to do some reading so I can see peoples previous comments, I dont want this thread to turn into a LCD vs Plasma flame war, lets just stick to what people are buying or looking at in preperation for XBox 360. Also throw in there for those who are planning on getting a XBox 360, what games are you planning on getting? Im def getting Perfect Dark Zero and probably the new Tony Hawk, from what I saw at gamestop last week Kamino looks beautiful and will definately be a hot High Def game for graphics.

I got my sony 40 XBR two weeks ago for Xbox360. My first game for xbox360 will be DOA4. DOA3 was my first game in Xbox, and I loved it.
GoldDragonFly is offline  
post #10 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
Oliver Dubin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got a 50" Philips plasma for my 360 come Nov 22. As far as games go I'm going to get Dead or Alive 4, Perfect Dark Zero, and Tony Hawk.
Oliver Dubin is offline  
post #11 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 12:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DFul4d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldDragonFly
I got my sony 40 XBR two weeks ago for Xbox360.
Me too, Xbox looks pretty sweet already. Can't wait for the 360. I hope I get one at lauch *fingers crossed*
DFul4d is offline  
post #12 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 12:48 PM
Senior Member
 
mcmushx15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 415
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
exsuse my noobology but if you hook 360 up to VGA, what signal will that be at? (suggesting you i had a tv up to 1080i?). I thought HDMI was the primary HD connection.

TIA
mcmushx15 is offline  
post #13 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 12:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know there was an article today on /. that said there will be a planned shortage of 360s
I am hoping/planning on scooping up a few and putting them up on ebay to raise some extra christmas cash. My fiance put in a reserve for me on one right when they started taking them so I am not worried about getting ahold of one for me but a few extras would be nice.
amjustice is offline  
post #14 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is not an HDMI output on Xbox 360
amjustice is offline  
post #15 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:03 PM
Member
 
GoldDragonFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DFul4d
Me too, Xbox looks pretty sweet already. Can't wait for the 360. I hope I get one at lauch *fingers crossed*
DFul4d

I saw your settings for the OTA in the other thread. Are you using the same settings for Xbox? If not, can you tell me your settings bez my xbox games look a bit too dark. I am using a s-video cable, maybe this is the problem, don't know.
thanks for help
GoldDragonFly is offline  
post #16 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:12 PM
Newbie
 
Rupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could some one talk about what Plasmas they feel are the best for gaming on? I am looking for a 50+ plasma, around $5k and I will be doing a LOT of gaming on it. I know that at this point with a little care burn in isnt much of a problem, but I really want to be sure.
I read the huge thread about gaming, but I think that had quite a bit of misinformation "Cant game for more than 15 minutes". I dont want to have to turn off all my maps and gauges, and I want to be able to game for at least 4+ hours in a sitting if I feel like it. Does that make Plasma a bad choice for me?
Rupt is offline  
post #17 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Can someone provide a link to the big gaming thread? I am very interested to read anyones answers to Rupt's questions as well.
amjustice is offline  
post #18 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:29 PM
Member
 
GoldDragonFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rupt
Could some one talk about what Plasmas they feel are the best for gaming on? I am looking for a 50+ plasma, around $5k and I will be doing a LOT of gaming on it. I know that at this point with a little care burn in isnt much of a problem, but I really want to be sure.
I read the huge thread about gaming, but I think that had quite a bit of misinformation "Cant game for more than 15 minutes". I dont want to have to turn off all my maps and gauges, and I want to be able to game for at least 4+ hours in a sitting if I feel like it. Does that make Plasma a bad choice for me?
If gaming is all you want, i think you should consider LCD instead of plasmas. Although many gamers insist there are on burn-in in their plasmas, you don't know what will happen to yours. There still going to be a chance, specially if you do a lot of gaming. Do you want to bet evey time while you are playing games?
GoldDragonFly is offline  
post #19 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:40 PM
Member
 
SkyNett's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea - I bought a 4500 dollar display that I can't use for more than 15 minutes at a time...

God this burn-in thing is just out of control.... :rolleyes:

Chk out my 1Up blog -
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
SkyNett is offline  
post #20 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:41 PM
Newbie
 
jslipko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up the new Sharp 326U for the XBox 360. I was dead set on the 32XBR, but the price was just too high. Crutchfield was nice enough to give me a little break on the MSRP on the Sharp and with the free shipping and tax savings I couldn't turn it down. I'll post impressions once I receive it!
jslipko is offline  
post #21 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:49 PM
Member
 
Trick414's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Posts: 85
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldDragonFly
If gaming is all you want, i think you should consider LCD instead of plasmas. Although many gamers insist there are on burn-in in their plasmas, you don't know what will happen to yours. There still going to be a chance, specially if you do a lot of gaming. Do you want to bet evey time while you are playing games?

I suppose there is a chance. But, I bought a throw-down Vizio back in January from Costco. Hardly the top of the line plasma. It has suffered through untold hours of Halo2 without any problems.

I've seen some image retention after gaming on occasion (if I turn off all the lights and put it on a null input), but I've seen the same problem watching the local news.

I didn't even break it in "properly", although I did turn the torch mode off. I say get the thing and use it. In the super unlikely event YOUR particular plasma burns in, it will happen in the first few weeks or so under normal usage (for you). If so, return it and get a different model. Now, I'm not saying take advantage of returns, or abuse it on purpose. I'm just saying that there have been so few people lately that have had any problems... if YOU have problems, I believe you are justified in returning it.
Trick414 is offline  
post #22 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheSkeptiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RUPT...the post you are referring to (Only game for 15 minutes). is the guys I mentioned in my post that said he got burn in and then later revealed that there was NO burn in on his display.

If you notice, that ONE guy is the ONLY one on the whole thread that said not to game a lot on a plasma (although he does). EVERYONE else that posted on that thread said they ahve ZERO problems.

That same guy also posted his own thread showing how great Quake4 is on his display. Sounds like he is still gaming on that plasma.

I have a Pioneer 4340. I play for about 2 hours per day during the week and about 4+ hours on each weekend day. At least 20+ hours per week.
I think I am a good test because i ONLY play Halo 2 therefore the same static images have been on my screen since I bought this plasma in MArch. I know, O know, there are more games out there, but Halo is soooo addictive. So anyway, after playing the same game over nad over and over and over I still have ZERO signs of burnin.

I suggest looking at Panasonic, Pioneer and Sony. But also take a look at JVC, Toshiba, Hitachi, Philips. Basically any "name Brand" plasma will be great.
TheSkeptiks is offline  
post #23 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:52 PM
Member
 
GoldDragonFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldDragonFly
DFul4d

I saw your settings for the OTA in the other thread. Are you using the same settings for Xbox? If not, can you tell me your settings bez my xbox games look a bit too dark. I am using a s-video cable, maybe this is the problem, don't know.
thanks for help
anyone can help?
GoldDragonFly is offline  
post #24 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 01:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
TheSkeptiks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gold Dragon FLy...do you own the Star Wars DVD's? They ahve somehting called the THX Optimizer on it. There are other DVD's with this on it also.

Put this is your XBOX and calibrate your display on the XBOX input. This will help to set up your COntrast, Brightness, Sharpness, Tint and Color.

In the meantime, if your picture is too dark then pump up the contrast. Also use the brightness bumped up.

Turning brightness up will make the Black dark colors become less black therefore you will be able to see it better. The only fix to a dark picture is contrast and brightness.
TheSkeptiks is offline  
post #25 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 02:23 PM
Newbie
 
Rupt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSkeptiks
I suggest looking at Panasonic, Pioneer and Sony. But also take a look at JVC, Toshiba, Hitachi, Philips. Basically any "name Brand" plasma will be great.
I think my favorite plasma is the Sony 50inch I saw at Good Guys, but I couldnt bring myself to spend $5k in a store that was about to go out of business. I really really liked the PQ on the Sony Plasma. I wish they wernt discontinuing it.
Rupt is offline  
post #26 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 02:28 PM
Member
 
GoldDragonFly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheSkeptiks
Gold Dragon FLy...do you own the Star Wars DVD's? They ahve somehting called the THX Optimizer on it. There are other DVD's with this on it also.

Put this is your XBOX and calibrate your display on the XBOX input. This will help to set up your COntrast, Brightness, Sharpness, Tint and Color.

In the meantime, if your picture is too dark then pump up the contrast. Also use the brightness bumped up.

Turning brightness up will make the Black dark colors become less black therefore you will be able to see it better. The only fix to a dark picture is contrast and brightness.

thanks for the advise, but i don't have a xbox control so can't access the movie on it.
GoldDragonFly is offline  
post #27 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 02:58 PM
Member
 
caser85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FWB, FL
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a Panny 50U for the xbox 360. I can't wait until it comes out. I'm going to get Call of Duty 2 and Kameo. I played Kameo last night on a demo at Best Buy and the game looks awesome in HD! The screens they have setup for the demos are pretty small though so I can't wait to see it on a bigger screen.
caser85 is offline  
post #28 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
DFul4d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldDragonFly
DFul4d

I saw your settings for the OTA in the other thread. Are you using the same settings for Xbox? If not, can you tell me your settings bez my xbox games look a bit too dark. I am using a s-video cable, maybe this is the problem, don't know.
thanks for help
I am using the HD Pack with component cables. My settings are similiar to my OTA ones except, I turned the brightnesss up to about 70 (I think). I am not at home right now to check. Just go with what looks best to you.
DFul4d is offline  
post #29 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 03:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
amjustice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: N/A
Posts: 444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I agree that the demo TVs were a little small, I have played the demo box at 2 different stores with 2 different tvs, I dont remember what brand of TV they had at walmart but it was definately at par with walmart, it was pretty crappy and I felt was a pretty disapointing show of the Xbox 360. I couldnt belive Microsoft would show it on a sub par TV or at least one that isnt properly configured to sell their system the best it can. At the gamestop where I played the demo they had a ~20ish in Samsung display that it looked beautiful on. This marked another point for samsung on my wall.
amjustice is offline  
post #30 of 265 Old 11-03-2005, 03:29 PM
Member
 
caser85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FWB, FL
Posts: 167
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah Microsoft has a deal with Samsung so every 360 you see should be hooked up to one. I think the Samsungs look pretty good, it's just too small - probably around 20 inches like you said. I wonder if Walmart is using a different display? Also remember that MS was having major issues with Walmart in setting up the 360s. They were running them in 480p(or i) mode and not taking advantage of HD.
caser85 is offline  
Closed Thread OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off