DVI to HDMI = no sound - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 01-23-2006, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lhsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
sorry for such a newbie question. i have an HD cable box with DVI out and a sharp 32ga5u lcd. i bought a dvi-hdmi cable to transport video, but realized that there is no associated audio input on the sharp for th HDMI input! i assume this is because hdmi carries both audio and video.

is there anyway to get audio to the lcd or do i need to run the audio into a receiver or some other type of audio processor?
lhsa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-23-2006, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe_M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Maryland
Posts: 2,412
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why wouldn't you just go DVI-DVI. The specs for the TV says it has a DVI input. The specs also state that the TV has 3 audio inputs.

Since you have an HD receiver, if you want Dolby Digital you'll need an A/V receiver and some speakers.

There is no "best", best is what's best for you...

Have you tried searching first?
Joe_M is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 01-23-2006, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The DVI out does not transmit the audio. What you need to do is use RCA cables connected to the audio out of the cable box to the audio in of the TV.
Jim Hef is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 01-23-2006, 11:12 AM
Senior Member
 
TommmyJ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
You might find that one of the other inputs on your TV is shared with HDMI and can be used for your audio input. My TV is like that along with others.
TommmyJ is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 01-23-2006, 11:13 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
lhsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
thanks for the replies. i think the unit has DVI-I for pc-in, not for HDCP compatible for video. i'll double check that when i go home.

there are no associated audio inputs for the HDMI input. i don't think the sharp has an option to carry seperate audio over the HDMI input.
lhsa is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 01-23-2006, 11:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
sfhub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 9,527
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhsa
thanks for the replies. i think the unit has DVI-I for pc-in, not for HDCP compatible for video. i'll double check that when i go home.
Past Sharp models' DVI port were HDCP compatible. It is worth your time to try it out. Also when you are connecting AV hardware, make sure you configure the DVI port as AV Digital. By default it is configured for PC Digital so it won't synce to AV timings.
sfhub is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 01-23-2006, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim Hef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Yardley, PA
Posts: 4,340
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking at the Sharp website, it appears there is a stereo minijack located alongside the DVI connector at the back of the set. You will probably need a 'Y' cable that has two RCAs running to a single minijack (RadioShack will have this). And, you would want a DVI/DVI cable from STB to set. It did specify that the TV connection was DVI-I, but a firm such as Monoprice.com would probably have that cable configuration available. Possibly the stereo minijack would accept the sound input for the HDMI connection also...worth a try.
Jim Hef is offline  
Closed Thread OLED Technology and Flat Panels General



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off