Master list of LCD/PLASMA with 1:1 pixel mapping - Page 6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #151 of 179 Old 04-21-2008, 07:20 PM
Senior Member
 
fuzz!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would be nice to expand this list to include projectors too.. even though i've never seen projectors with 136?x768 panels, they still have the same quality-reduction features found on most TVs.
fuzz! is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #152 of 179 Old 04-23-2008, 01:40 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bobn4burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzz! View Post

would be nice to expand this list to include projectors too.. even though i've never seen projectors with 136?x768 panels, they still have the same quality-reduction features found on most TVs.

I'm open to adding projectors to the list. If anyone wants to reply with projector details...I'll add it to the list in the first post.
bobn4burton is offline  
post #153 of 179 Old 05-01-2008, 10:28 PM
Senior Member
 
fuzz!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobn4burton View Post

I'm open to adding projectors to the list. If anyone wants to reply with projector details...I'll add it to the list in the first post.

Well I can definately say my Panasonic AE-700 can *NOT* do 1:1..

From what I've looked at (no first hand experience - this comes from manuals and user reports), the BenQ W5000/W20000 can (unless you're running 1.08 firmware), the Sharp XVZ21000 can and the Marantz VP15s1 can too.
fuzz! is offline  
post #154 of 179 Old 05-01-2008, 11:13 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bobn4burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Added spot for projectors...
bobn4burton is offline  
post #155 of 179 Old 05-12-2008, 08:40 PM
Member
 
GenNew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony KDL-40W4100, HDMI or VGA or component, ??, Home->Screen->Display Area->Full Pixel
GenNew is offline  
post #156 of 179 Old 05-13-2008, 01:04 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bobn4burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GenNew View Post

Sony KDL-40W4100, HDMI or VGA or component, ??, Home->Screen->Display Area->Full Pixel

Thanks...added to list. **and even in the correct format!!
bobn4burton is offline  
post #157 of 179 Old 05-13-2008, 02:16 PM
Senior Member
 
ZBoomer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Austin, TX, Y'all
Posts: 289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't see it on your list, but the Pioneer PDP-5010FD and PDP-6010FD both do 1:1 mapping over HDMI.
ZBoomer is offline  
post #158 of 179 Old 05-21-2008, 10:38 AM
Newbie
 
MrCyberdude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Australia, Melbourne
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Benq G2400 24inch Widescreen LCD monitor, 1920x1200, 5ms, 16.7M, Brightness 250cd/㎡, Contrast Ratio 1000:1, D-sub/DVI-D/HDMI
has 1:1 pixel mapping available under its display menu option, tested in shop and worked.

Also Viewsonic vx2835wm 28inch Widescreen LCD monitor, 1920x1200, 3ms(grey to grey), 16.7M, Brightness 500cd/㎡, Contrast Ratio 800:1, D-sub, HDMI, Component(RGB) and Composite has 1:1 and i was quite happy with quality, price and size with it so i purchased it.

A very AMAZING and useful link for LCD monitors etc
http://forums.anandtech.com/messagev...readid=2049206
Quote:


25.5": DoubleSight DS-263N, 1920x1200 (16:10)
Panel: WG H-IPS (LG.Philips LM260WU1); true 8-bit, 16.7M colors
Image Delay (rt+lag): <1 frame (thank you ToastyX of HardForum)
Specifications: DoubleSight DS-263N
HDCP Compliant: Yes
Notes: Quite possibly best value on the market. High quality H-IPS panel with good implementation. Good screen uniformity. Very similar to PX2611W but cheaper. Low input lag, good response! Scaling options (1:1, 4:3, fill) available. Some known to have A-TW polarizer.
Price: ~$700 USD

I'm Still Not sure this is the best place for this post, but as i couldn't find a better place here it is.
If there is a better place to post let me know or ask Mod to move.
MrCyberdude is offline  
post #159 of 179 Old 07-20-2008, 06:40 AM
Member
 
cabinboyyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We are trying to find out about this unit and unless I missed it in the documentation, I just don't know. Since this will be used as a monitor also, 1:1 is critical to me. Thanks!



http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...9#post14328969
cabinboyyo is offline  
post #160 of 179 Old 07-22-2008, 01:22 PM
Member
 
jstout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't see anything about the Samsung LNxxA550, 650, 750 series on the original list. From what I've read they all support the "Just Scan" feature which is essentially 1:1 pixel mapping. Am I misunderstanding something or do these TV's need to be added to the list?
jstout is offline  
post #161 of 179 Old 07-22-2008, 10:42 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bobn4burton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstout View Post

I don't see anything about the Samsung LNxxA550, 650, 750 series on the original list. From what I've read they all support the "Just Scan" feature which is essentially 1:1 pixel mapping. Am I misunderstanding something or do these TV's need to be added to the list?

They need to be added...this list is by no means comprehensive. I'm just relying on the feedback from forum members to populate the list...

It is slowly growing though!
bobn4burton is offline  
post #162 of 179 Old 07-23-2008, 07:08 AM
Newbie
 
ExcelonGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for this tip!!
it works on mitsubishi LT-46244
I was really starting to have buyers remorse when i found out there was overscan with my Vista Media Center. setting to PC mode fixed the problem
ExcelonGT is offline  
post #163 of 179 Old 07-23-2008, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
ExcelonGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barry928 View Post

To 1:1 pixel map this panel use an HDMI input.

- from Menu, go to Option > Input Label > set as PC

I know this sounds strange but changing the label to PC actually switches the internal scaler into bypass mode. Verified with a Lumagen HDQ 1 pixel horizontal and vertical test pattern at 1080p/60.


thanks for this tip!!
it works on mitsubishi LT-46244
I was really starting to have buyers remorse when i found out there was overscan with my Vista Media Center. setting to PC mode fixed the problem
ExcelonGT is offline  
post #164 of 179 Old 01-04-2009, 12:24 PM
Member
 
pdxed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know about the current Vizio XVT series (SV470XVT & SV420XVT) and if they do over hdmi? Thanks.
pdxed is offline  
post #165 of 179 Old 01-09-2009, 11:36 AM
Member
 
puppypilgrim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
50 inch LG 50PG25 plasma TV with a native resolution of 1356x768.

I have a Dell media computer running GeForce 9300, Forceware 175.56 running Microsoft Windows Vista SP1 and DirectX 10. The default resolution chosen by the computer was 1280x720 (aspect ratio 1.78). This resulted in some video scaling and a small black border around the screen.

Using the Nvidia Control Panel > Display > Manage Custom Resolutions, I was able to create a custom resolution of 1360x768 (aspect ratio 1.78). You do lose 5 vertical columns of pixels in the process because 1365 and 1366 cannot be evenly divided by 8 whereas 1360/8 = 170.

I report that using Windows Media Center to view standard definition (480) DVDs results in near HD quality. You have to calibrate WMC to your display of course.
puppypilgrim is offline  
post #166 of 179 Old 02-03-2009, 10:41 AM
Newbie
 
lyrebird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
edit:

Sony KDL-52V4100, HDMI or VGA, ??, Home->Screen->Display Area->Full Pixel

did not try component though.
lyrebird is offline  
post #167 of 179 Old 03-28-2010, 09:39 AM
Member
 
plamar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Southbridge, MA
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG LCD 55LH90 via HDMI, select Just Scan. Improves quality over 16:9 on the PS3.

Peter 100% OTA
plamar is offline  
post #168 of 179 Old 04-27-2010, 10:56 AM
Newbie
 
john ray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did any Vizio models make the list? I didn't see any listed yet... My model's spec say this:
Pixel/Dot Pitch: 0.282mm (H) x 0.282mm (V) 22" LCD HDTVMODEL NUMBER: VW22LHDTV10T
john ray is offline  
post #169 of 179 Old 06-02-2010, 02:40 PM
Newbie
 
jfreuler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks like there are a lot of Vizio models that do not have support for 1:1 pixel mapping or the ability to turn off HDMI overscan. The result is that their HDMI inputs content is cropped an excessive 7.5 to 8 percent by built in image processing overscan and there is no way to adjust the Menu H/V size to underscan or compensate.

I am currently having an overscan 1:1 pixel mapping problem with a Vizio VA22LFHDTV10T and in the middle of several days of email exchanges with Vizio support, which still doesn't seem to acknowledge that there is a problem with LCD TV HDMI 1:1 pixel mapping. I've tried getting 1080p no overscan 1:1 mapping to work with an ATI 4890 PC, Vaio 1080p Nvidia 330M laptop, PS3, blu-ray player, etc. (The Vaio 1080p laptop screen and my several year old Westy LCD work just fine mapping pixels 1:1 @ 1080p).

The HDMI edid information reports 1:1 support for the following resolutions:

1280 x 720p at 60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
1920 x 1080i at 60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1)
1920 x 1080p at 60Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1) [Native]
1920 x 1080p at 30Hz - HDTV (16:9, 1:1) [Native]

Unfortunately the VA22LFHDTV10T not only overscans but also fails to cleanly map the pixels 1:1. The most annoying case is that it's scaling may change a full screen 1:1 b&w pixel checkerboard into a grey checkerboard full of lighter round checkers. The edid information sent by the VA22LFHDTV10T is at least incorrect or possibly intentionally misleading. Since the VA22LFHDTV10T does have a service USB port, Vizio should be able to supply a fix for this 1:1 pixel mapping and overscan issue - but I'm not holding my breath for a firmware update.

If you are thinking about buying a Vizio (or any other LCD TV monitor with HDMI inputs) for use with HD 720p/1080p HDMI equipment, make absolutely sure that it can do 1:1 pixel mapping without any overscan, which is documented, supported, and actually works.
jfreuler is offline  
post #170 of 179 Old 06-04-2010, 03:54 PM
Member
 
stinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: I live in Louisville,KY USA
Posts: 66
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What I have learned from reading the book that came with it and other sources:
One of the hdmi inputs (forgive me for not remembering which one,3 I think) is for a PC,but if you label any of them on my LN46A650 "PC" you will not be able to control the color or use any extra stuff ( hdmi black level,dynamic contrast...etc) more or less just a monitor, so it is using 0 - 255.I do not use any of these features anyway.
If you have a good ATI video card like HD5800's or the HD4800's you can set the pixel format to full rgb or limited rgb which is 0-255 full 16-255 limited.
The limited cuts out the clipping and ghosting of the whites,makes the text look better.Bluray movies and DVD's are usually in the 16-255 format.My PC has a Bluray drive in it and the picture is great,looks no different than my Sony BDP-S360 Bluray player. That's why I don't set it to PC,I like the control if i wanted to.
1 to 1 pixel is just scan and if you are watching a HD 1920 1080 source it could be set to 16 by 9
I also have a LG 47LC7DF that I use for my monitor (in bedroom) that I am not sure about,it also won't let you control anything if you set the hdmi to "pc" don't know about 1 to 1 pixel for it,anybody here know?
stin
stinman is offline  
post #171 of 179 Old 11-05-2010, 09:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Elton Noway's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 268
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobn4burton View Post

OK...I will update the thread as people list more sets. If anyone sees any incorrect information, post and I will update as necessary.

I realise this is an old thread... but what the heck! I stumbled across it when researchiing the recommended video settings for KyloTV ( a web based TV Browser) which recommends 1:1
Here's a Kylo Video Overview if you are interested.

From the Samsung website FAQ. Which Samsung Plasma TVs Have 1:1 Pixel Mapping?

The following Samsung Plasma TVs have 1:1 Pixel Mapping through the "JustScan" function. The JustScan function, which turns on 1:1 Pixel Mapping, is only available when you input 1080i DTV signals, 1080i and 1080p signals through the HDMI jack, or 1080i and 1080p signals through the Component jacks.


Samsung FP-T5084, 1080i/p HDMI or Component, ??, Menu->Picture->Size->Just Scan
Samsung FP-T6374, 1080i/p HDMI or Component, ??, Menu->Picture->Size->Just Scan
Samsung HP-T4254, 1080i/p HDMI or Component, ??, Menu->Picture->Size->Just Scan
Samsung HP-T4264, 1080i/p HDMI or Component, ??, Menu->Picture->Size->Just Scan
Samsung HP-T4234, 1080i/p HDMI or Component, ??, Menu->Picture->Size->Just Scan
Samsung HP-T5054, 1080i/p HDMI or Component, ??, Menu->Picture->Size->Just Scan
Samsung HP-T5064, 1080i/p HDMI or Component, ??, Menu->Picture->Size->Just Scan
Samsung HP-T5034, 1080i/p HDMI or Component, ??, Menu->Picture->Size->Just Scan
Elton Noway is offline  
post #172 of 179 Old 11-11-2010, 02:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Servicetech571's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4,691
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
LG 60pk550, set to just scan. Works on HDMI 1080p input, others not tested. Supports 1:1 1080p on VGA input also.
LG 42LH20 set graphics card to 1360 x 768, no change on TV setting required.
Panasonic TH-50pz85u Set TV to "size 2"
Servicetech571 is offline  
post #173 of 179 Old 11-23-2010, 09:27 PM
Member
 
panzeroceania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for a 768p display (all 720p displays are 768 these days) with a 1:1 pixel mapping mode so that I can display 720p content correctly pixel for pixel with no distortion, overscan, or scaling of any kind.

are there any models still being sold in stores that do this?
panzeroceania is offline  
post #174 of 179 Old 11-28-2010, 08:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
Emig5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: NJ, USA
Posts: 935
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Servicetech571 View Post

LG 60pk550, set to just scan. Works on HDMI 1080p input, others not tested.

Add the LG 50pk540 plasma as well (same setting "just scan") - 1080p 60hz supported. I think the 550 is the same as the 540 except the 540's USB port is for service only.
Emig5m is offline  
post #175 of 179 Old 06-29-2011, 07:50 AM
Senior Member
 
skyguy3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
LG 55LW5600, it's a Passive 3D LED TV screen. Needs 1:1 pixel mapping to use interleaved 3d output to the TV. Using Just Scan does align the pixels the screen but color is still off. When I set the input to PC, the ghosting increases from "no PC label" using ISF Expert 1 mode. So my question, is how do I get the true 0-255 rgb color space if PC has more ghosting than "no PC"?
skyguy3d is offline  
post #176 of 179 Old 10-25-2011, 05:54 PM
Newbie
 
CycleTimeChart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Gaming and PC input vis a vis 1:1 pixel mapping has been thoroughly discussed in this thread. What I have not seen discussed here is the possibility of using 1:1 pixel mapping to display normal TV sources, such as cable.

As I understand it, the predominant pixel array for such sources is 1280 x 720. Is this understanding correct?

Should I be worried about the upscaling of this to 1366 x 768 on a 720p TV set?

Is it realistic to find a 720p set that does 1:1 pixel mapping of normal TV sources, leaving a black border entirely around the image?

If I used such a set in this way, what other bad things are likely to happen?
CycleTimeChart is offline  
post #177 of 179 Old 10-30-2011, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Panasonic TC-P60GT30

HDMI
Adjustable to either Video (16-235)
or PC (0-255)
Set HD size to "size 2" and aspect to "full"
cpcat is offline  
post #178 of 179 Old 12-04-2011, 04:35 PM
Newbie
 
rewen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sony 46EX521 HDMI

Auto-Scene select does this automatically when a computer is the source and it's not playing video. But as soon as you start to play video it changes scenes to one which, probably, is not using 'Full Pixel' mode (and which is also probably oversharpening the hell out of things).

To force it into Full Pixel mode all the time there are a couple of options:
  • Explicitly choose the 'Graphics' Scene which has all the right settings to make the TV work like a computer monitor. This looks pretty good for most things imho.
    • Options > Scene Select > Graphics
      • That's it, you're done
  • Manually set the Display Area to Full Pixel (this method applies to all Scene modes so you can have more control)
    • Home > Settings > Picture & Display > Screen
      • Wide Mode: Full
      • Auto Display Area: Off
      • Display Area: Full Pixel

Additional tips:
  • If you want all inputs to have the same settings without doing every adjustment on each input, Sony has a 'Common' setting that you can use. When you're editing Picture settings or Screen settings you can choose 'Common' for 'Settings Memory' (the first option). Once you have Common configured how you want, go to your other inputs and choose the Common setting for them as well, and they'll inherit the settings you chose.
  • Leave sharpness at 50 if you want to see things how they were meant to be.
  • Leave detail enhancement off if you want to avoid over sharpening of objects. Textures look nice, but edges look fuzzy and flicker. It's most noticeable in video games, and it looks terrible imho.
  • Leave edge enhancement off for the same reason as above. It's even more noticeable, in a bad way (imho).
  • My rule of thumb for enhancements in general: Turn them off or keep them at low. Especially if you're using the TV as a computer monitor or for video games.
rewen is offline  
post #179 of 179 Old 10-11-2012, 04:09 PM
Member
 
vanart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems to me the manufactures are realizing that "loop in the law" if you will. why they will sell you TV that can be dubbed as a monitor if they can just sell you the monitor for 5 times more wink.gif? all they have to do is to remove that monitor (1:1 pixel mapping) functionality form TV?!
Conspiracy rolleyes.gif
How else can one explain the fact that many of the older generation LCDs and Plazmas did have that functionality and todays TVSs well - i haven't been able to track even a single one...I am still enjoying the good old Westy that can do just that (DVI to DVI 1080)! But how long it will last!?

Please, prove me wrong and tell me if there is at least one model of modern (and by modern i mean it is available for sale today) LED tv that will accept either DVI to HDMI or HDMI to HDMI and do 1:1 instead of rescaling the picture!.

vanart is offline  
Reply OLED Technology and Flat Panels General

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off