ultimate tv's for sale - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-27-2010, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
swwagner1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: salisbury,nc
Posts: 216
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
have two utv's with all manuals and remotes. both tuners on each work. need hd and software. $100 plus shipping takes em
swwagner1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 07-31-2010, 11:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Directv is no longer turning on non-RID units, so this is useless to anyone but the original subscriber. Because they will turn on non-RID units that have previously been linked to your account, and only with original access card though.
Edmund is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-02-2010, 03:56 AM
Member
 
eea123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No buying a new $20 card or nothing? Figures. DTV has quite a bit of new equipment out since UTV. Nice they give us the word after the policy roll out. I have two back up UTV's. One has not been actived with one of my cards before although I checked serial numbers with an account rep before I bought them. I doubt they were entered against my account though.
eea123 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-02-2010, 07:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now that is "official" policy... But I haven't heard if "refreshing" your Active Access Card in a "backup" or "replacement" unit (So non-RID to non-RID) would do the trick. As a possible "grey" work around.

So for us existing non-RID operators that want to swap out a "dead tuner" unit... there might still be a market/use for non-RID units... just that the market value will likely tank.

If I read the policy correctly my old Sony DSS units (A-55 and B-55 with old HU cards) might be eligible for reactivation on my Account but since the cards are outdated... I'm out of luck? I wouldn't be eligible to get a currently supported access card? (Unless I unofficially "swapped" cards from an active unit? I suspect it might also apply to another user willing to do the same. So say they had a Sony B-2 and upgraded to my A-55 they could "swap" cards... just would not able to do it via a DTV phone CSR. Their account would still show an "active" B-2 and serial number instead of the A-55...)

Am I right or wrong?
lgodave is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-03-2010, 03:24 AM
Member
 
eea123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here, here to the workaround. I've have only swapped cards between units when one fails. My account has 3 active receivers in the house. I'm just running a single 18" dish with a 2x4 multiplexer. I have 2 DTC-100's and 3 RCA UTVs along with 5 RCA tuners of various flavors (16 & 32 bit). Half bought new, the remainder auction site finds as backups. Regardless they are all owned. One of my upstairs runs requires an RF coax hook up that seems to chew through standard boxes every few years.
eea123 is offline  
Reply Microsoft UltimateTV PVR

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off