Swap UTV's using same card - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 48 Old 12-26-2006, 09:00 PM
Newbie
 
cream747's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so if i decided to take my p-4 card out of my non rid upstairs and put it in my non rid receiver in the garage, call and 722 it. when I was done I could reverse and back upstairs with another 722? sounds like it's worth a shot
cream747 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 48 Old 02-14-2007, 10:28 AM
Member
 
j123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New info. See below.
j123 is offline  
post #33 of 48 Old 03-06-2007, 04:58 PM
Member
 
j123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 722 trick is now available on DirecTVs website. Log into your account and then click on Customer Service on the left column then click on Troubleshooting. The Refresh Your Services option allows you to pick which access card to refresh. I haven't tried it to switch receivers but seems like it should work the same as 722. If anyone tries it please post.
j123 is offline  
post #34 of 48 Old 03-07-2007, 02:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I may need to try that... I have a "spare" UTV (with 1 tuner) that I'd like to test out... Don't want to deal with adding/replacing it to my account until I know it is stable.

Hopefully if I decide to get a "new" access card DTV will not have issues activating UTV DVR services to it.
lgodave is offline  
post #35 of 48 Old 03-19-2007, 08:57 AM
Member
 
G_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bluff Dale,Texas
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It worked again. I have had a UTV for about four years and I bought another on eBay on the cheap. Both tuners work. I had a Samsung S300w with a card. Put the card in the UTV and did the Refresh Your Services thing. You can select which card to refresh.
Worked like a champ. By the time I got back upstairs to check, it was looking for the guide and playing a minute later.

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks - Works Great, Now I Have Two

Always ready to pull the lever on that La-Z-Boy.
G_Moore is offline  
post #36 of 48 Old 03-19-2007, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did the UTV Services enable too? I would think that might not enable unless DTV sent out a "refresh UTV Services" option too...
lgodave is offline  
post #37 of 48 Old 03-19-2007, 05:32 PM
Newbie
 
TOJOEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If I swap the card will it still update to 3.7 or do I have to update that myself
TOJOEF is offline  
post #38 of 48 Old 03-19-2007, 08:01 PM
Member
 
G_Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bluff Dale,Texas
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
lgodave Did the UTV Services enable too?

Yes. Everything works as it should. Recording, Pause, ect.


TOJOEF If I swap the card will it still update to 3.7 or do I have to update that myself

It just activates the receiver. Nothing is changed. If you had 3.7 you will still have 3.7.

Always ready to pull the lever on that La-Z-Boy.
G_Moore is offline  
post #39 of 48 Old 03-20-2007, 04:06 AM
Newbie
 
TOJOEF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What I meant was I have a older UTV with 3.5 on it. It wont update to 3.7 in the stream with an old card. If I move a card from one of my recievers to the UTV will it update to 3.7 or do I have to do the Winhex upgrade
TOJOEF is offline  
post #40 of 48 Old 03-20-2007, 11:29 AM
Member
 
j123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
3.7 isn't in the stream. The only two ways to get it is download it over the phone line or the Winhex method.
j123 is offline  
post #41 of 48 Old 04-23-2007, 07:58 PM
Member
 
lowjones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 32
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don,

I want to thank you for the 722 thing. It worked lika a charm. I can't even imagine what I would have done othere than to cantact D*. They would have probably charged me something. Again thanks.

Lowjones
lowjones is offline  
post #42 of 48 Old 05-09-2007, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lowjones View Post

Don,

I want to thank you for the 722 thing. It worked lika a charm. I can't even imagine what I would have done othere than to cantact D*. They would have probably charged me something. Again thanks.

Lowjones

You are welcome, but it was not my discovery, it was from some tivo forum (DDB or TCF), I just put my needs together with the knowledge of others to see if it worked with UTV.

On a side note, I have not used UTV in about 2 years. I have HD and SD directivos now. My neighbors use the Motorola 6416 with TWC, my parents have the Verizon Fios Motorola 6412??, and I still think that the UTV was one of the best DVR's ever.
DonCoolio is offline  
post #43 of 48 Old 08-25-2008, 10:26 AM
Member
 
zcarguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by j123 View Post

The 722 trick is now available on DirecTVs website. Log into your account and then click on Customer Service on the left column then click on Troubleshooting. The Refresh Your Services option allows you to pick which access card to refresh. I haven't tried it to switch receivers but seems like it should work the same as 722. If anyone tries it please post.


Does anyone know if this trick is still available on-line - cant find troubleshooting - the site has been revamped since this post.

Thanks,

Z
zcarguy is offline  
post #44 of 48 Old 08-25-2008, 07:40 PM
Member
 
blimey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 162
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by zcarguy View Post

Does anyone know if this trick is still available on-line - cant find troubleshooting - the site has been revamped since this post.

Thanks,

Z

Searching for 'troubleshooting' from the directv search box reveals this link:

http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/global...ssetId=1900005
blimey is offline  
post #45 of 48 Old 08-26-2008, 08:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

That above link gets you there directly... But if you log on to your DirecTV account and want to "find" your way... From the "Support" Menu at the bottom of the screen select Sound & Picture to get the various "error" codes list. There are several "errors" that a card "reset" is allowed.
lgodave is offline  
post #46 of 48 Old 08-27-2008, 12:22 AM
Member
 
zcarguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys,

I actually found it a couple hours after I posted by searching "troubleshooting".

I can confirm it works fine (at least for non-rid receivers - alot easier than calling in.

Z
zcarguy is offline  
post #47 of 48 Old 01-02-2009, 07:26 PM
Newbie
 
nrmnrm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spent 2 hours on the phone with D* and was finally told I had to have a new card ($20) for my replacement UltimateTv.

I used the link in 44 above and had my new UltimateTv activated in 20 seconds.

THANKS!
nrmnrm is offline  
post #48 of 48 Old 01-03-2009, 11:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow

Still getting "new" members to the UTV forum.

Welcome nrmnrm... hope this forum can continue being of use to you and other UTVers...
lgodave is offline  
Reply Microsoft UltimateTV PVR

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off