Swap UTV's using same card - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 48 Old 09-24-2006, 02:28 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My cousin has a bad tuner in his UTV. I am giving him a couple of my old UTV's without cards. Do we have to talk to a CSR or does the automated 722 trick work to remarry card to new receiver.

Edited for correct code (722)
DonCoolio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 48 Old 09-24-2006, 02:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the "automated 726 trick"?

It is likely that your cousin will need to have DTV activate an access card to the replacement UTVs (most likely a new one they will send you).

They might ask for a $20 new access card fee... but if you ask nicely but firmly they usually will waive it...

Interested in off loading any more of your UTVs let me know. Could use a replacement soon.
lgodave is offline  
post #3 of 48 Old 09-24-2006, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
On non RID receivers you can put the card into another non RID box and call customer service and enter the on screen code (722) and the automated system will send out a remarry signal. Just was not sure if it still works, or if it ever did on UTVs.

Edited for correct code (722)
DonCoolio is offline  
post #4 of 48 Old 09-24-2006, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting.

Don't think it would hurt to try... before talking to DTV directly.
lgodave is offline  
post #5 of 48 Old 09-25-2006, 07:38 AM
Member
 
Redbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Let us know. I'm in a similar situation. The DTV CSRs told me it was no longer possible to activate UTV receivers when I recently tried to switch from a 30 hr unit to a 80 hr unit.
Redbird is offline  
post #6 of 48 Old 09-25-2006, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He will pick up a new hd for it this week. I'll let you know if it works.
DonCoolio is offline  
post #7 of 48 Old 09-25-2006, 04:46 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just a little update. This is a thread over at TCF about doing this with non RID Directivos
http://www.tivocommunity.com/tivo-vb...d.php?t=278728
I guess the 3 digit error # is 722
DonCoolio is offline  
post #8 of 48 Old 09-27-2006, 05:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
GREAT NEWS....it works

1. Put a new 120gb in my old box. (after re-imaging)
2. Put the subscribed card from his crippled box into my old box.
3. Called D* on his phone, said "seven twenty two" at the voice prompt
4. card married to new receiver within 15 seconds.

so we know that this works taking a subbed card from a non-rid receiver and transferring to another non-rid receiver.

Will this work rid to non-rid or non-rid to rid...... we will see.


just to add... this is much better then having to give up UTV or have a new 2 year commitment
DonCoolio is offline  
post #9 of 48 Old 09-27-2006, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Kazak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southeast
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now THIS is a good piece of info, thanks DC I have one with a dead tuner and I'm about to get another box with 2 good tuners. This will make life much easier.

kazak

God split himself into a myriad parts that he might have friends.' This may not be true, but it sounds good - and is no sillier than any other theology. - Lazarus Long
Kazak is offline  
post #10 of 48 Old 09-27-2006, 08:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Certainly is good to know.

Haven't talked to DTV in a while... but it certainly sounds like this might help some UTVers avoid having to get replacement Access Cards (and deal with FEES) OR having to spend hours on the line with DTV to swap cards and end up waiting a day or two for a new one in the mail...

More UTV DVR uptime and customer enjoyment. A win/win for DTV and UTV owner.

I'd be interested in knowing if a person's Online Account Profile properly "remarries" the access card and updates IRD info on the site. Plus, if there are any "hidden" fees after the fact. A Marriage Tax if you will.
lgodave is offline  
post #11 of 48 Old 09-27-2006, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgodave View Post

Certainly is good to know.

Haven't talked to DTV in a while... but it certainly sounds like this might help some UTVers avoid having to get replacement Access Cards (and deal with FEES) OR having to spend hours on the line with DTV to swap cards and end up waiting a day or two for a new one in the mail...

More UTV DVR uptime and customer enjoyment. A win/win for DTV and UTV owner.

I'd be interested in knowing if a person's Online Account Profile properly "remarries" the access card and updates IRD info on the site. Plus, if there are any "hidden" fees after the fact. A Marriage Tax if you will.

In all of my research, I have yet to find a single person who has been charged, or had a problem doing this. I will see if my cousin has an online account with D* and check for problems. I doubt there will be a problem because D* tracks receivers by cam ids....not rid, so I think the non-rid married cards are "free range".
DonCoolio is offline  
post #12 of 48 Old 09-30-2006, 08:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonCoolio View Post

On non RID receivers you can put the card into another non RID box and call customer service and enter the on screen code (722) and the automated system will send out a remarry signal. Just was not sure if it still works, or if it ever did on UTVs.

Edited for correct code (722)

What if you have multiple units?


bob
spongebob is offline  
post #13 of 48 Old 09-30-2006, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonCoolio View Post

On non RID receivers you can put the card into another non RID box and call customer service and enter the on screen code (722) and the automated system will send out a remarry signal. Just was not sure if it still works, or if it ever did on UTVs.

Edited for correct code (722)

What is rid or non?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #14 of 48 Old 09-30-2006, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

What if you have multiple units?


bob

I dont understand what your asking, please clarify.

RID= Receiver ID
DonCoolio is offline  
post #15 of 48 Old 09-30-2006, 10:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What if you have 2 UTV's on 1 account? Will they remarry/reset all the units in the house?

bob
spongebob is offline  
post #16 of 48 Old 09-30-2006, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by spongebob View Post

What if you have 2 UTV's on 1 account? Will they remarry/reset all the units in the house?

bob

It should. D* doesn't ask what receiver you are calling about when you call and say 722.
DonCoolio is offline  
post #17 of 48 Old 10-02-2006, 09:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
spongebob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca.
Posts: 2,850
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It works

shhhhhhhhhhhhhh


bob
spongebob is offline  
post #18 of 48 Old 10-02-2006, 10:57 PM
Member
 
Recursion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DonCoolio View Post

Will this work rid to non-rid or non-rid to rid...... we will see.

I used an RID card married to a RID DTivo on a UTV. I don't know if the automated phone trick would work for this. I called, and it only took a few seconds. So, DTV can unmarry a card via the stream, which is not really too much of a surprise, is it?
Recursion is offline  
post #19 of 48 Old 10-03-2006, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So we have,

Non-RID to Non-RID =good
RID to NON-RID =good
RID to RID =?
NON-RID to RID =?

Anyone want to try with the two unknowns?
DonCoolio is offline  
post #20 of 48 Old 10-04-2006, 07:03 PM
Advanced Member
 
rocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: California
Posts: 719
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so, when I last replaced a failed utv (1 tuner bad) with a spare, I had to call and they asked for things like serial number, etc. So, does this mean dtv doesn't know what you are running?

and I'm confused about this RID thing, does the utv work with an RID or a non-RID or both or what?
rocket is offline  
post #21 of 48 Old 10-04-2006, 09:10 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rocket View Post

so, when I last replaced a failed utv (1 tuner bad) with a spare, I had to call and they asked for things like serial number, etc. So, does this mean dtv doesn't know what you are running?

and I'm confused about this RID thing, does the utv work with an RID or a non-RID or both or what?

Old receivers have a serial # and the card (cam) id #. This was very insecure, as hackers found out how to clone both. D* then came out with a incrypted chip on the receiver called RID, or Receiver ID.

UTV's are non rid.
DonCoolio is offline  
post #22 of 48 Old 10-10-2006, 08:38 AM
Senior Member
 
Kazak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southeast
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And we have another satisfied customer here
What a timesaver. Last night I imaged a drive and put it in a UTV some kind soul gave me. Plugged in my card from the old UTV, called DTV, said 722 to the robot and 15 sec. later the card was married to the new box.

Thanks DC!


kazak

God split himself into a myriad parts that he might have friends.' This may not be true, but it sounds good - and is no sillier than any other theology. - Lazarus Long
Kazak is offline  
post #23 of 48 Old 10-10-2006, 03:46 PM
Senior Member
 
klassic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is that all you have to do? Do you have to give a name? Account number?
No phone hook up?

The only info I can give out would be my card number.

I thought I would be SOL if my Sony gives out.

thinking ....
klassic is offline  
post #24 of 48 Old 10-10-2006, 04:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Kazak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Southeast
Posts: 262
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by klassic View Post

Is that all you have to do? Do you have to give a name? Account number?
No phone hook up?

The only info I can give out would be my card number.

I thought I would be SOL if my Sony gives out.

Well, I called from the phone number listed on my account and it recognised it and verified the street address. Then it asked what I wanted so I just said "extension 722" . It told me to tune to a channel that showed that message (I left it on channel 100) made some cool sounds and poof I was watching TV. Never spoke to a human.


kazak

God split himself into a myriad parts that he might have friends.' This may not be true, but it sounds good - and is no sillier than any other theology. - Lazarus Long
Kazak is offline  
post #25 of 48 Old 10-12-2006, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just so everyone understands the process.

Call from the phone listed on the account. The automated system will know what cards are on the account and re-mary them when you say "seven twenty two"
no interaction with csr's
no new 2 year commitment
no run around about needing a new card
no bs about not being able to sub UTV's anymore

Makes me wish i was running utv's still.....but MRV and HD converted me to the TIVO cult.
DonCoolio is offline  
post #26 of 48 Old 11-19-2006, 07:20 PM
Member
 
Redbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I finally got caught up with My Shows and tried the "722" update on the larger drive unit I received from a member (or former member) of this group awhile back. Just as you guys said, it worked immediately. I was on the phone with 2 or 3 DTV CSRs going round and round a couple of months ago with them telling me it would be impossible to swap receivers. I'm glad that I found this corner of the internet where at least someone knows what is going on.

Thanks guys!
Redbird is offline  
post #27 of 48 Old 11-20-2006, 01:22 PM
Member
 
Redbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I'm going to have to withdraw a little bit of my praise until I'm back at 100%. The guide on the new receiver is not updating. Last night (Sunday), I was able to see out through Monday evening but no further. I unplugged the unit and plugged it back in and hoped that by this morning the guide would be complete. Now it is late Monday afternoon and I am still not able to see information in the guide past this evening. If it doesn't fill itself in within another day or so, should I scrap the idea and go back to the old receiver? Any other fix-it-all secret codes I should be aware of?
Redbird is offline  
post #28 of 48 Old 11-22-2006, 08:29 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
DonCoolio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Yucaipa
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Redbird, you usually have to wait a day or two for the guide data to download. Are you still having problems?
DonCoolio is offline  
post #29 of 48 Old 11-24-2006, 06:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are all the tuners intact on that "new" setup?

As Don pointed out you do need to wait a few days for the Guide to give you up to 14 days of future programming. I'd say give the UTV Several days to get a FULL Guide.

You may notice that Locals will not update as far forward as the National Channels will.

Say for example you do a Day/Time search and you find a local channel without an updated guide. If you scroll down to a national channel you're more likely to see what is playing on that channel.

Up to 14 days is exactly correct. On the "old" Receivers it was common to see a few days maybe... With UTV and newer Receivers they can save that guide data as it comes down... but it is dependent on when the updates are in the stream and if the UTV catchs them.

I'm just guessing but I've noticed that during the weekends I don't seem to get updates for the "fringe" days... I typically need to wait until a Weekday before it updates.
lgodave is offline  
post #30 of 48 Old 12-12-2006, 08:37 AM
Member
 
Redbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Mansfield, Texas
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the suggestions DonCoolio and lgodave. I did give it another day then unplug it and went back to my old receiver. I was doing this in advance of an extended trip (just got back from India yesterday). Now I'll have to wait until I can catch up with all of the shows recorded while I was gone to try it again. That'll give me a goal to shoot for over the Christmas holiday!!
Redbird is offline  
Reply Microsoft UltimateTV PVR

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off