UTV Remote - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2007, 07:11 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ennieip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have had my RCA UTV for 5 years now and I have to say I love it! The only issue is the remote. The report is really wearing out and can be a little doggy at times. Can anyone recommend a universal remote that has the jump forward and jump backward functions?
ennieip is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-30-2007, 11:05 AM
Member
 
j123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Directv RC23 works quite well. On RCA units the colored buttons will even perform the PIP functions(not on Sony units). You can get them on Ebay quite cheap. Usually under $15 shipped. There is an auction right now for $8.99 and free shipping. It does need to be programmed. For RCA units, hold down select and mute until the light flashes twice. Then enter 01392. The light should flash twice. The code for the Sony units is 01640. The remote seems to keep the programming even if the batteries are removed.
j123 is offline  
Old 03-30-2007, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ennieip View Post

I have had my RCA UTV for 5 years now and I have to say I love it! The only issue is the remote. The report is really wearing out and can be a little doggy at times. Can anyone recommend a universal remote that has the jump forward and jump backward functions?

I suggest a one-for-all remote like the urc-6131n, the original urc-6131 is hard to come by nowadays. Other ofa remote models will do, urc-6820, 8820, 10820.
Edmund is online now  
Old 03-31-2007, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
ennieip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone had success with harmony type remotes and UTV? I like the fancy pants remotes out there but I am apprehensive about them having the jump forward and back functions.
ennieip is offline  
Old 03-31-2007, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
klassic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 310
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the MX500

I have the bottom two (left, right) LED screen buttons as the skips

thinking ....
klassic is offline  
Old 04-09-2007, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
TexasJames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: D/FW Texas
Posts: 590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by klassic View Post

I use the MX500
I have the bottom two (left, right) LED screen buttons as the skips

I second the nomination ... I love my MX-500.
TexasJames is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:32 PM
Newbie
 
slicknate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I like mine as well.
slicknate is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 05:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Howdy,

Got myself a Westinghouse Digital HDTV this weekend and was hoping to find a compatible TV remote code for my RCA UTV Remote.

Anyone know if Westinghouse uses codes from other known TV Makers? I was kind of surprised that Westinghouse didn't have ANY codes listed in the UTV's list. Yet again , I'm forced to realize Westinghouse only recently reentered the TV market after UTV was introduced nearly 6 years ago.

Any help is appreciated.
lgodave is offline  
Old 05-09-2007, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by lgodave View Post

Howdy,

Got myself a Westinghouse Digital HDTV this weekend and was hoping to find a compatible TV remote code for my RCA UTV Remote.

Anyone know if Westinghouse uses codes from other known TV Makers? I was kind of surprised that Westinghouse didn't have ANY codes listed in the UTV's list. Yet again , I'm forced to realize Westinghouse only recently reentered the TV market after UTV was introduced nearly 6 years ago.

Any help is appreciated.

If you're lucky it will respond to the Sony tv codes.
Edmund is online now  
Old 05-09-2007, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post

If you're lucky it will respond to the Sony tv codes.

I'm a lucky man.

Refreshed both my Sony and RCA UTV Remotes with the Sony TV Codes included with both UTVs and found they work OK.

Works better then my DTV Tivo DVR's remote does. An Input command must be sent repeatedly before it responds. Maybe it's weak batteries.


Thank You,
lgodave is offline  
Old 05-09-2007, 11:33 PM
Member
 
zcarguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the harmony 880 and it works perfectly. the utv was not listed on the web when i went to add it to the remote, but when this happens the software asks to send a remote signal to your pc and then it finds a suitbble set of codes. i cant remember but i think i had to teach the remote a few codes but it is quite easy.

the ir strength on this remote is awesome. i dont need to point the remote at all
zcarguy is offline  
Old 05-10-2007, 03:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by zcarguy View Post

i have the harmony 880 and it works perfectly. the utv was not listed on the web when i went to add it to the remote, but when this happens the software asks to send a remote signal to your pc and then it finds a suitbble set of codes. i cant remember but i think i had to teach the remote a few codes but it is quite easy.

the ir strength on this remote is awesome. i dont need to point the remote at all


Funny, someone on Tivocommunity found one of my posts suggesting a ofa 8820 for multiple tivos, they bought it and loved so much, they gave me their harmony 880 for free. I hated it, and sold it.
Edmund is online now  
Old 05-11-2007, 12:22 PM
Newbie
 
uga_trader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody know a TV remote code for a Syntax Olevia 32' HDTV (232V) for my Sony remote. I have tried all the recommendations that I could find and all to no avail. Any help would be great.
uga_trader is offline  
Old 05-11-2007, 12:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Edmund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, Ca
Posts: 1,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by uga_trader View Post

Anybody know a TV remote code for a Syntax Olevia 32' HDTV (232V) for my Sony remote. I have tried all the recommendations that I could find and all to no avail. Any help would be great.


Sorry you're out of luck, there isn't a code for the new olevia tv's in any oem or universal remote. Directv will be releasing for purchase new line of remotes, the rc64, rc64r, and rc64rb. In them there is a tv code for the olrevia, 11610. I am being sent one of each in a week or two. For being a techknow guide on directv forums, for answering remote questions of course.
Edmund is online now  
Old 01-04-2008, 09:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edmund View Post

Sorry you're out of luck, there isn't a code for the new olevia tv's in any oem or universal remote. Directv will be releasing for purchase new line of remotes, the rc64, rc64r, and rc64rb. In them there is a tv code for the olrevia, 11610. I am being sent one of each in a week or two. For being a techknow guide on directv forums, for answering remote questions of course.

Got myself a DTV Universal Remote "RC64" from DTV early this week. Seems to work great with my HDVR2 (DTV Tivo),RCA UTVs (in DTV mode),Phillips DVD Recorder(maybe? Powers OK at least)and JVC TV.

Only thing DTV doesn't list is a code for RCA UTVs set to "AUX" Mode. Anyone have any luck on that front? If not... I'm still rather impressed with this FREE remote. (I'm sending back an R15 but I can keep the RC64)

I'm kind of glad the RC64 is a "Universal" Remote because I wasn't real happy with it as the R15's remote interface. TOO MANY KEYS AND THEY ARE ALL OVER THE PLACE. But, program in several devices and it starts making more sense.
lgodave is offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 09:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The VERY LAST Code listed (on DTV's Remote Code Lookup Page) for the RCA UTV (RCA DWD490RE) lets me power up the UTV and pull up the guide but nothing much else...

00855 (AUX)
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-03-2009, 03:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Back from the Dead.

Figured I'd open the thread to some more current UTV Remote issues...

I gave a couple of my RCA UTV Remotes to my Grandma for use with her TV/VCR/Digital Converter boxes...

Her Wal-Mart Magnavox Converters don't seem to use any recognized codes in the RCA UTV Remote's memory.

Any "current" Universal Remotes people might recommend?

I spotted a SONY RM-AV2100 Remote Commander (Touch Screen with Learning Function) at a Rummage Sale and bought it for $8. Can't seem to figure out a way to "add" new buttons to a Component Layout... but it does seem to "Learn" just fine... (By "default" this remote rather well with my Westinghouse and Sony living room setup)

If I could find another AV2100 (or more) for such a low low price... that might be a good idea for her... (If she's willing to "Learn" it herself)
lgodave is offline  
Old 07-05-2009, 04:09 PM
Member
 
eea123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is an auction for new RCA UTV remotes on eBay right now ($11.99 w/ free shipping). Been thinking about picking one up for myself since the lettering is pretty worn on mine. I finally got the UTV keyboard working since I dared press the "WebTV" button on it. It started dialing out, but it allowed me to cancel (thank goodness). Now it works across the board. Handy for searches.
eea123 is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 03:13 AM
Member
 
UNC8185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 77
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got a Harmony 620 from Target. It handles UTV operations extremely well. This includes the jump forward or jump back functions.

My problems have been with my Vizio TV. It uses a fairly unique input switching input system that required contact with a Level 2 Tech. It has been very frustrating.
UNC8185 is offline  
Old 07-10-2009, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looks interesting. (The 620)

So the Harmony class remotes can all be hooked up to a PC and download updated codes?

Otherwise they have decent learning functions? Might be a bit too high end for my Grandmother but might be easier then using my "new" Sony RM-AV2100... which is hard to misplace, but not the easiest to navigate by "feel" or one handed.
lgodave is offline  
Old 04-05-2014, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lgodave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: WI
Posts: 1,121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just shy of 7 years and my 32" Westinghouse HDTV fried it's HDMI port yesterday. So I'm on the hunt for the best Code(s) to use with my UTV Remote on my new 42" Vizio E420i-B0 . Using the code for a Goldstar TV (1006) for Power/Volume. What I'm currently missing out on is a way to remotely change my INPUT/Source.

Anyone with some ideas/experience with the RCA UTV Remote and Vizio TVs?
lgodave is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off