Recording from FIOS box to other media - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 04-07-2008, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
programmergeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: summit, nj
Posts: 1,047
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have read for about a hour and searched and can't seem to find a simple answer but I just got FIOS, Love it buy my DVR's are not big enough and I have some shows I want to archive. How can I burn them to DVD, or move them off the FIOS. Is a external recorder or pc the best/easyest solution?

Do I need to record them as they play and manually hit start and stop, just seems so antiquated.

Jason
Note: Any posts are of my personal opinions and not to reflect upon any business.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

908 578-6466

programmergeek is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 04-22-2008, 05:58 AM
Member
 
GDWindowpane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Fredericksburg, VA
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have you found a way to do this yet? I too am looking to do the same thing with my FIOS box/dvr.
GDWindowpane is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 04-22-2008, 07:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ftaok's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Media, PA (SE Pennsylvania - Philly Area)
Posts: 1,329
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are several ways to do this:

1. If the FiOS DVR has an active Firewire (aka IEEE 1394) port, you can use a PC/Mac (or a D-VHS deck) to record the video. Be aware that some channels may have "Copy Never" on the shows, so you won't be able to off-load them from the DVR.

2. Use a SD-DVD recorder to record the composite/s-video output of the DVR. Your archived copy will be in SD, not HD.

3. Use the upcoming Hauppauge HD-PVR (along with a PC) to record the component output of the DVR. Your archived copy will be in HD, but it is one generation off of the original ... but you may not notice the quality loss.

All three of these techniques will require you to start/stop the DVR while activating the record function of the archiving device. And yes, it is antiquated.

If you're not married to the FiOS DVR, you could always buy a Tivo HD (or series 3) and lease 2 CableCards (or one M-Card) from Verizon. Tivo will allow you to transfer recordings to a Mac/PC and you can archive them there. No need to start/stop, etc.

Or you could buy an external HDD and plug it into the Tivo for more storage.

ft
ftaok is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 06-16-2008, 09:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Forgive my ignorance on this (honestly)
But what would the Cablecards do for the Verizon fios (as it's not cable TV but FIOS)?
I too would like an option to archive to PC
also one that can be done quickly (i.e. just transfering the file, not re-recording in real time).

thanks,
Jon
cgott42 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 06-16-2008, 11:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgott42 View Post

Forgive my ignorance on this (honestly)
But what would the Cablecards do for the Verizon fios (as it's not cable TV but FIOS)?

The data is still QAM over the wire coming out of the ONT - the CableCARD is just an authorization device. It works perfectly well with the TiVo Series3 and TiVo HD DVRs. Suffice to say, if you want a TiVo, that's what you'll need.
demonfoo is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 06-16-2008, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
So even if I have a verizon fios HD - no DVR.
I can record to Tivo HD DVR if I have a CableCard
and then from the Tivo HD DVR to my computer?

Also:
How long does it take to transfer a program from Tivo HD DVR to my computer - is it the same speed (roughly) as transfering a file betwen hard drives on my computer?
Does the Tivo HD DVR record via component - if so is there any difference between this and the hauppauge which would record directly from the Verizon set top box to my PC (as this would save me the Tivo montly fee)?

thanks
cgott42 is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 06-16-2008, 05:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by cgott42 View Post

So even if I have a verizon fios HD - no DVR.
I can record to Tivo HD DVR if I have a CableCard
and then from the Tivo HD DVR to my computer?

As long as the programming you're trying to transfer isn't marked as "copy once" or "copy never" - and from what I've heard, it sounds like Verizon's relatively lax about that - you can pull programs from the TiVo to your computer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgott42 View Post

How long does it take to transfer a program from Tivo HD DVR to my computer - is it the same speed (roughly) as transfering a file betwen hard drives on my computer?

The download speed varies, but with my Series3, I can download a 2 hour movie in typically around 1.5 hours in 1080i HD. It's not even at full 100 Mbps Ethernet speed, as it's encrypted while it's being sent to you - that slows down the sending. The exact speed will vary depending on the bitrate of what you're transferring - of course the higher the bitrate, the more data needs transferring per unit time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cgott42 View Post

Does the Tivo HD DVR record via component

No, it uses the CableCARDs to authorize itself to the headend to receive the programming you're paying for. The cable box itself is irrelevant to the equation - the only reason you'd need it is for on-demand/iPPV content. I have digital cable with my Series3, and I have no cable box at all - just the TiVo. If you don't care about on-demand or iPPV, then you can save yourself a few bucks a month.
demonfoo is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 06-16-2008, 06:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cgott42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Spring Valley, NY USA
Posts: 2,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 15
thanks, Sounds like I'm going to be better off with the Hauppauge which records directly to PC due to the long transfer rates

thanks
cgott42 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off