new JVC DH35000 DVHS - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-23-2001, 09:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Tested the new JVC DH35000 DVHS released in Japan.

The top one is the DH35000, the bottom is a Toshiba A-HD2000 which is a OEM of the old DH30000 with a different outlook.

http://mavis.telhope.com/~lion/temp/IMG_0074.jpg

http://mavis.telhope.com/~lion/temp/IMG_0072.jpg

The DH35000 has a separate 3 RCAs YPbPr connectors in addition to the usual D-type component connection on the DH30000. The 2 outputs are active at the same time so you can drive 2 displays.

It plays and outputs all HD formats such as 1080i and 720p. 720p can be downconvert to 1080i if needed but 480i/p can't be upconverted.

In addition to the usual optical digital out like the DH30000, this new DH35000 has a 5.1 analog RCAs audio out. But the 5.1 analog only output AAC multi-channels but NOT DD5.1. DD5.1 is only outputed via the optical digital.

The HD picture quality is MUCH better than the old DH30000. In my projecting system (CRT projector NEC XG85), the improvement is around 10-20% IMO. The picture is much dynamic, higher resolution, better color and more 3D. It's a overall much better picture.

The DH35000 plays ATSC HD tape like the DH30000. The mystery "downconvert" soft picture of the DH30000 playing ATSC HD tape is FIXED. No need to play a Japanese BS tape before ATSC HD playing. This time ATSC HD tape always plays in HD! The every 5-10mins 0.5 sec audio drop via the optical digital is still there like the DH30000. Btw, no picture freeze problem like the US DH30000U.

The DH35000 runs much cooler than the DH30000.

The DH35000 talks to a US Panasonic PV-HD1000 DVHS and can copy HD tape between the 2 DVHS like the DH30000. I guess it should works with a US Panasonic TU-DST50/51 for recording like the DH30000.

That's about it.

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-23-2001, 10:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hows the price compared to the 30000?

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-23-2001, 11:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will it output AAC via the optical digital to an external AAC decoder or do you have to use the 5.1 analog audio out for AAC?

Thanks
Bernhard
bb1987 is offline  
Old 12-23-2001, 11:34 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Bernhard,

The DH35000 like the DH30000 outputs AAC/DD via the optical digital in pass through or downconverted 2ch PCM. The DH35000 5.1 analog outputs only AAC multi-channels, not DD5.1.

I'm using a Sony 9000ES surround processor with AAC patch.

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
Old 12-24-2001, 12:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Jaehong Lee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Seoul , Korea
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi ! Li On

Long time no talk


see mt DH3500 test results before

Here is my test result again.

-------------------------------------------------------------------
For ATSC tape playback

All tapes are play back smoothly from internal HD decorder with full resolution.
(Major improvement)

But no sound at all from some ATSC tapes such as Titanic.

I haven't heard audio dropout for 25min. ATSC tape watching (Autumn in New York)

Playback through TU-DST50 with I-Link

First time attempt , I can get perfect picture and sound.
But afterward, JVC DH35000 automatically stop after 5 sec. playback if it is connected TU-DST50.


Recording with TU-DST50

Perfectly recorded.
you can watch Programs from DH35000 output while recording.
Panny set also playback HD tapes recorded in JVC DH35000 flawlessly

Dubbing
ATSC tapes are playing in Panny HD1000and recorded in DH35000.
perfectly dubbed. You can watch programs from DH35000 output while dubbing.
Vice Versa , I forgot to test. But I am sure it will also works.

Japanese BS tapes can be dubbed with combination of playing in DH35000, recording in Panny HD1000.

I don't have JVC HD demo tapes bundled with JVC DH30000 US version.

Of Course, JVC DH35000 can play back Japanese BS digital tape very well and record . No problem at all for BS Digital handling

Summary:

It is better than JVC DH30000.
And It has built in AAC5.1 decoder for Japanese BS digital tapes.
( it means you don't have to buy external AAC decoder)
Jaehong Lee is offline  
Old 12-24-2001, 04:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I can confirm that the downres (not downconvert, the output is still 1080i but blurry) "feature" is fixed. I have a tape which always plays soft with the 30000 unless activated with a BS tape before, and which never plays soft on the 35000.

I did not notice any picture improvement though on my D-ILA projector compared to the 30000.

Li On:

Could you please translate the output legends of the AAC decoder?

Assuming the back is seen like that:

O O

O O

O O

O O


It would be nice to know which channel is on what cinch!

Thank you in advance.

Robert
robena is online now  
Old 12-24-2001, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cost of this unit is?

And what is this AAC5.1 compared to the US 5.1? Can this output hook up to our decoders here or what does one have to do?

Any way someone can get this unit for Richard to look at? If the down res issue is fixed and it works with the dst50 as reported, seems like it could then work with the 169 product? Seems like the Japan units may have less copy protect junk in them compared to the US decks?

Dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 12-24-2001, 07:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Dave,

AAC is a different codec than AC3, reported as being more musical, but incompatible with AC3 decoders. The difference is the same as between DTS and AC3: another different way to make 5.1. Note that I personally believe that DTS is inferior to AC3, but that's another story...

This means that you cannot decode the digital AAC flux with most (all?) US receivers.

If your receiver has an analog 6 channels input, you can hook it to the internal 35000 AAC analog outputs, but then you rely on its quality rather on the quality of your own decoder.

Robert
robena is online now  
Old 01-01-2002, 03:51 PM
Member
 
John Cesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Agoura Hills, California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am very glad that I have just found and joined this forum.
I am an electronic engineering not involved with
HDTV video, and I am ready to buy an HDTV VCR.

I have a good quote ($1100) for the JVC 30000
but still had some doubts. After reading your post I am
reconsidering buy it right away.

I have an 80" Proscan rear projector (non HDTV),
3 Sony SAT HD-1000 HDTV receivers & several S-VHS VCRs
such as Panasonic AG-1980,
excellent audio w/Denon AVR-5700, etc.

I live in the Malibu mountains north of Los Angeles
and receive TV through DirecTV and local cable.
OTA reception seems impossible.

My concerns are:

Is there any way to record HDTV with my Sony HDTV
receivers (which do not have firewire connections)
and the JVC 30000?
I heard rumours that there is a fix for that.

If not, what HDTV tuner is recommended?

Even if HDTV recording was not possible, I would
buy a HDTV VCR to record standard TV onto digital tapes.
Does the JVC feature optical input to allow Dolby
Digital recording?

Can I record pay-per-view events, HBO movies, etc,
or is there any automatic copyright protection feature?

Is the "soft picture" problem being mentioned
present on the US model?
If not, is it worth waiting for the HM-DH35000?
When will the new model hit the US market?

I will appreciate your feedback and comments.
Happy New Year to everybody.

John Cesar
John Cesar is offline  
Old 01-01-2002, 04:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bb1987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Be careful with the US model 30000u. I had one and had to return it to ecost because it would freeze the image every 20-30 minutes for about 2 seconds and then continue. Other users have posted that they had the same problem so it appears to be a firmware issue.

I wouldn't get one until this problem is solved.

Bernhard
bb1987 is offline  
Old 01-01-2002, 10:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
There is no DD optical input, only output.

The only way to record DD is to record the compleat ATSC stream with the firewire input.

Robert
robena is online now  
Old 01-02-2002, 02:21 PM
Member
 
John Cesar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Agoura Hills, California
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to Robert and Bernhard.
Seems like I should wait for the DH35000 to become available in the US, although I'm wandering if JVC could have corrected the problem in the newest DH30000 units during production.
I'll try to find out, and I'm also waiting for Li On opinion.


Thanks again
John Cesar
John Cesar is offline  
Old 01-02-2002, 10:52 PM
Member
 
dvduser8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Singapore
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Kwon,

will you be able to get prerecorded D-VHS tapes from Japan like the NHK Red&White Song festival? If it is not available commercially, it would be a good business to start. I've yet to see anyone selling D-VHS HDTV prerecorded programs and I think there is a demand for it. Any volunteers?

DVDUSER8
dvduser8 is offline  
Old 01-03-2002, 06:21 PM
Member
 
dvduser8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Singapore
Posts: 81
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Kwon,

my apologies for not making this clear. I'm not referring to selling D-VHS tapes that you've recorded yourself but D-VHS Pre-recorded tapes that is approved and mass produced with NHK approval. e.g. Video tapes that is mass produced and available in Amazon.com.

I feel like writing to NHK and ask them to start selling some of their good HDTV programs in D-VHS tapes commercially because I'm sure there is good demand for them. D-VHS VCR owners (especially those with HDTV access) will be eager to get their hands on good D-VHS material that they can show off their equipment. I've seen the Red & White in D-VHS and I'm totally impressed. If some of these good programs are available in DVD, they should be made available in D-VHS also to fully utilise the HDTV signal they've been recorded on.

If anyone know where can I order pre-recorded D-VHS tapes (the ones that is mass produced and sold commercially), please let me know. Thanks.

DVDUSER8
dvduser8 is offline  
Old 01-03-2002, 10:05 PM
Newbie
 
rdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the JVC DH35000 record HD Programs directly from component outs on a stb - specifically the Toshiba DST3000?
rdawg is offline  
Old 01-03-2002, 11:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
tmitchmd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: watsonville,ca
Posts: 926
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
For all you HD recording newbies out there, JinSung Kwon has been the source of most of our imported Japanese DVHS Victor (JVC) 30000s.
He is honest to a fault, completely reliable, fairly priced, and a real peach to do business with.

Highly recommended.

"Dammit Jim, I'm a doctor not an engineer."
tmitchmd is offline  
Old 01-04-2002, 09:53 AM
AVS Special Member
 
h2ofun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: auburn,ca usa
Posts: 3,662
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully 169 will be able to look at a 35000 by the end of the month. This should give data on both the 30000 and 35000.

dave
h2ofun is offline  
Old 01-07-2002, 07:09 AM
Newbie
 
calahan7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anybody know if the DH35000 has on-screen-menu switchable from japanese to arabic (english). I think some of u got the older DH30000 directly from japan...might be the same prob?

CU Calahan
calahan7 is offline  
Old 01-09-2002, 06:19 PM
Newbie
 
awjenni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Illinois
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is the JVC DH35000 DVHS recorder available from Japan and Mr. Kwon a 120V 60hz model (for use in the USA) or is it 220V and 50hz??

Thanks

Al Jennings

Al Jennings
awjenni is offline  
Old 01-09-2002, 08:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
robena's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 1,689
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It's a 100V device, you will need a specific step down transformer. 110V might damage it in the long term.

Robert
robena is online now  
Old 01-10-2002, 10:26 AM
Newbie
 
JS Kwon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Tokyo, Japan
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Is the JVC DH35000 DVHS recorder available from Japan and Mr. Kwon a 120V 60hz model (for use in the USA) or is it 220V and 50hz??

Power supply of DH35000 available only in Japan is 100V,50/60Hz.
You can use it on US voltage for a while.
But as it goes gradually out of order, it might cause trouble in 2-3 years.
I recommend to use down transformer(120v->100v).
JS Kwon is offline  
Old 01-12-2002, 01:15 AM
Advanced Member
 
videohot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Shawnee KS USA & Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am spending a day in Hong Kong the beginning of March. Can anyone tell me if the 3500 is available there as well as, say the new Marantz projector at the same price or lower than in Tokyo?

Ideas where in HK I might physically pick this up/buy them?

Thanks Very Much

Larry

Join Electronic Freedom Foundation
http://www.eff.org/
videohot is offline  
Old 01-12-2002, 09:27 PM
Member
 
W Choi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Korea
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Calahan,

Unfortunately JVC-DH35000 has no english OSD menu.
If you're a user of DH-30000, it's not difficult because menus of both are same mostly.

qO-Op
W Choi is offline  
Old 01-12-2002, 09:36 PM
Member
 
W Choi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Korea
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Larry,

I think there is no DH35000 in Hongkong officially.
JVC DH35000 is originally Japanese domestic gear.
Because HK is not support Japanese BS or ATSC HD, I'm afraid you will not find it. Maybe Li On can answer about it more exact.

Why don't you buy it from JSKwon of Tokyo? He is the best, chep, fast, reliable, kindly ...

qO-Op
W Choi is offline  
Old 01-12-2002, 09:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
videohot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Shawnee KS USA & Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
W Choi

Thanks for the response.

I am going to be in HK anyway and I want to avoid the onerous customs duties when shipping common carrier to South Africa. In my luggage I won't get the "hit".

It's going back to the states in any case, eventually.

Larry

Join Electronic Freedom Foundation
http://www.eff.org/
videohot is offline  
Old 01-13-2002, 09:36 AM
Newbie
 
iVAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Basically there are shops selling 35000 in Hong Kong. The price would not be as cheap as in Japan. It is currently selling at around HKD11,000 which is around US1400. :)
iVAN is offline  
Old 01-13-2002, 12:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
videohot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Shawnee KS USA & Cape Town South Africa
Posts: 860
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by iVAN
Basically there are shops selling 35000 in Hong Kong. The price would not be as cheap as in Japan. It is currently selling at around HKD11,000 which is around US1400. :)
Mind emailing me a few shop names Ivan? Do they typically try to charge more when using a credit card?

Thanks much. Email in profile.

Larry

Join Electronic Freedom Foundation
http://www.eff.org/
videohot is offline  
Old 01-13-2002, 01:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
HughScot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 821
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Having purchased several high dollar pieces of equip. from Navy officers in Japan please make sure you will not have to replace the power suppy or use a converter since Japanese products not intended for sale in the US will not work with 120 volts. Also the manuals I have seen are always in Japanese.

FYI

Hugh Campbell
HughScot is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off