bcdmux.exe to convert HiPix files to DVD MPEG2 files - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 01-07-2002, 10:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey, I've been working on the FlaskMPEG conversion, and I've written a small program to learn how the TS MPEG files are laid out in order to make it a bit easier.

This program is also quite useful. It will automatically convert a sequence of HiPix TS files into one or more MPEG-2 files compatible with any DVD player software (at least Ravisent Cineplayer DVD, PowerDVD only plays the audio) and any encoder (including FlaskMPEG). Even ordinary windows media will play the file, though it chokes on the video.

The program is temporarily available at the following ftp, along with a few example .TS files and their converted MPG versions.

Temporary ftp for "bcdmux.exe": ftp://67.166.245.50/

The goal is still to have a quite background encoder program which automatically converts your HiPix files while you're asleep or at work, and burns them to DVD-R. You just record, and stick a blank DVD-R in the drive, and go to sleep. The next day your DVD is ready.

Right now I haven't found a good way to work around the lack of AC3 support in DivX, which means it's likely that the Microsoft Corona codecs (when they appear) would be better, but they're not out yet.

Now that I thoroughly understand the TS and MPG formats, it's not going to be much longer before my version of Flask will read TS files directly.
bencooley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 01-07-2002, 10:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If anyone can help give me a permanent home for these files, I'd appreciate it. Geocities won't store large files like the sample video, and won't store EXE files either.
bencooley is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 01-07-2002, 11:27 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cineplayer XP 4.0 actually plays the files. Supposedly if you have a Radeon or ATI card, it will play them in real time very nicely. I wouldn't know though. I have a geForce 2 GTS and it's very jerky for me.

If you convert some of your files successfully and play them on your PC could you tell me whether they play well or whether they're jerky, and what your system specs are, and what software you used to play them.
bencooley is offline  
post #4 of 22 Old 01-07-2002, 11:32 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sometimes a broadcaster will send the primary stream on some of the other program id's. This caused me a little bit of trouble just now on one of my recordings. My ABC broadcaster sends its content on id 0x21 and 0x31, unlike NBC which sends its on 0x11.

Primary video will always be 1 (i.e. 0x11, 0x21, 0x31, etc.) and primary audio will always be 4 (i.e. 0x14, 0x24, 0x34, etc.)
bencooley is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 12:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Version 1.0 would not read ABC's TS files since they don't seem to send a 'random access' bit in their adaption header. 1.01 just finds the first start packet in a stream. This may not be an MPEG2 I-Frame, but it doesn't seem to matter.
bencooley is offline  
post #6 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 05:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Trevor L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 612
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how bout making the files viewable in something other than Cineplayer.

No video in any of the programs I tried. It even killed Premier.

Trevor
Trevor L is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 05:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
Desertfox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Posts: 565
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It works fine in WMP8 :)

PS: BCDMUX might also work for WinTV-HD users. Give it a try and post the results !

Jens Wellmann
President
PC DTV Technologies, LLC
Desertfox is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 08:19 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ben -

You can put ac3 into DivX avi files using Nandub or various ac3 versions of Virtualdub. See the guides at www.doom9.net.

I keep ac3 anymore as it was too much work converting to mp3 and I get less sound sync errors, though I still have to manually adjust the beginning of each one. But I thiink the sizes are correct as long as you throw away video data looking for a start code only at the begining of the first source file, not each HiPix segment that you concatenate.

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 09:10 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Trevor,

I'm pretty sure the MPEG file is correct. I've compared them with other DVD files and they seem to be reasonably identical. I may still have the wrong values in some of the fields somewhere.

I think many programs that play MPEG2 just don't expect it to be so large. Several programs (Vidomi for one) just choke on the size of the video window.

Anyhow.. if you have another sample MPEG2 file which works in Premiere that is the same HD resolution, I can compare them and fix them.
bencooley is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 09:31 AM
Member
 
Scott A. Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, this utility gets a couple things to work
that I could not run before.

Still working on sound sync issues.
Scott A. Moore is offline  
post #11 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 09:38 AM
Member
 
Scott A. Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Might I ask, are you working with a modified
verion of flask ? I tried it again just now, it
just says "out of range" on HDTV output frame
sizes (1280x720).
Scott A. Moore is offline  
post #12 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 09:40 AM
Member
 
Scott A. Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: San Jose
Posts: 140
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bencooley
If anyone can help give me a permanent home for these files, I'd appreciate it. Geocities won't store large files like the sample video, and won't store EXE files either.
Yes, I can help you with that. Do you want a web
page to go with it ?
Scott A. Moore is offline  
post #13 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 10:45 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Scott,

Yeah, I'll talk to you when I get home tonight. I had some sample clips associated with the file, but I had to drop them because of the bandwidth.

FlaskMPEG just doesn't handle anything > 992 as far as I can tell. I recompiled it to take out that limit, and that seemed to work ok, but since I'm using VS7 beta instead of the intel compiler, other bugs crop up.

Vidomi seems to be able to nicely compress 720p at a reasonable rate, but it chokes on 1080i. I have the source for that too, and it may be easier to fix that first than to fix flask, since there seems to be so many bugs in my version. (I happen to like Vidomi's interface more too).

Putting direct .TS file support in to either doesn't seem to be a major problem now that I know what I'm doing though.
bencooley is offline  
post #14 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 12:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Phloyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Posts: 2,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by bencooley
Trevor,
Anyhow.. if you have another sample MPEG2 file which works in Premiere that is the same HD resolution, I can compare them and fix them.
As I understand it, Premiere is not guaranteed/designed to work with MPEG2. I have seen it work some of the time and not others...

Cheers!
DAve.
Phloyd is offline  
post #15 of 22 Old 01-08-2002, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, VOB style DVD mpeg2 streams aren't exactly standard I think. The private data streams for the cel id's and the 0xBD stream for the AC3 audio may not be processed correctly by some MPEG2 decoders.

Can anyone with a fast PC post whether they are getting any of the files to play full speed in any DVD players?

Anyone interested in an automatic .IFL file creator as part of the program as well. I believe most DVD players have a 1GB limit on the video they play.
bencooley is offline  
post #16 of 22 Old 01-12-2002, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may be off but is there any IFL file creator that can make running ripped DVD vob files seamlessly?
jacmyoung is offline  
post #17 of 22 Old 01-12-2002, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not that I know of.
bencooley is offline  
post #18 of 22 Old 01-13-2002, 07:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the quality after conversion? I assume it will be 480p instead of HD. I have AccessDTV, my guess is the coversion is out of question because of the encription scheme.

Getting back to the original question I had, is it possible to develop a program for my purpose. I like to record only the necessary vob files, possibly even remove excess andio streams from the default vob file to save disk space, but still able to play them back seamlessly.

I'd be willing to pay for such program if it exists.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #19 of 22 Old 01-13-2002, 11:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ragedogg69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 3,122
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone have a small clip of what the end product looks like? I'm really interested in how it would look. Size of the file doesn't matter because I have Broadband.:)
Thanx!

My DVD Collection
GO CHIEFS, WILDCATS, SUNS, DIAMONDBACKS, COYOTES, RATTLERS, AND LUMBERJACKS!
"Asking if an HDTV is too big, is like me asking you if the diamond on your wedding ring is too big." -- My dad's response to my mom's question about my 65" HDTV.
ragedogg69 is offline  
post #20 of 22 Old 01-13-2002, 11:50 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
bencooley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Chandler, AZ, USA
Posts: 225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The conversion just reformats the 720p and 1080i files into a DVD player compatible MPEG2 stream. The original size and AC3 audio of the source files is unchanged, as is the quality.

The file size is somewhat smaller as subprograms and empty data packets from the broadcaster are discarded by the conversion. For 1080i, you get about 95% of the size. For abc, which seems to compress their video a lot, you get about 50% of the original size.

The new version of the program HDTVtoMPEG2 is now on the site, and has a nice friendly windows interface.
bencooley is offline  
post #21 of 22 Old 01-13-2002, 06:40 PM
PVR
 
PVR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 3,761
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ABC is lower datarate because they are
broadcasting 720p (instead of 1080i) which
still looks acceptable even with a lower
datarate.
PVR is offline  
post #22 of 22 Old 01-13-2002, 06:52 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Moving to HDTV Recording.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Closed Thread HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off