Comcast DVR box and external harddrive question... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-20-2008, 04:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dropgems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1. Can I hook up an external harddrive to my comcast dvr box?

2. If so, is there any way to transfer what I've recorded onto the external harddrive?

Thanks.
dropgems is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 09-20-2008, 04:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
MozartMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Motown/HockeyTown
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dropgems View Post

1. Can I hook up an external harddrive to my comcast dvr box?

Yes, you can, if you external hard drive located inside PC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dropgems View Post

2. If so, is there any way to transfer what I've recorded onto the external harddrive?

Thanks.

Yes, there is way to transfer recordings. You can do it if you read this guide:

http://home.comcast.net/~exdeus/stbfirewire/
MozartMan is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-24-2008, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dropgems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reponse.

So you would have to hook up a pc to the comcast box? I only have a mac btw. I was hoping to just buy a 1 terabyte external and somehow make it work. A few months ago on here, I was told that it couldn't be done though.
dropgems is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 09-25-2008, 08:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 266
Just to clarify here, this has been asked many times before. You can hookup an external HD to the Comcast DVR, but the box won't recognize or do anything with it because the eSata and USB ports are disabled.

So the only way to transfer recordings off (without lossy conversion) is to use firewire to a PC or an old DVHS recorder. You can also buy a Hauppauge HD-PVR device to record from the component outputs at some small loss in conversion, but I think that is for XP and Linux PCs only.

You'll be wanting to check out this thread for info on how to do firewire with a Mac.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 09-30-2008, 12:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dropgems's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So let me better understand how this works... Do I need to keep my computer next to my tv (along with an external HD) when I wanna watch a movie?

And when I watch the movie, am I going to be using my comcast remote or controlling it from my computer?

My ideal situation is to not have to delete movies that I record on my comcast dvr, I like the menu, quality and everything, it just doesn't have enough space.

I don't know if I wanna pursue this if I'm basically just watching a compressed movie and controlling it from my computer. Can someone please elaborate on this. Thx in advance.
dropgems is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 10-01-2008, 09:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 266
You need to do a lot of reading in the HTPC forum, because your questions have been asked many times.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 01-29-2009, 01:48 AM
Newbie
 
doom32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i know what ur talking about i have wondered the same thing. but the only way i know how to do it is the hard drive in the box is hooked up with the same connections as a desktop computer so if u take it out hook up to computer u can acess anything u want that is on the drive. but i havent figured out how to turn the usb ports on yet but working on it.
doom32 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 01-29-2009, 08:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
demonfoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,272
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Considering the video streams on the drive are encrypted, and the drive doesn't use a "standard" filesystem, pulling that drive out of there won't get you access to *anything*. Also, you can't "turn on" the USB ports. They don't do anything, and that is controlled by the firmware running on the box.
demonfoo is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-05-2014, 03:57 PM
Newbie
 
Angrabett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Here something I found regarding external storage on a  comcast dvr, it was updated this year and was put out by comcast support.

I hope it works for all of you good luck.

 

http://customer.comcast.com/help-and-support/cable-tv/external-dvr-storage/#_COMCAST1__DVR_model

Angrabett is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off