OTA HD DVRs? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 67 Old 12-01-2008, 08:53 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ok, newbie here - be kind!

I have been pulling SD signals OTA for years and have been using a Pioneer stand-alone DVR/DVD-Recorder that I have become thoroughly accustomed to. No monthly fees, no subscriptions, just pure digital recording goodness.

Along came Black Friday, and like many Americans, I stimulated the economy through the purchase of an HDTV. Plugged in my OTA antenna and got seven to eight channels of 46" HD goodness - enough to keep my family happy. Yet, my DVR remains stuck in SD/NTSC.

So, to my question: I'm looking for an HD/ASTC DVR stand alone unit, so that I can continue to record TV sans subscription service. It seems such units are in short supply these days. I understand there are some older units floating around, and I'm looking for any recommendations.

Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 67 Old 12-01-2008, 09:31 AM
AVS Special Member

Dish DTVPal DVR

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=972197

Rocky
post #3 of 67 Old 12-01-2008, 09:32 AM

Liked: 11
And for completeness...

TiVo HD

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=879469

Those are the only two mass-market options currently in production for sale to the general public in the United States.
post #4 of 67 Old 12-01-2008, 09:54 AM
AVS Special Member

In addition to the options above, you could find the discontinued Sony DHG-HDD250 (or HDD500) or the LG-3410A from eBay or Craigslist.

Both units can record ATSC signals and have 8-day guides via TVGOS (TV Guide On Screen). The limitation is that they are only single-tuner devices and there are concerns as to how well they'll work after 2/09.

But if you're somewhat tech-savvy and willing to fiddle, these devices could be an option.