Moxi HD DVR - Page 177 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 5Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #5281 of 6292 Old 12-27-2011, 01:50 PM
Member
 
flyer57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, it finally happened to me. Both drives in my two 3-tuner MOXI's failed. One would not even four finger press resurrect! I put a Hitachi Deskstar 3.5 Inch 3 TB CoolSpin SATA 6Gb/s drive into each of them given the success of a previous poster and successfully 4FP'ed them. They are working better than the original! No glitches or lag so far. Quieter than the original and I am not connecting external drives to improve storage.

I don't know what will happen if the server that allows the 4FP reload of the software is discontinued. Guess I'll have several expensive paperweights. However, for now I am still loving my whole house distributed video system and hopeful these drives will prove more robust than the standard OEMs.

I would never send a Moxi back for a drive change. Cheaper and easier to do yourself! Thank goodness someone found the 4 finger key press!!!

Flyer57
Scottsdale, AZ
flyer57 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #5282 of 6292 Old 12-27-2011, 01:59 PM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyer57 View Post

Well, it finally happened to me. Both drives in my two 3-tuner MOXI's failed. One would not even four finger press resurrect! I put a Hitachi Deskstar 3.5 Inch 3 TB CoolSpin SATA 6Gb/s drive into each of them given the success of a previous poster and successfully 4FP'ed them. They are working better than the original! No glitches or lag so far. Quieter than the original and I am not connecting external drives to improve storage.

I don't know what will happen if the server that allows the 4FP reload of the software is discontinued. Guess I'll have several expensive paperweights. However, for now I am still loving my whole house distributed video system and hopeful these drives will prove more robust than the standard OEMs.

I would never send a Moxi back for a drive change. Cheaper and easier to do yourself! Thank goodness someone found the 4 finger key press!!!

Awesome .. do you mind updating the Moxi HD Replacement thread
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1303511
acaoacao is offline  
post #5283 of 6292 Old 12-28-2011, 05:12 PM
Member
 
soldier1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good news. g4l came through. i read a post in the middle of this topic stating g4l froze on him yet it still made a good backup. i then just set the option to shut down pc after cloning and although the monitor went grey @ 57%, the activity light still was telling me it was working and an hour later...the pc shut down. i now have a working backup minus recordings!! im going to play around w/ this some more.
soldier1 is offline  
post #5284 of 6292 Old 12-28-2011, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
midas89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moxi "corp." has read to me the makes and models and dates of the hard drives I have installed, from the logs...and the dates were months apart which means Moxi "corp." keeps logs older than one week.

I had tested various hard drives, including an SSD and a 10,000 RPM server drive and the WD Green Drive (they eventually led to stuttering and reboots).

The Moxi boxes report the make and model numbers of the hard drive in the logs.

From everything reported in this forum, plus my long-term experience possessing 5 separate Moxi boxes, the odds are very high that if one needs warranty repair it will be due to a faulty hard drive. Realizing this, some of us have chosen to void the warranty and do our own hard drive replacement (since it is so easy to do).

And yes, all of us Moxi owners are truly hoping Moxi company never ever eliminates the four-finger-press feature.
midas89 is offline  
post #5285 of 6292 Old 12-28-2011, 09:34 PM
Member
 
soldier1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tru. i dont think it'll go away because the last time my hdd died i called them and they sent me the ffp to try. i tried it both w/ their crappy hdd and then w/ my own...lol
soldier1 is offline  
post #5286 of 6292 Old 12-29-2011, 02:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Some food for thought here.....

If we are not sure how long the 4 finger press will be around, it would be wise to have a couple of backup Moxi drives lying around....

Just get a couple of drives with the sizes you want.. do the 4 finger press and keep it lying around.
acaoacao is offline  
post #5287 of 6292 Old 12-29-2011, 07:32 PM
Member
 
soldier1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
if one were to have a main hdd and a backup hdd. could one do a recovery process on the backup drive and then put the original hdd and have it working as normal?
soldier1 is offline  
post #5288 of 6292 Old 12-29-2011, 07:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes. That is correct. I have two 500gb on standby.
acaoacao is offline  
post #5289 of 6292 Old 12-29-2011, 08:07 PM
Member
 
soldier1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
@acaoacao: cool
soldier1 is offline  
post #5290 of 6292 Old 12-30-2011, 09:19 AM
Member
 
flyer57's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by acaoacao View Post

Some food for thought here.....

If we are not sure how long the 4 finger press will be around, it would be wise to have a couple of backup Moxi drives lying around....

Just get a couple of drives with the sizes you want.. do the 4 finger press and keep it lying around.

So I guess this would permit one (or two) more drive lifespans of MOXI function.....

Flyer57
Scottsdale, AZ
flyer57 is offline  
post #5291 of 6292 Old 12-31-2011, 07:11 AM
Senior Member
 
danno321s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: SE WI USA
Posts: 287
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyer57 View Post

So I guess this would permit one (or two) more drive lifespans of MOXI function.....

How will one know, if the 4-finger function is ended, that swapping a hot drive in after not being used for say one year will work?
danno321s is offline  
post #5292 of 6292 Old 12-31-2011, 11:03 AM
Member
 
soldier1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
we know because it works now. all the hot swappable drive will have to do is d/l guide updates.
soldier1 is offline  
post #5293 of 6292 Old 01-03-2012, 02:46 PM
Newbie
 
akuma94080's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello Guys,

I have a question! Is Moxi out of business? I tried to buy a Moxi for the past 4 months and even try the website but no luck! Are they out of business?

Help Please.

Hector
akuma94080 is offline  
post #5294 of 6292 Old 01-03-2012, 04:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Bryan_CoxPHX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by akuma94080 View Post

Hello Guys,

I have a question! Is Moxi out of business? I tried to buy a Moxi for the past 4 months and even try the website but no luck! Are they out of business?

Help Please.

Hector

If you really, really want a Moxi and Mate place your bid, I personally would not, It does appear the Retail Moxi is dead, and has been on life support for over a year.

Moxi 3 Tuner High Definition DVR - 2 Room Bundle (NEW)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Moxi-3-Tuner...-/300644295676

TiVo Roamio Pro, Premiere XL4, Premiere 2TB-WD20EURS, TiVo Mini
Win7 WMC SiliconDust HDHomeRun Prime, Cisco Tuning Adapter Status Troubleshooting
Bryan_CoxPHX is online now  
post #5295 of 6292 Old 01-04-2012, 06:25 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: In the ATL
Posts: 4,223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 178
Arris (the owner of Moxi) is not out of business, but they are out of Moxis and won't be selling any more. They are in the cable industry business, not retail.

I would be very hesitant to buy a used Moxi at this point, who knows how long they'll keep the guide data around.
slowbiscuit is offline  
post #5296 of 6292 Old 01-05-2012, 03:21 PM
Member
 
dronning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lakeville, MN USA
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by soldier1 View Post

well i received my mtr700 back in feb of this year and it has 1.37. i dont think you have a thing to worry about.

Just got 2 new TA's with 1.27 and I can't seem to get Charter Customer techsupport to understand they need to update the firmware.
dronning is offline  
post #5297 of 6292 Old 01-06-2012, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bryan_CoxPHX View Post

If you really, really want a Moxi and Mate place your bid, I personally would not, It does appear the Retail Moxi is dead, and has been on life support for over a year.

Moxi 3 Tuner High Definition DVR - 2 Room Bundle (NEW)
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Moxi-3-Tuner...-/300644295676

My god that went for way more than it used to cost brand new. It's not like these are some kind of antiques that will appreciate with time.
almostinsane is offline  
post #5298 of 6292 Old 01-06-2012, 04:07 PM
Member
 
dronning's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lakeville, MN USA
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by almostinsane View Post

My god that went for way more than it used to cost brand new. It's not like these are some kind of antiques that will appreciate with time.

Maybe people still believe they are the best system around!
dronning is offline  
post #5299 of 6292 Old 01-06-2012, 04:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dronning View Post

Maybe people still believe they are the best system around!

supply and demand

no supply... and a surprising demand.


I still like my Moxi.... just schedule and it records... but when it dies... HTPC win 7 media center time
acaoacao is offline  
post #5300 of 6292 Old 01-06-2012, 07:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BTW.. hopefully you guys caught the news... the next XBOX may have DVR functions. It would be nice if it happens... I know many were hoping for Googe or Apple out with a DVR. .. but I would be happy with a microsoft DVR.. a nice extension of Windows 7 media center


http://www.itworld.com/personal-tech...nts-and-tv-too
acaoacao is offline  
post #5301 of 6292 Old 01-07-2012, 02:51 AM
Member
 
soldier1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dronning View Post

Just got 2 new TA's with 1.27 and I can't seem to get Charter Customer techsupport to understand they need to update the firmware.

try charter direct forums. its free to sign up and they were very helpful to me when i needed f/w update for internet modem. https://secure.dslreports.com/forum/charterdirect.
soldier1 is offline  
post #5302 of 6292 Old 01-09-2012, 06:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Operon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Demand DisplayPort. Kill HDMI!
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by acaoacao View Post

BTW.. hopefully you guys caught the news... the next XBOX may have DVR functions. It would be nice if it happens... I know many were hoping for Googe or Apple out with a DVR. .. but I would be happy with a microsoft DVR.. a nice extension of Windows 7 media center


http://www.itworld.com/personal-tech...nts-and-tv-too

Yeah, but its that damn streaming functionality that makes that the Moxi so sweet.
Operon is offline  
post #5303 of 6292 Old 01-09-2012, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Operon View Post

Yeah, but its that damn streaming functionality that makes that the Moxi so sweet.

I think Windows 7 Media Center can allow you to do streaming using XBOX 360..


plus.. I think Tivo is going to announce a streaming solution as well... you just have to pony up for three Tivo Lifetime Premere subscriptions.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/05/t...treaming-more/
acaoacao is offline  
post #5304 of 6292 Old 01-09-2012, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Operon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Demand DisplayPort. Kill HDMI!
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by acaoacao View Post

I think Windows 7 Media Center can allow you to do streaming using XBOX 360..


plus.. I think Tivo is going to announce a streaming solution as well... you just have to pony up for three Tivo Lifetime Premere subscriptions.

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/05/t...treaming-more/

In addition, Dish has just announced its "Hopper/Joey" STB system. Clearly, their Moxi/Mate take on the video streaming paradigm. It seems that there's still a great deal of interest vis-a-vie consumer products that are put into the marketplace albeit at a trickle which convinces me that Moxi's approach to time shifting/distribution of broadcast video media is still a viable business model.

(from Dish's press release)
The main Hopper unit features:
Three satellite TV tuners
A two-terabyte hard drive for up to 2,000 hours of video entertainment
Up to 250 hours of HD or up to 1,000 hours of SD user recordings
Bluetooth for linking to devices such as wireless headphones
Picture-in-picture for watching any two channels simultaneously
Operon is offline  
post #5305 of 6292 Old 01-09-2012, 06:56 PM
Member
 
todd_j_derr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Moxi's master/slave solution is still great - it's really the main reason I bought it.

Tivo is also releasing a Mate-type box (Preview) although it's unclear whether it will ever make it to retail, much less what the pricing will be.
todd_j_derr is offline  
post #5306 of 6292 Old 01-10-2012, 12:51 PM
Member
 
Shay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Dallas, TX USA
Posts: 79
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by todd_j_derr View Post

Moxi's master/slave solution is still great - it's really the main reason I bought it.

Me too. The 3 room bundle was 1000. It has a 30 month payback period when compared to the FIOS solution plus I got more space (at the time of purchase). I hope that the guide service is available and the setup will last a longtime assuming I can replace the hard drive.
Shay is offline  
post #5307 of 6292 Old 01-10-2012, 07:07 PM
QuadMersed in bass!
 
giomania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Chicago, Illinois
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Check this out:

http://www.engadget.com/2012/01/10/c...nder-hands-on/

It uses Win7 embedded, 6 tuners, and extenders. No word on price, but hopefully cheaper than the comparable Moxi bundles were. I just bought a 2TB hard drive to install in my 3-tuner Moxi; maybe I will wait to see when this Ceton product might ship.

Mark
giomania is offline  
post #5308 of 6292 Old 01-10-2012, 07:23 PM
Member
 
todd_j_derr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Posts: 144
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was just going to post the same link. That does look impressive.
todd_j_derr is offline  
post #5309 of 6292 Old 01-10-2012, 07:47 PM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow. If Centon can pull it off that would be great. It might be every thing I want in a dvr!
acaoacao is offline  
post #5310 of 6292 Old 01-10-2012, 07:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
acaoacao's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Man... I re-read the article again and I am drooling over it. if centon price this at 499 and extenders at 99 it will take over the dvr market
acaoacao is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off