Moxi HD DVR - Page 238 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 89Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7111 of 7118 Old 05-09-2017, 09:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 14,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2203
Quote:
Originally Posted by SI67 View Post
..."Unavailable" for Home Network Connection and Internet Connection status other than a hardware problem with Moxi, which of course would be the end of the line for the device?

I know the ethernet cable and the router port are good--just tested my laptop with the very port and cable I'm using for Moxi. Of course I've tried "Refresh Connection" to no avail. And powering Moxi down and back up. So is there anything else I can try?
Did you check the network port of the Moxi? Go into your router and check to see if the unit is detected. If it is then you may need to go into your router and try opening some ports in case some kind of ISP/Moxi network issue has appeared recently.

Or just disconnect and reboot everything. Router, Moxi, modem and any other networking device along the chain.


VisionOn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7112 of 7118 Old 05-09-2017, 09:58 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manojit View Post
Recently purchased a used 3T Moxi and was able to register it on Moxi.com. Cable card from Spectrum and all channels worked like a charm
This is really good to know that the Moxi servers are not completely shut down.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
post #7113 of 7118 Old 05-09-2017, 10:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
dmusoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Bridgeport, CT
Posts: 2,872
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 333 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Quote:
Originally Posted by SI67 View Post
I'm not sure I understand. The operating system runs, and the previously recorded programs can be played back. Given that info, does reformatting or replacing the drive seem like a possible solution?
The suggestion was based on my prior experience when I had tuning problems. A complete disk wipe or replacement fixed the problem. Of course, this is the last resort after you've tried everything else.

How to phase match subwoofers to the mains speakers: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...0#post19542630
dmusoke is offline  
 
post #7114 of 7118 Old 05-09-2017, 11:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
Jed1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Frackville, PA
Posts: 948
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 59
[quote=SI67;52819137]
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeeJay1952 View Post
You may be running into the Mpeg2 vs 4 controversy.[/QUOT


Several channels had become audio-only on my Moxi, which I understand to be the MPEG4 issue, but in March of 2017, my Moxi on Comcast in Sunnyvale, CA (SF Bay Area) lost all ability to record or show programs. I get "No Signal Detected" on all channels. Can this this be the MPEG4 issue? Has Comcast in the Bay Area gone to MPEG4 across the board? Even if they have, wouldn't I still get audio, instead of "No signal detected?"

Also, it looks like my Moxi's internet connection isn't working. But even without the internet connection (and therefore no schedule information), shouldn't I still be able to watch the currently airing program on any given (non-MPEG4) channel?

I know that Moxi is orphaned and unsupported, and that if it has suffered any hardware failure, it's a doorstop, but I had hoped that day had not yet arrived.

You are correct that all the channels on your system has been converted as this is being reported on the TiVo forum.
http://www.tivocommunity.com/communi...#post-11206620
I think that day you regret has already arrived since there is only the local broadcast channels left in HD. It has been reported that Comcast's next step is moving to an all IP delivery system and you will need one of their gateway devices like the X1 to view any video at all. At this point even the TiVo's are finished so it is best if you just let go as anything you do now is equivalent to banging your head off of a wall.

"You lose it in here you're in a world of hurt"
Jed1 is offline  
post #7115 of 7118 Old 05-09-2017, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
 
sslund's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manojit View Post
Hope the following experiences help others:
HDD cloning works great with StarTech SATDOCK. This is available easily and is hardware based and does not care about disk format. Works for internal and external Moxi HDDs. I have tried with 500 GB internal, 2 TB internal and 4 TB external Moxi HHDs with success.
Have cloned an old 500 GB internal Moxi (possibly failing due to continuous reboot and failure to start up) to a new one (both Seagate Pipeline), works good, but getting Moxi freeze-ups and reboots about once a week; not sure if the problem is with Moxi or HDD. Can anyone comment, please?
Have cloned an old 2 TB internal Seagate (failed, because unable to start up) to a 2 TB internal Samsung, replaced (in a 3T Moxi) and it is working like a charm for over a month; not one restart or reboot. Created another clone on a 2 TB Seagate and installed it on a different Moxi (3T) and it would not start; possibly HD system is locked to Moxi SN? Anyone help with this?
Connected an external HDD (4 TB) from one Moxi 3T to a second Moxi 3T and it showed up "blank"; connected it to the first Moxi and it had all the recordings on it.
All clones were done using Startech SATDOCK.
Yeah, internal & external HDDs are tied to a particular Moxi somehow. I don't recall anyone ever figuring out the mechanism? IIRC, there was discussion that perhaps the link was on somehow on the motherboard or perhaps a ROM flash chip or something? LOL -- the technical discussion was clearly over my head.

Good to know about the StarTech SATDOCK! Do you remember how long the Moxi drive cloning took? I've had great luck using G4L & was incredibly happy the speed (with my particular computer hardware -- others have seen much slower speeds), but finding time to crack the case & be without my workhorse is very difficult for me.

What external HDD enclosure are you using with your Moxi? I was/am using really old StarTech enclosures that are no longer available. I accidentally broke one enclosure back in August or so & have been down one external HDD since then because I didn't know what to replace it with. I was using an external docking station with no drive in the Moxi for a time (I was trying to get everything watched from a problematic internal drive & swapping between a new drive to record new stuff), but the docking station doesn't have a fan which worried me for hooking it up as an external enclosure for long term use.
sslund is offline  
post #7116 of 7118 Old 05-10-2017, 02:05 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by sslund View Post
Yeah, internal & external HDDs are tied to a particular Moxi somehow. I don't recall anyone ever figuring out the mechanism? IIRC, there was discussion that perhaps the link was on somehow on the motherboard or perhaps a ROM flash chip or something? LOL -- the technical discussion was clearly over my head.

Good to know about the StarTech SATDOCK! Do you remember how long the Moxi drive cloning took? I've had great luck using G4L & was incredibly happy the speed (with my particular computer hardware -- others have seen much slower speeds), but finding time to crack the case & be without my workhorse is very difficult for me.

What external HDD enclosure are you using with your Moxi? I was/am using really old StarTech enclosures that are no longer available. I accidentally broke one enclosure back in August or so & have been down one external HDD since then because I didn't know what to replace it with. I was using an external docking station with no drive in the Moxi for a time (I was trying to get everything watched from a problematic internal drive & swapping between a new drive to record new stuff), but the docking station doesn't have a fan which worried me for hooking it up as an external enclosure for long term use.
Cloning using SATDOCK took approx 1.5-2 hours for 500 GB and approx 3-4 hours for 2 TB.
External drive cages were generic with the proper cable connections for Moxi; make sure they work for a 4 TB drive and are quiet.
Manojit is offline  
post #7117 of 7118 Old Today, 01:37 PM
Senior Member
 
marcInNH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Southern NH
Posts: 211
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I'm a Comcast customer who has now finally been bitten by the MPEG4 conversion in my area. It was a good ride with these consumer Moxi devices while it lasted. I am debating whether to sell my Moxi 3 tuner DVR and 2 Moxi Mates or to just keep them for posterity and possibly some future version of Antiques Roadshow 20 years down the road. Anyone who can use them interested in making an offer for the package of three devices? The 3 tuner DVR has a Western Digital Purple 2GB internal drive that has proven to work very well...
marcInNH is offline  
post #7118 of 7118 Old Today, 08:38 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
VisionOn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Carrboro, NC
Posts: 14,288
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 2203
I would never have imagined a few years ago that Comcast would screw Moxi users before the system stopped working. But here we are.


VisionOn is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off