Question about Panasonic PV-HD1000 Digital VCR - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2002, 12:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi, I am new to HDTV and any help will be appreciated. With the help of a friend, I think I can get my hands on a Panasonic PV-HD1000 Digital VCR and a TU-DST51 Digital TV decoder. I am in the process of building my first HT and I think I will get DishTV for HD programs. I would like to know I if can record HDTV programs off the dish with the above set up. Do I need anything else? Is it possible at all? TIA.

Eric
Eric_1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-21-2002, 05:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
DSperber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA, USA
Posts: 5,455
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 119
If you want to record with the DST51 and PV-HD1000, you'll need
to also acquire (1) a Dish 5000 reciever, and (2) a Dish HDTV
Modulator.

See another thread in this group for more details:

Dish 5000 vs. 6000

The DST51 and PV-HD1000 can be used separately to record
DTV/HDTV from off-air local channel input (from your roof antenna)
but to record from Dish-HD you'll need the above equipment.
DSperber is online now  
Old 01-21-2002, 11:24 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Eric_1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Francisco
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info. However, I will be subscribing to DirectTV instead of DishTV. Will the setup you described work with DirectTV too?
Eric_1 is offline  
Old 01-21-2002, 11:38 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Moving to HDTV Recording.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 01-21-2002, 11:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
To answer the question, no, there is no way to record digital DirecTV HDTV.

Some members have the Dish 5000 w/HD Modulator that is set up for ExpressVu, a Canadian DBS company. When EVU has HDNet programming from DirecTV, it can be recorded that way. Unfortunately, this has been problematic due to a non-standard HDTV signal that EVU uses for the HDNet re-transmission.

There are also the W-VHS units from JVC. They record the analog HDTV signal and analog l/r stereo audio.

For more info, see recent topics here in HDTV Recording.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Old 01-21-2002, 11:20 PM
Member
 
Techsa1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Boston, MA USA
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
"Some members have the Dish 5000 w/HD Modulator that is set up for ExpressVu, a Canadian DBS company. When EVU has HDNet programming from DirecTV, it can be recorded that way. Unfortunately, this has been problematic due to a non-standard HDTV signal that EVU uses for the HDNet re-transmission."

Ken,

Can you please elaborate on how a 5000 can be setup for EVU. Also, is it working or is it touch and go due to non-standard issues depending on what is being broadcast?

Thanks,
David
Techsa1 is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off