The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 608 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 48Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18211 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 11:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,564
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 147
Quote:
Originally Posted by WillN937 View Post
The question is: what would be the market if some clever person could build a little box, maybe with a Raspberry Pi or something that could interface with the internet and create a TVGOS like signal that would revitalize all our DVRs? Beyond my skill set but I believe it is doable, don't know if it would be cost effective.
Personally I'd love it. But this was discussed back when Rovi first dropped OTA TVGOS, and IIRC the consensus was that it wasn't practical for a couple of reasons.

First, Rovi's TVGOS metadata packets were encrypted and proprietary, and I don't think anyone ever successfully reverse-engineered their protocol. So you'd need Rovi to release the documentation for it. It's unlikely they'd ever do that since they probably still use some of the same techniques to protect their current Internet-based offerings. You'd probably have better luck stripping each station's PSIP and replacing it with your own expanded version than you would trying to recreate Rovi's OTA TVGOS!

But even then, you'd need to create an ATSC RF signal to get the data into the Pal. That would require an 8VSB modulator (like TV stations use), and those aren't cheap. (Digital QAM modulators are available for a few hundred $$, but unfortunately the Pal can't demodulate QAM.)
phildaant likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18212 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 12:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Angry

Quote:
(Digital QAM modulators are available for a few hundred $$, but unfortunately the Pal can't demodulate QAM.)
And QAM is going away from cable companies. Thanks FCC.
phildaant is offline  
post #18213 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 01:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Personally I'd love it. But this was discussed back when Rovi first dropped OTA TVGOS, and IIRC the consensus was that it wasn't practical for a couple of reasons.

First, Rovi's TVGOS metadata packets were encrypted and proprietary, and I don't think anyone ever successfully reverse-engineered their protocol. So you'd need Rovi to release the documentation for it. It's unlikely they'd ever do that since they probably still use some of the same techniques to protect their current Internet-based offerings. You'd probably have better luck stripping each station's PSIP and replacing it with your own expanded version than you would trying to recreate Rovi's OTA TVGOS!

But even then, you'd need to create an ATSC RF signal to get the data into the Pal. That would require an 8VSB modulator (like TV stations use), and those aren't cheap. (Digital QAM modulators are available for a few hundred $$, but unfortunately the Pal can't demodulate QAM.)
It just come to my mind - man! how many 8VSB transmitters I must feed by captured from Internet EPG ? It must be done for each station on your market, as the TR-50 scanning each registered freq for PSIP and ROVI (if you set it that way)!
There is no such practical solution for owners of TR-50, but adding the feature into its FW.
JHBrandt likes this.
P Smith is online now  
post #18214 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathAdder666 View Post
Hi, new to the forums, I have the freezing issue and luckily a degree in electronics (I'm old school, eh) so I think I'll poke around inside to get it working again. I got mine from the pre-order days and I swapped out the drive within the first year or two. Right now, it has the WD "green" (can't remember the model number) 1TB drive in it. Works perfectly.

I was debating an "upgrade" to the ChannelMaster DVR+ plus device, but at $250 for the device and then another $100 (average) for the external drive, you are looking at a $350 investment.

So my question, would anyone here buy the DTVPal that I have for $250? The original cost of the device + the added bonus of the 1TB drive upgrade? If I fix the freezing issues first, of course.
If you are lucky (then buy a lotto ticket ! ) then after changing dying HDD it could works w/out "freezing", but I'm doubt if it's the cause.
Seen many such DVRs with the symptom, I'm not that optimistic as before.

Post SMART data of your current WD here, it would be interesting to see if it will report some issue beforehand.
The program is good and will make easy to read TXT report : http://gsmartcontrol.sourceforge.net/home/
phildaant likes this.

Last edited by P Smith; 07-09-2014 at 01:39 PM.
P Smith is online now  
post #18215 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 03:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,448
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
And QAM is going away from cable companies. Thanks FCC.
QAM isn't going away... it's just getting encrypted.
phildaant likes this.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #18216 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
QAM isn't going away... it's just getting encrypted.
Ah. OK, unencrypted QAM is going away.
phildaant is offline  
post #18217 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 06:34 PM
Member
 
Dobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmb1010 View Post


Recently, it just started to stop responding to the remote. Frozen screen, nothing I could to would get it working.
Pull plug, it'd operate for about 3 to 5 minutes, then freeze.
I started having similar problems starting a couple months ago. Up until then it has been rock solid, but all of a sudden I started getting frequent audio dropouts and freeze ups. Sometimes it would freeze up after a few minutes of use (or in some cases even during the channel scan at startup) and sometimes I could get it to go 45 minutes or so before it froze. I've since purchased a DVR+ to replace it (which I prefer over the Pal, but that is besides the point). I would like to see if I can salvage it before I throw it out. Any ideas? I took it apart to look for any bulging capacitors and everything appears normal. I've even set it up in my basement (where it is significantly cooler) and tried running it with the cover off to give it more airflow and it still froze up on me. Any other ideas?
Dobs is offline  
post #18218 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 06:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dobs View Post
.. all of a sudden I started getting frequent audio dropouts and freeze ups. Sometimes it would freeze up after a few minutes of use ... I took it apart to look for any bulging capacitors and everything appears normal.
Capacitors don't necessarily have to be bulging to be bad. A capacitor tester with ESR test would help track down the bad caps on the boards, if that's the problem.

Have you tested it with another HDD?
phildaant likes this.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #18219 of 18223 Old 07-09-2014, 08:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,901
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 125
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dobs View Post
I started having similar problems starting a couple months ago. Up until then it has been rock solid, but all of a sudden I started getting frequent audio dropouts and freeze ups. Sometimes it would freeze up after a few minutes of use (or in some cases even during the channel scan at startup) and sometimes I could get it to go 45 minutes or so before it froze. I've since purchased a DVR+ to replace it (which I prefer over the Pal, but that is besides the point). I would like to see if I can salvage it before I throw it out. Any ideas? I took it apart to look for any bulging capacitors and everything appears normal. I've even set it up in my basement (where it is significantly cooler) and tried running it with the cover off to give it more airflow and it still froze up on me. Any other ideas?
I did share my ideas and my experience here a few times, but seems to me no one bothered to searching and reading, so I'm give up.
P Smith is online now  
post #18220 of 18223 Old Yesterday, 05:42 AM
Member
 
Dobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Capacitors don't necessarily have to be bulging to be bad. A capacitor tester with ESR test would help track down the bad caps on the boards, if that's the problem.

Have you tested it with another HDD?
It still has the original factory harddrive in it. I have tried reformatting it and also did a factory reset on the device itself. I think my next step is to remove the harddrive from the enclosure to see if that helps. At this point I'm just trying to figure out if there is any permanent damage done to the device or not (I am thinking so since it never used to do this and now it is consistently doing it). I don't have any desire to put a lot of time or money in trying to fix it if that is the case. But something simple like removing the harddrive or maybe blowing an external fan into it I could handle. What do you think the odds of that working are?
Dobs is offline  
post #18221 of 18223 Old Yesterday, 09:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,170
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dobs View Post
I started having similar problems starting a couple months ago. Up until then it has been rock solid, but all of a sudden I started getting frequent audio dropouts and freeze ups. Sometimes it would freeze up after a few minutes of use (or in some cases even during the channel scan at startup) and sometimes I could get it to go 45 minutes or so before it froze. I've since purchased a DVR+ to replace it (which I prefer over the Pal, but that is besides the point). I would like to see if I can salvage it before I throw it out. Any ideas? I took it apart to look for any bulging capacitors and everything appears normal. I've even set it up in my basement (where it is significantly cooler) and tried running it with the cover off to give it more airflow and it still froze up on me. Any other ideas?
You should not run it with the cover off for long periods of time.
With the cover off the air from the cooling fan cannot cool the components.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #18222 of 18223 Old Yesterday, 03:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 968
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
I did share my ideas and my experience here a few times, but seems to me no one bothered to searching and reading, so I'm give up.
Maybe you could then suggest some search parameters to help people find your information buried in some 18,000+ posts...
Pete-N2 likes this.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #18223 of 18223 Old Yesterday, 06:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccrider2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Maybe you could then suggest some search parameters to help people find your information buried in some 18,000+ posts...

Try using GOOGLE site search. AVSForum is stuck with the search built into the sw, but using Google is much more powerful.

Chris C
ccrider2 is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off