The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 609 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 55Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18241 of 18247 Old 07-17-2014, 02:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,569
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 150
Anant, unfortunately I believe the answer is no. The TV and VCR buttons are hard-coded for those device types; AFAIK there's no way to program them to control Dish-type devices like the Pals But if anyone knows of a workaround, please post it; I'd be happy to be wrong about this

BTW I just noticed the new forum software interprets "# 1" as a Twitter-style hash tag. You can click on it to search for other "# 1's" Kind of neat, but they probably should have excluded # followed by an actual number from recognition as a hash tag.
phildaant likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18242 of 18247 Old 07-17-2014, 02:38 PM
Member
 
happy2Lurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by bernieoc View Post
A question that has probably been answered - but hard to find.
I have three units each with external hard drive in a their dock.
Can I take a drive from one unit and put it in another unit - and have it think it belongs and access recordings in the normal manner?
Yes, as long as you follow the drive swap steps ...

--- To Swap Drives ---

1. Pal to standby / OFF - then unplug / kill power

2. turn dock - OFF / power down drive - allow for spin-down

3. swap drives

4. turn dock - ON

5. plug Pal in / power on - loading please wait screen, then going into standby screen

6. Power ON Pal with remote / ready for use
--------------------------------------

I messed-up once and the pal reformatted my drive.
happy2Lurk is offline  
post #18243 of 18247 Old 07-17-2014, 03:03 PM
Member
 
happy2Lurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Odd signal/reception ABC - Seattle area

I was flipping between channels today, watching coverage of the downed plane. Around 1pm Pacific Time, ABC was black screen for 10 seconds or more before tuning in. I could see the HDD had no activity (external dock) until just before the picture appeared. Repeated this several times.

I then tried my Mediasonic HomeWorX HW150PVR - it tuned ABC quickly. Tried WMC using SiliconDust HDHomeRun Dual HDHR3-US - would not tune. My TV also would not tune ABC.

Used the, "Hdmomerun Signal Meter," to check signal - normal signal strength/Quality - but no channel or call letters.

Sent an email to the station and problem now corrected.

Not a pal issue but interesting that the cheap Hmwrx had no problem, while the pal tuned eventually - but HDHomeRun QuickTV and WMC would not tune at all.
happy2Lurk is offline  
post #18244 of 18247 Old 07-17-2014, 03:23 PM
Member
 
bernieoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 13
[QUOTE=happy2Lurk;25827361]Yes, as long as you follow the drive swap steps ...

--- To Swap Drives ---
Thanks for that warning
I am thinking of it for the rare times two tuners is limiting - I can have Kitchen or bedroom record the extra tuner show and later move it to main TV.
I see that the CM DVR+ has moved there hard drive back inside the unit - not sure I would prefer it that way. I am thinking being outside has been helping my units long life (I have them from day 1).
bernieoc is online now  
post #18245 of 18247 Old 07-17-2014, 07:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 126
it was inside from beginning of original HDT-610R model ... then US version [K77] came in two flavors: with 750 GB inside and current DVR+ with 16 GB internal NAND storage - did you follow that thread from beginning ?
"moved" ? sorta wishful action ...
P Smith is offline  
post #18246 of 18247 Old 07-19-2014, 07:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 971
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
it was inside from beginning of original HDT-610R model ... then US version [K77] came in two flavors: with 750 GB inside and current DVR+ with 16 GB internal NAND storage - did you follow that thread from beginning ?
"moved" ? sorta wishful action ...
What is a "K77"?
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #18247 of 18247 Old 07-19-2014, 08:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 1,913
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
What is a "K77"?
see appropriate thread [DVR+]
phildaant likes this.
P Smith is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off