The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 617 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 116Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18481 of 18488 Old 10-28-2014, 07:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
OK, that's good evidence it probably is a bad tuner. I guess P Smith could help but shipping to/from Greece is a nightmare.

We need someone with the skills and equipment to desolder and resolder SMC chips. I'm not sure if the tuner chips are BGAs but even if not, I bet they still have a lot of teeny contacts, and anything beyond a simple electrolytic capacitor is beyond my skill set.
Nope, not BGA, but still is not easy to [de]solder because of middle pad (thermo-conductive) and tricky side contacts on all four edges.
P Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18482 of 18488 Old 10-28-2014, 12:26 PM
Member
 
anant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: near Ft. Myers, Florida
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks to Ed_

Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Nope no plug-in. Old ones have to be de-soldered first, and depending on the circuit board can pose a challenge getting the old ones out without damaging the board. Then the new ones get soldered in.
Thanks for the reply. I guess it was too much to hope for.
anant is offline  
post #18483 of 18488 Old 10-28-2014, 09:09 PM
Member
 
Nightingale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thumbs down

After a visit from the DISH Network repair man (that I was unavailable to supervise) he replaced my faulty roof dish (well, the switch that allows 2 tv's to run off of one box). Now my DTV Pal remote works my DISH Network (non-HD box...long story) box and my DISH Network remote works my DTV Pal but all the buttons are not the same. How can I get them back the way they were? Both remotes used to work both boxes.


DISREGARD!!! I found it! YOUTUBE saves my butt again.

Last edited by Nightingale; 10-28-2014 at 09:36 PM.
Nightingale is offline  
post #18484 of 18488 Old Yesterday, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Nope, not BGA, but still is not easy to [de]solder because of middle pad (thermo-conductive) and tricky side contacts on all four edges.
'Quad" flat IC? Easy if you know how and have the equipment. Problem I have is finding a replacement IC. I inquired about this Microtune tuner IC before, came up zero. I gave up.

I've replaced dozens of those quad flat ICs, some with 80-100 pins, especially in JVC VCRs back in the day, was the front VFT display driver IC that failed a lot in those.

Last edited by ed_in_tx; Yesterday at 06:03 AM.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #18485 of 18488 Old Yesterday, 06:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,834
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 162 Post(s)
Liked: 176
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmn1 View Post
In my case the DVR stopped propagating the program guide. I attempted a soft boot with no success. I then tried a factory default but it will not get past the loading program step and does not find any channels even though I know the antenna is working. Unfortunately this has now made the unit unusable. In the past others have speculated this is because the tuner(s) are faulty (see past comments) I tried contacting PSmith but he is not presently repairing these DVRs so I would like to find someone else that can repair/replace the tuner(s).
Sounds like Ed can replace your tuner:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
'Quad" flat IC? Easy if you know how and have the equipment. Problem I have is finding a replacement IC. I inquired about this Microtune tuner IC before, came up zero. I gave up.

I've replaced dozens of those quad flat ICs, some with 80-100 pins, especially in JVC VCRs back in the day, was the front VFT display driver IC that failed a lot in those.
As it happens, I have a dead Pal with presumably good tuner ICs. Maybe we can work a 3-way deal here?
JHBrandt is offline  
post #18486 of 18488 Old Yesterday, 06:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 58
One thing I have never done is remove one of those quad flat ICs and re-use it. You have to get it really hot to get it desoldered and the dab of glue to let go they sometimes used under the IC.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #18487 of 18488 Old Yesterday, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,026
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 133
pay attention to written posts ... the tuner's chip has SOLDERED bottom pad; and the chip has side's contacts for soldering, not legs as you experienced in VHS devices

I would recommend practice before play with TR-50's chips, also use professional tools like Metcal/OKI irons.
P Smith is offline  
post #18488 of 18488 Old Yesterday, 07:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,034
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 39 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
Nope, not BGA, but still is not easy to [de]solder because of middle pad (thermo-conductive) and tricky side contacts on all four edges.
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
pay attention to written posts ... the tuner's chip has SOLDERED bottom pad; and the chip has side's contacts for soldering, not legs as you experienced in VHS devices
Oh, OK. I didn't read that into your first comment. And I don't recall any mechanical details discussed about these ICs. I tried to find a data sheet on it some time back and gave up. That's why I asked.

Microtune was in (correction) Plano TX I guess I could drop by there and ask! (If they were still there). Doing a bit of research seems Zoran Corp. bought the company in 2010.

Last edited by ed_in_tx; Today at 07:41 AM.
ed_in_tx is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off