The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 619 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 137Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #18541 of 18559 Old 11-23-2014, 03:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by kariches View Post
Thank you for responding. It looks like my best choice is to replace it with a CM 7500. Would you agree?
I could try to fix it, but it's your decision ...
phildaant likes this.
P Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18542 of 18559 Old 11-24-2014, 12:34 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Are updates still available for DTVPal units? My unit is a little glitchy and I wonder if an update may help. I've had my unit for several years and never hooked it up to the internet for an update. Thanks
bpeters2 is offline  
post #18543 of 18559 Old 11-24-2014, 12:35 PM
Member
 
falz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, you may download it per the instructions in the first post of this thread. I had mine attempt to auto update from the internet but it kept failing- the USB method worked.
falz is offline  
post #18544 of 18559 Old 11-24-2014, 01:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by bpeters2 View Post
Are updates still available for DTVPal units? My unit is a little glitchy and I wonder if an update may help. I've had my unit for several years and never hooked it up to the internet for an update. Thanks
What version do you have? Mine came with the latest. :/
phildaant is online now  
post #18545 of 18559 Old 11-24-2014, 04:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Press Menu,3,2,3 which should bring up your System Information and 3rd line down will show the version you have.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #18546 of 18559 Old 11-26-2014, 08:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Sys Info key works too....
JHBrandt is online now  
post #18547 of 18559 Old 11-26-2014, 08:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,059
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Sys Info key works too....
Forgot about that. Since I use a Dish 20.1 remote the system info key is the "PIP" key.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #18548 of 18559 Old 11-30-2014, 07:29 AM
Member
 
jdgomoney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
dtvpal dvr Freezing Repair

This thread has been very beneficial to me all the way back to 2009! (5yr pal owner) When I have a question about our ol' pal I come here. So I thought I'd post a problem my unit just recently experienced (it's similar to what others have experienced).

Problem:
Audio & Video freezes randomly and pal becomes unresponsive. Have to pull plug and reboot (don't necessarily have to be using remote to cause freezing). This happened on both hdmi and component outputs, the only difference being that the hdmi screen image would blink (black screen to picture over and over) whereas the component video image would be a still frozen image. This started out happening maybe once a week then every few days then every day until ultimately happening roughly every hour or so (pretty much unwatchable).

Attempted Fixes that Failed:
1.Hard drive reformat
2. Factory settings reset
3. Anything else you could think of that didn't involve disassembly lol!

Proper Repair Made:
After disassembling the pal to free up both circuit boards I found 2 bulging capacitors on the GREEN MAIN BOARD (not power supply). One bad cap was underneath the square shiny metal top (upper rh corner in pic#2) just like someone else in this thread experienced. The other one was a larger size cap close to one of the board edges (pic#1). I was able to find a tv repair man willing to replace the capacitors without guarantee of fixing the unit. I agreed and his charge was only $25!

The pal has been in use for 3 days now running quite a bit for testing and I've experienced no freezing at all, no reboots, nothing. So it's looking like problem is fixed, however, I will report if problems return.

Thanks to this thread/forum (especially hawk69) for posting problems with your own units because I have no electronic experience and wouldn't know where to begin troubleshooting. Without help my dvr would be in the trash and I would be out $250 instead of $25 for a new ota dvr.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1124140844.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	25.9 KB
ID:	393074   Click image for larger version

Name:	1124140818.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	27.5 KB
ID:	393082  
phildaant, golinux and happy2Lurk like this.
jdgomoney is offline  
post #18549 of 18559 Old 11-30-2014, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdgomoney View Post
This thread has been very beneficial to me all the way back to 2009! (5yr pal owner) When I have a question about our ol' pal I come here...
Ditto esp(ecially) when the company stopped caring about this rad(ical) DVR! I still have mine, but it is in storage for future usage (not for sale at this time) when I can get better OTA receptions.
phildaant is online now  
post #18550 of 18559 Old 11-30-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Quote:
Originally Posted by phildaant View Post
Ditto esp(ecially) when the company stopped caring about this rad(ical) DVR! I still have mine, but it is in storage for future usage (not for sale at this time) when I can get better OTA receptions.
Are you moving, or just need a better antenna? I think CM has two of their biggest/best outdoor antennas on sale today, but it may have ended already. If you need an antenna, check their online store to see.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #18551 of 18559 Old 11-30-2014, 02:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Are you moving, or just need a better antenna? I think CM has two of their biggest/best outdoor antennas on sale today, but it may have ended already. If you need an antenna, check their online store to see.
Others and I tried RCA ANT751 and CM4228JD antenna(s/e). Both failed to get all the local stations we want. My family lives in the mountains and the small mountains/giant hills block the transmitters (wrong side).
phildaant is online now  
post #18552 of 18559 Old 11-30-2014, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 1,986
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 240 Post(s)
Liked: 206
Yes that's a tough environment for OTA. Sounds like you need either to move or put in a tower!
phildaant likes this.
JHBrandt is online now  
post #18553 of 18559 Old 11-30-2014, 02:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Yes that's a tough environment for OTA. Sounds like you need either to move or put in a tower!
I wished I didn't have to be evicted to move from my old house that I lived in most of my life. It had a perfect view to most of the transmitters. The owners won't even put the antenna on the roofs. D: In attic doesn't work well. Outside in the front worked OK, but not all channels.
phildaant is online now  
post #18554 of 18559 Old 12-04-2014, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
LenL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randolph, NJ, 725' above sea level, 30 miles west of ESB
Posts: 1,557
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 127
Something interesting happened last nite. I was watching a recroded show from PBS. About halfway through the DTVPAL rebooted. About 30 minutes later is rebooted again. Then when it got to the end and I was watching the credits it would reboot. I would come back to the credits and it would reboot again. I gave up after about 4-5 reboots. I thought the unit was dying. However I then went to another recording of an hour and it never rebooted.


Now the PBS show did have some reception issues and some pixilation and sputtering. So I guess the OTA recording was the problem or perhaps a hard drive issue with some bad sectors?
LenL is offline  
post #18555 of 18559 Old 12-05-2014, 02:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,058
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 83 Post(s)
Liked: 135
looks to me it was OTA signal issues, but to eliminate HDD problems I would run Scan+Remap with taking SMART before/after (by MHDD or Victoria)
P Smith is offline  
post #18556 of 18559 Old 12-06-2014, 01:42 PM
Member
 
Jim in Phoenix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Repair

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdgomoney View Post
This thread has been very beneficial to me all the way back to 2009! (5yr pal owner) When I have a question about our ol' pal I come here. So I thought I'd post a problem my unit just recently experienced (it's similar to what others have experienced).

Problem:
Audio & Video freezes randomly and pal becomes unresponsive. Have to pull plug and reboot (don't necessarily have to be using remote to cause freezing). This happened on both hdmi and component outputs, the only difference being that the hdmi screen image would blink (black screen to picture over and over) whereas the component video image would be a still frozen image. This started out happening maybe once a week then every few days then every day until ultimately happening roughly every hour or so (pretty much unwatchable).

Attempted Fixes that Failed:
1.Hard drive reformat
2. Factory settings reset
3. Anything else you could think of that didn't involve disassembly lol!

Proper Repair Made:
After disassembling the pal to free up both circuit boards I found 2 bulging capacitors on the GREEN MAIN BOARD (not power supply). One bad cap was underneath the square shiny metal top (upper rh corner in pic#2) just like someone else in this thread experienced. The other one was a larger size cap close to one of the board edges (pic#1). I was able to find a tv repair man willing to replace the capacitors without guarantee of fixing the unit. I agreed and his charge was only $25!

The pal has been in use for 3 days now running quite a bit for testing and I've experienced no freezing at all, no reboots, nothing. So it's looking like problem is fixed, however, I will report if problems return.

Thanks to this thread/forum (especially hawk69) for posting problems with your own units because I have no electronic experience and wouldn't know where to begin troubleshooting. Without help my dvr would be in the trash and I would be out $250 instead of $25 for a new ota dvr.

I had exactly the same problem about 2 weeks ago & replaced the same 2 budging caps.
So far everything is working great.


Thank You AVS Forum
Jim in Phoenix is offline  
post #18557 of 18559 Unread Today, 12:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
bnewt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Shepherdsville, Ky USA
Posts: 747
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by falz View Post
Yes, you may download it per the instructions in the first post of this thread. I had mine attempt to auto update from the internet but it kept failing- the USB method worked.
the link to F208 is no longer active..............is this the latest version available?
phildaant likes this.

May God Guide and Guard the USA!
bnewt is online now  
post #18558 of 18559 Unread Today, 12:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,041
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 454 Post(s)
Liked: 421
Yes. There have been no new firmware revisions for years, as the DTVPal is no longer supported.
phildaant likes this.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #18559 of 18559 Unread Today, 01:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phildaant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: An Ant Farm
Posts: 2,920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 392 Post(s)
Liked: 124
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aleron Ives View Post
Yes. There have been no new firmware revisions for years, as the DTVPal is no longer supported.
Yep, it was short lived.
phildaant is online now  
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off