The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 625 - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 185Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #18721 of 18745 Old 04-01-2015, 09:10 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
I'm planning to do a PM on unit #1 this summer. So then what value of resistor do you recommend? Is it a conventional or chip resistor? And specifically where do place it. (A picture would be great.)

Is the temperature measured in one or two locations?
The sensore is inside of LM75 chip, check my old posts here. I did use 6K8, from +12V rail coming to the fan, to base of second transistor; it's just 1/8W regular resistor.
P Smith is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #18722 of 18745 Old 04-17-2015, 05:51 AM
Newbie
 
fulano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Freezing/Pixelation

Just wanted to say a quick "Thank you" to Hankw69 for posting the capacitor listing and JPG. Only Caps 1 &2 were bulging in my unit, but I went ahead and replaced their two buddies as well and my pixelation/freezing issue appears to be completely resolved. But what a PITA to remove the case's cover! If it weren't for the light guide I'd be tempted to just leave it off so I don't have to take it off again in 5-6 years!

While I'm here....the unit's Program Guide stopped working reliably a few years ago [i.e., some channels' information populates for up to a week out, others only show "no information available." From reading through this thread, am I correct in concluding that there's nothing I can do on my end to get this working again? Thanks.
fulano is offline  
post #18723 of 18745 Old 04-17-2015, 08:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by fulano View Post
While I'm here....the unit's Program Guide stopped working reliably a few years ago [i.e., some channels' information populates for up to a week out, others only show "no information available." From reading through this thread, am I correct in concluding that there's nothing I can do on my end to get this working again? Thanks.
Normal. Since TV Guide stopped the OTA service a few years ago our 'Pals now depend whether the station sends out program info and for how many days. Some barely 12 hours, others a few days. Many of the low power stations don't send any program info.
ed_in_tx is online now  
post #18724 of 18745 Old 04-17-2015, 08:26 AM
Newbie
 
fulano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
¡Gracias!
fulano is offline  
post #18725 of 18745 Old 04-17-2015, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
wiscojim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 331
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Liked: 163
Quote:
Originally Posted by fulano View Post
While I'm here....the unit's Program Guide stopped working reliably a few years ago [i.e., some channels' information populates for up to a week out, others only show "no information available." From reading through this thread, am I correct in concluding that there's nothing I can do on my end to get this working again? Thanks.
Actually there is something you can do. Contact your local stations that don't have the information displayed, and remind them that their viewers rely on the PSIP data they are supposed to be posting.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Program...ation_Protocol

.
wiscojim is offline  
post #18726 of 18745 Old 04-17-2015, 04:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 659
If you want results, don't voice your concerns as a complaint. Tell them that they could improve their viewership by having longer and more detailed listings so OTA users can know when interesting programs are coming up.
osu1991 and A J like this.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #18727 of 18745 Old 04-18-2015, 06:27 AM
Newbie
 
fulano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good point, will do, thanks.
fulano is offline  
post #18728 of 18745 Old 04-24-2015, 09:41 PM
Member
 
velix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I reassembled the DVR with the replaced capacitors. Before I installed the top I filed part of the tabs that hold it together. I'm hoping this will make it easier to open up next time. I also added holes on the whole length of the top of the case. Usually I wouldn't modify it, but since it seems to be too hot anyway as is, I figured the risk was acceptable. It 's been running for two weeks now back in the tv module without any issues.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_5630.jpg
Views:	50
Size:	248.2 KB
ID:	684793  
velix is offline  
post #18729 of 18745 Old 04-28-2015, 06:20 PM
Newbie
 
therabbit78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
My pal is acting crazy, freezing, pixelations, etc.., so I guess I need to crack it open and look to replace the capacitors. Any suggested places to buy these capacitors and about how much are they? I live in a big city if that helps direct me to some store that would likely have these?

I saw somebody was fortunate to have a tv repairman replace his for $25. thanks.
therabbit78 is offline  
post #18730 of 18745 Old 04-28-2015, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Aleron Ives's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3,630
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 857 Post(s)
Liked: 659
Mouser Electronics might have the capacitors you need. Prices vary depending upon the capacitor, but unless it's some kind of rare and exotic type, you're only looking at a few dollars' worth of expenses. The shipping would probably cost more than the capacitors themselves if they're a common type.
Aleron Ives is offline  
post #18731 of 18745 Old 04-28-2015, 09:15 PM
Member
 
velix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I bought a spare set at a local electronic store. One was $1 and the other $0.50. If you can't find the same voltage you can replace them with a higher one. I was told to be sure to select the same temp (105°) and the same µ value (whatever that means).
velix is offline  
post #18732 of 18745 Old 04-28-2015, 09:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,214
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 164 Post(s)
Liked: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by velix View Post
I bought a spare set at a local electronic store. One was $1 and the other $0.50. If you can't find the same voltage you can replace them with a higher one. I was told to be sure to select the same temp (105°) and the same µ value (whatever that means).
that means same capacitance values
P Smith is offline  
post #18733 of 18745 Old 04-29-2015, 04:58 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 603
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by therabbit78 View Post
My pal is acting crazy, freezing, pixelations, etc.., so I guess I need to crack it open and look to replace the capacitors. Any suggested places to buy these capacitors and about how much are they? I live in a big city if that helps direct me to some store that would likely have these?

I saw somebody was fortunate to have a tv repairman replace his for $25. thanks.
Try here: The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic!
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #18734 of 18745 Old 04-29-2015, 09:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by therabbit78 View Post
My pal is acting crazy, freezing, pixelations, etc.., so I guess I need to crack it open and look to replace the capacitors. Any suggested places to buy these capacitors and about how much are they? I live in a big city if that helps direct me to some store that would likely have these?

I saw somebody was fortunate to have a tv repairman replace his for $25. thanks.
I got mine at Newark.com also. I think I must have clicked on 2nd day by mistake, so your shipping might be less. I also ordered 2 of each since I have a spare PAL or just in case. C-34, (under the hood) C237, and C242. I got a 15% of voucher code you can try THANKS34


Last edited by FRANK43; 04-29-2015 at 09:27 AM.
FRANK43 is offline  
post #18735 of 18745 Old 04-29-2015, 09:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Invoice:
Line No: 1 Stock No:
Manufacturer Part No:
UOM:
Quantity: Price:
Extended Price:

74R3414
EEU-FR1A821
Each 1
2
$0.608
$1.22 Customer Part Number: Description: ALUMINUM ELECTROLYTIC CAPACITOR, 820UF, 10V, 20%, RADIAL; Product Range:PANASONIC - FR Series; Capacitance:820ÏF; Capacitance Tolerance:ñ 20%; Voltage Rating:10V; Diameter:10mm; ESR:-; Height:12.5mm; Capacitor Terminals:Radial Leaded Line No: 2 Stock No:
Manufacturer Part No:
UOM:
Quantity: Price:
Extended Price:

17T4986
ECA-1AHG222
Each 1
2
$0.666
$1.33 Customer Part Number: Description: ALUMINUM ELECTROLYTIC CAPACITOR, 2200UF, 10V, 20%, RADIAL; Product Range:AEC-Q200 NHG Series; Capacitance:2200ÏF; Capacitance Tolerance:ñ 20%; Voltage Rating:10V; Diameter:10mm; ESR:-; Height:20mm; Capacitor Terminals:Radial Leaded Line No: 3 Stock No:
Manufacturer Part No:
UOM:
Quantity: Price:
Extended Price:

17T5069
EEU-FC1A221S
Each 1
2
$0.407
$0.81 Customer Part Number: Description: ALUMINUM ELECTROLYTIC CAPACITOR, 220UF, 20%, 10V, RADIAL; Product Range:PANASONIC - AEC-Q200 FC Series; Capacitance:220ÏF; Capacitance Tolerance:ñ 20%; Voltage Rating:10V; Diameter:6.3mm; ESR:-; Height:11.2mm; Lead Spacing:2.5mm Your Merchandise Total $3.36 Your Freight Total $10.23 Your Tax Total $1.12 Your Invoice Total $14.71

FRANK43 is offline  
post #18736 of 18745 Old 04-29-2015, 08:37 PM
Newbie
 
whip2897's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
I can vouch for the Western Digital WD10EURX. Optimized for DVR use. And about $26 cheaper now on Amazon than when I bought one last July. I might buy another one at today's price just to have a spare.
I'm a newbie trying to Upgrade my original DTVPAL 250GB drive to a 1TB. I would like to use a WD10EURX since the forum has plenty of info on it for my future use. I found one available on Amazon:
WESTERN DIGITAL WD10EURX AV-GP Green 1TB 64MB cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" internal hard drive (Bare Drive) Bare Drive

Since I am 63 and an electronics novice, I'm looking for the easiest compatible drive swap possible.

My 2 concerns about this drive for sale are:
1) The term "Green" in the Description doesn't seem to be included in most of the other posts about this WD10EURX drive that others seem to love. Should it concern my use?

2) The term "Bare Drive" also doesn't appear in the other posts about this drive, should it concern my purchase, use or installation? Will I need to find a case for it?
whip2897 is offline  
post #18737 of 18745 Old 04-30-2015, 03:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 67
The bare drive comes in a sealed antistatic plastic bag, nothing else. You simply unplug the old and plug in the new. Use existing screws. Hardest part will be getting the case off the 'Pal.
ed_in_tx is online now  
post #18738 of 18745 Old 04-30-2015, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 2,343
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 438 Post(s)
Liked: 270
Quote:
Originally Posted by whip2897 View Post
I'm a newbie trying to Upgrade my original DTVPAL 250GB drive to a 1TB. I would like to use a WD10EURX since the forum has plenty of info on it for my future use. I found one available on Amazon: [SIZE=2]
WESTERN DIGITAL WD10EURX AV-GP Green 1TB 64MB cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" internal hard drive (Bare Drive) Bare Drive

...

The term "Green" in the Description doesn't seem to be included in most of the other posts about this WD10EURX drive that others seem to love. Should it concern my use?
No; "Green" just indicates which of Western Digital's product lines the drive is sold in. WD makes Green, Red, Blue, and Black drives.

There's not a huge difference. As you might guess, "green" drives tend to use somewhat less power than similar drives from other product lines, so it will save you a few kilowatt-hours of electricity each year.

The "AV-GP" stands for Audio-Video, General Purpose," I believe; and indicates the drive is OK for 24/7 use. Which is a good thing for use in a DTVPal.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #18739 of 18745 Old 04-30-2015, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 67
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
.."Green" just indicates which of Western Digital's product lines the drive is sold in. WD makes Green, Red, Blue, and Black drives.
Don't forget Purple! They're popular for continuous running surveillance DVRs. I've not read of anyone using a "Purple" in a DTVPal but seems it would be a good one too.
JHBrandt likes this.
ed_in_tx is online now  
post #18740 of 18745 Old 04-30-2015, 02:29 PM
Member
 
happy2Lurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Opening DTVpal DVR case

Quote:
Originally Posted by whip2897 View Post
I'm a newbie trying to Upgrade my original DTVPAL 250GB drive to a 1TB. ...
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
... Hardest part will be getting the case off the 'Pal.
whip2897, if you have never opened your pal before, take a look at this post for some guidance. Good luck.
happy2Lurk is offline  
post #18741 of 18745 Old 04-30-2015, 03:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by happy2Lurk View Post
whip2897, if you have never opened your pal before, take a look at this post for some guidance. Good luck.
Many of the links in that post are bad!
frank70 is offline  
post #18742 of 18745 Old 04-30-2015, 03:51 PM
Member
 
happy2Lurk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
Many of the links in that post are bad!
True, but the, "Opening Case" pictures and advice are still helpful to a first timer.

The post is a year old and since then AVSF has made changes that messed-up the links to the AVSF posts. A motivated user could probably use the info in the links to find the referenced posts - or as, P Smith, often advises, one can just read/search the thread.
happy2Lurk is offline  
post #18743 of 18745 Old 04-30-2015, 04:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,243
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by happy2Lurk View Post
True, but the, "Opening Case" pictures and advice are still helpful to a first timer.
Whoops, sorry - I saw the links weren't working and didn't even bother to scroll down to the pics and instructions! Thanks.
frank70 is offline  
post #18744 of 18745 Old 04-30-2015, 08:48 PM
Newbie
 
whip2897's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: El Paso, TX
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thumbs up DTV Pal restoration

Thanks to the DTVPal Forum, JH Brandt, ed_in_tx, happy2Lurk, and Frank43 for all your assistance and guidance. I committed to purchase 2 of the WD10EURX drives despite the WD Sales Rep who recommended the WD10EALS (WD Caviar Blue), for Desktop use, not AV use. Thanks for the links to cabinet opening (pics worth a 1,000 words) and the capacitors usually required. You have given me hope and confidence that I can save this fantastic DVR and remain DVR subscription service free.
whip2897 is offline  
post #18745 of 18745 Old Today, 04:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 67
I wonder why the rep would recommend the blue EALS since the EURX features "SilkStream - Optimized for smooth, continuous digital video playback...", and stated to be "Ideal for set-top boxes (PVR, DVR and IPTV), media servers, media centers, and surveillance applications.."
ed_in_tx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off