The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 641 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 239Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19201 of 19210 Old 09-21-2016, 01:51 PM
Senior Member
 
L David Matheny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: SE Ohio
Posts: 464
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmalhotra View Post
I have spent hours looking for some instructions/photos for motherboard removal on the DTVPAL, any search 'hints' ?
This post by "Will in MKE" has interior photos and comments that might help you get the case apart. Maybe it will then be clear enough how to remove the motherboard.
L David Matheny is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19202 of 19210 Old 09-21-2016, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
wiscojim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmalhotra View Post
I have spent hours looking for some instructions/photos for motherboard removal on the DTVPAL, any search 'hints' ?
Did you read post #1 in this topic? Once you open the case per the instructions there, it is pretty obvious that a phillips screwdriver is all you need.

.
wiscojim is online now  
post #19203 of 19210 Old 09-21-2016, 02:07 PM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiscojim View Post
Did you read post #1 in this topic? Once you open the case per the instructions there, it is pretty obvious that a phillips screwdriver is all you need.

.
I have the case open (second time, to attempt to replace the capacitors, first time I did was to attach an external e-sata port to the unit) I just wanted to learn from experts about tips to remove the motherboard.

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
post #19204 of 19210 Old 09-21-2016, 02:48 PM
Senior Member
 
wiscojim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 421
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 229
Quote:
Originally Posted by vmalhotra View Post
I have the case open (second time, to attempt to replace the capacitors, first time I did was to attach an external e-sata port to the unit) I just wanted to learn from experts about tips to remove the motherboard.
Remove screws mounting board to case. Push case tabs out of way to release board and front panel LED lenses.

Seriously though, if you could not visually see how to do that with the case open, do you really have the skills to replace caps on a multi-layer circuit board?

Just sayin'. You could easily end up doing more harm than good.

Good luck.

.
wiscojim is online now  
post #19205 of 19210 Old 09-21-2016, 03:08 PM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wiscojim View Post
Remove screws mounting board to case. Push case tabs out of way to release board and front panel LED lenses.

Seriously though, if you could not visually see how to do that with the case open, do you really have the skills to replace caps on a multi-layer circuit board?

Just sayin'. You could easily end up doing more harm than good.

Good luck.

.
Wiscojim:

Thanks for the tips and caution. I have build PCs from components, have modded the PAL to have an pluggable external eSATA drives. Here is the picture with loopback connection to internal drive and external pod. And professional looking labelling too

https://*******/photos/XPK4DFp8KLbu3jER8
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	P1050221.JPG
Views:	22
Size:	149.7 KB
ID:	1674217   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1050227.JPG
Views:	20
Size:	178.7 KB
ID:	1674225  

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?

Last edited by vmalhotra; 09-21-2016 at 03:13 PM.
vmalhotra is offline  
post #19206 of 19210 Old 09-21-2016, 10:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,773
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 445 Post(s)
Liked: 268
vmalhotra, your URL above is disguised and have no meaning now

I think you mean "built PCBA" not PCB
P Smith is offline  
post #19207 of 19210 Old 09-22-2016, 05:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 40
The only "got ya" I can remember is release/remove the light pipe assembly before removing the screws on the board. If the board is sitting on top of the stand-offs you will have interference between the board and light pipe assembly.
JHBrandt likes this.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #19208 of 19210 Old 09-22-2016, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 672
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
I sometimes (maybe 1 out of 5 recordings) have to do the trick where you go into the menu 3, 3 Audio Setup, switch from English to Spanish then back to English to get the audio to come on particularly on NBC (local KXAS-5) recordings. If you stop the playback and go back to the tuner you have to do it over when you resume playback. Another oddity I noticed doing this, one time I could not get the audio to come on no matter how many times I did the language switch. The tuner happened to be on MeTV or another 480i channel. I thought to change the tuned channel to the NBC channel, and it worked first time I switched the language back and forth.
+1

I see this problem only on my CBS station. And yes, the fix works better if you are tuned to the station that caused the problem.

I see this problem in about 1 out 30 recordings.
Pete-N2 is online now  
post #19209 of 19210 Old 09-22-2016, 07:21 AM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 165
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
The only "got ya" I can remember is release/remove the light pipe assembly before removing the screws on the board. If the board is sitting on top of the stand-offs you will have interference between the board and light pipe assembly.
Yes, that is exactly what I was looking for, I vaguely recall someone was having difficulty with.

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is offline  
post #19210 of 19210 Old Today, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,352
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 165 Post(s)
Liked: 81
My main 'Pal DVR did something odd this morning: would not turn on. Power light would flash for a second and go off, along with a brief flash of video on the TV. A Power button hold down until it reboots fixed it. Phew!
ed_in_tx is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off