The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 642 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 242Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19231 of 19248 Old 11-01-2016, 10:40 AM
Member
 
OLDXTECH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Exact center of Calif.
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
TiVo OTA tuners

First of all, the TiVo tuners seem to be equal to or better than the Dish Pal tuners, which are fine. Also similar to the old Dish tuner/converters.

HOWEVER, I am between 50 -70 miles north of Fresno, CA in the foothills so that I have to use a 30 foot tower with an 8 Bay Bowtie feeding a Channel Master mast preamp. Without the added preamp/tower/bowtie, I get nothing!

Cheers.
OLDXTECH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19232 of 19248 Old 11-06-2016, 11:37 AM
Member
 
Bozzmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Red face

Final report on my now closed DTV Pal issues. I received the caps I ordered from Amazon and replaced the bulging cap at C34. Very easy to do and the motherboard was easy to remove from the case without damage. I rediscovered my soldering skills from long ago and had the cap replaced in a few minutes.

End result... no more freezups and the recording option works flawlessly. Plus, with the HD at 1Gb now, I have a lot of room to record!

I really like this unit and was very happy I was able to fix it.
Bozzmonster is offline  
post #19233 of 19248 Old 11-06-2016, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,073
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1333 Post(s)
Liked: 708
I assume you mean 1TB. (A 1GB drive would barely hold 30 minutes of SD video!)
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19234 of 19248 Old 11-07-2016, 08:52 AM
Member
 
Bozzmonster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Royal Oak, MI
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
I assume you mean 1TB. (A 1GB drive would barely hold 30 minutes of SD video!)
You are totally correct! Fat fingers on the typing!
Bozzmonster is offline  
post #19235 of 19248 Old 11-20-2016, 08:21 PM
Member
 
honeymonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 139
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Could someone be so kind as to point me to the tutorials for

1- steps to remove the dvr cover to get at the motherboard
2- instructions for capacitor replacement / troubleshooting.

I remember reading it a long time ago when mine were not broken, and now I cannot find them.
Thanks.

Oh, and has there been any fixes for the ......loading screen issue?
I have one that has been stuck for years and kept it just incase.
honeymonkey is offline  
post #19236 of 19248 Old 11-20-2016, 10:03 PM
Senior Member
 
wiscojim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Appleton, Wisconsin USA
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 144 Post(s)
Liked: 236
Quote:
Originally Posted by honeymonkey View Post
Could someone be so kind as to point me to the tutorials for

1- steps to remove the dvr cover to get at the motherboard
From post #1:


Instructions to remove the cover, courtesy of AVS member otaviewer in this post:
Quote:


- I unplugged the power
- Removed the smart card from the front so I didn't accidentally break it
- Removed the visible screw on the case's bottom
- Pried off the rubber pad on the case's bottom which is closest to the green and yellow RCA jack and unscrewed the screw underneath
- Pried off the rubber pad on the case's bottom which is diagonal from the one just pried off and unscrewed the screw underneath
- Looked in the slots on the bottom of the case with a flashlight to see that an object could be stuck in them and bent slightly to unlatch, except for the three inner slots with green circuit board visible which can be ignored

- I unbent four medium-thickness 1.5" (2" long measured with a ruler) cotter pins, the kind obtainable from a hardware store, to a 90 degree angle
- Inserted one end of the cotter pin straightly into either one of the two slots closest to the back of the case, to the point where it stopped on its own
- Carefully applied sideways pressure (relative to the case) to the cotter pin so the part of the cotter pin outside the case moved away from the case and the part of the cotter pin inside the case moved toward the other rear slot
- At a certain point while bending the cotter pin sideways and applying slight downward pressure, the cotter pin slipped farther into the case. I let it slide in a bit more. This unhooked the latch in the slot and allowed me to remove my hand from the inserted cotter pin during the rest of the steps.
- I repeated this with the other three slots using the other three bent cotter pins. Noted that the slots in the front only allowed me to insert the cotter pin slightly past the point where the cotter pin stopped on its own.

- I Inserted a flathead screwdriver in between the top and the bottom of the case at the closest corner to one of the back cotter pins
- Twisted the screwdriver at the corner to pry the top and the bottom of the case apart slightly but not enough to damage the case
- At the same time, with my other hand, used another flathead screwdriver to unhook the closest of the two tabs on the rear of the case. That corner of the case now opened up farther
- Removed the screwdriver from the corner of the case
- Inserted the screwdriver slightly to the outside of the tab that the other screwdriver is in, and used it to pry apart the top and bottom of the case just to the point where the screwdriver fits in between the top and bottom of the case
- Removed both screwdrivers, and noted that the top and bottom of the case remain somewhat separated
- Repeated the last six steps with the other rear corner

- I separated the top from the bottom of the case at the back of the case with my hands, without much effort, and noted that this caused the front of the case to also separate
wiscojim is offline  
post #19237 of 19248 Old 11-20-2016, 10:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,836
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by honeymonkey View Post
Could someone be so kind as to point me to the tutorials for

1- steps to remove the dvr cover to get at the motherboard
2- instructions for capacitor replacement / troubleshooting.

I remember reading it a long time ago when mine were not broken, and now I cannot find them.
Thanks.

Oh, and has there been any fixes for the ......loading screen issue?
I have one that has been stuck for years and kept it just incase.
you should read the thread, easy-peasy way

Last edited by P Smith; 11-21-2016 at 05:21 AM.
P Smith is offline  
post #19238 of 19248 Old 11-21-2016, 05:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,315
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 104 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
you should read he thread, easy-peasy way
Well, to make things a little easier, start by looking at post 19201 (which, in turn, has a link to post 5383) and a few following it. I have this written on a Post-It note for when I'll eventually need it .
frank70 is online now  
post #19239 of 19248 Old 11-21-2016, 08:04 AM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
golinux is online now  
post #19240 of 19248 Old 11-21-2016, 09:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,836
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 279
after revisiting my post with pictures, I found some of them cannot be viewed ; error message guiding to call administrator... I'm curious if he could restore eg fix it ?
P Smith is offline  
post #19241 of 19248 Old 11-22-2016, 07:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
after revisiting my post with pictures, I found some of them cannot be viewed ; error message guiding to call administrator... I'm curious if he could restore eg fix it ?
I just checked a few of your images and they all came up just fine here. But when they redid the board, my old bookmarks were broken. Had to manually point them to the right place. If you still have those images, maybe you could upload them again?

May the FORK be with you!
golinux is online now  
post #19242 of 19248 Old 12-04-2016, 12:04 PM
Newbie
 
jcgc50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hard Drive replacement

Lately mine has been freezing when playing recorded video forcing a restart. However, today live TV froze too and it would not respond to the remote other than holding down the power key till it restarted.

I happened to have a 2.5" 1TB SATA drive laying around so I installed that. So far it has been at the loading please wait screen for a half hour or so. Is that normal or is this drive not going to work. I believe it was a Seagate about 2 years old.
jcgc50 is offline  
post #19243 of 19248 Old 12-04-2016, 12:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,380
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 82
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgc50 View Post
Lately mine has been freezing when playing recorded video forcing a restart. However, today live TV froze too and it would not respond to the remote other than holding down the power key till it restarted..
Symptoms are more like C34 capacitor failure. Which would also explain why the new drive won't work. When I had a HDD fail the 'Pal put up a HDD error message letting me know.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #19244 of 19248 Old 12-04-2016, 05:41 PM
Newbie
 
jcgc50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
Symptoms are more like C34 capacitor failure. Which would also explain why the new drive won't work. When I had a HDD fail the 'Pal put up a HDD error message letting me know.
I was afraid that might be it. Is there someone out there repairing these?
jcgc50 is offline  
post #19245 of 19248 Old 12-04-2016, 11:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,836
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgc50 View Post
I was afraid that might be it. Is there someone out there repairing these?
there ?
ask local TV fixing services, re-soldering the capacitor is easy task for someone who can hold soldering iron
P Smith is offline  
post #19246 of 19248 Old Yesterday, 08:42 AM
Newbie
 
jcgc50's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by P Smith View Post
there ?
ask local TV fixing services, re-soldering the capacitor is easy task for someone who can hold soldering iron
I will have to check that out. I thought TV repair shops was as abundant as unicorns these days.
jcgc50 is offline  
post #19247 of 19248 Old Yesterday, 08:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,836
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 486 Post(s)
Liked: 279
then seek cellphones' tablets' repair shops
P Smith is offline  
post #19248 of 19248 Old Today, 07:01 AM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 952
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
My local computer shop fixed my Pal caps (for $10).

May the FORK be with you!
golinux is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off