The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 645 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 248Likes
Reply
Thread Tools
post #19321 of 19341 Old 01-22-2017, 02:42 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Was a little frustrating when I thought I had narrowed it down to the DTVPal since the Leader color generator worked fine, but no color from the 'Pal. And I had tracked down and bought several of the Murata filters. Could very well be off frequency enough or maybe the color level is too low for the Sonys. But the Sonys were made in the middle of the VCR era with all the time base and color variables those put out, so you'd think the Sonys would be a little forgiving.
ed_in_tx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19322 of 19341 Old 01-22-2017, 03:46 PM
Advanced Member
 
golinux's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed_in_tx View Post
"FL1" is a certain Murata-brand ceramic filter that is no longer available, obsolete part. Replacing didn't fix my problem anyway.

Color is still occasionally intermittent or not there at all . . .
Bummer. Well, that saves me a trip to the shop. Luckily the color popped back in this afternoon. It was really windy this morning. There was a lot of pixelation and dropout going on. Could that have caused problems? Or might it be an intermittent problem with the Samsung - it's only been hooked up a few days now? BTW, I'm getting better at aiming the remotes. The sensor has a very limited reception area . . .

May the FORK be with you!
golinux is offline  
post #19323 of 19341 Old 01-22-2017, 03:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,487
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1543 Post(s)
Liked: 762
It's been windy all across Texas today, and that will often cause problems with multipath; hence, pixelation and dropouts as you experienced. But it shouldn't affect the color at all. The analog color subcarrier is generated inside the DTVPal; up to that point, it's all just digital data.
JHBrandt is offline  
 
post #19324 of 19341 Old 01-22-2017, 05:05 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by golinux View Post
Bummer. Well, that saves me a trip to the shop. .
Yep bummer indeed.
Much to my disappointment thinking I found the problem after hitting that FL1 with freeze mist several times and having the color pop back on.. doing that apparently had an effect probably very small borderline thing, to make the Sony show color.

Solution is to replace that 100 lb Sony CRT with a decent LCD with HDMI input and be done with it. But that old Sony sure makes a nice picture.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #19325 of 19341 Old 02-11-2017, 05:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Semi-annual warning. Expect scheduling problems tomorrow as we are one month before the start of DST. Currently according the DTVPal, half of my stations are signaling a change and half are not. Screen shot attached (Dates in European format)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00174.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	142.3 KB
ID:	1958921  
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19326 of 19341 Old 02-11-2017, 09:35 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 736
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Unhappy

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
Semi-annual warning. Expect scheduling problems tomorrow as we are one month before the start of DST. Currently according the DTVPal, half of my stations are signaling a change and half are not. Screen shot attached (Dates in European format)
Thanks Pete ! I new it was comeing. I always think the PSIP time from the stations will prevent this problem with the scheduled programs but it doesn't, just have to delet them and reschedule.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #19327 of 19341 Old 02-12-2017, 10:40 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,487
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1543 Post(s)
Liked: 762
PSIP time is always sent in UTC. The problem isn't that the wrong time is sent; it's that (as I understand it) many stations have equipment that signals the upcoming DST change one day early. Since there's no month field in the PSIP time, that fools our Pals into going into DST today, then back to standard time tomorrow. They see PSIP saying "DST starts on the 12th. Oh - it's the 12th today - better switch!" Then on the 13th, they see the DST flag isn't in effect yet, and switch back.

So "luckily," everything will flip back tomorrow, but remember to check all your timers for ones that didn't make it through unscathed. Delete and recreate any that are wrong before they cause bigger problems. Then in 4 weeks we all get to do it for real! Yay!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19328 of 19341 Old 02-12-2017, 12:21 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Three DFW stations that should know better changed their DST data on the 11th. Two days early. I suspect that they have new PSIP hardware or maybe just stupidly updated firmware.

Eight more changed today with three using a bogus day of month. (The 2nd.)
schultdw is offline  
post #19329 of 19341 Old 02-12-2017, 05:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,487
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1543 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Hope they get those fixed soon, lest we go through this nonsense again on the 2nd!
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19330 of 19341 Old 02-12-2017, 06:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I have 5 that flipped, PBS, CBS, NBC, ION, and a religious. The stations that are known to have replaced their guide builders in the last two years did not flip --- so far. So of my 10 physical stations 5 flipped, 4 did NOT, and one is an outlier that has not been seen. (Note: in diagnostics it appears the SAVE: stands for savings. A value of 3600 indicates the DST flag is set. Agrees with the dumb TV.) Interestingly the DTVPal did NOT flip.

Schultz -- I need the link to your DST page.

Last edited by Pete-N2; 02-12-2017 at 07:08 PM. Reason: Changed task builder to guide builder
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19331 of 19341 Old 02-12-2017, 07:00 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 20 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
I need the link to your DST page.
DST information
schultdw is offline  
post #19332 of 19341 Old 02-12-2017, 07:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
Three DFW stations that should know better changed their DST data on the 11th. Two days early. I suspect that they have new PSIP hardware or maybe just stupidly updated firmware.

Eight more changed today with three using a bogus day of month. (The 2nd.)
I'm surprised your ION station does NOT have status set to 1.
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19333 of 19341 Old 02-25-2017, 08:44 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,487
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1543 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Record from HDMI source?

This topic has been discussed before, and the answer has always been "forget about it," because the only thing the DTVPal can record is an ATSC signal, and ATSC RF modulators have always been prohibitively expensive (>$800). But that just changed. MCM Electronics is now selling an ATSC modulator for $299: http://www.mcmelectronics.com/product/33-11980

Still not cheap, but at least it's in an affordable range. Unfortunately, to get the price even that low, they had to make some compromises. Its output is just barely HD (720p @ 30 f/s) and the audio codec is nonstandard, so there are a lot of receivers it doesn't work right with. Even the Pal has a minor problem with it: it will add the modulator at channel 7n-0.

Luckily, though, the Pal can receive its signal, record it, and play it back. The modulator has an HDMI input, a "loop-through" HDMI output so you don't need an HDMI splitter, an RF output, and an RF input so you don't need a signal combiner. (And a 5-volt power jack for the wall-wart.) So, you just run your HDMI source through this modulator, set it to an unused UHF frequency (I set my modulator to RF 69, way above the highest frequency in use today), connect the modulator between the antenna and the Pal, and tell the Pal to add channel 69 (or whatever channel you set it to).
videobruce likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19334 of 19341 Old 02-25-2017, 08:58 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
videobruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Buffalo NY
Posts: 16,190
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 608 Post(s)
Liked: 247
I never noticed the 720p is only 30fps. They really pinched pennies there all the way around.

.
.
Free, abundant OTA television separates this country from many others. ATSC1 has only been in force since 2009. The wireless industry has enough spectrum. Enough of 'planned obsolesce'.
videobruce is offline  
post #19335 of 19341 Old 02-25-2017, 09:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,982
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Seems to me approaching ATSC 3.0 standard loosen up the market ...
P Smith is offline  
post #19336 of 19341 Old 02-26-2017, 12:27 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,487
Mentioned: 17 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1543 Post(s)
Liked: 762
Also, ATSC 1.0 is about 20 years old, so patents covering it should be expiring about now.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19337 of 19341 Unread 03-13-2017, 07:04 PM
Senior Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 17
DTVPal DVR weird science

Sunday night 3/12 I set a timer on the Pal for NBC @ 10 p.m. When I came home tonight, Monday @ 7 p.m., I noticed the red light was on. Apparently it recorded continuously from last night until I saw what was going on. Tried stopping or deleting the recording to no avail. Only after I unplugged it did it return to normal. The recording showed 1273 minutes and only 7 + hours left of recording time. I've had this machine since 2010, never really had any serious problems with it. Wondering what could have caused this..... maybe the Daylight Savings Time = glitch ??
Before setting the timer event, the time on the DTVPal, it was correct, some 18 hours after the time change. Strange days, indeed !
joecass is offline  
post #19338 of 19341 Unread 03-13-2017, 07:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ed_in_tx's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: NW Dallas TX
Posts: 1,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 192 Post(s)
Liked: 85
I've had that happen a couple of times, usually recording from a station that had no PSIP program info. Like there is no end time to the current program its recording. I do know the few times it happened it wasn't related to DST change.
joecass likes this.
ed_in_tx is offline  
post #19339 of 19341 Unread 03-13-2017, 11:56 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
P Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Mediterranean Sea
Posts: 2,982
Mentioned: 10 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 560 Post(s)
Liked: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by joecass View Post
Sunday night 3/12 I set a timer on the Pal for NBC @ 10 p.m. When I came home tonight, Monday @ 7 p.m., I noticed the red light was on. Apparently it recorded continuously from last night until I saw what was going on. Tried stopping or deleting the recording to no avail. Only after I unplugged it did it return to normal. The recording showed 1273 minutes and only 7 + hours left of recording time. I've had this machine since 2010, never really had any serious problems with it. Wondering what could have caused this..... maybe the Daylight Savings Time = glitch ??
Before setting the timer event, the time on the DTVPal, it was correct, some 18 hours after the time change. Strange days, indeed !
I would recommend to make weekly reboots to prevent many possible glitches like that and others.
joecass likes this.
P Smith is offline  
post #19340 of 19341 Unread 03-14-2017, 06:51 AM
Senior Member
 
joecass's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queens, New York City
Posts: 297
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 71 Post(s)
Liked: 17
sounds like a plan......
joecass is offline  
post #19341 of 19341 Unread Today, 09:08 AM
Member
 
vmalhotra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: FAIRFAX, VA
Posts: 177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 13
woohoo ....

Replaced capacitors on two of my dead pals, cleaned up the unit, upgraded the hard-drive. Both units work as brand new.

You got to be nuts; you want me to pay to watch commercials?
vmalhotra is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off