The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 648 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 255Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #19411 of 19430 Old 05-13-2017, 11:27 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
I really would like to have seen the "SAVE:" line but I count roughly 8 stations with the DST flag set and 8 stations for DST NOT. No wonder the DTVPal can't decide. Pick up an outlier a couple of hours/days later and the count changes. (I have no idea what happens to a previously scheduled timer if the DST status suddenly changes.)

Workarounds:

Start calling TV's stations, maybe you could change the balance in the right direction. (Several times I have had to email the GM)

Schedule recordings on a daily basis (after a few days the DTVPal should become more stable)

Get a DVR+ and use internet time and schedule.
More from diagnostics I didn't see

DVB (6), state:0x3303, elements:0
zone:+0
save:+0 (enabled)
time: 14:45 sat 13/05
secs:54801
next: 3:14:07 thu 19/01/2068=0
local: 10:40: sat 13/05/2017
user: (8), state:0x3323,elements:1
-ident:0=0x0020
zone: -25200
zone:-25200
save: +0 (enabled)
time:17:44: sat 13/05/2017
secs:54801
next:13:14: thu 19/01/2068=0
local: 10:47: sat 13/05/2017

Gem* (12), state:0x3313, elements=0
zone: -25200
same: +0 (enabled)
time;17:51 sat 13/05/2017
secs: 54801
next: 3:14:07 thu 19/01/2068 =0
local: 10:53:42 sat 13/05/2017

view

The guide time is behind 1 hour and 28 seconds


Last edited by FRANK43; 05-13-2017 at 12:01 PM.
FRANK43 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #19412 of 19430 Old 05-13-2017, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Yes, it's similar to those old cable co. line filters.

"Repacking" is explained here: AVS Official Topic: The FCC and Television Spectrum Repack. A lot of folks haven't even heard about it. Basically, in a few years all US and border stations broadcasting on a channel above RF 36 will be moving to lower channels. So, for example, KTFN is currently on RF 51, but they'll be moving down to RF 20. So a 600 MHz low-pass filter that blocks them now won't block them anymore after they move.

A factory reset does a full rescan, but you can do a full rescan without doing a factory reset. I think it's menu option 3-2-1 but not sure. I'll check tonight and update this post.

IDK what's going on with your NBC either. Looking at rabbitears, you'd think it'd be about the same as ABC. It could be destructive interference from multipath; if so, moving the antenna might help.
I moved the antenna. 7&9 are both the same signal strength (with the -10 db on the pal 1 line) 76 The time or grid didn't change. I schedule a program name to record and it record at correct time. I now have indiagnostics PSIP (5) el 11 were before i had 5 and 16. I have not done a "setup wizard" 3-2-1-1 or deleted any unwanted chanels. all i ever leave in he guide are cbs, abc, nbc, pbs and fox

FRANK43 is offline  
post #19413 of 19430 Old 05-13-2017, 12:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 49
I think we can ignore the data "DVB (6)" and below. The only data we are interested in is PSIP and its summary.

BTW is your clock currently off by 1 hour?
Pete-N2 is offline  
 
post #19414 of 19430 Old 05-13-2017, 12:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
I think we can ignore the data "DVB (6)" and below. The only data we are interested in is PSIP and its summary.

BTW is your clock currently off by 1 hour?
I thought the DVB and below data was what you wanted when you said " I really would like to have seen the "SAVE:" line

yes, my guide clock is behind 1hour and 28 seconds. the guide data is also behind 1 hour. this is all tolerable if it records the show name OK and doesn't mess up. This will take a few days of setting recordings

FRANK43 is offline  
post #19415 of 19430 Old 05-13-2017, 02:57 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRANK43 View Post
I thought the DVB and below data was what you wanted when you said " I really would like to have seen the "SAVE:" line

yes, my guide clock is behind 1hour and 28 seconds. the guide data is also behind 1 hour. this is all tolerable if it records the show name OK and doesn't mess up. This will take a few days of setting recordings
Just turned pal back on, turned it off after last post, the time is now correct and the guide is correct. it is 3:50 MDT here now. My wife said don't get your hopes up!

FRANK43 is offline  
post #19416 of 19430 Old 05-14-2017, 06:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRANK43 View Post
My wife said don't get your hopes up!
I agree with her. As long as half of the DST data is wrong the DTVPal's will be subject to errors.

Did you pick up any additional services yesterday?

Give it a couple of days and see if it stabilizes.
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19417 of 19430 Old 05-14-2017, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
I agree with her. As long as half of the DST data is wrong the DTVPal's will be subject to errors.

Did you pick up any additional services yesterday?

Give it a couple of days and see if it stabilizes.
About the diagnostic screen, without doing a rescan will TSID's no longer picked up (because I moved the antenna) be deleted? I'm pretty sure if a station is added the TSID is added to the diagnostic screen.

This morning the correct time and grid info was correct. I have not done anything except select programs to record and all have been done OK

I just went and turned the PAL on and 3 new stations were added since earlier this this mornng. Some were from the first diagnostic screen that were ther before the 10 db . I now have 13 elements. TSID 20501 and 20502 both have +3600.

in my program guide I actually have 4 stations with the same call letters 01,02, 44,48 all xhcjh-t have +3600. by my count I now have 9 +3600. I also think I have more stations in the guide than TSID's. 48 (3years ago) was 2057 but now in diagnostics so they must have changed at some point.

will not delete any stations from the guide or scan and let this ride for a few days. If everything stays OK I'll let you know and ask you what you think I should do first.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #19418 of 19430 Old 05-14-2017, 04:55 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
The time data will hang around long after the station goes away. I have had problems where a station received briefly due to atmospheric conditions caused a slow drift in the averaged time. Even though the station was never heard from again, the DVR just let its idea of the stations clock drift with the local oscillator.

I finally got tired of it and did a factory reset to make them go away.

You might try complaining to the FCC that stations are failing to follow ATSC standard A/65 on time as required by FCC regulations.
schultdw is offline  
post #19419 of 19430 Old 05-14-2017, 05:54 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,760
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1696 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Quote:
Originally Posted by FRANK43 View Post
I moved the antenna. 7&9 are both the same signal strength (with the -10 db on the pal 1 line) 76 The time or grid didn't change. I schedule a program name to record and it record at correct time. I now have in diagnostics PSIP (5) el 11 were before i had 5 and 16. I have not done a "setup wizard" 3-2-1-1 or deleted any unwanted chanels. all i ever leave in he guide are cbs, abc, nbc, pbs and fox
Good to hear you got NBC back.

Unfortunately the Pal will use every channel it can receive or has received to calculate time and DST. Deleting stations from the guide has no effect. On the ones it's not receiving now, it even seems to estimate the station's clock based on how much time has elapsed since the last time it did receive it! (Not sure if it does that, but those stations do remain in the diagnostics screen and have "times" ascribed to them.) So now that you have the attenuator in place and have moved your antenna, you really need to do the 3-2-1-1 then recheck the diagnostics screen to see if it's going to help your DST problems.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19420 of 19430 Old 05-15-2017, 05:41 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Good to hear you got NBC back.

Unfortunately the Pal will use every channel it can receive or has received to calculate time and DST. Deleting stations from the guide has no effect. On the ones it's not receiving now, it even seems to estimate the station's clock based on how much time has elapsed since the last time it did receive it! (Not sure if it does that, but those stations do remain in the diagnostics screen and have "times" ascribed to them.) So now that you have the attenuator in place and have moved your antenna, you really need to do the 3-2-1-1 then recheck the diagnostics screen to see if it's going to help your DST problems.
If you do a 3-2-1-1 there is no guarantee NBC will come back right away. I'd leave everything alone and see what happens over the next few days.

Yes, when you loose a station the DTVPal estimates the station's time using the internal clock. This means the station clock error on diagnostics increases by the DTVPal internal clock error, usually +8 seconds a day. When the error reaches somewhere around 5 minutes the DTVPal drops the station from the time calculations. Several weeks later you receive the station again for a few seconds the clock is corrected and the process starts again.
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19421 of 19430 Old 05-15-2017, 05:46 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 49
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
You might try complaining to the FCC that stations are failing to follow ATSC standard A/65 on time as required by FCC regulations.
A 7/29/15 comment from a local station GM:

Quote:
I'm glad you didn't waste your time. If it doesn't have to do with obscenity, political advertising or the spectrum auction, the FCC doesn't care. It has 1,000,000 obscenity complaints sitting around, for example. It would be difficult to get the attention of the enforcement bureau for a clock setting.

That having been said, we do like all of our equipment to work as it's supposed to. With a very small (but excellent) maintenance staff and all of the requirements of our plant, we do have to prioritize.

Best of luck to you.
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19422 of 19430 Old 05-15-2017, 01:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pete-N2 View Post
A 7/29/15 comment from a local station GM:
In retrospect, instead of coming up with this cockamamie scheme relying on broadcaster's clocks, Echostar would have been better off investing in a more accurate crystal for the local clock. I have a cheap little travel alarm I bought from AAA that doesn't seem to lose or gain a minute even over a year.
frank70 is offline  
post #19423 of 19430 Old 05-15-2017, 01:38 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,760
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1696 Post(s)
Liked: 837
True. They'd still have the DST issue though.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19424 of 19430 Old 05-15-2017, 03:11 PM
Member
 
schultdw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: DFW
Posts: 122
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank70 View Post
In retrospect, instead of coming up with this cockamamie scheme relying on broadcaster's clocks, Echostar would have been better off investing in a more accurate crystal for the local clock.
It would work if the few suppliers of PSIP hardware cared to make it work as intended and required.

Echostar didn't need a more accurate local oscillator, they just needed to use the included Ethernet port to talk to a network time server. Perhaps they were too trusting in the fact that ATSC standards required stations to keep accurate time. Who knew then that stations wouldn't bother? Of course we didn't know this was a problem until TVGOS went away.

I still complain on occasion to stations and the FCC and sometimes I even get a response. If nobody complains they have zero incentive to do anything.
schultdw is offline  
post #19425 of 19430 Old 05-15-2017, 04:02 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
frank70's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1,331
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 120 Post(s)
Liked: 95
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
Echostar didn't need a more accurate local oscillator, they just needed to use the included Ethernet port to talk to a network time server.
Well back when they were developing this for the PAL, the NIST internet time server and protocols were probably not that mature or reliable (I recall internet time was pretty sketchy back when I was running Windows 95 and Windows XP). Besides, once there were no more firmware updates, who bothered to keep their PAL connected to the internet 24/7? I did all my updates manually anyway.
frank70 is offline  
post #19426 of 19430 Old 05-16-2017, 01:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by schultdw View Post
It would work if the few suppliers of PSIP hardware cared to make it work as intended and required.

Echostar didn't need a more accurate local oscillator, they just needed to use the included Ethernet port to talk to a network time server. Perhaps they were too trusting in the fact that ATSC standards required stations to keep accurate time. Who knew then that stations wouldn't bother? Of course we didn't know this was a problem until TVGOS went away.

I still complain on occasion to stations and the FCC and sometimes I even get a response. If nobody complains they have zero incentive to do anything.
Ya, all this started when TVGOS went away. I would occasionally have problems with some stations back then when thier TVGOS wasn't working. I had all the engineers email back then as one would give me everyone elses. Now they don't even list them on the station personel website.

When TVGOS went away the PSIP time was alsways about 30 to 40 seconds behind. The stations don't care about the Quiet Act either, in fact I think it is worse now than before. I have to adjust every station, one NBC is at least 6 numbers down from the highest.

FRANK43 is offline  
post #19427 of 19430 Old 05-16-2017, 02:51 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,760
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1696 Post(s)
Liked: 837
But the crux of Frank43's current problems is Daylight Saving Time. Neither a more accurate local clock nor Internet time servers would deal with DST.

One way to deal with DST is through the use of fixed rules. This is the approach Windows, for example, takes; however, it requires an update any time some country changes their DST rules.

In 20-20 hindsight, simply providing Pal owners a 3-way DST choice: no DST, April-October DST, or March-November DST, would've worked just fine. As it happens, the US and Canada have used the March-November schedule since 2007, about the same time the Pal was being designed, and Mexico (except border towns) uses the April-October schedule, so if the Pal had gone this route, it would never have needed an update.

But, not knowing the future, there was always a chance any of these countries could've changed their DST schedule at any time, so E* chose instead to rely on the stations sending accurate DST change info. Unfortunately, that's proven to be a disaster, both for Frank43 and for those of us who have to suffer through a 1-day DST foul-up one month before every actual DST change. Turns out station-provided info isn't so reliable after all.

In the US, there was another possibility: WWVB could've been used to provide both accurate time and a guaranteed-correct DST schedule. An LF receiver on the circuit board and a cheap loopstick antenna plugged into the back of the Pal would've been the only extra hardware needed. But Mexico and Canada don't have an equivalent to WWVB. (Canada does have some shortwave stations similar to WWV in the US, but having to connect a shortwave antenna to your DVR is probably asking a bit too much )
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19428 of 19430 Old 07-04-2017, 05:48 AM
Advanced Member
 
Pete-N2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Lynchburg, VA
Posts: 682
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 78 Post(s)
Liked: 49
If you are looking to replace your DTVPal with a DVR+ now maybe the time to do it. CM is selling the DVR+ for 144.44 today. Link: https://www.channelmaster.com/Special_Offers_s/364.htm
ccrider2 and JHBrandt like this.
Pete-N2 is offline  
post #19429 of 19430 Old 07-04-2017, 01:47 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JHBrandt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: S. Garland, TX
Posts: 4,760
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1696 Post(s)
Liked: 837
Thanks! BTW, the sale goes from today through the 24th (although at that price the DVR+ may sell out long before then), and they have some other products on sale that may be of interest to us OTA TV viewers..
ccrider2 likes this.
JHBrandt is offline  
post #19430 of 19430 Old 07-04-2017, 02:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
ccrider2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by JHBrandt View Post
Thanks! BTW, the sale goes from today through the 24th (although at that price the DVR+ may sell out long before then), and they have some other products on sale that may be of interest to us OTA TV viewers..
Thanks Pete-N2 - In for 1 + a good price on a Signal Amp.

Chris C
ccrider2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply HDTV Recorders

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off