The Official AVS Dish DTVPal DVR Topic! - Page 8 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 85Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #211 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
akbungle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Blaine, MN
Posts: 411
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmonier View Post

Just to clarify: The guide will only be updated from PSIP for the channel you're actually tuned to (or possibly 2 channels since the unit has 2 tuners).

I don't think that is the case, I did not tune to several channels and they still showed info yesterday when I was relying on PSIP data.
akbungle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #212 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:11 PM
Member
 
isnms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by akbungle View Post

I don't think that is the case, I did not tune to several channels and they still showed info yesterday when I was relying on PSIP data.

Same for me. All channels had extended (several hours) programing data psip.
isnms is offline  
post #213 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Daniel Tomsick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone with a 4:3 ratio HDTV monitor figured out how to display a HD picture that isn't letterboxed or horizontally squeezed? Otherwise the device is providing a better picture with two additional channels, versus my Zenith HDV420.
Daniel Tomsick is offline  
post #214 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:24 PM
Member
 
isnms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Use your page up button to scroll through the 5 options.
isnms is offline  
post #215 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
FRANK43's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: North East El Paso, Texas
Posts: 651
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Tomsick View Post

Has anyone with a 4:3 ratio HDTV monitor figured out how to display a HD picture that isn't letterboxed or horizontally squeezed? Otherwise the device is providing a better picture with two additional channels, versus my Zenith HDV420.

change your monitors display format to 1080i or 720p

FRANK43 is offline  
post #216 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by isnms View Post

Ahh, I read the manual, online, back in November and must have forgot that. So after an hour it just stops? Do you loose the paused data? (...)

I don't have a clue. Personally I'd never pause live TV longer than it takes to run to the bathroom.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #217 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:28 PM
Advanced Member
 
rustycruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Unpacking the DTVpal DVR





rustycruiser is offline  
post #218 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
rustycruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
The (blurry) smart card:



rustycruiser is offline  
post #219 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:38 PM
Member
 
nolim2873's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Southern York County, PA
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

Page 13 of the manual says you can pause for up to one hour.

Quote:
Originally Posted by isnms View Post

Ahh, I read the manual, online, back in November and must have forgot that. So after an hour it just stops? Do you loose the paused data?

Didn't say I wouldn't record. Just searching for limitations of different features.

After one hour, it comes off of pause and it will be playing one hour behind (at least that's what my Dish DVRs do). You still have one hour of buffer, but that's it.
nolim2873 is offline  
post #220 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
rustycruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
As requested, the location of the smart card slot on the device:



rustycruiser is offline  
post #221 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by rustycruiser View Post

The (blurry) smart card:

So, does it just pull out or is there a release button?
Chuck44 is offline  
post #222 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:45 PM
Member
 
OhMyTVC15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anybody have an overly sensitive tuner? My DTVPal got 39 channels. I can only get 17 with the DVR. This tuner is a different beast. If i so much as touch my antenna than i get nothing. Just got it so let me play around with the antenna a bit more.
OhMyTVC15 is offline  
post #223 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:47 PM
Senior Member
 
cheaplikeafox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm thinking about buying one...but I had a bad experience with a panasonic dvd recorder that only lasted 1 year. Do dish network DVRs usually last awhile if the hard drive does not fail? I don't want to spend $300 on something that will only last me a couple of years. Is the quality comparable to other companies' DVRs?

Thanks.
cheaplikeafox is offline  
post #224 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
rustycruiser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chuck44 View Post

So, does it just pull out or is there a release button?

Just pulls out. Bit of friction when you pull it in and out.



Edit: Higher res shot of the smart card, courtesy of "navychop" at Sattelliteguys.us

http://www.satelliteguys.us/attachme...8&d=1229983819
http://www.satelliteguys.us/attachme...9&d=1229983819
rustycruiser is offline  
post #225 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:51 PM
Member
 
isnms's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by nolim2873 View Post

After one hour, it comes off of pause and it will be playing one hour behind (at least that's what my Dish DVRs do). You still have one hour of buffer, but that's it.

Good enough for me, Thanks
isnms is offline  
post #226 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhMyTVC15 View Post

Anybody have an overly sensitive tuner? My DTVPal got 39 channels. I can only get 17 with the DVR. This tuner is a different beast. If i so much as touch my antenna than i get nothing. Just got it so let me play around with the antenna a bit more.

Most reports have been of great reception, and that's my experience as well.
I would definitely check the antenna and connections.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #227 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
biker19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: McLean, VA
Posts: 3,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
...about that smart card....would it possible that Echostar was so forward looking that they included the hardware for a cablecard slot?
biker19 is offline  
post #228 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by biker19 View Post

...about that smart card....would it possible that Echostar was so forward looking that they included the hardware for a cablecard slot?

Nagravision (the name on the card) does (according to Google) security stuff for DTV and satellite.
Chuck44 is offline  
post #229 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 03:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
My experiance with the DVR is its tuners are on a par with the DTVPAL's, which are generally decent.

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is offline  
post #230 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 03:22 PM
Senior Member
 
jay427's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ramsey, Mn
Posts: 255
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=akbungle;15372909]Yes in MN we get TVGOS.
QUOTE]


I thank you

Jay
jay427 is offline  
post #231 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 03:32 PM
Member
 
OhMyTVC15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah man this tuner is messed up!!!! I set my antenna up with the DTVPal and got it where i get 39 channels, mostly 80-90. I don't touch the antenna and hook up my DVTPal DVR to it I get 16 channels at about 50-60. Most of the channels break up. I can't even get my NBC station which is psip station 2.1 but OTA channel 11. I tried the point antenna thing to get my NBC station and it says 0. I Take the antenna and turn every which way over my head and i get nothing...zilch. Not a happy camper here. Not at all!!!
OhMyTVC15 is offline  
post #232 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Chuck44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Missouri Ozarks
Posts: 2,177
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhMyTVC15 View Post

Ah man this tuner is messed up!!!! I set my antenna up with the DTVPal and got it where i get 39 channels, mostly 80-90. I don't touch the antenna and hook up my DVTPal DVR to it I get 16 channels at about 50-60. Most of the channels break up. I can't even get my NBC station which is psip station 2.1 but OTA channel 11. I tried the point antenna thing to get my NBC station and it says 0. I Take the antenna and turn every which way over my head and i get nothing...zilch. Not a happy camper here. Not at all!!!

Tried changing the RF cable? Double checking the connections? Double checking that the cable is connected to the Antenna IN jack?
Chuck44 is offline  
post #233 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 03:47 PM
Senior Member
 
RegGuheert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhMyTVC15 View Post

Anybody have an overly sensitive tuner? My DTVPal got 39 channels. I can only get 17 with the DVR. This tuner is a different beast. If i so much as touch my antenna than i get nothing. Just got it so let me play around with the antenna a bit more.

As we discussed in the speculation thread, you have the Thompson tuner in your DTVPal, which seems to work well in your near-Orlando-airport scenario. The Microtune tuner in the DTVPal Plus and DTVPal DVR is optimized for fringe reception. The main differences would tend to be that the Microtune is optimized for sensitivity while the Thompson is likely optimized for handling changing multipath distortion. I suspect that the Microtune tuner has slower time constants than the Thompson, making it less able to handle changes in the antenna that may occur.

One final possibility is that Dish did not do an adequate job of amplifying the signal in the DTVPal DVR before splitting the signal for the dual tuners, meaning that the signal is getting reduced too much for some locations that do not have a preamplifier. I doubt this is the case, but we'll have to see what the design looks like after someone de-lids this thing and reverse engineers the tuner.

I hope you can improve your reception, but as you say, this is a different beast...

Good luck,

Reg
RegGuheert is offline  
post #234 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 03:49 PM
Member
 
Daniel Tomsick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Tomsick View Post

Has anyone with a 4:3 ratio HDTV monitor figured out how to display a HD picture that isn't letterboxed or horizontally squeezed?

I subsequently found the solution to my problem on page 24 of the manual, which describes 'Changing Display Formats' using "PAGE DOWN (for HD outputs)".
Daniel Tomsick is offline  
post #235 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 04:10 PM
Member
 
OhMyTVC15's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RegGuheert View Post


I hope you can improve your reception, but as you say, this is a different beast...

Good luck,

Reg

Thx, i would have prefered the thompson tuner. Well i'm going out of town so i'll mess with it after the holidays.
OhMyTVC15 is offline  
post #236 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 04:12 PM
Senior Member
 
RegGuheert's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhMyTVC15 View Post

Ah man this tuner is messed up!!!! I set my antenna up with the DTVPal and got it where i get 39 channels, mostly 80-90. I don't touch the antenna and hook up my DVTPal DVR to it I get 16 channels at about 50-60. Most of the channels break up. I can't even get my NBC station which is psip station 2.1 but OTA channel 11. I tried the point antenna thing to get my NBC station and it says 0. I Take the antenna and turn every which way over my head and i get nothing...zilch. Not a happy camper here. Not at all!!!

You had indicated in the other thread that you had "tried every indoor antenna i could get my hands" on to try to get reception from your pre-DTVPal tuner. Is the antenna you are currently using amplified? If so, you may be providing TOO MUCH signal to the DTVPal DVR and overloading the input. I would suggest that you try running with something fairly omnidirectional, such as rabbit ears, before you give up.

Good luck!

Reg
RegGuheert is offline  
post #237 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 04:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwillie6 View Post

Right -- but stations vary in their diligence in using and maintaining PSIP, correct? If they all were as good as the best, even a PSIP-only guide on a unit like this could be impressive.

As the digital transition occurs, expect to see much greater attention paid to PSIP. I expect not much less than 99% PSIP accuracy, after lets say next April. Give'em a little time to really button it down, once analog is history.

What would really be nice is the DTVPal DVR having a menu option to select which source to use for the guide; TVGOS or PSIP.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #238 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 05:00 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by OhMyTVC15 View Post

Anyone have this hooked up to an analog TV? I sure hope the pq is better than the DTVPal.

This is an HDTV forum. Please keep on topic.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #239 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 05:02 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Tomsick View Post

Otherwise the device is providing a better picture with two additional channels, versus my Zenith HDV420.

That should not be a surprise. The Zenith is how old? 4 years? 5?

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
post #240 of 18329 Old 12-24-2008, 05:05 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Ken H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Metro Detroit
Posts: 45,876
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by biker19 View Post

...about that smart card....would it possible that Echostar was so forward looking that they included the hardware for a cablecard slot?

CableCARD? No.

'Better Living Through Modern, Expensive, Electronic Devices'

Ken H is offline  
Reply HDTV Recorders

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off